Subject search terms: Aneurysms, Arterial catheterization, Cardiac pacemakers, Cardiac tamonade, Congestive heart failure, Coronary-artery bypass, Coronary heart disease, Electric countershock, Heart valves—diseases, Inflammation, Medical laboratory technology, Percutaneous coronary intervention, Peripheral vascular diseases, Pleural vascular diseases, Pleural effusions, Pulmonary hypertension, venous insufficiency: Keyword search terms: Cardioversions AND Nursing, Comprehensive metabolic panel, Coronary artery disease, Inflammatory disorders, Pacemakers AND nursing, Peripheral arterial disease AND nursing, Pulmonary veno-occlusive disease, Valvular heart disease
Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm: From Basic Research to Clinical Practice by
This book, intended for all physicians who are facing patients with abdominal aortic aneurysms, has been assembled by interested, invited authors and contains important topics from basic research to clinical practice. Experimental studies focus on biomechanical and biochemical factors. In clinical practice, the decision to treat, based on risk-benefit ratio, is very delicate in patients with concomitant malignant diseases. Periprocedural risk is determined by anatomy, while aneurysms causing neck pain are one of the most frequent challenges for both open and endovascular methods. Finally, careful planning is crucial. Postoperative complications are different from post-implantation syndrome, which is still an underestimated problem, toward detection and treatment of endoleaks and eventual conversion.
Accurate Results in the Clinical Laboratory: A Guide to Error Detection and Correction by
Accurate Results in the Clinical Laboratory: A Guide to Error Detection and Correction, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive review of the factors leading to errors in all areas of clinical laboratory testing. This trusted guide addresses interference issues in all laboratory tests, including patient epigenetics, processes of specimen collection, enzymes and biomarkers. Clinicians and laboratory scientists will both benefit from this reference that applies discussions to both accurate specimen analysis and optimal patient care. Hence, this is the perfect reference for clinical laboratorians, from trainees, to experienced pathologists and directors. Provides comprehensive coverage across endocrine, oncology, hematology, immunohistochemistry, immunology, serology, microbiology, and molecular testing Includes new case studies that highlight clinical relevance and errors to avoid Highlights the best titles published within a variety of medical specialties Reviewed by medical librarians and content specialists, with key selections compiled in their annual list
Advances and Innovations in Heart Failure (AIHF): A Textbook Of Cardiology by
Heart failure is a serious condition caused by the heart failing to pump enough blood around the body at the right pressure. It usually occurs because the heart muscle has become too weak or stiff to work properly, most commonly caused by heart attack, high blood pressure or cardiomyopathy (heart disease). This textbook is a comprehensive guide to the latest advances in the diagnosis and management of heart failure. Comprising nearly 1000 pages, the book features 15 sections, beginning with discussion on clinical issues of heart failure, followed by imaging techniques. Each of the following sections covers a different disorder or disease that subsequently may lead to heart failure. Topics include coronary artery disease, stroke, arrhythmia, hypertension, nutritional aspects, cardio-oncology, and much more. The book concludes with rehabilitation, legal aspects, and future directions. Authored by internationally recognised experts in the field, the text is further enhanced by clinical photographs, diagrams and tables. Key points Comprehensive guide to latest advances in diagnosis and management of heart failure Extensive text comprising nearly 1000 pages covering numerous associated disorders and diseases Internationally recognised editor and author team Highly illustrated with clinical photographs, diagrams and tables
Advances in Complex Valvular Disease by
As the diagnostic and therapeutic tools for the management of complex cardiac valve disease continue to evolve, the options for patients who previously had few choices continue to expand. Such advances have resulted in a renaissance in how Heart Teams approach problems and have been able to engage patients in shared decision-making conversations towards a common goal. While opportunities exist in the management of physiologically challenging congenital heart disease, the vast explosion of research and development in the area of aortic valve disease has offered new hope to patients for improving their quality and quantity of life.
Aortic Aneurysm: Clinical Findings, Diagnostic, Treatment and Special Situations by
Proper diagnosis and treatment of aortic aneurysm are essential for lowering complication rates in patients suffering from this potentially life-threatening condition. Aortic Aneurysm - Clinical Findings, Diagnostic, Treatment and Special Situations presents a comprehensive overview of aortic aneurysm. With authorship of international acclaim, this comprehensive text is a highly valuable resource for surgeons and trainees.
Aortic Aneurysm and Aortic Dissection by 
Atrial Fibrillation and Percutaneous Coronary Intervention: A Case-Based Guide to Oral Anticoagulation, Antiplatelet Therapy and Stenting by
This book considers paradigmatic clinical cases in order to cast light on key issues relating to elective or emergency stent implantation and the use of oral anticoagulation (OAC) in patients with atrial fibrillation. The topics addressed include the optimal periprocedural antithrombotic treatment (uninterrupted vs interrupted OAC, intraprocedural use of heparin and glycoprotein IIb/IIIa inhibitors, etc.), the most appropriate type of stent (bare metal vs drug eluting vs "bioactive"), the optimal regimen (e.g., triple therapy of OAC, aspirin, and clopidogrel vs the combination of OAC and a single antiplatelet agent), and the most suitable duration of the antithrombotic treatment prescribed at discharge (1 vs 6-12 months). The case-based management recommendations will be of wide practical value in the current health care context, where percutaneous coronary intervention is available even to patients with relevant co-morbidities, such as those warranting long-term OAC, and the indications for OAC are much broader than in the past. The book will appeal especially to clinical and interventional cardiologists, internal medicine specialists, hematologists, and family physicians and will also be of interest to cardiology and internal medicine residents and fellows.
Cardiovascular and Coronary Artery Imaging by
Cardiovascular and Coronary Artery Imaging, Volume Two presents the basics of echocardiography, nuclear imaging and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and provides insights into their appropriate use. The book covers state-of-the-art approaches for automated non-invasive systems for early cardiovascular and coronary artery disease diagnosis. It includes several prominent imaging modalities such as MRI, CT and PET technologies. Other sections focus on major trends and challenges in this area and present the latest techniques for cardiovascular and coronary image analysis.
Clinical Laboratory Methods: Atlas of Commonly Performed Tests by
Master 100 of the most commonly performed lab tests; Clinical Laboratory Methods covers the 100 tests most often done in clinical labs. The description of each method covers the basic concept of the assay; clinically important information; the expense of the test (based cost of the reagents, supplies, and labor); the complexity of the test; and whether each method is manual, semi-automated, or highly automated, and each method includes a flowchart. The author avoids getting bogged down in unimportant details, focusing on only what you need to know to master these important processes. Features Each testing-method description includes a flowchart; Practice tests enable you to quiz yourself on what you have learned *The expense of each method is described as low, moderate, or high
Constrictive Pericarditis and Cardiac Tamponade: Epidemiology, Causes and Management by
Editor Biography:Dr. Jonathan N. Bella is Chief of Cardiology at the Bronx-Lebanon Hospital Center and Associate Professor of Medicine at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York City. He received his medical degree from the University of the East and his Internal Medicine Residency from Montefiore Medical Center-Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York City. He completed his Cardiology Fellowship Training at The New York Presbyterian-Weill Cornell Medical Center in New York City. He is a Fellow of the American College of Cardiology, the American Heart Association and the American Society of Echocardiography. Professor Bella's research interests include cardiovascular disease epidemiology, hypertensive heart disease, cardiovascular imaging and genetic epidemiology of cardiovascular diseases. Professor Bella is well published in the literature and is involved in several major studies, including the Hypertension Genetic Epidemiology Network (HyperGEN) Study, the Losartan Intervention For Endpoint Reduction in Hypertension (LIFE) Study, the Population Architecture Using Genomics and Epidemiology (PAGE) Study and the Strong Heart Study, a population-based study of the 13 American Indian tribes in the United States. He serves as Associate Editor of Nutrition, Metabolism and Cardiovascular Diseases and Editorial Board Member in several journals.Book Description:The major impetus for the design and execution of Constrictive Pericarditis and Cardiac Tamponade: Epidemiology, Causes and Management has been the extraordinary wave of breakthrough discoveries in the diagnosis and management of pericardial diseases over the past few decades. Modern advancements in cardiac imaging, including tissue Doppler imaging, cardiovascular computed tomography (CT), and cardiac magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), have allowed for increased accuracy and earlier detection of both constrictive pericarditis and cardiac tamponade. This book is designed to summarize and critically analyze the current understanding of these disease states for a broad audience of internists and cardiologists. There are an abundance of books, review articles, and internet sources that do an excellent job of describing the physiology/pathophysiology of the pericardium and the many pericardial diseases. Constrictive Pericarditis and Cardiac Tamponade: Epidemiology, Causes and Management differs from those other sources in that a conscious effort was made to present the information in this textbook in a "how to" format, with the chapters and text structured in such a way as to provide the reader with a clear step-by-step narrative. Clinical signs and symptoms are reviewed in detail first, followed sequentially by echocardiographic, CT, MRI, and invasive hemodynamic findings. High-quality images, figures, and illustrations were also specifically chosen and arranged to accompany the text in order to provide easy visual reference for the reading physician, whenever the diagnosis of pericardial disease is relevant to their patient's care. As such, this book seeks to provide reassurance to clinically-oriented internists and cardiologists when caring for patients with suspected pericardial disease.
Coronary Artery Bypass Grafting by
The book "Coronary Artery Bypass Grafting" is an excellent update for health care professionals, taking care of patients who are suffering from severe coronary artery disease. The 8 chapters in this book were written by experts in their topics. The first section describes the perioperative management. The second section describes the details of various surgical techniques. The last section discusses the superiority of CABG vs PCI. I believe this book will suffice the interests of our readers.
Coronary Heart Disease: From Diagnosis to Treatment by
Coronary heart disease affects 12 million Americans. Though it is one of the most serious diseases in the nation, there are many ways to understand and treat it. Author Barry Cohen, M.D., a cardiologist who has treated thousands of patients, addresses all of the most pressing questions, including: What causes coronary heart disease? How does cholesterol affect your heart? What medical tests will you need? What are the newest diagnostic tests available? What medications are prescribed? What is involved with an angioplasty and bypass surgery? What lifestyles changes will improve your health? What are the warning signs of a heart attack? Stay healthier by becoming an informed patient.
The Current Perspectives on Coronary Artery Bypass Grafting by
This book, The Current Perspectives on Coronary Artery Bypass Grafting, is an excellent update for health care professionals taking care of patients suffering from severe coronary artery disease. The nine chapters in this book were written by experts in their fields. The first section describes the hemodynamic mechanism and medical management of coronary artery disease. The second section describes the most recent evidence and controversial topics in the field of coronary artery bypass grafting. I believe this book will serve the interests of readers.
Diet, Inflammation, and Health by
Diet, Inflammation, and Health introduces concepts of inflammation, the role of acute inflammatory responses in good health, and the association of chronic systemic inflammation with mental distress, cognitive decline, and chronic diseases, ranging from diabetes to cardiovascular diseases, stroke, and cancer. The book also describes the pathophysiology of inflammation and its effects on insulin insensitivity and blunted immune response to carcinogenesis. Researchers and allied health care professionals working in dietetics and medicine, as well as students studying related fields will benefit from this reference and its recommendations on areas where future research is needed.
Dual Antiplatelet Therapy for Coronary and Peripheral Arterial Disease by
Dual Antiplatelet Therapy for Coronary and Peripheral Arterial Disease is a complete reference containing updated information on the advantages and disadvantages of dual antiplatelet therapy, its duration, composition and anticipated changes. The basis for DAPT in arterial disease is discussed, allowing readers to understand platelet physiology and its relevance to ischemic events. Data on shorter than usual duration of DAPT, and on extended therapy beyond the recommendation of current guidelines is presented in great detail, summarizing a large body of evidence into concrete, relevant recommendation that is readily adaptable by practicing clinicians. A clinically relevant and updated compendium of data pertaining to this field is also presented, as well as the anticipated trends and innovations likely to occur in the next 3-5 years.
Emerging Technologies for Heart Diseases: Volume 1: Treatments for Heart Failure and Valvular Disorders by
The increasing pace of advances in cardiology throughout the last few decades has fundamentally altered the natural course of heart patients. In the last few years, available therapies have been revolutionized completely by new transcatheter therapeutic approaches, novel ventricular assist devices, and new drugs. Also, molecular biology and genetics have a rapidly growing impact on cardiovascular diseases, enabling the field of regenerative medicine to become increasingly closer to routine clinical implementation. Emerging Technologies for Heart Diseases was conceived to cover the recent extensive literature on current and novel therapeutic options for cardiac patients. The first volume is dedicated to heart failure and valvular disorders, and the second covers myocardial ischemia and arrhythmias. The clinical topic is addressed in several chapters divided according to the therapeutic approach (mechanical or electrical device-based, or cell and gene-based). Each of the 46 chapters focuses on clinically available solutions, new therapies currently under evaluation in clinical trials, promising preclinical technologies, and emerging concepts and innovations that have not yet been tested in a preclinical model. Also, the book discusses future challenges and opportunities for clinical implementation. Lessons learned from abandoned experimental practices are also covered, giving the readers the widest possible perspective of current therapeutic dilemmas. Overall, this textbook was designed for physicians who want to stay up-to-date with current therapies and those of the future, for biomedical companies, and for those who wish to broaden their knowledge of new cardiovascular therapeutic options.
Flow Diversion of Cerebral Aneurysms by
From detachable balloons and GDC coils to the recent advent of flow diversion, practitioners of have endovascular neurosurgery been fortunate to work in an era of rapid and exciting advances. The first commercially available flow diverter in the U.S. was approved specifically for a small subset of cerebral aneurysms. Recent experience has demonstrated its utility in treating challenging or otherwise untreatable aneurysms, safely and efficaciously. The design of these devices requires learning radically different methods than those used in the deployment of other, non-braided stents.
Fuster and Hurst's the Heart, 15th Edition by
The landmark text that belongs in the hands of every cardiologist--fully updated and reorganized to make it more patient-centric than ever World-famous for its authority, currency, and clinical relevance, Fuster and Hurst's The Heart is cardiology's longest continuously published reference book. Written to meet the ever-changing needs of cardiologists, fellows, and interns, this trusted classic offers a solid foundation in cardiovascular medicine and complete coverage of all major cardiovascular topics. For this brand-new edition, cardiology legend Dr. Valentin Fuster and his editorial team have significantly enhanced this definitive guide to make it even more focused on the practicalities of patient care. Enhancements include: Content presented in a more methodical pattern, from mechanism to management Chapter summaries and infographics throughout Engaging visual/text features highlighting genetics, epidemiology and natural history, invasive and noninvasive diagnostics, treatment, clinical therapeutic challenges, and risk factors. ACC/AHA/ESC guidelines in all chapters
Genetics and Genomics of Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension by
Pulmonary arterial hypertension is a severe and progressive disorder affecting the blood vessels in the lungs. Typically, symptoms first appear at around 30-40 years of age and, without treatment, can lead to fatal heart disease within a few years. Genetic studies over the past decade have identified numerous genes that contribute to disease progression but, for many sufferers, the underlying genetic cause remains elusive. The collection of reviews and original research articles contained within this book provide an overview of recent advancements in understanding the genetic risk factors for pulmonary arterial hypertension. We further examine the emerging interplay between genetic variants and clinical outcomes, providing a framework for new treatments and improved patient care.
Heart and Neurologic Disease by
The Handbook of Clinical Neurology series volumes provide comprehensive summaries of recent research on the brain and nervous system as they relate to clinical neurology. Cardiac disorders and diseases may often co-occur with, or cause, subsequent neurological disorders. Heart and Neurologic Disease identifies the top cardiac diseases and disorders most likely to have neurological disorders, how they will present, and how they are best treated. It identifies the mechanisms of action explaining why the conditions co-occur, and what clinicians should look for symptom wise, and how risk may be assessed. Coverage includes genetic cardiac disorders, cardiac trauma, surgery, infection, disease, and arrhythmia. Identifies the top cardiac diseases and disorders most likely to have neurological complications Specifies how the neurological complication will present and advance and how it should be treated Discusses the mechanism of action--why the two conditions co-occur Includes genetic conditions, trauma, surgery, infection, disease, arrythmias, and more Covers prevention and risk assessment
Inflammation in the 21st Century by
The present book includes 17 chapters covering different fields of inflammation that can be classified into acute or chronic in response to trauma, infection, and exposure to other noninfectious agents, including allergens and xenobiotics. Inflammation is a self-healing process, upon the clearance of the foreign particle and helps to protect the host. However, when it is not resolved and becomes chronic, it may lead to cancer and autoimmune diseases. This book includes different topics of autoimmune diseases, cancer, and other sterile inflammatory conditions originating in the absence of allergens as well as autoimmune disease and generates inflammatory immune response. Hence, the book will prove beneficial to researchers and scientists involved in inflammation research.
Inflammatory Disorders - Part A by
Inflammation is a biological response triggered by different stimuli that has in the body a potentially damaging effect. In certain conditions, such as injury or infection, inflammation is a normal, healthy response. However, inflammatory disorders that result in the immune system attacking the body's own cells or tissues may cause abnormal inflammation, which results in chronic pain, redness, swelling, stiffness, and damage to normal tissues. Mechanisms involved in promoting a number of different inflammatory disorders and their targeting for therapeutic benefit have been one of the hottest topics in last few decades. The two consecutive volumes (119 and 120) dedicated to this subject cover a wide spectrum of inflammatory disorders, mechanisms that are believed to cause them and different strategies for managing the inflammatory diseases.
Interventional Treatment for Structural Heart Disease by
Interventional Treatment for Structural Heart Disease is an excellent resource for healthcare professionals treating patients suffering from severe coronary artery disease and valvular disease. It includes six chapters over two sections covering such topics as percutaneous coronary intervention and transcatheter valve replacement for aortic, mitral, and tricuspid valves.
Manual of Percutaneous Coronary Interventions: A Step-by-Step Approach by
Manual of Percutaneous Coronary Interventions: A Step by Step Approach is a practical, easy to read reference guide on how to perform percutaneous coronary. Written by recognized experts in the field, this reference compiles the necessary steps, lists pitfalls to watch out for, and provides tactics on troubleshooting percutaneous coronary interventions. Written to bring a practical and easy to read approach, this book is perfect for interventional cardiologists, interventional and general cardiology fellows, cardiology researchers, physicians, cardiac catheterization laboratory personnel, technical staff, industry professionals and anyone interested in understanding the cutting-edge and rapidly evolving field of coronary PCI.
Peripheral Vascular Disease: a Clinical Approach by
Part of the new Clinical Approach series--which focuses on key topics in cardiology--this pragmatic, comprehensive guide is intended for residents, practitioners, advanced practice nurses, and physician assistants, and covers arterial, venous, and lymphatic diseases. Easy-to-read chapters are written by clinical experts in interventional cardiology, interventional radiology, vascular surgery, and podiatry, and begin with helpful quick-reference summaries. Includes up-to-date information on imaging, complications, and limb salvaging, as well as pharmacology therapies such as drug-coated stents. Clinical algorithms help you make well-informed diagnostic, treatment, and disease management decisions. Guidance on the most current equipment and technology designed to ensure patients are treated with the most efficacious modalities available. Includes illustrations, photos, and other images. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Principles of Heart Valve Engineering by
Principles of Heart Valve Engineering is the first comprehensive resource for heart valve engineering that covers a wide range of topics, including biology, epidemiology, imaging and cardiovascular medicine. It focuses on valves, therapies, and how to develop safer and more durable artificial valves. The book is suitable for an interdisciplinary audience, with contributions from bioengineers and cardiologists that includes coverage of valvular and potential future developments. This book provides an opportunity for bioengineers to study all topics relating to heart valve engineering in a single book as written by subject matter experts.
Technical Aspects of Modern Coronary Artery Bypass Surgery by
Coronary surgery encompasses two thirds of all adult cardiac surgery cases. With the endless pursuit of better outcomes, modern coronary artery bypass grafting (CABG) has become technically more complex in ways that are well beyond the training of the average cardiac surgeon. The old concept of "one-technique-fits-all" has been abandoned in favour of a specialized approach tailored to the individual patient. In fact, in recent years, there is a growing movement towards establishing coronary surgery as a super-specialization of cardiac surgery. Technical Aspects of Modern Coronary Artery Bypass Surgery aims to expand on both the basics and complexities of the technical aspects of coronary surgery. It serves as an up to date resource that illustrates and details the advancement and techniques in this field which may soon become a separate super-specialty. With a particular emphasis on illustrations, the book will be an essential reference book for both established surgeons that have no experience in advanced CABG, and the new generation of CABG surgeons.
Topics in Heart Failure Management by
This textbook represents a short update on original aspects of heart failure. It covers topics of heart failure management such as prevention, drug monitoring after heart transplant, and the critical care approach. There are also chapters on less common facets of this syndrome such as prevalence and features in a specific African region and the complexity of telemedicine in heart failure. In summary, it will be a valid adjunct to more exhaustive textbooks already available.
Translational Inflammation: Perspectives in Translational Cell Biology by
Translational Inflammation links laboratory and clinical data within primary and secondary care to clinical research data and offers a holistic and innovative approach to chronic inflammation and ageing. Understanding the role of inflammation as a part of clinical disease states is becoming a valuable tool in both direct treatment and the development of therapeutics. Translational Inflammation, the 4th volume in the Perspectives in Translational Cell Biology series, offers content for professors, students and researchers across basic and translational biology.
Vascular Imaging and Intervention: (2 Volumes) by
This book is a comprehensive guide to vascular imaging and endovascular interventions. Divided into fifteen sections, the first chapters provide an overview of vascular imaging, radiation safety, contrast agents and pharmacologics. The following sections cover vascular anatomy, pathology and non-invasive vascular imaging, with each topic further divided by anatomical region. The text continues with detail on angiographic techniques, then each of the following sections provides in depth information on the diagnosis and treatment of different vascular diseases. The book concludes with discussion on male and female genitoreproductive diagnosis and interventions. Written by internationally recognised authorities in the field, this book is highly illustrated with clinical images and diagrams. Key Points Comprehensive guide to vascular imaging and endovascular interventions Provides overview of vascular imaging, radiation safety, contrast agents and pharmacologics Covers diagnosis and treatment of numerous vascular disorders Internationally recognised author team
Venous Ulcers by
Venous Ulcers, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive synthesis of evidence-based recommendations and the highest level of expertise from a leading group of doctors, which is a fundamental constituent for the appropriate management of nonhealing venous wounds in everyday practice. This book offers a fertile environment for a complete understanding of genetics and molecular and biochemical mechanisms that lead to the development and progression of venous ulcers, which is essential for elucidating the underlying pathophysiology and can be utilized for developing novel therapies and accessing previously inaccessible areas of research. Socioeconomic impact, impact on health-related quality of life, the clinical course of the disease, and diagnostic algorithms are elaborated in detail. All currently available treatment modalities are explained in a clinically applicable approach with particular emphasis on operative technique, technical feasibility, success rates (both clinical and technical), and side effects. Lastly, this book elaborates on special diagnostic considerations and management of the most complex patients, often requiring the highest level of expertise for successful treatment.