You must log into Canvas with your LTU credentials to access these eBooks.
Applications of Digital Signal Processing to Audio and Acoustics by
Today, the main applications of audio DSP are high quality audio coding and the digital generation and manipulation of music signals. They share common research topics including perceptual measurement techniques and analysis/synthesis methods. Additional important topics are hearing aids using signal processing technology and hardware architectures for digital signal processing of audio.
Audio Post Production for Television and Film by
Covering sound for both film and television, this edition includes many of the practical techniques and shortcuts used by experienced editors and mixers. Part one explains the basics of audio post production - how audio is recorded, how sound and picture stay in sync, how audio can be exported from system to system, and how film and video technology works. Part two follows the path of production sound from its original recording right through to the final mix, and includes sections on editing sound with picture, dialogue, sound effects and music editing, how to run ADR and Foley record sessions, and mixing, using many practical examples. Audio Post Production for Television and Film is aimed at professionals already working in the industry, newcomers, students and those considering sound for film and television as a career - in fact anyone who wants an insight into current professional practices and a comprehensive overview of the sound post production process.
The Mixing Engineer's Handbook (3rd Ed.) by
Secrets of the top mixing engineers are revealed in this second edition of the bestselling Mixing Engineer's Handbook. In this edition, you will learn about the history and evolution of mixing, various mixing styles, the six elements of a mix, the rules for arrangement and how they impact your mix, where to build your mix from, and mixing tips and tricks for every genre of music.
Standard Handbook of Audio and Radio Engineering by
Get clear answers to your every question on every aspect of audio engineering in the updated reference of choice of audio and video engineers and technicians, Standard Handbook of Audio Engineering, Second Edition. You'll find no other source that covers such a broad range of audio principles and technologies--with an emphasis on practical applications, including design, production, installation, operation, and maintenance of recording studios, broadcast centers, and multimedia operations.
Audio Postproduction for Film and Video by
New to this edition: * Learn how many Hollywood techniques--previously impractical on video--can help solve problems on smaller productions * Expanded cookbook recipes section * Technically updated throughout Make your soundtracks as good as your pictures with this compendium of professional audio techniques that can be adapted to desktop post. Specializing in sound after the shoot, this book features many practical examples, cookbook recipes, and tutorials. Audio theory, when necessary, is presented in plain English with plenty of visual analogies. FAQs, full explanations, and from-the-trenches tips address the complete range of processes from wiring and hardware to testing the final mix. The one-hour audio CD features platform-independent diagnostics, demonstrations, and tutorial tracks. Novices will learn how to improve their soundtrack--even after the actors have gone home. Experienced producers will learn how to solve technical and creative problems quickly. You'll get recipes and step-by-step instructions on how to: * build an efficient and reliable audio post setup * plan and budget a good soundtrack * get sound into your NLE without losing quality or sync * edit voices and music * record Foley and ADR * find music and use it effectively * find and create your own sound effects * shape sounds with equalization, reverb, noise reduction, and more * produce the final mix * test the final product for various media Please visit the author's website for additional resources: http://www.dplay.com/book/app2e/
Live Sound Fundamentals by
Until now, there hasn't been a book or learning resource that aimed to teach audio newbies and musicians how to set up and mix a live audio event. For years, they have had to learn about live audio through a frustrating and time-consuming process of trial and error or by watching others. LIVE SOUND FUNDAMENTALS provides the "missing manual" to the art of live sound, covering the topic from a real-world point of view, and deals with real problems and real solutions from the field. It is a solid how-to guide to the fundamentals of setting up and mixing live audio events, covering the equipment, processes, and techniques required for obtaining expert results. Everything is taught with the beginner in mind, with helpful pictures and illustrations combined with easy-to-understand techniques. After reading this book, you'll walk away with a solid grasp of the fundamental skills you'll need to work in the live event audio world.
Sound FX by
Every session, every gig, every day, recording engineers strive to make the most of their audio signal processing devices. EQ, Compression, Delay, Distortion, Reverb and all those other FX are the well-worn tools of the audio trade. Recording and mixing, live and in the studio, engineers must thoroughly master these devices to stay competitive sonically. Its not enough to just know what each effect is supposed to do. Sound FX explains the basic and advanced signal processing techniques used in professional music production, describing real world techniques used by experienced engineers, and referencing popular music examples released internationally. The reader learns not just how to, but also what if, so they can better achieve what they already hear in the productions they admire and chase what they only hear in their imaginative minds ear. Sound FX will immediately help you make more thorough, more musical use of your sound FX. The accompanying website www.soundfx-companion.comincludes audio exaples of FX featured in the book. Features: A chapter dedicated to each key effect: Distortion Compression & Limiting Expansion & Gating Reverb Equalization Delay Pitch Shift Volume More than 100 line drawings and illustrations. Accompanying website featuring examples of all FX covered in the book. Discography of FX at the end of each relevant chapter. From the Sound FX Intro: The most important music of our time is recorded music. The recording studio is its principle musical instrument. The recording engineers and music producers who create the music we love know how to use signal processing equipment to capture the work of artists, preserving realism or altering things wildly, as appropriate. While the talented, persistent, self-taught engineer can create sound recordings of artistic merit, more productive use of the studio is achieved through study, experience and collaboration. This book defines the technical basis of the most important signal processing effects used in the modern recording studio, highlights the key drivers of sound quality associated with each, shares common production techniques used by recording engineers with significant experience in the field, references many of the touchstone recordings of our time, and equips the reader with the knowledge needed to comfortably use effects devices correctly, and, more importantly, to apply these tools creatively.
The Sound Reinforcement Handbook by
Sound reinforcement is the use of audio amplification systems. This book is the first and only book of its kind to cover all aspects of designing and using such systems for public address and musical performance. The book features information on both the audio theory involved and the practical applications of that theory, explaining everything from microphones to loudspeakers. This revised edition features almost 40 new pages and is even easier to follow with the addition of an index and a simplified page and chapter numbering system. New topics covered include: MIDI, Synchronization, and an Appendix on Logarithms. 416 Pages.
