AccessEngineeringThis link opens in a new windowSource for engineering handbooks, instructional videos, downloadable calculators, curriculum maps, search tools, interactive tables & graphs, study guides& global engineering news. Faculty note: books may be used as text books.
ASM Handbooks OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAmerican Society for Metals: The ASM Handbook Online. (Also known as the Metals Handbook.)
SAE Style Guide for Technical PapersThe purpose of this Style Guide is to facilitate the development of high quality SAE technical papers. In general, the guidelines presented here follow the advice of the Chicago Manual of Style, and in the case of missing or unclear guidelines, defer to that manual.
Top choices for research on topics in mechanical engineering.
Applied Science & Technology SourceThis link opens in a new windowThis database offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content covering the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines — from acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering.
ASME Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowAmerican Society of Mechanical Engineers publications (including ASME Transaction Journals and Conference Proceedings):
Journals - 2000 to current
Proceedings - 2008 to current
Emerald EngineeringThis link opens in a new window19 peer-reviewed journals covering engineering research
Engineering Village (Compendex)This link opens in a new windowEngineering Index, abstracts 1970 to present. This is comprehensive listing of engineering information: over 18.8 million records from 76 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. It is indexed specifically for engineers using the Engineering Index Thesaurus, making search results consistently accurate and relevant to engineering research. (No full-text: make sure to follow the link at the bottom of the abstract to look at all the LTU journal titles to try to find full-text.)
IEEE Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowJournals, Proceedings, & Standards
Material ConneXionThis link opens in a new windowOnline access to a comprehensive database of more than 7,000 materials to provide the cutting edge tools needed today to create smarter, more sustainable material solutions.
SAE MobilusThis link opens in a new windowThe new interface for SAE Digital Library, allows for annotations for the full-text. Covers the Technical Papers since 1998. (We own all SAE papers from 1966-1999 on microfiche.)
This link opens in a new window
SAGE JournalsThis link opens in a new windowSage now includes 18 journals of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE). These represent a wide range of engineering topics including aerospace, rail, nanoengineering and power and energy.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowScience, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowAn excellent citation database indexing over 15,000 scholarly journals on all topics. Includes abstracts and article reference lists. Find out who is citing whom. Use the "WorldCat" link to determine if electronic full-text is available.
Springer Science+Business Media JournalsThis link opens in a new windowIncludes 1,600 full-text journals on Agricultural, Biological and Environmental Sciences, Business and Economics, Computer Sciences, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Social Sciences, Medicine, and the Natural Sciences (Physics/Chemistry/Math). Note: to limit to LTU holdings, uncheck the box that says "include Preview-only content."
Business Databases (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowAn excellent starting point for topics related to business, leadership, finance & economics. Searches Business Source Complete, Entrepreneurial Studies Source, OmniFile Full Text Select and Regional Business News.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)This link opens in a new window(Publicly Available Collections Only.) The Defense Technical Information Center is the repository for research and engineering information for the United States Department of Defense. DTIC's services are available to DoD personnel, federal government personnel, federal contractors and selected academic institutions.
SAGE JournalsThis link opens in a new windowThe SAGE Journals collection features high-impact, peer-reviewed, and interdisciplinary articles from more than 1,000 journals spanning the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, engineering, and medicine.