Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject Search Terms
Graphic arts—History--21st century
The A-Z of Modern Design by This encyclopedia is the most comprehensive guide available to international product design of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. It includes 350 entries on influential designers and studios and the most important design-led manufacturers worldwide, both past and present.
Call Number: TS171.4 .D8613 2006
Publication Date: 2006
The Century of Modern Design by One of the world's most important collections of 20th century design, The Stewart Collection incorporates iconic furniture, ceramics, textiles, posters, graphic art, jewelry and everyday objects from the 1930s to today. This book presents items chronologically, highlighting contrasts and parallels between the works.
Call Number: NK1390 .C46 2010
Publication Date: 2010-11-09
Come Together by The past twenty years have seen a new generation of artists working together in small groups and large collectives to explore new avenues of art, design, performance, and commerce. In Come Together, author and visual artist Francesco Spampinato assembles an international roster of forty of today's most exciting and influential collectives, from design studios like Project Projects and political performance artists The Yes Men to flash mob provocateurs Improv Everywhere and the multimedia artists Assume Vivid Astro Focus. Alongside visual portfolios of their best work are in-depth interviews addressing each group's unique motivations, processes, and objectives. What emerges is a shared desire to turn viewers into producers and to use commercial mass-media strategies to challenge prevailing social, political, and cultural power structures. Come Together is an essential resource and inspiration for students, art lovers, and anyone interested in the cutting edge of visual culture.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014-12-02
Data Flow 2: Visualizing Information in Graphic Design by International interest in the sophisticated and aesthetic visualization of complex information made Data Flow a bestseller. Today, more and more graphic designers, advertising agencies, motion designers, and artists work in this area. New techniques and forms of expression are being developed. Consequently, the demand for information on this topic has grown enormously. Data Flow 2 expands the definition of contemporary information graphics. The book features new possibilities for diagrams, maps, and charts. It investigates the visual and intuitive presentation of processes, data, and information. Concrete examples of research and art projects as well as commercial work illuminate how techniques such as simplification, abstraction, metaphor, and dramatization function. The book also includes interviews with experts such as The New York Times s Steve Duenes, Infosthetics's Andrew Vande Moere, Visualcomplexity's Manuel Lima, ART+COM's Joachim Sauter, and passionate cartographer Menno-Jan Kraak as well as text features by Johannes Schardt about the challenges in creating effective information graphics and about the relationship between complexity, clarity, content, and innovation. Offering practical advice, background information, case studies, and inspiration, Data Flow 2 is a valuable reference for anyone working with or interested in information graphics.
Call Number: NC998.4 .D38 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-30
Fingerprint by Make Your Mark Design is at a turning point. Our infatuation with--and the backlash against--technology is over. Today's best designers have learned to embrace its advantages and think beyond its limitations by combining the power of the computer with the tactile qualities of handmade elements. Inside you'll find examples of work that showcase a variety of design methods, including mixed media, illustration, letterpress, screenprinting and collage. You'll find inspiration in examples from outstanding designers and see how traditional elements can make a more powerful statement than anesthetized computer-only work. Fingerprint also includes insightful essays on the power of the handmade by Debbie Millman, Jean Orlebeke, Jim Sherraden, Martin Venezky and Ross Macdonald. The projects in this book are beautiful, technical, simple, layered and powerful. Each project communicates its intended message with eloquence. You can be part of this exciting design revolution. Leave your own fingerprint on the world by exploring the fusion of the digital with the hand-wrought.
Call Number: NC999.4 .C44 A4 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-19
Graphic Design by Graphic design has broadened its reach dramatically over the past decade, expanding from a specialized profession to a widely deployed skill. The rise of user-generated content, new methods of publishing and systems of distribution, and the wide dissemination of creative software have opened up new opportunities for design. More designers are becoming producers--authors, publishers, instigators and entrepreneurs--actively employing their creative skills as makers of content and shapers of experiences. Featuring work produced since 2000, Graphic Design: Now in Production explores the worlds of design-driven magazines, newspapers, books and posters; the entrepreneurial spirit of designer-produced goods; the renaissance in digital typeface design; the storytelling potential of film and television titling sequences; and the transformation of raw data into compelling information narratives. The catalogue features important original essays by leading designers that tackle themes such as the changing roles of reading and writing within the context of new technologies and self-publishing; the nature of design labor and production, from blue-collar handcraft and making to white-collar design thinking and strategy; and the impact and influence design programs and schools have had on shaping the direction of contemporary graphic design. Co-organized by Walker Art Center and Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum, Graphic Design: Now in Production is conceived as a visual compendium in the spirit of the Whole Earth Catalogue. It features posters, info graphics, fonts, books, magazines, film titles, logos and more, interspersed with a variety of small texts delving into specific project details, excerpted artists' statements, interviews and published manifestos, technical details, and new and old technologies and tools.
Call Number: NC998.4 .G668 2011
Publication Date: 2011-11-30
Graphic Design Process by The process of creating graphic design cannot be easily defined: each designer has their own way of seeing the world and approaching their work. Graphic Design Process features a series of in-depth case studies exploring a range of both universal and unique design methods. Chapters investigate typical creative strategies, examining the work of 23 graphic designers from around the world. Work featured includes projects by Philippe Apeloig, Michael Bierut, Ed Fella, James Goggin, Anette Lenz, Johnson Banks, Me Company, Graphic Thought Facility, Ahn Sang-Soo, and Ralph Schraivogel. This book is aimed at students and educators, as well as practicing designers interested in the working methodologies of their peers.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Idea-ology by Great design is something that makes you pause and think. That's because there is a pure concept behind that design. Without a strong concept, design is merely an arrangement of elements within the parameters of a given format, resulting in design that is purely decorative. Void of the inspiration that makes design transcendent, the audience is left disengaged and intellectually/emotionally indifferent. Stanley Hainsworth, a designer who is known for design built on strong concepts, takes readers on an unprecedented visual journey through the minds of today's best design thinkers via interviews and project case studies, exploring and revealing the sources of the concepts behind the projects. This book is a visual and informational feast.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
New Perspectives in Typography by This A to Z survey of typographic design by leading typographers A2/SW/HK showcases over 100 carefully selected contemporary designers, including the best examples of their current work. Featured designers include M/M (Paris), David Pearson, Philippe Apeloig, Anthony Burrill, Marion Deuchars, and Non Format, among others. Essays by acclaimed design writers Emily King, Paul Shaw, Monika Parrinder, and Colin Davies go on to explore the past and future of type design as well as discussing the key issues affecting the discipline today. This book will encourage and inspire the next generation of designers as well as providing a sourcebook for seasoned designers and educators.
Call Number: Z250 .N49 2015
Publication Date: 2015-10-13
New Retro by Reinterpreting the past--the greatest form of creative flattery--never goes out of fashion. In the midst of today's technologically driven design, there has been a return to the comfort of familiar imagery and typography, particularly from the twentieth century.Drawing on classic examples, New Retro shows how past designs can be updated to suit the needs of today. It features a portfolio of the best international designs produced in recent years, presented by application: editorial, packaging, identity, promotional, and type design; and it also includes an historical survey of graphic design, with timelines of key figures and pieces.
Call Number: NC997 .D43 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Regular by Graphic design is in constant flux. In recent years, the digitalisation of media and the return of materials and personal identity have strongly influenced the development of graphic design and its adjoining disciplines. This evolution has prompted designers to define new rules and aesthetics paving the way for future media. Regular documents the current state of graphic design and presents a new generation of creative excellence. The book features examples of progressive manifestations in the printed form from poster design, book and magazine editorial design to typography. This expansive volume provides an in depth look at the state-of-the-art of contemporary graphic design.
Call Number: NC998.4 .R45 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Stop, Think, Go, Do by This revolutionary guide is not only the first to look at how typography in design creates a call to action, but it also explores type and image as language. The book is packed with arresting imagery from around the world that influences human behaviour.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Type, Image, Message by This design tutorial examines the part that typography and image play as individual design elements as well as the effect they can have in combination. Common properties and strategies are identified such as framing, layering and modularity. It includes interviews with designers renown for their skill in merging type and image.
Call Number: NC998.4 .S56 2006
Publication Date: 2006-06-01