These databases index a variety of peer-reviewed journals. Use the LinkSource button or link to seek out full text in other databases.
Engineering Village (Compendex)Engineering Index, abstracts 1970 to present. This is comprehensive listing of engineering information: over 18.8 million records from 76 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. It is indexed specifically for engineers using the Engineering Index Thesaurus, making search results consistently accurate and relevant to engineering research. (No full-text: make sure to follow the link at the bottom of the abstract to look at all the LTU journal titles to try to find full-text.)
ScopusAn excellent citation database indexing over 15,000 scholarly journals on all topics. Includes abstracts and article reference lists. Find out who is citing whom. Use the "WorldCat" link to determine if electronic full-text is available.
PubMedMillions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Differs from PubMedCentral in that not all articles are full-text.
Springer Science+Business Media JournalsIncludes 1,600 full-text journals on Agricultural, Biological and Environmental Sciences, Business and Economics, Computer Sciences, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Social Sciences, Medicine, and the Natural Sciences (Physics/Chemistry/Math). Note: to limit to LTU holdings, uncheck the box that says "include Preview-only content."
SAGE JournalsThe SAGE Journals collection features high-impact, peer-reviewed, and interdisciplinary articles from more than 1,000 journals spanning the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, engineering, and medicine.
Journals
JOVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments: BioengineeringA different type of database, JoVE is the first peer-reviewed scientific video journal for biological, medical, chemical, and physical research indexed in Medline and PubMed. The Library currently has a subscription to the Bioengineering section of JoVE.
PLOS (Public Library of Science)Peer-reviewed journal in science and medicine, full-text. Includes Microbiology, Ecology, Microbiology, Neuroscience among many other disciplines.
