This is the "General" page of the "Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: May 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ltu.edu/engineering Print Guide RSS Updates

General Print Page
  Search: 
 

Getting Started

Thousands of books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other types of literature are identifiable through TechCat+ and our subscription databases. Many of these are available electronically, while others may be found in the print collection or requested through interlibrary loan.

Start with an overview search for books & articles in TechCat+. It automatically searches many of our databases but you may also add specific ones to broaden the search.  To really zero in on a topic, you may want to search a few selected databases individually for the most complete results. If you have questions, please contact a Reference Librarian. (248-204-3000 or refdesk@ltu.edu)

  • TechCat for LTU  
      
      Icon
    Overview of books, journal articles and visual material owned by or available through the LTU Library, and beyond. The main search includes 20 databases, and you can add more via Advanced Search.
  • MeLCat (Michigan eLibrary)
    Print books not owned not owned by the library may often be borrowed from other Michigan libraries. Delivery time is about a week. Books may be borrowed for 3 weeks with 1 (one) renewal allowed.
  • Interlibrary Loan
    In many cases you can make a direct "ILL" request from TechCat+. For more information on interlibrary loan or to submit a request using our electronic form click the link above.

Finding Articles (General Engineering)

The indexes/databases below cover all areas of Engineering.

  • ScienceDirect  
      
      Icon
    Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
    RefWorks tip: use LinkSource to import citations into RefWorks
  • IEEE Digital Library  Icon
    Journals, Proceedings, Standards, IET materials full-text from 1998 to present: 3,000,000 documents
  • Engineering Village (Compendex)  
      
    Engineering Index, abstracts 1970 to present. This is comprehensive listing of engineering information. Take advantage of the links in each record to search for the full-text, or ask a librarian for assistance.

More Databases

These databases may also be helpful. Remember, if the full-text is not at your fingertips, try LinkSource in the citation record.

  • Applied Science and Technology Abstracts+  
      
    covers all science and technology topics. Use LinkSource to determine full-text availability.
  • General Science Abstracts  
      
    Covers all types of scientific periodicals. Use LinkSource to determine full-text availability.
  • Emerald Engineering
    19 specialty engineering journals online
  • Journal of Visualized Experiments: Bioengineering
    JoVE is the first peer-reviewed scientific video journal for biological, medical, chemical, and physical research indexed in Medline and PubMed. The Library currently has a subscription to the Bioengineering section of JoVE.
  • MADCAD  
      
    Includes selected ASTM standards.
  • SAGE Journals Online
    Sage now includes 18 journals of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE). These represent a wide range of engineering topics including aerospace, rail, nanoengineering and power and energy.
  • SCOPUS
    An excellent citation database indexing over 15,000 scholarly journals on all topics. Includes abstracts and article reference lists. Find out who is citing whom. Use LinkSource to determine if electronic full-text is available.
  • Springer Science+Business Media Journals  
      
    Includes 1,600 full-text journals on Agricultural, Biological and Environmental Sciences, Business and Economics, Computer Sciences, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Social Sciences, Medicine, and the Natural Sciences (Physics/Chemistry/Math).

Websites

Stay Current!

Stay on top of trends and cutting edge research with Nature online.
New Subscriptions:
      

    Citation Assistance

    For more detailed information on citing references, see the Citing Your Sources LibGuide.

    If you need help, contact the library at 248-204-3000 or email refdesk@ltu.edu
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip