The Complete Guide to Connecting Audio, Video, and MIDI Equipment by
(Music Pro Guides). This one-of-a-kind handbook describes through photos, line diagrams, and step-by-step instructions how the average student, enthusiast, voice-over talent, editor, engineer, musician, and/or producer can easily connect any of the various types of analog or digital audio, video, and MIDI equipment in their studio setups. Readers will also be able to identify, purchase, and connect the specific A/V and MIDI equipment necessary for any creative job. Easy to understand and fun to use, The Complete Guide to Connecting Audio, Video, and MIDI Equipment will bring a professional or home-based studio completely up to date and up to maximum speed, making the music come alive.
The Complete Guide to High-End Audio by
An updated edition of what many consider the "bible of high-end audio" In this newly revised and updated fifth edition, Robert Harley, editor in chief of the Absolute Sound magazine, tells you everything you need to know about buying and enjoying high-quality hi-fi. With this book, discover how to get the best sound for your money, how to identify the weak links in your system and upgrade where it will do the most good, how to set up and tweak your system for maximum performance, and how to become a more perceptive and appreciative listener. Just a few of the secrets you will learn cover high-end sound on a budget, how to do it cheap and still do it right; five system set-up mistakes and how to avoid them; how to make your speakers sound up to 50% better, at no cost; how to choose and set up a computer-based music system; how to find the one speaker in 50 worth owning; and why all 100-watt amplifiers don't sound the same. Since the first edition's publication in 1994, The Complete Guide to High-End Audio has been considered the essential reference on high-quality music reproduction, with more than 150,000 copies sold in five languages.
Electronics Engineers' Handbook by
This is the fourth edition of the Electronics Engineers' Handbook, probably the most widely used reference book in the fields of electronics engineering and related disciplines. It is translated into languages other than English at least three times. Four major sections of the handbook cover (1) Principles and Techniques, (2) Materials and Hardware, (3) Circuits and Functions, and (4) Systems and Applications.
Recording Studio Technology, Maintenance, and Repairs by
A nuts-and-bolts guide detailing everything studio professionals need to know about operating, maintaining, and repairing the major equipment found in a modern recording studio * Covers both analog and digital technology * Wire and install equipment like a pro * Repair any speaker, board, or amplifier * Understand every piece of studio equipment, from meters to oscilloscopes to mixers
The Sound Reinforcement Handbook by
Sound reinforcement is the use of audio amplification systems. This book is the first and only book of its kind to cover all aspects of designing and using such systems for public address and musical performance. The book features information on both the audio theory involved and the practical applications of that theory, explaining everything from microphones to loudspeakers. This revised edition features almost 40 new pages and is even easier to follow with the addition of an index and a simplified page and chapter numbering system. New topics covered include: MIDI, Synchronization, and an Appendix on Logarithms. 416 Pages.
Understanding Audio by
(Berklee Guide). Understanding Audio explores the fundamentals of audio and acoustics that impact every stage of the music recording process. Whether you are a musician setting up your first Pro Tools project studio, or you are a seasoned recording engineer or producer eager to find a reference that fills in the gaps in your understanding of audio, this book is for you. Understanding Audio will enable you to develop a thorough understanding of the underlying principles of sound, and take some of the mystery and guesswork out of how equipment setup affects the quality of your recordings. Projects at the end of each chapter will assist you in applying these principles to your own recording environment. Learn about: *Basic and Advanced audio theory *Cables and studio wiring *Recording studio and console signal flow *Digital and analog audio *Studio and listening room acoustics *Psychoacoustics *"In the Studio" insights, relating audio principles to real recording situations About the Author Daniel M. Thompson is Assistant Chair of Music Production and Engineering at Berklee College of Music. An independent writer/producer and recording engineer, his credits include work for major films and television including ER and The Sopranos. He is a member of the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (NARAS), the Audio Engineering Society (AES), and the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP). BUZZ "This is probably the best primer on recording fundamentals and techniques that I've ever read. I wish I had a book that was this comprehensive when I started my career. It's simple and easy to understand, and the diagrams are perfect. From basic audio principles to current digital technology, this book has something to offer everybody in the industry. This book should be a requirement for every entry-level engineering student." -Elliot Scheiner, Multi-Grammy-winning engineer and producer (Steely Dan, The Eagles, Sting) "A must for the musician/producer with a home studio. One of the best 'how-to' books available to help put you on the path toward fulfilling your career goals." -Don Puluse, Recording engineer (Chicago, Sly & the Family Stone, Billy Joel) "Presents clear explanations of technical audio topics ranging from microphones to loudspeakers. It concisely delivers the goods that you will need to make better audio recordings. Be sure to thank Thompson when you pick up your Grammy." -Ken Pohlmann, Author, Director of Music Engineering Technology, University of Miami-Florida
You must log into Canvas with your LTU credentials to access these eBooks.
Analog Electronics : Circuits, Systems and Signal Processing by
The content has been carefully designed to meet the requirements of first and second year students of electronic engineering, communications engineering and telecommunications, following full honours degree programs or two-year courses including HNC/HND. A completely new analog electronics textbook for the digital age.
Chasing Sound : Technology, Culture, and the Art of Studio Recording from Edison to the LP by
Susan Schmidt Horning traces the cultural and technological evolution of recording studios in the United States from the first practical devices to the modern multi-track studios of the analog era. Charting the technical development of studio equipment, the professionalization of recording engineers, and the growing collaboration between artists and technicians, she shows how the earliest efforts to capture the sound of live performances eventually resulted in a trend toward studio creations that extended beyond live shows, ultimately reversing the historic relationship between live and recorded sound.
Standard Handbook of Audio and Radio Engineering by
Get clear answers to your every question on every aspect of audio engineering in the updated reference of choice of audio and video engineers and technicians, Standard Handbook of Audio Engineering, Second Edition. You'll find no other source that covers such a broad range of audio principles and technologies--with an emphasis on practical applications, including design, production, installation, operation, and maintenance of recording studios, broadcast centers, and multimedia operations.