LibGuides: Engineering: Manufacturing Eng.

Search Tips

Exploratory search "manufacturing processes", "casting", "cold rolling", etc. in TechCat+ for books, ebooks, journal articles.

Find peer reviewed articles in many of the databases. A good one to start researching is ScienceDirect. But don't limit yourself to just one database.

SAE Transactions is not peer reviewed but the collection has many high quality papers focusing on application.

Peer reviewed Journals:

Materials & Manufacturing Processes

Journal of Manufacturing Processes

- published by SME but available through ScienceDirect

Databases That Index Articles & Provide Abstracts

Highly recommended databases - good for literature searches. Click "FullTextFinder" link to locate available full text.

Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window Engineering Index, abstracts 1970 to present. This is comprehensive listing of engineering information: over 18.8 million records from 76 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. It is indexed specifically for engineers using the Engineering Index Thesaurus, making search results consistently accurate and relevant to engineering research. (No full-text: make sure to follow the link at the bottom of the abstract to look at all the LTU journal titles to try to find full-text.)
Scopus This link opens in a new window An excellent citation database indexing over 15,000 scholarly journals on all topics. Includes abstracts and article reference lists. Find out who is citing whom. Use the "WorldCat" link to determine if electronic full-text is available.

Starting Points

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window Source for engineering handbooks, instructional videos, downloadable calculators, curriculum maps, search tools, interactive tables & graphs, study guides and global engineering news.
ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window American Society for Metals: The ASM Handbook Online. (Also known as the Metals Handbook.)

TechCat+

Find Articles in Periodical Literature -- Full Text Aavailable for Most Results

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
ASME Digital Library This link opens in a new window American Society of Mechanical Engineers publications (including ASME Transaction Journals and Conference Proceedings): Journals - 2000 to current Proceedings - 2008 to current
Emerald Engineering This link opens in a new window 19 peer-reviewed journals covering engineering research
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window The SAGE Journals collection features high-impact, peer-reviewed, and interdisciplinary articles from more than 1,000 journals spanning the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, engineering, and medicine.
Material ConneXion This link opens in a new window
Material Properties Database
Business Databases (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window An excellent starting point for topics related to business, leadership, finance & economics. Searches Business Source Complete, Entrepreneurial Studies Source, OmniFile Full Text Select and Regional Business News.