Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This site has been developed to help you quickly find the information you need to augment your skills as an audio engineer.
Library of Congress (LC) Call Numbers
||Music as a Profession
||Music Physics and Acoustics
||Music Instruction and Study
||Telecommunication (including Radio and Television)
You must be logged into your LTU Canvas account to access these.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Source for engineering handbooks, instructional videos, downloadable calculators, curriculum maps, search tools, interactive tables & graphs, study guides& global engineering news. Faculty note: books may be used as text books.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
This database offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content covering the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines — from acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering.
Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window
Engineering Index, abstracts 1970 to present. This is comprehensive listing of engineering information: over 18.8 million records from 76 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. It is indexed specifically for engineers using the Engineering Index Thesaurus, making search results consistently accurate and relevant to engineering research. (No full-text: make sure to follow the link at the bottom of the abstract to look at all the LTU journal titles to try to find full-text.)
IEEE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Journals, Proceedings, & Standards
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Science Databases (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes medicine, health, astronomy, physical and natural sciences, environment and more, and Omnifile full-text and Applied Science, Environmental Index, and more.. Use Linking to determine full-text availability.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
Computer Music Journal
Established in 1977 as the definitive journal of its field, Computer Music Journal (CMJ) covers a wide range of topics such as digital audio signal processing, electroacoustic composition, new musical controllers, and music information retrieval. With cutting-edge scholarship accompanied by interviews with leading composers and informative reviews of products and publications, CMJ is an indispensable resource for composers, performers, scientists, engineers, and computer enthusiasts interested in computer-generated sound and music.
Electronic Musician Magazine
IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing
The IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing covers novel theory, algorithms, performance analyses and applications of techniques for the processing, understanding, learning, retrieval, mining, and extraction of information from signals.
Journal of the Acoustical Society of America (JASA)
Since 1929, The Journal of the Acoustical Society of America (JASA) has been the leading source of theoretical and experimental research results in the broad interdisciplinary subject of sound.
The journal serves physical scientists, life scientists, engineers, psychologists, physiologists, architects, musicians, and speech communication specialists.
Journal on the Art of Record Production
The Journal on the Art of Record Production (JARP) is an international online peer-reviewed journal promoting the interdisciplinary study of record production. The term ‘record production’ is to be interpreted in the broadest sense as the production of recorded music.
Distributed in 94 countries, Mix is the world's leading magazine for the professional recording and sound production technology industry. Mix covers a wide range of topics including: recording, live sound and production, broadcast production, audio for film and video, and music technology. In addition, Mix includes coverage of facility design and construction, location recording, tape/disc manufacturing, education, and other topics of importance to audio professionals. Mix presents columns and feature articles on technical subjects, industry news, new product announcements and equipment reviews, profiles of producers, engineers and artists, features on production facilities and live venues, and boasts the industry's most extensive directory of recording studios and other audio/video facilities and services in the annual Mix Master Directory.
Pro Sound News
Pro Sound News covers the latest developments in Live Sound, Recording and Music Production, Post Production, Broadcast, Audio Technology and Audio Gear. Full text from 2004-present.
Full-text copies of articles from Live Sound and Church Sound magazines.
The Audio Expert by
The Audio Expert is a comprehensive reference book covering all aspects of audio, with both practical and theoretical explanations. It is written for people who want to understand audio at the deepest, most technical level, but without needing an engineering degree. The Audio Expert explains how audio really works in much more depth than usual, using common sense plain-English explanations and mechanical analogies, with minimal math. It uses an easy to read conversational tone, and includes more than 400 figures and photos to augment the printed text. However, this book goes beyond merely explaining how audio works. It brings together the concepts of audio, aural perception, musical instrument physics, acoustics, and basic electronics, showing how they¿re intimately related. It also describes in great detail many practices and techniques used by recording and mixing engineers, including video production and computers. This book is meant for intermediate to advanced recording engineers and audiophiles who want to become experts. There¿s plenty for beginners too. One unique feature is explaining how audio devices such as equalizers, compressors, and A/D converters work internally, and how they¿re spec¿d and tested, rather than merely describing how to use them. There¿s plenty of myth-busting and consumerism too. The book doesn¿t tell readers what brand power amplifier to buy, but it explains in great detail what defines a good amplifier so people can choose a first-rate model wisely without over-paying. Most explanations throughout the book are platform-agnostic, applying equally to Windows and Mac computers, and to most software and hardware. Many audio and video examples are included to enhance the written text. The new edition offers many updates and improvements throughout. New sections on coding an equalizer, comparing microphone preamps, testing results of loudspeaker isolation devices, new online video content on music theory, plus incorporated chapters on MIDI basics, computers, video production, plus new myth-busters, and much more!
Call Number: TK7881.4 .W56 2018
Publication Date: 2017
You must log into Canvas with your LTU credentials to access eBooks.
The Audio Dictionary by
The Audio Dictionary is a comprehensive resource, including historical, obsolete, and obscure as well as contemporary terms relating to diverse aspects of audio such as film and TV sound, recording, Hi-Fi, and acoustics. The Third Edition includes four hundred new entries, such as AAC (advanced audio coding), lip synch, metadata, MP3, and satellite radio. Every term from previous editions has been reconsidered and often rewritten. Guest entries are by Dennis Bohn, cofounder and head of research and development at Rane Corporation, and film sound expert Larry Blake, whose credits include Erin Brockovich and Ocean's Eleven. The appendixes--tutorials that gather a lifetime's worth of experience in acoustics--include both new and greatly expanded articles.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2005