Subject search terms: Benign prostatic hyperplasia, Breast--Fibrocystic disease, Cystocele, Medical screening, Men's health services, Menopause, pelvic inflammatory disease, Perimenopause, Rectum—Prolapse, Women's health services; Keyword search terms: Men’s health screening, Rectocele, Women’s health screening
Assessment of Cancer Screening by
Cancer screening is a prominent strategy in cancer control in the United States, yet the ability to correctly interpret cancer screening data eludes many researchers, clinicians, and policy makers. This open access primer rectifies that situation by teaching readers, in simple language and with straightforward examples, why and how the population-level cancer burden changes when screening is implemented, and how we assess whether that change is of benefit. This book provides an in-depth look at the many aspects of cancer screening and its assessment, including screening phenomena, performance measures, population-level outcomes, research designs, and other important and timely topics. Concise, accessible, and focused, Assessment of Cancer Screening: A Primer is best suited to those with education or experience in clinical research or public health in the United States - no previous knowledge of cancer screening assessment is necessary. This is the first text dedicated to cancer screening theory and methodology to be published in 20 years.
Gender, Women's Health Care Concerns and Other Social Factors in Health and Health Care by
This volume of Research in the Sociology of Health Care analyses micro-level gender issues and other social factors impacting macro-level health care systems. Examining the health and health care issues of patients and providers of care both in the United States and in other countries, chapters focus on linkages to policy and population concerns as ways to meet global health care needs.
Lower Urinary Tract Symptoms and Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia: From Research to Bedside by
Lower Urinary Tract Symptoms and Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia: From Research to Bedside offers full acknowledgment of the basic research of lower urinary tract symptoms (LUTS) and benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH), also connecting the clinical and practice management of the disease. It provides a full comprehension of LUTS and BPH from several aspects, allowing for a schematic interpretation of the disease and subsequent medical management. Going beyond the guidelines in the field, this title enhances the knowledge of BPH onset, allowing for the advancement of research, beneficial clinical implication and treatment. Perfect for researchers, urologists, pathologists and endocrinologists, this must-have reference provides what is needed to understand LUTS and BPH in one easy to reference place.
Management of Menopause by
1. Introduction to Menopause 1 2. How to Diagnose Menopause? 14 3. Nutrition, Exercise and Lifestyle for Menopause Women 21 4. Vasomotor Symptoms and Menopause 30 5. Genitourinary Syndrome of Menopause 44 6. Osteoporosis, Bone Health, and Menopause 61 7. Cardiovascular Health and Menopause 81 8. Brain, Cognition and Menopause 92 9. Sexuality and Menopause 103 10. Contraceptives in Perimenopause 110 11. Skin Care and Menopause 119 12. Mental Health and Menopause 131 13. Premature Ovarian Insufficiency 140 14. Metabolic Syndrome and Menopause 156 15. Postmenopausal Bleeding 168 16. Risk and Benefits of Menopausal Hormone Therapy 180 17. Prescribing Hormone Replacement Therapy 190 Index 209
New Frontiers of Cardiovascular Screening Using Unobtrusive Sensors, AI, and IoT by
New Frontiers of Cardiovascular Screening using Unobtrusive Sensors, AI, and IoT provides insights into real-world problems in cardiovascular disease screening that can be addressed via AI, IoT and wearable based sensing. Non-Communicable Diseases (NCD) are surpassing CDS and emerging as the foremost cause of death. Hence, early screening of CVDs using wearable and other similar sensors is an extremely important global problem to solve. The digital health field is constantly changing, and this book provides a review of recent technology developments, offering unique coverage of processing time series physiological sensor data. The authors have developed this book with graduate and post graduate students in mind, making sure they provide an accessible entry point into the field. This book is particularly useful for engineers and computer scientists who want to build technologies that work in real world scenarios as it provides a practitioner's view/insights /tricks of the trade. Finally, this book helps researchers working on this important problem to quickly ramp up their knowledge and research to the state-of-the-art.
Violence Against Women's Health in International Law by
Violence against women is characterised by its universality, the multiplicity of its forms, and the intersectionality of diverse kinds of discrimination against women. Great emphasis in legal analysis has been placed on sex-based discrimination; however, in investigations of violence, one aspect has been overlooked: violence may severely affect women's health and access to reproductive health, and State health policies might be a cause of violence against women. Exploring the relationship between violence against women and women's rights to health and reproductive health, Sara De Vido theorises the new concept of violence against women's health in international law using the Hippocratic paradigm, enriching human rights-based approaches to women's autonomy and reflecting on the pervasiveness of patterns of discrimination. At the core of the book are two dimensions of violence: horizontal 'inter-personal', and vertical 'state policies'. Investigating these dimensions through decisions made by domestic, regional and international judicial or quasi-judicial bodies, De Vido reconceptualises States' obligations and eventually asks whether international law itself is the ultimate cause of violence against women's health.
What They Don't Tell You about Menopause: A Gynecologist’s Unofficial Guide to Premenopausal, Perimenopausal and Postmenopausal Life by
Women have always struggled with the idea of how much better life would be if they had a better body, a better exercise routine, a better life. This can make it difficult for women to grasp that aging is both a normal and natural part of life. With over 40 years of experience working as an obstetrician gynecologist (OBGYN), Dr. Heather Johnson is equipped with the knowledge to help women of all ages mature gracefully. In What They Don't Tell You About Menopause, Dr. Johnson discusses the various stages of menopause and what to expect throughout this natural aspect of life for women. From perimenopause to postmenopause, and everything in between, this book will be your guide through this daunting period of womanhood.
Women's Health Across the Lifespan by
Introducing the first pharmacotherapy reference to focus on women's health. Just as diseases affect women and men differently, so do drugs. Yet there has never been a comprehensive pharmacotherapy reference focused on women and women's health until now. Women's Health Across the Lifespan: A Pharmacotherapeutic Approach is a groundbreaking publication, a unique primary reference developed to help educate pharmacy students, pharmacists and other health care professionals in an area of deservedly growing interest and importance. This book contains contributions from more than 150 clinical experts in pharmacy, medicine and nursing. It is edited by nationally recognized educators and researchers Laura M. Borgelt, Pharm.D, FCCP, BCPS; Karim Anton Calis, Pharm.D., MPH, FASHP, FCCP; Mary Beth O'Connell, Pharm.D., BCPS, FASHP, FCCP; and Judith A. Smith, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCOP. If you treat women, you need this book. Designed as a contemporary educational text, Women's Health Across the Lifespan is also an authoritative, hands-on resource for experienced practitioners. The work comprises 49 peer-reviewed chapters organized into eight sections, resulting in an in-depth examination of every aspect of women's health from a pharmacotherapy perspective. Each chapter begins with clearly stated learning objectives and is logically arranged for ease of use and readability: * Intriguing case presentations encourage thoughtful clinical evaluation. * Therapeutic challenges stimulate critical thinking and discussion. * Numerous tables illustrate information and list resources. * Sidebars spotlight interesting ancillary information * Related information and references are available online, hyperlinked to original texts of cited articles.