Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Stay Current! Follow cutting edge scientific research
Nature, International weekly journal of science Peer-reviewed, international weekly journal of science
Science / AAAS Peer-reviewed; "Leading journal of original scientific research, global news and commentary." Coverage includes chemistry, biology, engineering, physics, neuroscience, medicine, and planetary science and astronomy.
Science Robotics, AAAS Latest technological advances and for the critical social, ethical and policy issues surrounding robotics. multidisciplinary, covering the traditional disciplines of robotics, as well as emerging trends such as advanced materials and bio-inspired designs; it covers all scales, from very large systems to micro/nano robots; its scope is broad, addressing both theoretical advances and practical applications
IEEE Digital Library Journals, Proceedings, & Standards
Flipster Enjoy reading a variety of popular magazine titles including back issues on your computer or mobile device.
Grand Challenges Start Here!
ScienceDirect Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
A Few of the Stories
So much interesting research is going on! Read about some of the cutting edge developments impacting world needs
- Grand Challenges News Page (includes articles, videos & blog posts)
- Reports and Proceedings of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine - most available as free PDFs
- Browse issues of The Bridge, an open access journal published by the National Academy of Engineering, providing insight into the importance of engineering and technology in society
Water, Energy, and Environment - a Primer by Access to clean water and energy are critical to economic growth and sustainable development. Providing water and energy services has important environmental impacts. Understanding the inextricable linkages among water, energy, and environment - the water-energy-environment nexus - will be a priority for all levels of government in the decades ahead as they develop and implement policies to enhance human welfare.We are also experiencing the beginning of an energy revolution in these early years of the 21st Century. Understanding the nature of this revolution is important, and this book provides an introduction to and explanation of this revolution. Specific topics to be discussed, in addition to explaining the nexus, include the global contexts for water and energy issues, associated environmental impacts, traditional and emerging energy options (fossil fuels, nuclear power, renewable energies), new approaches to providing clean water, the emerging role of energy storage, and policy issues associated with water, energy, and environment, as well as recommendations.There are a number of books on pieces of the nexus, most at a technical level. The purpose of this book is to explain the nexus and each of its components in a university-level, highly-readable 'primer' for those entering the water and energy fields. It will also serve as an introduction to these topics for a global, multidisciplinary audience that includes academic scholars in related technical and non-technical fields, government officials at national, state, and local levels, economists and others in the financial/investment communities, and those in the development community responsible for planning and delivering water and energy services to undeserved populations.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2019-02-15
RefWorks Bibliographic Management Tool. Allows you to store and manage your citations. Easily create reference lists from your citations.
The information presented in the articles is well documented in citations within the papers and reference lists at the end. These reference lists are excellent sources for additional information on the topic.