| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
Acoustics : Sound Fields and Transducers by
Also available as an eBook.
Electroacoustics by
Based on twenty years of teaching, this text covers electric acoustic transducers such as microphones and loudspeakers, with additional material on array, radiation impedance, acoustic center, and modern loudspeaker enclosures. It include appendices on basic filter theory, electrical circuit theory, and homework problems in each chapter. Students can easily grasp the key scientific and engineering principles necessary to understand the practical design methods. It also contains information on how the rooms in which these transducers are used influence their acoustical behavior and how the properties of such transducers is assessed.
Handbook of Sound Studio Construction by
Build first-class recording studios and listening spaces Design and build your own audiophile-grade recording and playback environments using proven, cost-effective plans and techniques. Handbook of Sound Studio Construction: Rooms for Recording and Listening explains practical acoustical properties and describes how to engineer acoustically sensitive spaces, including music recording studios, control rooms, voice studios, home project studios, A/V suites, media rooms, and surround-sound home theaters. Learn how to choose room dimensions, select building materials, construct your own custom treatments, maximize isolation, and generate and analyze response curves. This do-it-yourself guide incorporates decades of roomdesignexperience and provides you with the practical knowledge to design and build your own acoustical spaces or improve existing spaces. Coverage includes: An introduction to room acoustics and acoustical design Reflecting, absorbing, and diffusing materials Room geometry, modes, and treatment Acoustic isolation, site selection, and HVAC design Wall, floor, and ceiling construction Window and door design considerations Reverberation times, early reflections, and psychoacoustics Objective and subjective room evaluation Plans and specifications for 10 recording and listening rooms
Master Handbook of Acoustics (5th Ed.) by
Practical Instruction on the Art and Science of Acoustic Design and ArchitectureBuild your own acoustic environments such as recording studios, control rooms, and home listening rooms with expert insights from two engineering professionals. Fully expanded to cover the latest methods and software tools, Master Handbook of Acoustics, Fifth Edition presents clear explanations of acoustic phenomena and provides a hands-on approach to room design. Learn how to perform acoustic measurements, choose room dimensions, assign speaker placement, analyze response curves, and design and install sound absorbers and diffusers. You will also find details on how to fine-tune room reverberation, minimize external noise, and apply psychoacoustic concepts.Master Handbook of Acoustics, Fifth Edition explains how to: Determine how sound propagates in open and enclosed spacesMeasure sound-pressure levels and work with decibelsAnalyze the characteristics of room modal resonancesTreat rooms for optimal early reflections, reverberation, and diffusionMinimize acoustic distortion, comb-filter effects, and HVAC interferenceConstruct high-quality stereo and surround-sound listening roomsDesign personal and professional recording studios and control roomsUnderstand the acoustics of auditoriums and concert hallsOptimize room designs using measurement, modeling, and auralization software
Sound Materials by
Sound Materialsprovides a visual encyclopedia of sound-absorbing materials. Categorized according to application, each material is profiled with color photographs and illustrations, reference projects, manufacturer contact details, technical specifications, and sound absorption performance data. A vital reference volume for architects, designers, acousticians, engineers, students, and creative professionals, this book also includes interviews with materials scientists about developing materials and with acoustical engineers and designers about how these products are utilized to solve design problems. Tyler Adamsis an artist and acoustician based in Los Angeles, California.
You must log into Canvas with your LTU credentials to access these eBooks.
Acoustic Echo and Noise Control by
Authors are well known and highly recognized by the "acoustic echo and noise community." Presents a detailed description of practical methods to control echo and noise Develops a statistical theory for optimal control parameters and presents practical estimation and approximation methods
Acoustics of Musical Instruments by
This book, the first English-language translation of Acoustique des instruments de musique, Second Edition, presents the necessary foundations for understanding the complex physical phenomena involved in musical instruments. What is the function of the labium in a flute? Which features of an instrument allow us to make a clear audible distinction between a clarinet and a trumpet? With the help of numerous examples, these questions are addressed in detail. The authors focus in particular on the significant results obtained in the field during the last fifteen years. Their goal is to show that elementary physical models can be used with benefit for various applications in sound synthesis, instrument making, and sound recording. The book is primarily addressed to graduate students and researchers; however it could also be of interest for engineers, musicians, craftsmen, and music lovers who wish to learn about the basics of musical acoustics.
Applications of Digital Signal Processing to Audio and Acoustics by
Today, the main applications of audio DSP are high quality audio coding and the digital generation and manipulation of music signals. They share common research topics including perceptual measurement techniques and analysis/synthesis methods. Additional important topics are hearing aids using signal processing technology and hardware architectures for digital signal processing of audio.
Architectural Acoustics by
The goal of this widely used book is to present in a highly illustrated format the principles of design for good hearing and freedom from noise in and around buildings. The more than 540 illustrations are not merely supplements to the text as with nearly all traditional books. In this book, the illustrations are the core of the coverage of basic principles of sound and hearing, sound absorption and noise reduction, sound isolation and criteria for noise, control of HVAC systems noise and vibrations, auditorium acoustics design, and electronic sound systems.
Architectural Acoustics Illustrated by
Unite the science of sound and the principles of design to enhance any space Architectural Acoustics Illustrated translates the quantitative and qualitative content of acoustics into the graphic language of architecture. This highly-visual guide includes over 350 illustrations that outline the physics of sound and the best design practices for limiting or mitigating noise in buildings by using the latest in materials and techniques. Each chapter includes a summary checklist of design guidelines to help prevent mistakes and oversights, and the Instructor's website offers video animations demonstrating acoustical concepts. Designed as a "first look" at the interaction of sound and space, the book explains the principles of architectural acoustics and their practical applications, providing a comprehensive guide for designing with acoustics in mind. Architectural acoustics is more than just concert halls - it may determine building placement, division of interior space, exterior construction, and even siting. When addressed early in the design process, the resulting space can be free of unwanted sound and promote good hearing; if left unaddressed, the problems with the space can lead to lawsuits and costly post-construction remediation. Architectural Acoustics Illustrated helps designers solve most acoustical problems in advance, by enabling readers to: Understand the physical science underlying the behavior of sound Consider the interactions of sound and space in the initial design approach Mitigate building sounds such as those produced by HVAC and plumbing with early design planning Design spaces for listening, and incorporate acoustics best practices into every plan The highly visual format of the book helps readers grasp complex concepts quickly, and thorough discussion of each concept's real-world application ties the science directly into the design process. All design professionals need to have a fundamental understanding of acoustics, and Architectural Acoustics Illustrated is a comprehensive, practical guide in an easy-to-read format.
Foundations of Engineering Acoustics by
Foundations of Engineering Acoustics takes the reader on a journey from a qualitative introduction to the physical nature of sound, explained in terms of common experience, to mathematical models and analytical results which underlie the techniques applied by the engineering industry to improve the acoustic performance of their products.
Master Handbook of Acoustics (6th Ed.) by
Design and construct audiophile-quality sonic environments of all sizes--from home theaters and project studios to large-scale recording studios. Thoroughly revised to include new acoustical design techniques, Master Handbook of Acoustics, Sixth Edition, explains the art and science of room acoustics and architecture by combining theoretical instruction with matter-of-fact engineering advice.
Springer Handbook of Acoustics by
Acoustics, the science of sound, has developed into a broad interdisciplinary field encompassing the academic disciplines of physics, engineering, psychology, speech, audiology, music, architecture, physiology, neuroscience, and others. Here is an unparalleled modern handbook reflecting this richly interdisciplinary nature edited by one of the acknowledged masters in the field, Thomas Rossing. Researchers and students benefit from the comprehensive contents spanning: animal acoustics including infrasound and ultrasound, environmental noise control, music and human speech and singing, physiological and psychological acoustics, architectural acoustics, physical and engineering acoustics, medical acoustics, and ocean acoustics.This handbook reviews the most important areas of acoustics, with emphasis on current research. The authors of the various chapters are all experts in their fields. Each chapter is richly illustrated with figures and tables. The latest research and applications are incorporated throughout, e.g. computer recognition and synthesis of speech, physiological acoustics, psychological acoustics, thermoacoustics, diagnostic imaging and therapeutic applications and acoustical oceanography.It contains a Foreword by Manfred R. Schroeder.
