All You Need to Know about the Music Business by
The definitive, essential guide to the music industry, now in its eighth edition--revised and updated with crucial information on the industry's major changes in response to rapid technological advances and economic uncertainty. The past two decades have seen file-sharing technology and digital streaming services transform the music business from top to bottom, and the changes keep coming at breakneck speed. How are record labels adapting to the demand for instantly accessible, low-cost music while coping with piracy? And what does it all mean for aspiring and established artists today? Donald Passman, one of the most trusted music lawyers in the country, offers his sage advice for creating, selling, sharing, and protecting your music in the Information Age in this updated eighth edition of All You Need to Know About the Music Business. Called "the industry bible" by the Los Angeles Times, Passman's comprehensive guide--which has sold hundreds of thousands of copies over the past twenty years--draws on his unparalleled experience and up-to-the-minute knowledge of industry trends. Executives and artists, experts and novices alike, will benefit from Passman's detailed yet easy-to-understand explanations of the latest technology, legalities, and practices shaping the music business, such as: * Royalties for music transmitted via digital down- loads, streaming services, cloud lockers, and apps * Updated licensing regulations and industry agreements * The most recent recording and music publishing deals * The new challenges for performing rights societies He also gives guidance on the basics, such as how to: * Select and hire a winning team of advisors--personal and business managers, agents, and attorneys--and structure their commissions, percentages, and fees in a way that will protect you and maximize these relationships * Master the major and finer points of contract negotiations * Navigate the ins and outs of songwriting and music publishing * Maximize concert, touring, and merchandising agreements Anyone interested in making and marketing music--musicians, songwriters, agents, promoters, publishers, managers, and record company executives--needs this crucial text to keep up with the frenetic pace of technological and legal change. No one understands the music business better than Passman. Let him show you how to "make it" in one of the world's most dynamic and challenging industries.
Careers in Audio by
Whether you're thinking about a career in audio but aren't sure where to start or you're already working in the audio industry and looking to advance your career, this book has all of the information you will need to get your audio career on track! Careers in Audio is the definitive career guide for the rapidly growing (and evolving) audio industry. It details job descriptions and career paths, while providing suggested entry avenues and growth opportunities within these paths. Each section includes information on salaries you can expect, potential risks for a given career path, work/life balance, traits and skills valued in the industry, and much more. Best of all, each section includes interviews with successful audio professionals in that field who relate their real-life experiences for your benefit. The book also includes an extensive list of educational facilities, published works, websites, discussion boards, and professional organizations to help you make your audio career search as easy as possible.
A Career in Music: Building Your Inner Circle by
A follow-up to the successful "A Career in Music: the other 12 step program", this book focuses on how to build your team as an artist. "A Career in Music: building your inner circle" answers the questions: How do I get a manager, a booking agent, a record label, a publisher, a producer and other important people and companies to help my career? What do these business relationships look like? What do deals with these different players in the music business look like? Bob D'Eith has worked in the music business for more than 25 years as a two-time JUNO Award nominated artist, music lawyer, author, label and publishing company executive, and studio owner. For 14 years, Bob was the Executive Director and CEO of Music BC, British Columbia's trade organization for the music industry. Bob D'Eith was a co-creator of the award winning PEAK Performance Project, a program that helped to launch the careers of number of amazing Canadian artists.
The Future of the Music Business by
(Music Pro Guides). New technologies have revolutionized the music business. While these technologies have wreaked havoc on traditional business models, they've also provided new opportunities for music business entrepreneurs, as well as new challenges for musicians, recording artists, songwriters, record labels and music publishers. The Future of the Music Business provides a road map for success by explaining legal fundamentals including copyright law's application to the music business, basic forms of agreement such as recording, songwriting and management contracts, PLUS the rules pertaining to digital streaming, downloading and Internet radio. This book also shows exactly how much money is generated by each of these models, and details how the money flows to the principal stakeholders: artists, record labels, songwriters and music publishers. Part I is a comprehensive analysis of the laws and business practices applying to today's music business Part II is a guide for producers on how to clear music for almost any kind of project including movies, TV, ad campaigns, stand-alone digital projects AND how much it will cost Part III presents new discussions on the hottest industry controversies including net neutrality; and the financial battles between the new digital music services & copyright owners and artists Part IV discusses how to best use the new technologies to succeed The book contains URLs linking to 2 on-line videos: Fundamentals of Music Business and Law, and Anatomy of a Copyright Infringement Case. Attorneys can use a password to gain 2 CLE credits.
Hollywood Studio Musicians by
When originally published in 1971, Hollywood Studio Musicianswas the first detailed analysis of the work and careers of production personnel in an industry devoted to mass culture. Previously, most researchers overlooked mass-culture industries as work settings, preferring to focus on content rather than the artists who created it. This lucid and insightful book looks under the hood of the Hollywood film scoring and recording industry, focusing upon the careers and work of top-flight musicians. A new preface by Howard S. Becker highlights the study's historical context and importance. Based upon in-depth interviews with freelance musicians, Faulkner provides original insights into how we conceptualize occupations as well as the highly stratified system of professional prestige that results in what we now call the "A-List." Faulkner develops a framework for discovering and exploring how rapidly changing and demanding freelance work induces status hierarchies, sustains and updates collegial reputations, tightens social networks between contractors, and musicians, and restricts access to upward career paths. This volume is a gem, a masterpiece of field research combined with probing, theoretically informed analysis. Aside from the value of its own findings, the volume offers students of sociology, film, and other creative industries a prime example of how to do good social science research. In short, it is a model for investigators to turn to when their own research needs help, an exemplar of how research is done when it is done well.
How to Get a Job in the Music Industry by
If you dream about a career in the music industry, this book is for you. These practical strategies will help you to prepare for and land your dream job in the music business. Thousands of readers have used this book to educate and empower themselves and jumpstart successful music industry careers. You can, too! The third edition includes a new career tool kit and social media strategy. Inside you'll find: details on booming job prospects in digital music distribution and music licensing; interviews with nine music industry professionals under 35 who discuss how they got their starts, plus what skills today's leading job candidates must possess; a resource directory of industry related job websites as well as U.S. and Canadian trade associations; step-by-step guidance for developing a first rate resume and acing your interviews; workshops to help you assess and develop your own personalized career tool kit; strategies for industry networking, finding a mentor, and how to effectively use social media.
How to Get Your Music in Film and TV by
A detailed look at how musicians, songwriters, publishers, and indie labelsâproducing every kind of musicâcan earn good money from placing their music into film and TV in the United States and beyond.
Music 3.0 by
The paradigm has shifted and everything you knew about the music business has completely changed. Who are the new players in the music business? Why are traditional record labels, television, and radio no longer factors in an artist's success? How do you market and distribute your music in the new music world and how do you make money? This book answers these questions and more in its comprehensive look at the new music business Music 3.0. While Music 2.0 encompassed the era of file sharing and digital distribution, Music 3.0 employs new ways to start and sustain a career, to develop an audience and engage them with interactive marketing. Sales, distribution, and marketing have reconfigured so much that even artists located far away from a big media center can thrive without the help of a record label if they know how. Music 3.0 explains what has changed, why it will change even more, and how musicians and artists (photographers, writers, animators) can take advantage of the changes.
Music Business Handbook and Career Guide by
The special Tenth Editionof this powerhouse bestselling text maintains its tradition as the most comprehensive, up-to-date guide to the music industry. The breadth of coverage that this book offers is unlike that of any other resource available. Music business newcomers and professionals alike will find the book a valuable resource, whatever their specialty within the field music. It is ideal as the core textbook in courses dealing with the music business. Key features includes: * expanded and enhanced coverage of state-of-the-art technology and its implications for the music industry, including digital downloads, changing production technologies, marketing via social networking, and new distribution channels including video games * new business models and their implications including the topics of Internet outlets, the independent musician, the evolving role of producers, and satellite and Internet radio * updated information on careers * coverage of alternatives to radio airplay and to luring teens to local record stores, in light of the weakened format of radio and the disappearance of neighborhood music shops * cxamination of sophisticated marketing research tools for the industry, due to consumer clicks that illuminate customer buying behavior and changes in tastes and desires * reflection on the global shift of the music business world as it becomes less centered on American companies and culture * companion websites include password-protected Instructor Resources Site (featuring PowerPoint slides, tests, tips, and more) and an open-access Student Study Site (featuring new interactive exercises and links to material online to enhance learning).
Music Industry Forms by
Organize and manage your music projects! Whether you are a performer, writer, engineer, educator, manager, or music maker, these time-tested charts, plots, diagrams, checklists, and agreements will help make your work easier and better. These forms will help you clarify your work, track critical details, and maintain quality control. Each one includes explanation about how it is used, a key to related symbols and terms, and any common variations. You will find forms for: * Performance, to help you book, organize, and manage concerts and gigs (stage plots, set lists, booking request sheets) * Touring (tour itinerary, checklist, assets inventory) * Technology, to help you manage recording sessions, track gear, and label media (archive sheets, mic input diagrams, take sheets) * Writing songs, compositions and film scores, supporting both creative and business dimensions of the work (split sheets, spotting notes, cue sheets) * Business, including agreements, project management tools, and financial management (booking sheets, tour budget, profit/loss form) * Teaching (audition rating sheet, practice log, lesson plan) Also included are different types of notation formats, and some tips for creating your own forms.
Music Is Your Business by
For musicians and independent record labels This book takes the mystery out of the music business. You need to know how the music industry works, and you need accurate legal information targeted to your career-whether you're an experienced performer or just starting out. Music industry veteran Christopher Knab is a DIY pioneer. His honest, no-nonsense information empowers you to sell, promote, publicize, and perform your music. Learn how to work with industry professionals, prepare a career plan and publicity campaign, connect with your fanbase, grab the attention of distributors, get radio airplay, negotiate offers for live performances, and create a demand for your music with traditional methods and social networking strategies. Entertainment law attorney Bartley F. Day's straight-to-the-point legal chapters include: Making Sense of Music Industry Contracts, Recording a Cover Version, Trademarking Band Names, Insider Tips for Hiring a Music Attorney, Filing Copyright Applications, Recording Contract Advances and Royalty Rates, and a chapter on the controversial 360 Deals now offered by many record labels. This edition is filled with topics, including: Radio's Reasons Not to Play a Record, and favorites like, Ten Reasons Why Musicians Fail (and How Not To), and Con Jobs: Watch Out for the Flim-Flam Man. There's a sample Four Front Music Marketing Plan, a Distributor One-Sheet, a Band Tour and Work Schedule, a Band Bio, and much, much more. At 343 pages, this edition is over 70 pages longer than the 3rd edition. Revised, illustrated, and indexed, the 4th edition of Music Is Your Business is the essential book for independent musicians and record labels, and is used as a college and university textbook.
Start and Run Your Own Record Label by
"For everyone interested in starting a record label - to market new talent or to release and promote their own music - there has never been a better time to do it! Music can be released, distributed, and promoted for a fraction of traditional costs. Veteran author and music-business consultant Daylle Deanna Schwartz (who started and ran her own label) has rewritten and expanded her classic, Start & Run Your Own Record Label, to reflect industry changes and new opportunities for marketing music in today' s climate. Start & Run Your Own Record Labelis a comprehensive guidebook to building a record label, packed with how-to information about market trends and revenue streams for music releases. In addition to updated information on physical distribution, generating publicity, marketing, and promotion, it also has new information about key issues including- Balancing on and offline promotion and marketing #8226;Making the most of online resources (social-networking sites, blogs, ringtones, videos, radio, and more) #8226;Using digital distribution profitably #8226;Licensing your recordings for use in the media #8226;Marketing music ove
The Studio Business Book by
The Studio Business Book, Third Edition teaches business managers and entrepreneurs the business skills they need to successfully operate a recording studio. Readers learn every aspect of putting together and managing a recording studio, including budgets and taxation, employment issues, capitalization, and equipment planning requirements. Written by industry experts, no other book provides such in-depth, comprehensive, and industry-specific coverage of the business side of running a for-hire recording studio.
Confessions of a Record Producer by
For more than 15 years, Confessions of a Record Producer has exposed the inner workings of the music business and empowered artists to protect their interests. With inside knowledge and hard numbers, Moses Avalon reveals the truth of how the industry functions (or dysfunctions), showing what artists actually make from their "hits" and how producers, labels, managers, and even the artists' own lawyers conspire to rip them off. This is the only music business trade book that: * Intimately analyzes the differences between ASCAP, BMI, and SESAC * Compares different types of record deals using real-world math and dollar figures * Speaks critically about relationships between big industry entities and how they can hurt artists * Gives the reasoning behind major industry trends and decisions, particularly recent deals with Spotify, Apple, etc. Since the first edition's release in 1998, Confessions has grown from an underground favorite to a widely read staple, evolving along the way to address Internet-age realities and the pitfalls coming with rapidly changing technologies. This new, fifth edition tackles the complexities of music streaming and how the diminishing revenue it provides is becoming the new normal for an industry that has shrunk by half in less than two decades. Fully updated with recent industry developments and the latest scams, Confessions of a Record Producer remains a must for artists who want to survive, thrive, and get their fair share.
Musician's Business and Legal Guide by
For courses in Overview of the Music Industry, Copyright and Publishing, Recording and Merchandising: Major and Independent Levels, Performing and Marketing Your Music, and Managers and Agents. Definitive in scope and written specifically for musicians and songwriters by top professionals currently working in the industry, this text demystifies the music business and the indecipherable body of law which shapes it, and provides substantive information on actual practices-with clause-by-clause commentaries on all major contracts in the industry.
The Musician's Guide to Licensing Music by
Plug your music career into the lucrative new income streams of the digital marketplace Record deals are so twentieth century. Today, music licensing is the fastest route to widespread exposure and a steady income. Creators of films, television shows, commercials, video games, ringtones, podcasts and other digital-age media hunger for music perfectly suited to their projects--providing endless, lucrative opportunities for savvy musicians. Whether you're an unknown composer, an up-and-coming songwriter, an independent-label performer, or a big label star, there's a place for you in this fast-growing field--as long as you learn to master the game. How does music licensing work? Where are the most abundant and rewarding opportunities? Find the answers in this authoritative, up-to-the-moment overview of one of the most effective ways to market your talent. It's all here: The key players in the music licensing business and the best ways to make contacts and bring your music to their attention Types of licensing agreements and how to understand them An inside look at the licensing selection process and how to get a jump on music requests Negotiating payment and protecting your music in the open marketplace, including international venues Getting music licensed for television shows, films, commercials, digital media, and less obvious markets like colleges and universities, theater companies, corporate training videos, and restaurants Firsthand advice from top music executives, marketers, music supervisors, lawyers, talent managers, and filmmakers
Music Law by
The No. 1 bestselling business book for bands! If you belong to a band and love the art of your job, but sing the blues when it comes to the business side, you need Music Law. Composed by musician and lawyer Richard Stim, the book explains how to: . find the right manager . buy, insure and maintain equipment . get gigs and get paid . tour on a budget . use samples . do covers legally . protect your copyright . trademark your band's name . choose a recording studio . sell your music . manage your website . understand record contracts . deal with taxes Music Law provides all the legal information and practical advice musicians need. This edition is thoroughly updated with the latest changes in copyright and trademark law, including guidance on filling out "Form CO." Plus, find expanded information on musical collaborations between DJs and other musicians. You'll also get the most up-to-date legal forms avaliable. - Download forms for book on nolo.com
Music Marketing by
Berklee expert speaks on how to market and distribute your songs and group. Sell more music! Learn the most effective marketing strategies available to musicians, leveraging the important changes and opportunities that the digital age has brought to music marketing. This multifaceted and integrated approach will help you to develop an effective worldwide marketing strategy. Step by step, you will develop an active marketing plan and timeline tailored to your unique strengths and budget. You will learn to time your marketing campaign effectively, publicize your music to traditional print outlets and emerging online opportunities, understand the current opportunities for online, satellite, and terrestrial radio play as well as navigate various retail and distribution options, both at brick-and-mortar and online options, such as iTunes, Rhapsody, and other services.
Music Marketing for the DIY Musician by
(Music Pro Guides). There has never been a greater need for practical DIY marketing advice from a musician who has been there and succeeded than now at a time when new technologies make it more possible than ever for musicians to attract attention independently and leverage their own careers, and record industry professionals look exclusively for developed artists who are already successful. Written by a professional musician for other musicians, Music Marketing for the DIY Musician is a proactive, practical, step-by-step guide to producing a fully integrated, customized, low-budget plan of attack for artists marketing their own music. In a conversational tone, it reveals a systematic business approach employing the same tools and techniques used by innovative top companies, while always encouraging musicians to stay true to their artistic integrity. It's the perfect blend of left-brain and right-brain marketing. This book is the culmination of the author's 25 years in the trenches as a musician and entrepreneur, and over a decade in academic and practical research involving thousands of independent artists and marketing experts from around the world. The goal is to help musical artists take control of their own destiny, save money and time, and eventually draw the full attention of top music industry professionals. It's ultimately about making music that matters and music that gets heard!
The Plain and Simple Guide to Music Publishing by
Publishing is one of the most complex and lucrative parts of the music business. Industry expert Randall Wixen covers everything from mechanical, performing and synch rights to sub-publishing, foreign rights, copyright basics, types of publishing deals, advice on representation and more. Get a view from the top, in plain English. This updated and revised edition has been prepared in light of the ever-changing landscape of music publishing, taking into account factors like illegal downloading and recent announcements from the Copyright Royalty Board. With an added "DIY" chapter, the author demonstrates why the playing field has changed for the traditional copyright adminstrators, and how musicians just starting out can protect their own work until they hit the big time.
Social Media Promotions for Musicians by
(Music Pro Guides). Stop just using social media and learn how to promote with it with Social Media Promotions for Musicians . The book reveals a host of online insider tips and tricks that will help you gain more fans and followers, increase your views, and grow your ticket and merch sales. Social Media Promotions for Musicians shows artists, bands, engineers and producers the latest techniques and strategies to increase your online presence more effectively and efficiently than you ever thought possible. The book covers YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Google+, blogs, Pinterest, bookmarking sites, websites, and newsletters. You'll discover: * How to increase your online exposure to increase your fan base * How to have more time for creating by saving at least an hour every day on common social media operations * Exclusive promotional tips that boost your views and followers * How to uncover and develop your brand * The secret behind successful tweets and posts * Why a mailing list is the key to your ticket and merch sales