Atlas of Distal Radius Fractures by
Written by one of the world's foremost authorities, this beautifully illustrated surgical atlas is a case-based presentation of the management of distal radius fractures. Each chapter offers a comprehensive guide to the diagnosis and treatment of a specific fracture, including possible complications and how to prevent them, using detailed photographs and illustrations. The cases are accompanied by high-quality operative video to complete the surgical picture. Special emphasis throughout focuses on avoiding pitfalls and using special techniques to optimize outcomes. Key Highlights Nearly 700 illustrations and intraoperative photographs guide the reader through procedures. Operative video for all chapters, narrated by the author, including detailed explanations and rationale for each maneuver. A focus on the "how" of surgical technique (rather than the "why") keeps attention on the necessary steps, tools, and procedures to address a specific type of fracture. Real cases, presented from beginning to end, cover all of the difficult aspects of fracture management. Francisco del Piñal is considered to be among the world's best hand surgeons. His contributions in arthroscopic surgery techniques for wrist fractures are endorsed and used internationally. This book, written for hand surgeons, orthopaedic surgeons, and plastic surgeons, provides essential insight to specialists and subspecialists alike.
Biomechanics and Gait Analysis by
Biomechanics and Gait Analysis presents a comprehensive book on biomechanics that focuses on gait analysis. It is written primarily for biomedical engineering students, professionals and biomechanists with a strong emphasis on medical devices and assistive technology, but is also of interest to clinicians and physiologists. It allows novice readers to acquire the basics of gait analysis, while also helping expert readers update their knowledge. The book covers the most up-to-date acquisition and computational methods and advances in the field. Key topics include muscle mechanics and modeling, motor control and coordination, and measurements and assessments. This is the go to resource for an understanding of fundamental concepts and how to collect, analyze and interpret data for research, industry, clinical and sport.
Distal Radius Fractures and Carpal Instabilities: FESSH IFSSH 2019 Instructional Book by
A comprehensive summary of the state of the art in the management of fractures of the distal radius and carpal instability Hand and wrist fractures account for millions of emergency room visits annually. The extraordinary importance of these structures in activities of daily living necessitates great surgical competence in repairing fractures, so as to preserve the vast range of motion and utility of this functional anatomic unit. The management theory and techniques for these fractures have seen dramatic changes in the last few decades. This new volume brings together all currently established operative techniques for distal radius fractures, explained in detail and highly illustrated, step by step, with a wealth of brilliant figures and diagrams. Key Features: Comprehensive coverage of all types of injury as well as all the evidence-based therapeutic surgical options State-of-the-art management of carpal instability, anterior and dorsal rim fractures, radiocarpal dislocation, malunion, and much more Includes coverage of ligamentous injuries Contributions by numerous world-renowned surgeons This book is ideal for all surgeons in training in orthopaedic surgery and in plastic surgery, and of benefit to experienced surgeons as well. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Electromechanobiology of Cartilage and Osteoarthritis: A Tribute to Alan Grodzinsky on his 75th Birthday by
This is an open access book. In honor of his 75th birthday, we reflect on the impact of the pioneering work of Alan Grodzinsky and his laboratory. This volume includes in-depth discussions of tissue electromechanics, mechanobiology and biomechanics, and matrix biology in addition to the latest advancements in understanding the pathogenesis, progression and treatment of osteoarthritis. Unique to this volume, we overview decades of groundbreaking research that set the stage for the latest efforts in the field, highlighting the legacy of one researcher and their trainees.
Gout by
Gout has become increasingly prevalent in recent years, and is now the most common form of inflammatory arthritis. There have been significant developments in our understanding of the basic biology of gout over the last decade, and major advances in therapeutics have provided successful treatments for acute attacks and long-term prevention, offering clinicians effective treatment options for their patients. Part of the Oxford Rheumatology Library series, Gout provides an up-to-date summary of the pathogenesis, clinical features, and treatment approaches to this condition. The main focus is on key aspects of the biology of the disease, relevant diagnostic tools, and principles of gout management. Practical information is included to guide safe and effective prescribing of gout medications. Chapters on imaging and the future of gout management are also included. The three authors are experts in the basic biology and therapeutics of gout, and have summarized key practice points in a concise and readable manner, making this comprehensive yet practical volume an essential resource for all rheumatologists and general practitioners.
Gout: Risk Factors, Prevalence and Impact on Health by
Editor Biography: Dr. Perry graduated MBChB and BSc (Hons) from the University of Glasgow, Scotland, progressed as Internist and Rheumatologist to complete Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians. He completed a Masters in Medical Education from the University of Dundee and Fellowship of the Higher Education Authority (UK). Following appointment to Consultant Rheumatologist and Physician at the Royal Alexandra Hospital, Paisley, UK, he is now Lead Clinician at the Vale of Leven Hospital and works with National Services Scotland as Rheumatology Clinical Lead for Biologic Therapies. He is co-author of the undergraduate textbook 'Crash Course in Rheumatology and Orthopaedics' and has published a wide range of rheumatology and education articles. He coordinates the undergraduate musculoskeletal curriculum at the University of Glasgow and his students have won national and international prizes. Book Description: It may have once been known as "Disease of King's," but gout is a growing problem for ordinary people around the world. This book brings together multinational expertise to draw out an understanding of this disease that will be useful for the academic, the clinician and indeed the sufferer of gout. Highlighting recent understandings of the genetic background to the condition, with detailed pathophysiology and epidemiology, this book brings together and illustrates the disease mechanisms that cause gout. There follows both an academic and practical appraisal of the dietary risk factors for the development of gout, and the cardiovascular associations that heighten morbidity. With state of the art imaging modalities, the process and sequelae of the disease is captured within the human body, describing in pictures the damage and effect that gout crystals can produce. That damage can be avoided however, if simple principles of treatment and lifestyle modifications are followed. Horizon scanning for yet more drugs to address this growing and unmet need is highlighted as new options that have either recently become available or will be accessible in the near future are explored. With the increasing incidence and prevalence of this condition we are all going to have greater exposure to gout. This book is a timely resource, written by experts, yet accessibly written for all, and certainly not just for "kings". Target Audience: Rheumatologists, Internists and Family Practitioners. Academic Fellows and medical students.
Orthogeriatrics: The Management of Older Patients with Fragility Fractures by
Open access publication has been possible through an unconditional educational grant from UCB. This new open access edition supported by the Fragility Fracture Network aims at giving the widest possible dissemination on fragility fracture (especially hip fracture) management and notably in countries where this expertise is sorely needed. It has been extensively revised and updated by the experts of this network to provide a unique and reliable content in one single volume. Throughout the book, attention is given to the difficult question of how to provide best practice in countries where the discipline of geriatric medicine is not well established and resources for secondary prevention are scarce. The revised and updated chapters on the epidemiology of hip fractures, osteoporosis, sarcopenia, surgery, anaesthesia, medical management of frailty, peri-operative complications, rehabilitation and nursing are supplemented by six new chapters. These include an overview of the multidisciplinary approach to fragility fractures and new contributions on pre-hospital care, treatment in the emergency room, falls prevention, nutrition and systems for audit. The reader will have an exhaustive overview and will gain essential, practical knowledge on how best to manage fractures in elderly patients and how to develop clinical systems that do so reliably.
Pediatric Orthopaedics and Sports Injuries: A Quick Reference Guide by
Fully updated, the third edition of this quick reference delivers targeted guidance on the diagnosis, treatment, and management of orthopaedic problems and sports injuries. Its concise, bulleted format allows readers to quickly locate the exact information they need at the point of care. In addition, it covers musculoskeletal examination and evaluation; casting and splinting; imaging techniques, and rehabilitation strategies. The book features many full color illustrations, clinical photographs and radiographic images to demonstrate physical examination techniques and pathologic physical findings, as well as tables and figures to aid in diagnosis. TOPICS INCLUDE Common sports injuries Fractures Trauma Limb disorders Spine disorders Hip and pelvis disorders Infections Tumors Skeletal dysplasias
Rang's Children's Fractures by
With an image-focused, non-traditional layout that differs from most medical textbooks, the fourth edition of Rang's Children's Fractures --a classic textbook on children's fractures for over 40 years--expands to four editors, all faculty members of Rady Children's Hospital at the University of California, San Diego. This edition maintains the book's practical, playful style and emphasizes diagnosis, treatment, common pitfalls, and communication with parents and other healthcare professionals. Features: Designed for medical students, physician's assistants, residents, emergency room doctors, general orthopaedists, and children's orthopaedists. Hundreds of photographs and illustrations, succinctly captioned for quick comprehension. Overviews of biomechanics, injury, and treatment of the shoulder, clavicle, wrist, and other bodily regions prone to injury. Comparisons of childhood and adult fractures and injuries, and discussions of accident prevention and risk. New information on orthopaedic sports medicine surgery to match the topic's growing popularity across medical curricula. Chapter on casts in children expanded with more detail and illustrations. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s ), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook , powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs , supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Recent Advances in Bone Tumours and Osteoarthritis by
This book is a combination of recent advances in two major areas of orthopaedics: Bone tumours and Osteoarthritis. All chapters are contributed by well-known researchers and surgeons in Orthopaedics working across the globe. The book is divided into two major parts for clarity. All authors have contributed their original research, their experience in the field, and the recent advances that will keep the reader well informed and up to date in our understanding of bone tumours and osteoarthritis. This is a "must have" reference book for any medical library or an individual who is keen to update and have CME (continuous medical education) points added to their learning.
Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, 9E by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The industry-standard resource for stress and strain formulas―fully updated for the latest advances and restructured for ease of use This newly designed and thoroughly revised guide contains accurate and thorough tabulated formulations that can be applied to the stress analysis of a comprehensive range of structural components. Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, Ninth Edition has been reorganized into a user-friendly format that makes it easy to access and apply the information. The book explains all of the formulas and analyses needed by designers and engineers for mechanical system design. You will get a solid grounding in the theory behind each formula along with real-world applications that cover a wide range of materials. Coverage includes: * The behavior of bodies under stress * Analytical, numerical, and experimental methods * Tension, compression, shear, and combined stress * Beams and curved beams * Torsion, flat plates, and columns * Shells of revolution, pressure vessels, and pipes * Bodies under direct pressure and shear stress * Elastic stability * Dynamic and temperature stresses * Stress concentration * Fatigue and fracture * Stresses in fasteners and joints * Composite materials and solid biomechanics
Standards for the Management of Open Fractures by
Standards for the Management of Open Fractures provides an evidence-based approach for the management of open fractures, focussing on lower limb injuries. It builds on and expands the NICE Guidelines to provide a practical approach with supporting evidence.The new edition has been extensively updated and expanded to include key aspects of management, ranging from setting up an orthoplastic service, through to dealing with the bone and soft tissue injures, complications such as infection, and patient rehabilitation and psychological care.The book is primarily aimed at trainee plastic, orthopaedic and trauma surgeons (particularly for expanding knowledge and examination revision) but would also appeal to established surgeons to improve patient care.Standards for the Management of Open Fractures is an open access title. It is available to read and download as a free PDF version on Oxford Medicine Online. It has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial No Derivatives 4.0 International licence.
Tibia Pathology and Fractures by
The tibia is the larger, stronger, and anterior (frontal) of the two bones in the leg, which connects the knee with the ankle bones. The tibia, or shinbone, is the most fractured long bone in the body. In recent years, high-energy accidents result in comminuted tibia fractures or intraarticular fractures of the knee (plateau) or ankle (platform) that need immediate open reduction and internal fixation with anatomical plates or intramedullary nails. Intraarticular fractures with comminution or fractures with non-appropriate internal fixation predispose to post-traumatic knee or ankle arthritis. Conservative current therapies (injections of plate-rich plasma or stems cells) or high tibia osteotomies may delay the need of total knee arthroplasty. Tibia Pathology and Fractures analyzes all the up-to-date internal fixation or other operative or conservative therapies.
Subject search terms: Amputation, Fractures, Gout, Osteoarthritis, Sports injuries, Sprains; Keyword search terms: Degenerative joint disease, Muscle AND strains
