Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books (Available at the LTU Library)
The Art of Recording: The Creative Resources of Music Production and Audio by "The Art of Recording" is a comprehensive study of the relation of audio technology to the artistic aspects of audio recording. It systematizes the common practices of audio, broadcast, and media recording engineers and producers, and gives them a working vocabulary and methodology for evaluating their own work in relation to others in the industry.
Call Number: ML3790 .M63 1992
Publication Date: 1992
The Foundations of Magnetic Recording (2nd Ed) by This expanded and updated new edition provides a comprehensive overview of the science and technology of magnetic recording. In the six years since the publication of the first edition, the magnetic recording and storage industry has burgeoned with the introduction of a host of new ideas and technologies. His book contains a discussion of almost every technologically important aspect of recording.
Call Number: TK7881.6 .M26 1993
Publication Date: 1993
The Location Sound Bible by This title is a complete guide to recording dialog on location. The topics include audio basics, microphone selection, wireless systems, recording and mixing techniques, and the Ten Location Sound Commandments, but it's more than just cables and connectors.
Call Number: TK7881.4 .V539 2012
Publication Date: 2012
The Recording Engineer's Handbook (4th Ed.) by Bobby Owsinski's The Recording Engineer's Handbook has become a music industry standard, and this fully updated fourth edition once again offers the most comprehensive and up-to-date introduction to the art of audio recording. Written with special emphasis on today's technology and the evolving marketplace, The Recording Engineer's Handbook Fourth Edition includes a complete overview of recording as it's done by most musicians and producers today in their home studios. In the book's first section, you'll learn everything from how microphones work to specific techniques for recording drums, individual instruments, vocals and much more. In the second section you'll benefit from the wisdom and down-to-earth practical advice offered by a host recording professionals including all-time greats like Al Schmitt, Eddie Kramer, Frank Filipetti and many other others. Topics covered include: An overview of recording elements, including microphones, preamps, compressors and DAWs Recording techniques and placement guidance for just about any musical instrument or vocal Prepping and recording drums and percussion Basic tracking and overdub advice and strategies, and stereo and immersive audio recording techniques Interviews with some of the world's best hit-making engineers, and much more Learn the art of recording with renowned author, teacher, producer and engineer Bobby Owsinski, and, in the interviews, explore the creative processes behind not only today's hits but the classic cuts we've enjoyed for years. See for yourself why The Recording Engineer's Handbook, Fourth Edition is the book that's a standard text in college courses all over the world.
Call Number: TK7881.4 .O99 20172nd Ed. (2009) available as an eBook.
Publication Date: 2017
Recording Tips for Engineers by Recording Tips for Engineers, Fourth Editionprovides the knowledge needed to become a proficient audio engineer. With years of experience working with big name rock stars, author Tim Crich shares his expertise and gives all the essential insider tips and shortcuts. A tool for engineers of all levels, this humorous, easy-to-read guide is packed with practical advice using real-life studio situations, bulleted lists, and clear illustrations. It will save valuable time and allow for fast, in-session reference. Additional resources are available on the companion website (www.routledge/cw/crich.com). The fourth edition has been updated to: Lead discussions of modern file storage and processes for uploading, downloading, sharing, and transferring files and data. Address digital audio workstations. Provide expanded coverage on room treatment.
Call Number: TK7881.4 .C745 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Sound Recording and Reproduction by Sound Recording and Reproduction is an exceptionally comprehensive practical guide for current newcomers to the industry who want to improve their technique and gain a better understanding of the recording medium and sound quality in general.
Call Number: TK7881.4 .A415 1996
Publication Date: 1996
The Sound Reinforcement Handbook by Sound reinforcement is the use of audio amplification systems. This book is the first and only book of its kind to cover all aspects of designing and using such systems for public address and musical performance. The book features information on both the audio theory involved and the practical applications of that theory, explaining everything from microphones to loudspeakers. This revised edition features almost 40 new pages and is even easier to follow with the addition of an index and a simplified page and chapter numbering system. New topics covered include: MIDI, Synchronization, and an Appendix on Logarithms. 416 Pages.
Call Number: TK7881.4 .D38 1989
Publication Date: 1988
You must log into Canvas with your LTU credentials to access these eBooks.
The Art of Digital Audio Recording by The Art of Digital Audio Recording teaches readers what they really need to know in order to make great sound recordings with computers - both the practical and the technical information.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Production Sound Mixing by The latest hot camera is pretty irrelevant if one can't understand what's happening on screen. The key to any narrative is in the dialogue and voice over, but if this is unintelligible or difficult to hear, viewers will soon lose interest. With real world applications and a narrative to keep the reader's interest, Production Sound Mixing is the indispensable guide for film and video audio recording. Written by veteran sound mixer John J. Murphy, the book offers a step by step collaborative journey through the basic physics of sound, concluding with a practical guide of the latest techniques and equipment available to all who are interested in the best audio for their projects. Structured to mimic a 14-week semester, each chapter begins with an audio problem to be solved and ends with a solution drawn from information gleaned from past chapters. Suggested movie scenes that demonstrate the relevant audio techniques will also be included. Equally applicable to studio and location recording, the book is oriented toward commonly accessible environments such as conference rooms, hallways, beaches, car interiors, bathrooms, and so on. The intent is to allow the student to make the best of a location no matter how challenging it might be. Most importantly, this book will make one aware of the potential of sound on screen, for it is truly 50% of the viewing experience.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Search Terms (links to TechCat)