Brain and Spinal Tumors: Primary and Secondary by
Numerous new concepts and procedures are reviewed and discussed in this book and allude to the transport of drugs to the brain. New radiation concepts are also presented, plus management of toxicities associated with both treatment modalities. It is the goal of this book to provide information and data that will be useful for both researchers and practitioners to develop new approaches for the management of CNS malignancies.
Cancer Stem Cells by
Cancer Stem Cells, Volume 141 in the Advances in Cancer Research series, presents the latest release in this ongoing, well-regarded serial that provides invaluable information on the exciting and fast-moving field of cancer research. Topics covered in this new release include SIX-EYA-DACH network control of cancer stem cell properties, Dormancy and the cancer cell niche, Clonal hematopoiesis: A hematopoietic stem cell disorder of aging, Stringent assays to study human breast cancer stem cells, Regulation of breast cancer stem cell specification and maintenance by hypoxia-inducible factors, Cancer stem cells in breast and prostate: fact or fiction, and much more. Provides information on cancer research Offers outstanding and original reviews on a range of cancer research topics, with this release focusing on cancer stem cells Serves as an indispensable reference for researchers and students alike
Colorectal Cancer by
Colorectal cancer is the third most common cancer diagnosed in both men and women worldwide. This book examines state-of-the-art research relating to the etiology, diagnosis, prevention and treatment of colorectal cancer. It emphasizes the importance of a multidisciplinary approach involving multiple specialties, including surgery, gastroenterology, radiology, biology, oncology, radiotherapy, nuclear medicine, and physiotherapy.
Contemporary Management of Metastatic Colorectal Cancer: A Precision Medicine Approach by
Contemporary Management of Metastatic Colorectal Cancer: A Precision Medicine Approach summarizes current knowledge and provides evidenced-based practice recommendations on how to treat patients with metastatic colorectal cancer. The book presents topics such as pre-operating imaging, the use of molecular markers in treatment decisions, neoadjuvant therapy, synchronous colorectal liver metastasis, and minimally invasive approaches. In addition, it discusses immunotherapy, targeted therapies and survivorship. This is a valuable resource for practitioners, cancer researchers, oncologists, graduate students and members of biomedical research who need to understand more about novel treatments for colorectal cancer metastasis.
Drug Resistance in Colorectal Cancer: Molecular Mechanisms and Therapeutic Strategies by
Drug Resistance in Colorectal Cancer: Molecular Mechanisms and Therapeutic Strategies, Volume Eight, summarizes the molecular mechanisms of drug resistance in colorectal cancer, along with the most up-to-date therapeutic strategies available. The book discusses reasons why colorectal tumors become refractory during the progression of the disease, but also explains how drug resistance occurs during chemotherapy. In addition, users will find the current therapeutic strategies used by clinicians in their practice in treating colorectal cancer. The combination of conventional anticancer drugs with chemotherapy-sensitizing agents plays a pivotal role in improving the outcome of colorectal cancer patients, in particular those with drug-resistant cancer cells. From a clinical point-of-view, the content of this book provides clinicians with updated therapeutic strategies for a better choice of drugs for drug-resistant colorectal cancer patients. It will be a valuable source for cancer researchers, oncologists and several members of biomedical field who are dedicated to better treat patients with colorectal cancer.
Foundations of Colorectal Cancer by
Foundations of Colorectal Cancer provides a holistic and comprehensive dive into colorectal cancer, discussing the contributions of each discipline that studies it, allowing its understanding from the most demographic and ethical facts, to the treatment process, its varieties and genetic background. Written by experts in diverse areas such as cancer research, oncology, genetics, biochemistry, psychology, social sciences, bioinformatics and palliative care, the book brings real-world experiences to help readers with any challenge they may face when dealing with patients or during their research workflow. The content is split into nine sections: Clinical manifestations and disease detection, covering primary and secondary prevention, and the role of primary care; Diagnosis and staging, discussing endoscopy, colonoscopy, molecular pathology, and anatomopathological diagnosis; Treatment, including endoscopic, surgical, radiological, and postoperative approaches; Molecular and biological mechanisms, with the role of intestinal microbiota, stem cells and signaling pathways; New diagnostic methods, encompassing biomarkers and bioinformatics tools for research; Biobanks, with an overview of their regulations and importance in the research; Epidemiological studies, focusing on incidence and mortality globally and by regions; Hereditary colorectal cancer, differentiating nonpolyposis and polyposis types; and Addressing the consequences of colorectal cancer, covering psychological effects, nutrition and ethical issues. Provides a multidisciplinary approach with a holistic view of colorectal cancer, ranging from basic science to population studies, with its social and environmental influences and impacts, interpreting the disease as a medical, chemical, physical, microbial, psychological, and social condition Written by a diverse group of specialists with complementary expertise, including oncologists, radiologists, biochemists, surgeons, psychologists, social workers and clinicians, all members of the Galician Research Network of Colorectal Cancer (REGICC) with vast collaboration experience to bring comprehensive knowledge on the subject Encompasses reliable information suitable for different workers within the healthcare sector and research community dedicated to colorectal cancer, from clinicians and healthcare providers, researchers on several aspects of cancer, to bioinformaticians who deal with health data Includes many case studies throughout the chapters discussed by specialists with high scientific accuracy and didactic value, in order to clearly and precisely share their professional experience on the subject with readers
Handbook of Hematologic Malignancies by
Handbook of Hematologic Malignancies provides a unique, practical, and concise guide focused on the must-know points of diagnosis, prognosis, therapeutic management, and cutting edge clinical trial opportunities for each hematologic malignancy. With an ever-increasing growth of evidence and a significant expansion of available treatment options for patients with hematologic disease, remaining current and up-to-date can be extremely challenging for practicing clinicians. This comprehensive subspecialty handbook is designed and organized for the busy hematologist, hematologic oncologist, hematopathologist, and trainee in mind. Every chapter is richly illustrated with color figures and flow diagrams, and contains helpful tables on differential diagnosis, prognostic scoring systems and therapeutic options. A concise case-based review for testing pathologic diagnosis and clinical knowledge for each chapter is included for digital download online and in the e-book. Written by experienced clinicians at the world-renowned Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa, Florida, as well as contributions from leading academicians throughout the country, this handbook is an essential resource for anyone diagnosing, treating, or managing patients with hematologic malignancy. KEY FEATURES: Contains clear prognostic and diagnostic tools (e.g., tables/flow diagrams/pathology images) with emphasis on key differential diagnoses and diagnostic dilemmasEasy to use treatment recommendations with bullet point format and key references.Discusses the future of patient management based on practice changing clinical trials Includes access to digitally downloadable case-based clinical scenarios and questions with high resolution pathology images linked to each individual chapter
Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors in Cancer by
Get a quick, expert overview of the latest clinical information and guidelines for cancer checkpoint inhibitors and their implications for specific types of cancers. This practical title by Drs. Fumito Ito and Marc Ernstoff synthesizes the most up-to-date research and clinical guidance available on immune checkpoint inhibitors and presents this information in a compact, easy-to-digest resource. It's an ideal concise reference for trainee and practicing medical oncologists, as well as those in research. Key Features: Discusses the current understanding of how to best harness the immune system against different types of cancer at various stages; Helps you translate current research and literature into practical information for daily practice; Presents information logically organized by disease site; Covers tumor immunology and biology, toxicities associated with immune checkpoint inhibitors, and future outlooks; Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into one convenient resource.
Nanocarriers for Drug-Targeting Brain Tumors: Micro and Nano Technologies by
Nanocarriers for Drug-Targeting Brain Tumors covers different types of nanocarriers and their design and development for targeting drugs to the brain. The book also presents case studies and the mechanism of action of nanocarriers in drug targeting to a specific site. This helps researchers and clinicians understand the design, development and mechanism of action of nanocarriers. As brain tumors continue to be a significant health problem globally, and very complex for targeting drugs, conventional dosage forms are not very effective and side-effects are a major concern. Functionalized nanocarriers can address these problems. Furthermore, the targeting of nanocarriers is preferred for reducing toxicity and improving the effectiveness of the drugs. However, there is a need for understanding the design and development of formulation with the mechanism of action of nanocarriers for brain targeting.
Nanomedicines for Breast Cancer Theranostics by
Nanomedicines for Breast Cancer Theranostics addresses the translational aspects and clinical perspectives of breast cancer nanomedicine from a multidisciplinary perspective. The book summarizes research efforts at the preclinical and clinical stage of nanostructures and nanomedicine for dealing with the important challenge of nanomedicine translation in breast cancer theranostics. This book is an important resource for those working in both academia and industry, focusing on hot topics in biomaterials, biomedical engineering, drug delivery and oncology.
Nanotechnology-Based Targeted Drug Delivery Systems for Brain Tumors by
Nanotechnology-Based Targeted Drug Delivery Systems for Brain Tumors addresses brain anatomy and tumors and the progress and challenges in delivering drugs across the blood brain barrier. Several chapters are devoted to the latest technologies and advances in nanotechnology, along with practical solutions on how to design more effective nanocarriers for drug and gene delivery. This valuable resource prepares readers to develop novel drug delivery systems for the treatment of brain tumors that further promote the latest nanomedical technologies.
Novel Approaches to Colorectal Cancer by
Novel Approaches to Colorectal Cancer, Volume 151 in the Advances in Cancer Research series, is composed of 11 reviews covering state-of-the-art research relating to the etiology, diagnosis, prevention and treatment of colorectal cancer. The book's chapters were written by recognized experts in the field, and include sections on molecular biomarkers in diagnosis and therapy, the interplay of diet, lifestyle, and the microbiome, early-age onset disease, mutational signature analysis, challenges in early detection, immunotherapy, organoid technology, the role of epigenetic alterations, disparities in minority populations, field carcinogenesis, and cancer as an evolutionary process. Each of these topics provides novel insights and concepts on various aspects of the nature of colorectal cancer, offering new opportunities for the management of a major source of cancer incidence and mortality. Provides information on the timely nature of the included topics, which represent the most current concepts and approaches in cancer research Offers outstanding and original reviews on colorectal cancer research Provides the authority and expertise of the authors, all of whom are highly recognized and conducting state-of-the-art investigations in cancer, with this release focusing on colorectal cancer
Obesity As a Common Denominator in Breast Cancer and Cardiovascular Disease by
Obesity is widely regarded as a shared, modifiable risk factor of both breast cancer (BC) and cardiovascular disease (CVD). Human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2)-positive BC displays very aggressive behavior, and can be effectively treated with targeted therapies and chemotherapy regimens, though such treatments can induce cardiotoxicity. While the main research efforts are appropriately focused on the management of BC and heart failure (HF), obesity and its metabolic consequences, which are often linked with both these conditions, often remain unaddressed.
Perspectives in Lung Cancer Compiles Basic and Advanced Topics on Lung Cancer Pathology and Treatment in a Single Volume by
Perspectives in Lung Cancer compiles basic and advanced topics on lung cancer pathology and treatment in a single volume. Chapters introduce the reader to chest and lung anatomy followed by the biology of lung cancer. Subsequent chapters delve into diagnostic methods for lung cancer while progressing into treatment options. The book culminates into an explanation of the concept of the Lung Cancer Centre, which is a representation of the editors' vision for organizing a lung cancer treatment unit. Key features: Organises key topics covering both standard and avante-garde topics related to lung cancer All contributions are presented by experts in lung cancer treatment Addresses basic biology of lung cancer Provides information about 3D surgical planning, a relatively new concept in the field of thoracic surgery Addresses the standard method of resection, VATS and Mini VATS Covers the role of radiation and systemic anti-cancer therapies in lung cancer treatment Provides a glimpse of modern methods such as image guided surgery and therapy, laser therapy, and photodynamic therapy Covers the role of palliative care for lung cancer Presents information about a visionary organization of a lung cancer unit and treatment centre. The combination of carefully organised chapters covering a wide array of topics make this reference an essential reference for healthcare professionals interested in acquiring a broad perspective on lung cancer treatment with the goal of improving patient outcomes.
Peripheral T-Cell Lymphomas by
In this book the reader will find a collection of chapters written by different research teams describing different aspects of peripheral T-cell lymphoma pathobiology, classification, and treatment. This work is mainly addressed to researchers already working in this area, but it is also accessible to anyone with a scientific background who desires to have an updated overview of the recent progress in this domain. It will also be valuable to scientists and physicians who have become newly involved in this field. Each chapter is self-contained and can be read independently of the others. This book intends to provide highlights of the current research as well as the current gold standards for diagnosis and treatment of these diseases, showing the recent advances in the personalized approach to T-cell derived lymphomas.
Burkitt Lymphoma: Diagnosis, Risk Factors and Treatment by
Burkitt lymphoma (BL) is a form of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma in which cancer starts in immune cells called B-cells. If left untreated, it is rapidly fatal. Chapter One of this monograph evaluates the etiology, pathological issues, diagnosis, clinical manifestations, epidemiology, research, innovation and treatment issues of BL using the clinical systematic review research method and experts' opinion analysis approach. Chapter Two reviews the spectrum, unique characteristics and special management considerations when BL develops in specific subgroups of patients with primary immune deficiency disorders. Chapter Three reviews the incidence, clinicopathological and epidemiologic features, treatment and outcome data available in pediatric and adult patients with post solid organ transplant BL. Chapter Four focuses on the pathobiology and the treatment of first-line and relapsed/refractory cases of BL and describes new therapeutic strategies which could improve results in this pathology. Chapter Five examines the therapeutic advances in BL and its variants. Finally, Chapter Six explores and emphasizes the trends and issues in research and innovation in the characteristics, clinical updates and management approaches of BL.
Oncologic Emergencies by
This new resource on managing oncologic emergencies is directed at all health care professionals who care for patients with cancer or survivors. Edited and written by clinician-experts at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, the book covers the full range of oncologic emergencies, from cardiac and neurologic to orthopedic to hematologic, and addresses important palliative care, ethical, and Emergency Department considerations. Chapters are structured with busy clinicians in emergent and urgent settings in mind, and each chapter concludes with a series of key practice points and a list of suggested readings for those who wish to delve deeper into a subject. For any clinician facing the increasing number of patients who experience an oncologic emergency, this is an up-to-date, clinically focused, and authoritative resource.
Incorporating Weight Management and Physical Activity Throughout the Cancer Care Continuum by
The National Cancer Policy Forum of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine held a public workshop, Incorporating Weight Management and Physical Activity Throughout the Cancer Care Continuum, on February 13 and 14, 2017, in Washington, DC. The purpose of this workshop was to highlight the current evidence base, gaps in knowledge, and research needs on the associations among obesity, physical activity, weight management, and health outcomes for cancer survivors, as well as to examine the effectiveness of interventions for promoting physical activity and weight management among people living with or beyond cancer. Workshop sessions also reviewed the opportunities and challenges for providing weight management and physical activity interventions to cancer survivors. This publication summarizes the presentations and discussions from the workshop.
Neurological Complications of Systemic Cancer and Antineoplastic Therapy by
Neurological Complications of Systematic Cancer and Antineoplastic Therapy, Second Edition provides an expanded, updated and in-depth review of common manifestations related to neurology that occur in patients with systemic cancer. These include brain metastases, spinal cord compression, cerebrovascular events, and leptomeningeal disease. The book also discusses neurological complications related to treatments such as radiation and chemotherapy and is an essential reference for the practicing neurologist and oncologist. Sections in this new release cover the pathophysiology and molecular biology of cancer and the metastatic phenotype, Metastatic spread to cranial and peripheral nerves and brachial and lumbosacral plexuses, Metabolic and nutritional disorders, CNS infections, Neurological complications of immunotherapy and bone marrow transplants, Neurological complications of new molecular agents and immuno-modulatory drugs, and more.
Cancer and the Heart by
Cancer and the Heart addresses the complex interactions of multiple diseases in patients who have cancer and who either have or who are expected to acquire significant heart disease. The book seeks to aid patients who have undergone and survived cancer therapy only to be debilitated by cardiotoxicity. The updated third edition will facilitate personalized clinical management and provide the basic background to support clinical decision-making toward the ultimate goal of improving quality of life for the afflicted patients.Cancer and the Heart became the standard textbook for oncocardiology in its first edition. The new edition continues to provide the practical information and guidance of the previous editions. The editor Michael S. Ewer has segmented the 28 chapters of the third edition in three sections. The first section addresses the effects of cancer treatment on the heart, the second section deals with the gamut of cardiac imaging techniques with an emphasis on clinical problems experienced by physicians and their patients, the third section examines related subjects such as other organ system dysfunction.With contributions from onco-cardiology or cardio-oncology leaders managing these complex interactions, Cancer and the Heart, third edition, is a current and comprehensive reference for clinicians, investigators, and students.
Drug Resistance in Colorectal Cancer: Molecular Mechanisms and Therapeutic Strategies by
Drug Resistance in Colorectal Cancer: Molecular Mechanisms and Therapeutic Strategies, Volume Eight, summarizes the molecular mechanisms of drug resistance in colorectal cancer, along with the most up-to-date therapeutic strategies available. The book discusses reasons why colorectal tumors become refractory during the progression of the disease, but also explains how drug resistance occurs during chemotherapy. In addition, users will find the current therapeutic strategies used by clinicians in their practice in treating colorectal cancer. The combination of conventional anticancer drugs with chemotherapy-sensitizing agents plays a pivotal role in improving the outcome of colorectal cancer patients, in particular those with drug-resistant cancer cells. From a clinical point-of-view, the content of this book provides clinicians with updated therapeutic strategies for a better choice of drugs for drug-resistant colorectal cancer patients. It will be a valuable source for cancer researchers, oncologists and several members of biomedical field who are dedicated to better treat patients with colorectal cancer. Presents a systemic summary of molecular mechanisms for a quick and in-depth understanding Updates current trends in the field with pioneering information on drug resistance Encompasses both basic and clinical approaches for a better understanding of unsolved problems from a holistic point-of-view
Subject search terms: Brain—cancer, Breast—cancer, Cancer—complications, Colon (anatomy)—cancer, Hematological oncology, Lungs—cancer, Lymphonas, Medical emergencies AND Cancer, Prostate—cancer; Keyword search terms: Blood cancer, Lymph node cancer