Aging and Age-Related Disorders: From Molecular Mechanisms to Therapies by
Aging of unicellular and multicellular eukaryotic organisms is a convoluted biological phenomenon, which is manifested as an age-related functional decline caused by progressive dysregulation of certain cellular and organismal processes. Many chronic diseases are associated with human aging. These aging-associated diseases include cardiovascular diseases, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, chronic kidney disease, diabetes, osteoarthritis, osteoporosis, sarcopenia, stroke, neurodegenerative diseases (including Parkinson's, Alzheimer's, and Huntington's diseases), and many forms of cancer. Studies in yeast, roundworms, fruit flies, fishes, mice, primates, and humans have provided evidence that the major aspects and basic mechanisms of aging and aging-associated pathology are conserved across phyla. The focus of this International Journal of Molecular Sciences Special Issue is on molecular and cellular mechanisms, diagnostics, and therapies and diseases of aging. Fifteen original research and review articles in this Special Issue provide important insights into how various genetic, dietary, and pharmacological interventions can affect certain longevity-defining cellular and organismal processes to delay aging and postpone the onset of age-related pathologies in evolutionarily diverse organisms. These articles outline the most important unanswered questions and directions for future research in the vibrant and rapidly evolving fields of mechanisms of biological aging, aging-associated diseases, and aging-delaying therapies.
Atopic Dermatitis and Pruritus by
Atopic dermatitis, or eczema, is a condition that makes the skin red and itchy. It is common in children but can occur at any age. Atopic dermatitis is long lasting (chronic) and tends to flare periodically. It may be accompanied by asthma or hay fever. No cure has been found for atopic dermatitis, but treatments and self-care measures such as avoiding harsh soaps, moisturising, and applying medicated creams or ointments, can relieve itching and prevent new outbreaks. Pruritus, or itchy skin, is an uncomfortable, irritating sensation that makes a person want to scratch. It is often caused by dry skin and is more common in older adults, as skin tends to become drier with age. Depending on the cause of the itchiness, the skin may appear normal, red, rough or bumpy. Repeated scratching can cause raised thick areas of skin that might bleed or become infected. Many people find relief with self-care measures such as moisturising daily, using gentle cleansers and bathing with lukewarm water. Long-term relief requires identifying and treating the cause of itchy skin. Common treatments are medicated creams, moist dressings and oral anti-itch medicines. This book presents 30 clinical cases of patients with atopic dermatitis or pruritus. Each case is explained in a step-by-step manner, detailing history and symptoms, investigation techniques, diagnosis, and management. Many cases cover comorbid conditions associated with these skin disorders. Authored by recognised experts from worldwide Atopic Dermatitis Centres of Reference and Excellence (ADCARE), the practical text is further enhanced by photographs and figures. Key points Practical guide to diagnosis and management of atopic dermatitis and pruritus 30 clinical cases cover different skin conditions, many with comorbid conditions Authored by experts from Atopic Dermatitis Centres of Reference and Excellence Features photographs and figures to assist learning
Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook by
The essential guide to controlling and managing today's communicable diseases The fourth edition of Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook offers public health workers of all kinds an authoritative and up-to-date guide to current protocols surrounding the identification and control of infectious diseases. With its concise, accessible design, the book is a practical tool that can be relied upon to explain topics ranging from the basic principles of communicable disease control to recent changes and innovations in health protection practice. Major syndromes and individual infections are insightfully addressed, while the authors also outline the WHO's international health regulations and the organizational arrangements in place in all EU nations. New to the fourth edition are chapters on Ebola, the Zika virus, and other emerging pandemics. In addition, new writing on healthcare-associated infection, migrant and refugee health, and the importance of preparedness make this an essential and relevant text for all those in the field. This vital resource: Reflects recent developments in the science and administration of health protection practice Covers topics such as major syndromes, control of individual infections, main services and activities, arrangements for all European countries, and much more Includes new chapters on the Zika virus, Schistosomiasis, Coronavirus including MERS + SARS, and Ebola Follows a format designed for ease of use and everyday consultation Created to provide public and environmental health practitioners, physicians, epidemiologists, infection control nurses, microbiologists and trainees with a straightforward - yet informative - resource, Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook is a practical companion for all those working the field today.
Handbook of Patient Care in Vascular Diseases by
Now in full color, Handbook of Patient Care in Vascular Diseases is a concise quick-reference guide to effectively diagnosing and treating patients with common arterial and venous vascular diseases. Chapter by chapter, content is presented in a convenient online format, and covers everything from the latest diagnostic methodologies to current catheter-based basics to post-op patient management. Diseases and conditions include diabetes mellitus, atherosclerosis, obesity, and more. Emphasizes patient management and care rather than the technicalities of surgical interventions. Thoroughly updated, incorporating recent advancements in endovascular technologies and procedures. Disease-specific chapters cover pathophysiology, pre-op management, diagnosis, examination, procedural planning, and follow-up. Practical, no-nonsense writing style designed for easy and quick absorption of material. Includes management checklists, referenced to current literature, that facilitate efficient care planning and activities. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Leg Ulcers: Diagnosis and Management by
1. Epidemiology and Socioeconomic Impact 2. Venous Anatomy of the Lower Extremity 3. Pathology of Leg Ulcers 4. Microbiology of Leg Ulcers 5. Wound Healing 6. History Taking and Examination in Chronic Leg Ulcers 7. Venous Leg Ulcers 8. Diabetic Foot Ulcers 9. Neuropathic Ulcers 10. Ischemic Ulcers, Pyoderma Gangrenosum and Vasculitic Ulcers 11. Principles of Leg Ulcer Management 12. Investigations and Radiological Diagnosis of Leg Ulcers 13. Topical Therapy for Leg Ulcers 14. Systemic Therapy of Leg Ulcers 15. Compression Therapy and Dressings 16. Role of Skin Grafting in Managing Leg Ulcers 17. Role of Platelet Rich Plasma and Platelet Rich Fibrin in Managing Leg Ulcers 18. Novel Research and Recent Advances in Managing Leg Ulcers Index
Natural and Synthetic Bioactives for Skin Health, Disease and Management by
In recent years, researchers have shown a special interest in natural products as alternative methods for the prevention, treatment, and/or management of various skin illnesses and disorders, primarily due to their natural availability, efficacity, reduced cost, and minimal toxicity. In a similar vein, synthetic bioactives, as well as small molecules, have been studied in vitro, in vivo, and in clinical studies as potential drugs or supplements. This Special Issue of Nutrients comprises an array of literature reviews, original communications, and studies on the roles of natural products, synthetic bioactives, and small molecules in a variety of skin disorders and diseases, such as aging, atopic dermatitis, cutaneous T-cell lymphomas, melanoma, allergies, hyperpigmentation, inflammation, and more, which were investigated through in vitro and ex vivo approaches, preclinical trials, cell-based assays, and animal models. The mechanisms of action of certain compounds are proposed, while others are currently under investigation. The authors of the papers also explore technologies designed to improve the bioavailability and delivery of certain compounds. In lieu of ongoing research on a variety of skin disorders, the wealth of information published in this Special Issue can act as a springboard for the development of new preventive and therapeutic modalities for the management of skin diseases.
Personalized Medicine in the Field of Inflammatory Skin Disorders by
Skin inflammation is associated with a wide range of conditions which represent major health issues worldwide. Skin and mucosal surfaces represent the primary interface between the human body and the environment, susceptible to numerous factors whose action results in diseases produced by chemical substances, mechanical trauma, microbial agents, radiation, etc. Inflammation, a complex network of interactions between soluble molecules and cells, represents the main modality of the skin's response to injuries. Numerous studies have revealed close links between chronic inflammation, oxidative stress, and carcinogenesis. Chronic inflammation induces the activation of various cell types and an increase in the production of reactive oxygen species, promoting the initiation of a malignant process. Identifying specific biomarkers is essential for understanding molecular mechanisms and developing therapies appropriate to the patient's characteristics.Personalized medicine is an emerging field of medicine that has the potential to predict which therapy will be safe and efficacious for specific patients using an individual's genetic profile to guide decisions regarding the diagnosis, treatment, as well as prevention of disease. This book gathers articles that present recent advancements in research involving the mechanisms that underlie the development of inflammatory skin disorders, skin and mucosal inflammation in general.
Psoriasis: New Research by
Psoriasis is a chronic skin disease that starts with lesions that appear red, thick, scaly, and itchy with bilateral and symmetrical distribution. The lesions are most often seen in the scalp, elbows, knees, and genitalia. The extent of the lesions is not always limited to these areas, and in some cases, it may involve larger parts of the skin, as well as nails and joints in some cases. This book presents a comprehensive overview of psoriasis, including clinical aspects, differential diagnosis by dermoscopic devices, comorbidities, immune system changes, methotrexate therapy, and topical innovative molecular targeted therapeutics.
Recent Advances in Wound Healing by
The human wound-healing process could be divided into four discrete phases, which have also been indicated as the hemostasis, the inflammatory, the proliferation, and the remodeling phase. For a wound to be healed efficaciously, all four phases must sequentially happen at an expected time setting. Numerous aspects can hinder one or more stages of this procedure, thus can cause inappropriate or diminished wound healing. This book reviews the recent literature on the most significant factors that affect wound healing and the potential cellular and/or molecular mechanisms involved. The factors discussed include physiology of wound healing, interferon, stem cells and photobiomodulation, chronic venous ulcer, chronic fistula, bionanomaterials, topical antiseptic agents, including silver and sodium hypochlorite solution, diabetic ulcers, and nutritional supplements such as copper.
The Sensitive Skin: Treatment Modalities and Cosmeceuticals by
This book is a concise guide to the diagnosis and management of common skin conditions for dermatologists and trainees. The text begins with an introduction to sensitive skin and general skin care methods, followed by chapters dedicated to different dermatologic conditions including rosacea, acne, psoriasis, dermatitis and cosmetic intolerance syndrome. The next chapters discuss the management of skin disorders in different sectors of the population such as the elderly and newborn babies, concluding with guidance on skin care products, moisturisers, cosmetics and dermatological procedures for sensitive skin. The text is further enhanced by photographs, diagrams and tables. Key points Concise guide to the diagnosis and management of common skin conditions Provides detail on specific problems including rosacea, psoriasis and acne Covers management of skin disorders in different sectors of the population Includes photographs, diagrams and tables to enhance learning
Skin Microbiome Handbook: From Basic Research to Product Development by
The book provides a comprehensive detailed summary of current status on skin microbiome research in health and disease as well as key regulatory and legal aspects. In the past decade, interest and technology have greatly advanced to unravel the nature and effect of skin microbiome on our health. Diseases such as atopic dermatitis and acne are at the forefront of this research, but also other conditions such as skin cancer are under investigation. In addition, mapping of the skin microbiome has gone from basic to more detailed with attempts to correlate it to various ages, ethnicities and genders. In parallel to mapping it, a great deal of research is dedicated to understanding its functionality and communication (and hence effect) on human cells. The Skin Microbiome Handbook is a summary of current status of knowledge, research tools and approaches in skin microbiome, in health and disease. It contains the following categories: healthy skin microbiome and oral-skin interaction; skin microbiome observational research; skin microbiome in disequilibrium and disease; skin's innate immunity; testing and study design; regulatory and legal aspects for skin microbiome related products. The 18 chapters of the book are written by carefully selected leaders in the academia and industry exhibiting extensive experience and understanding in the areas of interest.
Therapeutic Dressings and Wound Healing Applications by
The latest research on techniques for effective healing of chronic and difficult to heal wounds The healing of chronic wounds is a global medical concern, specifically for patients suffering from obesity and type II diabetes. Therapeutic Dressing and Wound Healing Applications is an essential text for research labs, industry professionals, and general clinical practitioners that want to make the shift towards advanced therapeutic dressing and groundbreaking wound application for better healing. This book takes a clinical and scientific approach to wound healing, and includes recent case studies to highlight key points and areas of improvement. It is divided into two key sections that include insight into the biochemical basis of wounds, as well as techniques and recent advancements. Chapters include information on: ● Debridement and disinfection properties of wound dressing ● Biofilms, silver nanoparticles, and honey dressings ● Clinical perspectives for treating diabetic wounds ● Treating mixed infections ● Wound healing and tissue regeneration treatments ● Gene based therapy, 3D bioprinting and freeze-dried wafers Anyone looking to update and improve the treatment of chronic wounds for patients will find the latest pertinent information in Therapeutic Dressing and Wound Healing Applications.
Varicella-Zoster: Global Status by
Varicella-Zoster: Global Status is one in a series of GIDEON ebooks which explore all individual infectious diseases, drugs, vaccines, outbreaks, surveys and pathogens in every country of the world. Data are based on the GIDEON web application (www.gideononline.com) which relies on standard text books, peer-review journals, Health Ministry reports and ProMED, supplemented by an ongoing exhaustive search of the medical literature. The ebook includes: 1. Descriptive epidemiology 2. Clinical features 3. Distribution map 4. Images 5. Global status and status in every relevant country 6. References Varicella-Zoster: Global Status includes separate sections on Herpes zoster, and Varicella.
Vascular Disease in Women: An Overview of the Literature and Treatment Recommendations by
Vascular Disease in Women highlights the epidemiology, natural history and treatment of vascular disease, specifically as it pertains to women. The book provides a thorough overview of what is known and waht is now known about vascular disease in women and highlights opportunities for further education and research on this topic. The book will serve as an essential reference for both clinicians and researchers, discussing the disease prevalence, treatment options, and treatment outcomes for vascular disease in women and explores the need for future research in vascular disease specifically as it pertains to women. Provides a comprehensive overview of vascular disease as it affects women Includes contributions from world-renowned vascular surgeons of both genders, who have a vested interest in women's vascular health Covers what is known and not known about vascular disease in women, prompting further research in the area for what is still unknown
Vascular Diseases for the Non-Specialist: An Evidence-Based Guide by
This book aims to provide non-specialist healthcare practitioners with current, focused and objective information on the most common vascular diseases encountered in daily clinical practice. In day-to-day clinical practice many healthcare practitioners do not have a working knowledge of the most common vascular diseases that frequently arise in patient care. Some of these topics include: aneurysms, peripheral arterial disease, diabetic foot, venous thromboembolism, cerebrovascular disease, aortic dissection, and acute limb ischemia. These commonly encountered vascular diseases are becoming public health issues due to their high morbidity and mortality as well as increasing healthcare costs. Since patients with vascular diseases are often referred to non-specialists, the general practitioner must know how to proper handle the most common vascular diseases encountered in daily clinical practice. For each disease the concept, epidemiology, natural history, diagnosis and treatment are described, followed by essential advice on what the non-specialist can do for the patient and when to refer the patient to a specialist.
Venous Ulcers by
Venous Ulcers, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive synthesis of evidence-based recommendations and the highest level of expertise from a leading group of doctors, which is a fundamental constituent for the appropriate management of nonhealing venous wounds in everyday practice. This book offers a fertile environment for a complete understanding of genetics and molecular and biochemical mechanisms that lead to the development and progression of venous ulcers, which is essential for elucidating the underlying pathophysiology and can be utilized for developing novel therapies and accessing previously inaccessible areas of research. Socioeconomic impact, impact on health-related quality of life, the clinical course of the disease, and diagnostic algorithms are elaborated in detail. All currently available treatment modalities are explained in a clinically applicable approach with particular emphasis on operative technique, technical feasibility, success rates (both clinical and technical), and side effects. Lastly, this book elaborates on special diagnostic considerations and management of the most complex patients, often requiring the highest level of expertise for successful treatment.
Wound Healing by
Wound Healing presents recent information and basic knowledge about wound management, including healing mechanisms and actions. It provides a comprehensive overview of the subject, including pathophysiology and clinical and medical management. Chapters cover such topics as negative pressure wound management, hypertrophic scarring, biomaterials derived from plants, insulin use, and modified collagen. This book will help dermatologists, students, surgeons, and physicians who treat patients with wounds.
Wound Healing, Tissue Repair, and Regeneration in Diabetes by
Wound Healing, Tissue Repair and Regeneration in Diabetes explores a wide range of topics related to wound healing, tissue repair and regeneration, putting a special focus on diabetes and obesity. The book addresses the molecular and cellular pathways involved in the process of wound repair and regeneration. Other sections explore a wide spectrum of nutritional supplements and novel therapeutic approaches, provide a comprehensive overview, present various types of clinical aspects related to diabetic wounds, including infection, neuropathy, and vasculopathy, provide an exhaustive review of various foods, minerals, supplements and phytochemicals that have been proven beneficial, and assess future directions. This book is sure to be a welcome resource for nutritionists, practitioners, surgeons, nurses, wound researchers and other health professionals. Explains diabetic wounds and their complications Assesses the role of nutraceuticals, herbal supplements and other modalities for use in treating diabetic wounds Provides protocols for diabetic wound management
Wound Healing: Current Perspectives by
Wound healing and its treatment are subjects that have been discussed for centuries in the medical literature. Wounds are everywhere, occurring in the young and elderly and in hospital and at home, and affect patients in every clinical specialty around the world. There are many publications on wound healing, but this book intends to give an overview of its current perspectives so as to be useful to practice care in wound healing and to improve the quality of life. It is considered that this book will be useful for clinicians who are interested in wound care.
Year Book of Dermatology - 2018 by
1. Apremilast in Psoriasis-A Prospective Real-world Study 1 2. Comparative Effectiveness of Abatacept, Apremilast, Secukinumab and Ustekinumab Treatment of Psoriatic Arthritis: A Systematic Review and Network Meta-analysis 3. Management of Common Side Effects of Apremilast 4. Apremilast for the Treatment of Moderate?to?Severe Palmoplantar Psoriasis: Results from a Double?Blind, Placebo?Controlled, Randomized Study 5. Long-term Safety and Tolerability of Apremilast in Patients with Psoriasis: Pooled Safety Analysis for ?156 Weeks from 2 Phase 3, Randomized Controlled Trials (ESTEEM 1 and 2) 6. Secukinumab and Apremilast Combination Therapy for Recalcitrant Psoriasis 7. Apremilast: A Review in Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis 8. Serum Squamous Cell Carcinoma Antigen in Psoriasis: A Potential Quantitative Biomarker for Disease Severity 9. Long-term Real-life Safety Profile and Effectiveness of Fumaric Acid Esters in Psoriasis Patients: A Single-Centre, Retrospective, Observational Study 10. Association between Circulating 25-hydroxyvitamin D Levels and Psoriasis, and Correlation with Disease Severity: A Meta-analysis 11. Maintenance of Skin Clearance with Ixekizumab Treatment of Psoriasis: Three-Year Results from the UNCOVER-3 Study 12. Psoriasis and the Risk of Diabetes: A Prospective Population-based Cohort Study 13. Psoriatic Patients with Chronic Viral Hepatitis do not have an Increased Risk of Liver Cirrhosis Despite Long-term Methotrexate Use: Real-world Data from a Nationwide Cohort Study in Taiwan 14. Reporting of Outcomes in Randomized Controlled Trials on Nail Psoriasis: A Systematic Review 15. Risk of Cancer in Patients with Psoriasis on Biological Therapies: A Systematic Review 16. Safety of Adalimumab Dosed Every Week and Every Other Week: Focus on Patients with Hidradenitis Suppurativa or Psoriasis 17. Secukinumab Treatment of Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis in Routine Clinical Care: Real-life Data of Prior and Concomitant Use of Psoriasis Treatments from the PROSPECT Study 18. Serum Levels of Psoriasin (S100A7) and Koebnerisin (S100A15) as Potential Markers of Atherosclerosis in Patients with Psoriasis 19. Simulating the Life Course of Psoriasis Patients: The Interplay between Therapy Intervention and Marital Status 20. Smoking Paradox in the Development of Psoriatic Arthritis among Patients with Psoriasis: A Population-based Study 21. Stricturing and Fistulizing Crohn's Disease is Associated with Anti-tumor Necrosis Factor-induced Psoriasis in Patients with Inflammatory Bowel Disease 22. Studying the Effect of Systemic and Biological Drugs on Intima-Media Thickness in Patients Suffering from Moderate and Severe Psoriasis 23. Systemic Immune Mechanisms in Atopic Dermatitis and Psoriasis with Implications for Treatment 24. The Akkermansia-muciniphila is a gut Microbiota Signature in Psoriasis 25. Topical Corticosteroid Concerns among Parents of Children with Psoriasis Versus Atopic Dermatitis: A French Multicentre Cross-sectional Study 26. Fumaric Acid Esters in Combination with a 6-week Course of Narrowband Ultraviolet B Provides an Accelerated Response Compared with Fumaric Acid Esters Monotherapy in Patients with Moderate-to-Severe Plaque Psoriasis: A Randomized Prospective Clinical Study 27. Association between Obesity and Pediatric Psoriasis 28. Real-world Health Outcomes in Adults with Moderate-to-Severe Psoriasis in the United States: A Population Study Using Electronic Health Records to Examine Patient-perceived Treatment Effectiveness, Medication Use, and Healthcare Resource Utilization 29. Dietary Recommendations for Adults with Psoriasis or Psoriatic Arthritis from the Medical Board of the National Psoriasis Foundation: A Systematic Review 30. Turmeric Tonic as a Treatment in Scalp Psoriasis: A
Subject search terms: Bedsores, Blood-vessels—Diseases—Treatment, Cellulitis, Dermatitis, Leg—ulcers—treatment, Psoriasis, Skin—inflammation, Shingles (Disease), Skin—abscess, Wound healing; Keyword search terms: dermatitis, herpes zoster, Steven-Johnsons syndrome