Subject search terms: Atrial arrhythmias, Atrial fibrillation, Atrial flutter, Extrasystole, Bradycardia, Electrocardiography, Tachycardia, Ventricular Fibrillation, Ventricular Tachycardia; Keyword search terms: Premature atrial contractions, premature ventricular contractions, Sinus bradycardia, Sinus rhythm, Sinus tachycardia, Supraventricular Tachycardia
Atrial Fibrillation: Diagnosis and Management in the 21st Century by
Atrial Fibrillation - Diagnosis and Management in the 21st Century provides the most up-to-date information about the most common cardiac arrhythmia in humans, atrial fibrillation. In this rapidly developing field of medicine, the book helps to answer the question, "Which treatment should I choose for which patient?" The book also discusses new drugs, applications and interventions in the field. The 12 chapters are written from a variety of viewpoints by authors who use solid, scientific and contemporary approaches to practical questions.
Basic Electrocardiography by
This handy workbook covers the essential components of electrocardiography (ECG or EKG) and is useful in helping the reader identify a number of conditions, including arrhythmias, conduction blocks and heart attacks. Basic Electrocardiography reviews the fundamentals of this modality, from recognizing the normal tracing to specifics like identifying bundle branch blocks or ventricular fibrillation. This book will teach students not only the skills to interpret the electrocardiogram but also the language of electrocardiograms. Each chapter introduces basic themes, gives examples from actual patient tracings, and provides self-test electrocardiograms that will reinforce key concepts. Designed for the clerkship student, resident, or even the practicing professional who wants to brush up on EKG particulars, Basic Electrocardiography is a user-friendly guide to one of medicine's most useful tools.
Compact Clinical Guide to Arrhythmia and 12-Lead EKG Interpretation: Foundations of Practice for Critical Care Nurses by
Translates difficult concepts into easy-to-master competencies This is a user-friendly, step-by-step approach to the challenging clinical topic of Arrhythmia and 12-lead EKG interpretation in the Critical Care and Acute Care settings. Thoroughly researched and authored by nurses for nurses, the guide provides detailed and comprehensive concepts of Arrhythmia and 12-lead EKG interpretation with an emphasis on the nurse's role. Written by nurses with extensive experience in mentoring novice and experienced nurses as they transition into the Critical Care arena, the book delivers the depth and breadth of knowledge required for mastery of this aspect of care for critically ill patients throughout the lifespan. Distinguished by its translation of difficult concepts into easy-to-master competencies, the guide's clear, logical format is peppered with evidence-based information and helpful practical tips throughout. Such features as bulleted points aid in understanding complex concepts, and learning objectives, key points summarized for quick reference to reinforce knowledge. Additionally, the book includes learning activities to evaluate understanding of content, plentiful illustrative case studies, clinical pearls, references, and end-of-chapter review questions. Unique electronic aids that include "Cue Cards" and Systematic Approach summaries to further add to the guide's value. The guide will be a valuable learning tool for RNs preparing for certification in critical care, experienced critical care nurses and a timesaving teaching aid for critical care clinical educators. Key Features: Delivers the necessary depth and breadth to truly understand and master Arrhythmia and 12-Lead EKG Interpretation Translates complex information into easy-to-master competencies Written by nurses for nurses with an emphasis on the nurse's role Presents a unique electronic component, bulleted points, key summaries, clinical pearls, case studies, and review questions Represents a timesaving teaching aid and learning tool
Epidemiology and Treatment of Atrial Fibrillation by
This book addresses the problem of atrial fibrillation in terms of epidemiology, risk factors, as well as treatment, including medical treatment using drugs, catheter ablation, and cardiac surgery. Most of the authors of the book are arrhythmologists, and chapters on atrial fibrillation are based on their experience in the cardiology clinic or the operating room.
Fogoros' Electrophysiologic Testing by
The classic guide to applying, performing and interpreting EP tests, updated for the latest trends and developments in the field For more than thirty years, Electrophysiologic Testing has been a trusted introduction to the field of electrophysiology for anyone needing to quickly acquaint themselves with basic concepts and procedures of EP testing, especially medical students, residents, nurses and technicians. At the same time, it also has served as a ready reference for medical practitioners wanting to brush up on aspects of electrophysiology, or to fine-tune their mastery of the field. Updates and additions featured in the Sixth Edition of this classic guide include extensive new material on the ablation of cardiac arrhythmias, including new chapters on the ablation of atrial fibrillation, typical and atypical atrial flutters and ventricular arrhythmias. The ultimate guide to applying, performing and interpreting EP tests to optimise the treatment of patients with cardiac arrhythmias, Electrophysiologic Testing, Sixth Edition: Clarifies the role of electrophysiology in the evaluation of cardia arrhythmias Provides clear summaries of complex topics Features a uniquely user-friendly style that makes information easy to digest and recall Offers clear, step-by-step guidance on performing EP tests and interpreting their results Reviews the latest developments in therapeutic electrophysiology As with all previous editions, this updated and revised Sixth Edition was written with the goal of demystifying electrophysiology, and making it readily accessible to virtually anyone with a professional need. To that end, Drs. Fogoros and Mandrola have once again turned in a masterful performance.
Marriott's Practical Electrocardiography by
Providing a solid foundation in current ECG technology as well as the newest diagnostic applications, Marriott's Practical Electrocardiography, Thirteenth Edition, delivers the information you need to quickly improve your ECG interpretive skills. Authors Dr. David G. Strauss and Dr. Douglas D. Schocken offer medical students, residents and fellows a detailed explanation of the ECG, rhythm analysis, and how to rapidly and accurately interpret ECG results. Helpful diagrams, tables, animations, and videos, plus new ECG quizzes online, improve your understanding and skills. Includes new, interactive and topical ECG quizzes available online through the eBook bundled with this text. Offers extensive content updates throughout, including substantial updates to the abnormal rhythms section of the book along with chapters on chamber enlargement, drugs and electrolytes, a new chapter on adult congenital heart disease, and more.
Pediatric Electrocardiography: An Algorithmic Approach to Interpretation by
This book elucidates the process of reading electrocardiograms (ECGs) in children. It provides a structured, step-by-step guide for interpreting ECGS using algorithms, which allow clinicians to decipher the data within these tracings and establish differential diagnoses. The book also presents actual high-definition ECG tracings, which are annotated and highlighted to demonstrate the issues discussed. Topics include cellular electrophysiology changes and electrocardiography and disorders such as axis abnormalities, heart rate and rhythm disturbances, hypertrophy, conduction abnormalities, and fetal arrhythmias. Clinical scenarios with answers provide real-life examples of how pediatric patients present, their ECGs, and treatment methodology. Pediatric Electrocardiography: An Algorithmic Approach is a valuable resource for pediatricians, family medicine physicians, cardiologists, and medical students.
Surgical Treatment of Atrial FibrillationA Comprehensive Guide to Performing the Cox Maze IV Procedure by
Surgical Treatment of Atrial Fibrillation: A Comprehensive Guide to Performing the Cox-Maze IV Procedure is the first all-inclusive description of this rapidly growing surgery, setting the standard in the field. The Cox-Maze IV procedure is a complex surgery, and its success depends critically on correct execution. With FDA approval, the first RF ablation device for treatment of the Cox-Maze IV procedure has become more important than ever to combine scientific information for the procedure with its connection to human application. This comprehensive text provides step-by-step instructions from an experienced Cox-Maze IV surgeon and is written in the style of a mentor advising his mentee in the operating room. It contains over a dozen lessons described in detail, with illustrations, photographs and a discussion of possible complications and appropriate ways to deal with them. Additionally, the book describes sequencing for the surgeries that are typically performed concomitant with the Cox-Maze IV procedure, determining the optimal way to combine surgeries. Cardiac surgeons, fellows in cardiac surgery, medical students inclined toward cardiac surgery and cardiology researchers will find this book to be of great importance to their work.
Understanding Atrial Fibrillation by
A new guide to the mechanisms and principles behind the world's most common abnormal heart rhythm Affecting 30 million or more people across the globe, atrial fibrillation is one of the most prevalent - and yet misapprehended - issues facing modern cardiology. Its potential causes and optimal treatment strategies are matters of some conjecture in the medical community, where ongoing research has yielded findings that can prove challenging to those not familiar with the complex physiology at the root of the condition. Recognizing these concerns, distinguished electrophysiologist Peter Spector has designed Understanding Atrial Fibrillation as a means by which to equip clinicians with the data and analytic tools needed to develop a better grasp of this arrhythmia's full nature. The book begins by providing a detailed explanation of atrial fibrillation's causal mechanisms and builds its exploration from there. Working toward an up-to-date knowledge of the mapping and ablation of atrial fibrillation, its chapters assess the experimental data that has shaped current thoughts on the condition and then outline the best methods with which to interpret that rich but potentially difficult information. This revelatory new guide: Explores hypotheses of multiple drivers and mechanisms co-existing in individual patients Addresses common misperceptions and inaccurate views about atrial fibrillation Describes the basic physiology of atrial fibrillation's propagation and reentry Explores the various mechanisms and higher-order dynamics of fibrillation Discusses how to intervene and alter atrial physiology to prevent fibrillation Understanding Atrial Fibrillation is truly an invaluable resource for physicians, fellows, residents, electrophysiology lab staff, and all other practitioners involved in the diagnosis and treatment of atrial fibrillation.