Getting Started
Thousands of books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other types of literature are identifiable through TechCat+ and our subscription databases. Many of these are available electronically, while others may be found in the print collection or requested through interlibrary loan.
Start with an overview search for books & articles in TechCat+. It automatically searches many of our databases but you may also add specific ones to broaden the search. To really zero in on a topic, you may want to search a few selected databases individually for the most complete results. If you have questions, please contact a Reference Librarian. (248-204-3000 or refdesk@ltu.edu)
- TechCat+
Overview of books, journal articles and visual material owned by or available through the LTU Library and other institutions. Items owned by LTU are at the top of your results list. Be sure to log into BlackBoard to access ebooks or full text. QUESTIONS? Contact a Reference Librarian at 248-204-3000 or refdesk@ltu.edu. - MeLCat (Michigan eLibrary)Print books not owned not owned by the library may often be borrowed from other Michigan libraries. Delivery time is about a week. Books may be borrowed for 3 weeks with 1 (one) renewal allowed.
- Interlibrary LoanIn many cases you can make a direct "ILL" request from TechCat+. For more information on interlibrary loan or to submit a request using our electronic form click the link above.
eBooks
These books are also listed in TechCat+, intermixed with the print books:
Subject lists
To search for journal articles, conference proceedings, etc., select the most appropriate subject area below.
- Alphabetical List of Databases
- Architecture and Design
- Art and Art History
- Biosciences and Health
- Career Resources
- Chemistry/Physics/Math
- Citing Your Sources
- Computer Science and Information Technology
- Doctoral Programs
- Education
- Engineering
- ESL (English as a Second Language)
- Faculty Services
- General
- Humanities and Literature
- Management
- Patents
- Psychology
- RefWorks and Citing Your Sources
- Using Assessment in the Classroom
- Using LTU Library
- Using LTU's TechCat+
- Using Other Libraries
Finding Articles (General Engineering)
The indexes/databases below cover all areas of Engineering.
- ScienceDirect
Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
RefWorks tip: use LinkSource to import citations into RefWorks - IEEE Digital Library
Journals, Proceedings, Standards, IET materials full-text from 1998 to present: 3,000,000 documents - Engineering Village (Compendex) Engineering Index, abstracts 1970 to present. This is comprehensive listing of engineering information. Take advantage of the links in each record to search for the full-text, or ask a librarian for assistance.
More Databases
These databases may also be helpful. Remember, if the full-text is not at your fingertips, try LinkSource in the citation record.
- Applied Science and Technology Abstracts+ covers all science and technology topics. Use LinkSource to determine full-text availability.
- General Science Abstracts Covers all types of scientific periodicals. Use LinkSource to determine full-text availability.
- Emerald Engineering19 specialty engineering journals online
- Journal of Visualized Experiments: BioengineeringJoVE is the first peer-reviewed scientific video journal for biological, medical, chemical, and physical research indexed in Medline and PubMed. The Library currently has a subscription to the Bioengineering section of JoVE.
- MADCAD Includes selected ASTM standards.
- REFEREX via Engineering Village interfaceMaterials & Mechanical Collection: Excellent collection of more than 600 Engineering reference ebooks, full-text online. Information on processes and materials.
- SAGE Journals OnlineSage now includes 18 journals of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE). These represent a wide range of engineering topics including aerospace, rail, nanoengineering and power and energy.
- SCOPUSAn excellent citation database indexing over 15,000 scholarly journals on all topics. Includes abstracts and article reference lists. Find out who is citing whom. Use LinkSource to determine if electronic full-text is available.
- Springer Science+Business Media Journals Includes 1,600 full-text journals on Agricultural, Biological and Environmental Sciences, Business and Economics, Computer Sciences, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Social Sciences, Medicine, and the Natural Sciences (Physics/Chemistry/Math).
Websites
- ScirusScirus is a web search engine for scientific information.
- ASEE (American Society for Engineering Education)From the website - "ASEE is a non-profit organization which brings together engineering educators from all of the engineering and engineering technology fields." Includes full-text access to conference papers.
- EurekaAlert! Science News from the AAASNews from the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
- National Renewable Energy LaboratoryNational renewable energy laboratory. Links to advanced vehicles & fuels, biomass, and geothermal energy, etc.
Science Search Engines
Search the Deep Web for scientific research using these free federated search engines.
- Science AcceleratorDOE science information
- Science.govU.S. Science information
- WorldWide ScienceGlobal science information
Stay Current!
- IMechE Journals - for a title list or to browse by title, click List
- ReferenceUSA - includes contact & financial information on thousands of companies.
Citation Assistance
For more detailed information on citing references, see the Citing Your Sources LibGuide.
- Citation Examples from the Schwartz Library/Long Island UniversityClick APA, MLA, Turabian, etc. to see examples of how different types of resources are cited.
- Citation MachineChoose the style, choose the type of resource you are citing, fill in the required information and the Citation Machine will create your citation. Copy and paste the citation to a word processing document to use in your Works Cited or Reference list.
(free but has ads) - KnightCiteA free citation creator for MLA, APA, Chicago and Turabian and maintained by the Hekman Library at Calvin College. Fill in the boxes to create the citation. Copy & paste it into your document. Includes social media formats.
- RefWorksBibliographic Management Tool. Allows you to store and manage your citations.
- Online Writing Center (OWL) at PurdueThe OWL site is an excellent source of information on the entire writing process. For information specific to APA or MLA, scroll to the Citation section towards the bottom of the page and follow the appropriate links.

Loading...
