Postmodernism
Postmodernism—Influence
Design—History—20th Century
Graphic arts—History--20th Century
30 Essential Typefaces for a Lifetime by
This work defines 30 of the most useful and classic typefaces for all design needs and occasions.
AGI by
AGI (Alliance Graphique Internationale) was founded in 1951 by a small, select group of French and Swiss graphic designers. Since then AGI has invited some 600 designers from more than thirty countries to join its ranks.Together the members of AGI have written a significant part of the history of graphic design since the mid-twentieth century. This book tells the story of their accomplishments through a series of richly illustrated biographies, plus essays by prominent AGI members on past and present developments in visual communication.The designers featured here include Alan Fletcher, Saul Bass, Paul Rand, Roman Cieslewicz, Ivan Chermayeff, Tom Geismar, Seymour Chwast, April Greiman, Yusaku Kamakura, Milton Glaser, Adrian Frutiger, Tibor Kalman, and hundreds more.
American Modernism by
A groundbreaking survey of the Modernist movement in American graphic design This insightful book is the first to present a comprehensive survey of the Modernist movement as it emerged in America between 1920 and 1960 in various graphic media. It identifies and examines great works in advertising, information design, identity, magazine design, print, dimensional design, and posters that by mid-century had defined American graphic design. R. Roger Remington begins by discussing the emergence of Modernism and its major historical influences, including European avant-garde art movements, technology, geopolitical issues, popular culture, educational innovations such as the Bauhaus, architecture, industrial design, and photography. The heart of the book brings together the key works of mid-century Modernism, presenting them chronologically from the 1930s to the 1950s. The final section shows the impact of and reactions to these Modernist influences as graphic design in America matured into the 1960s and beyond. Handsomely designed and illustrated, American Modernism isdestined to become a classic text in the study of design and visual culture.
Brand Bible by
Brand Bible is a comprehensive resource on brand design fundamentals. It looks at the influences of modern design going back through time, delivering a short anatomical overview and examines brand treatments and movements in design. You'll learn the steps necessary to develop a successful brand system from defining the brand attributes and assessing the competition, to working with materials and vendors, and all the steps in between. The author, who is the president of the design group at Sterling Brands, has overseen the design/redesign of major brands including Pepsi, Burger King, Tropicana, Kleenex, and many more.
Designing with Illustration by 
Graphic Design by
Now in its second edition, this innovative look at the history of graphic design explores its evolution from the 19th century to the present day. Author Stephen J. Eskilson demonstrates how a new era began for design arts under the influence of Victorian reformers, tracing the emergence of modernist design styles in the early 20th century, and examining the wartime politicization of regional styles. Richly contextualized chapters chronicle the history of the Bauhaus and the rise of the International Style in the 1950s and '60s, and the postmodern movement of the 1970s and '80s. The book's final chapter looks at current trends in graphic design, with in-depth discussions of grunge, comic book, and graffiti aesthetics; historicism and appropriation; and the influence of technology, web design, and motion graphics. The second edition features over 80 new images, revised text throughout, a new chapter on 19th-century design, and expanded sections on critical topics including the Swiss Style, Postmodernism, and contemporary design.
Graphic Design History by
In this groundbreaking anthology, nearly 30 legendary writers explore and characterize the unique developments, notable people, and memorable events that shaped the world of graphic design. Taken in many cases from hard-to-find sources, these essays provide a unique scope and array of provocative viewpoints that are not found anywhere else. Readers will be taken on a fascinating journey through the trends that shaped the industry for the past 100-plus years, written by the people who helped define it.
Graphic Design in America by 
Graphic Design Theory by
Graphic Design Theorynbsp;is organized in three sections: "Creating the Field" traces the evolution of graphic design over the course of the early 1900s, including influential avant-garde ideas of futurism, constructivism, and the Bauhaus; "Building on Success" covers the mid- to late twentieth century and considers the International Style, modernism, and postmodernism; and "Mapping the Future" opens at the end of the last century and includes current discussions on legibility, social responsibility, and new media. Striking color images illustrate each of the movements discussed and demonstrate the ongoing relationship between theory and practice. A brief commentary prefaces each text, providing a cultural and historical framework through which the work can be evaluated. Authors include such influential designers as Herbert Bayer, L'szlo Moholy-Nagy, Karl Gerstner, Katherine McCoy, Michael Rock, Lev Manovich, Ellen Lupton, and Lorraine Wild. Additional features include a timeline, glossary, and bibliography for further reading. A must-have survey for graduate and undergraduate courses in design history, theory, and contemporary issues, Graphic Design Theorynbsp;invites designers and interested readers of all levels to plunge into the world of design discourse.
In the Company of Women by
New York Times Bestseller "I want to rip out every page of this glorious book and hang them on my wall so that I can be surrounded by these incredible women all day long." --Emma Straub, New York Times bestselling author of The Vacationers and Modern Lovers Over 100 exceptional and influential women describe how they embraced their creative spirit, overcame adversity, and sparked a global movement of entrepreneurship. Media titans and ceramicists, hoteliers and tattoo artists, comedians and architects--taken together, these profiles paint a beautiful picture of what happens when we pursue our passions and dreams.
Masters of Design by
Masters of Design: Logos and Identityprofiles twenty well known designers, who are recognized for the particular areas of design in which they're profiled in the Masters series. The profiles are not only inspirational, but they provide real-world advice and support designers can use in their projects. Through real world examples and illustrations, the authors present the work of the 20 legends focusing on the subject of identity and logos. This ranges from simple mark-making to full scale programs applied to multiple mediums. The book also includes a gallery of marks, sidebars on heroes and inspirations, and diagrams to explain concepts or processes. The designers included will have a wide age range, type of work, in-house agencies, small business, large firm, domestic and international designers. Each profile is about 2,000 words and includes 10-15 projects with captions that detail the specifics. We include current projects as well as the projects that put these people on the map.
Numbers in Graphic Design by
Focusing on how graphic designers tackle the ordering of number-heavy information, this book shows how the best design minds around grapple with timetables, annual reports, and other data-rich documents. It also includes a chapter outlining the basic typographic and detailing rules relating to numbers.Featuring the work of such names as Stefan Sagmeister, Karin von Ompteda, Joost Grootens, Socket Studio, Stapelberg & Fritz, Form, Willi Kunz, Helmut Schmid, Build, and Cartlidge Levene, Numbers in Graphic Design is bursting with inspirational examples of how to approach almost any design situation featuring numbers. Numbers in Graphic Design is the sourcebook for any designer who wants to be able to work with numbers creatively and with confidence.
Pop Art and the Origins of Post-Modernism by
Pop Art and the Origins of Post-Modernism examines the critical reception of Pop Art in America during the 1960s. Comparing the ideas of a group of New York-based critics, including Leo Steinberg, Susan Sontag, and Max Kozloff, among others, Sylvia Harrison demonstrates how their ideas - broadly categorized as either sociological or philosophical - bear a striking similarity to the body of thought and opinion which is now associated with deconstructive post-modernism. Perceived through these disciplinary lenses, Pop Art arises as not only a reflection of the dominance of mass communications and capitalist consumerism in post-war American society, but also a subversive commentary on worldviews and the factors necessary for their formation.
Postmodernism by
This volume is an introduction to the intellectual movement known as Postmodernism and its impact on the visual arts. In clear, jargon-free language, Eleanor Heartney situates Postmodernism historically, showing how it developed both in reaction to and as a result of some of the fundamental beliefs underlying Modernism, especially its positivist, universalizing aspects. She then analyzes paradigmatic Postmodern works of art by artists such as Cindy Sherman, Sherrie Levine, Jeff Koons and Robert Mapplethorpe. Postmodernism provides a concise and articulate overview of the Postmodern phenomenon. Eleanor Heartney is a contributing editor for Art in America, New Art Examiner, and Art Press. In 1991, she was the recipient of the Frank Jewett Mather Award for Distinction in Art Criticism. Heartney is a board member of the American section of the AICA. She is also the author of Critical Condition: American Culture at the Crossroads (Cambridge, 1997). She lives in New York.
Postmodernism by
Postmodernism has become the buzzword of contemporary society over the last decade. But how can it be defined? In this highly readable introduction the mysteries of this most elusive of concepts are unraveled, casting a critical light upon the way we live now, from the politicizing of museumculture to the cult of the politically correct. The key postmodernist ideas are explored and challenged, as they figure in the theory, philosophy, politics, ethics and artwork of the period, and it is shown how they have interacted within a postmodernist culture.
Postmodernism and the Postsocialist Condition by
The Berlin Wall was coming down, the Soviet Union was dissolving, Communist China was well on its way down the capitalist path; the world was witnessing political and social transformations without precedent. Artists, seeing it all firsthand, responded with a revolution of their own. What form this revolution tookOCohow artists in the 1980s marked their societies' traumatic transition from decaying socialism to an insecure futureOCoemerges in this remarkable volume. With in-depth perspectives on art and artists in the former Soviet Union, the Balkans and Mitteleuropa, China, and CubaOCoall from scholars and art critics who were players in the tumultuous cultural landscapes they describeOCothis stunningly illustrated collection captures a singular period in the history of world art, and a critical moment in the cultural and political transition from the last century to our own. Authors Ales Erjavec, Gao Minglu, Boris Groys, P(r)ter GyArgy, Gerardo Mosquera, and Misko Suvakovic observe distinct national differences in artistic responses to the social and political challenges of the time. But their essays also reveal a clear pattern in the ways in which artists registered the exhaustion of the socialist vision and absorbed the influence of art movements such as constructivism, pop art, and conceptual art, as well as the provocations of western pop culture. Indebted to but not derived from capitalist postmodernism, the result was a unique version of postsocialist postmodernism, an artistic/political innovation clearly identified and illustrated for the first time in these pages."
Postmodern Media Culture by
This book analyzes the function of media examples in the work of a number of key theorists -- including Adorno, Baudrillard, Benjamin, Habermas, Jameson, Lyotard, and McLuhan -- and discusses contemporary media production, products, and audiences, to test and reorient theoretical models of the postmodern. The book deals with film, television, information technology, consumer products, and popular literature and assesses challenges to conceptions of the postmodern based on gender, race, and region.
Style Pedia by
A chunky, distinctive object of brilliant design in and of itself,Stylepedia is the first handy, cross-referenced desk guide to the kaleidoscope that is modern design. In hundreds of illustrated entries, Heller and Fili, the award-winning authors ofEuro Deco and numerous other popular design titles, survey the designers, schools, and movements that comprise the practice today as well as take a fascinating glimpse back at some of the seminal early leaders. From the first Santa Claus to appear on a Coca-Cola bottle to the increasingly ubiquitous camouflage tee shirt, iconic everyday items of yesterday and today provide valuable inspiration to designers and design aficionados. As quirky as it is useful and positively packed with lavish color illustrations, this designer's design compendium is the only one of its kind.
Tm by
TM offers graphic designers and those interested in the history of design and branding a uniquely detailed look at a select group of the very best visual identities. The book takes 29 internationally recognized logos and explains their development, design, usage, and purpose. Based upon interviews with the designers responsible for these totems, and encompassing the marks from a range of corporate, artistic, and cultural institutions from across the globe,TM reveals the stories behind such icons as the Coca-Cola logotype, the Penguin Books' colophon, and the Michelin Man. Based upon comprehensive research, authoritatively written and including a wealth of archival images,TM is an opportunity to discover how designers are able to squeeze entire identities into 29 simple logos.
Trademarks Designed by
The NBC peacock, the PBS "everyman," the Chase Bank octagon, and hundreds of other outstanding trademarks have been created by one design firm, Chermayeff & Geismar Inc. Their logos and identity programs for high-profile corporations such as Mobil, Time Warner, Viacom, and Xerox, and for preeminent institutions such as the New York Public Library, Alvin Ailey Dance, the Smithsonian Institution, and the Museum of Modern Art, are instantly recognizable hallmarks of design.TM collects over 200 trademarks created over the 40-year history of the firm, which is led by Ivan Chermayeff, Tom Geismar, and Steff Geissbuhler. The variety and vitality of their work is reflected in this visually rich book, which serves an inspiration for designers as well as a reference to the best in trademark design.
The Troubles with Postmodernism by
In this original and eye-opening study, Stefan Morawski sheds light on the often confused debate about postmodernism, postmodernity and human values. Drawing upon a wide range of evidence from the experience of everyday life in the sciences, religion, visual arts, literature, film, television and contemporary music, The Troubles with Postmodernism is an indispensable guide to our understanding and evaluation of contemporary literature.
Weingart: Typography - Wege zur Typografie by
Both as a teacher and a designer, Wolfgang Weingart's influence on the development of typography since the 1970s is unparalleled. As the successor to Emil Ruder at the world-famous Schule fur Gestaltung in Basel, he enhanced the rigor of Swiss Typography with experimental verve and creativity; he also put his innovative ideas to work for Typografische Monatsblatter. Countless designers in North America and Europe have been inspired by his teachings and lectures. In Typography, Weingart sums up an impressive lifework in 500 pages that describe his own development and the foundations of his teachings. This is a long-awaited book of epochal significance. 450 illustrations
Women of Design by
The immense body of work produced by graphic designers around the world is astoundingly varied, rich and widely celebrated. Yet in publications, conferences, judging panels and other public realms, women designers tend to be outnumbered by their male counterparts whose appearances, work and achievements are constantly in the spotlight - luckily, it's a reversing trend. While Women of Design does not attempt to relieve the imbalance, it does bring full attention to the wonderful work, careers, and contributions of women designers, writers, teachers and entrepreneurs around the world. The women in this book have been divided into three groups, representative of the time in which their influence was most heartily felt: Groundbreakers, Pathfinders and Trailblazers. These three generations have helped shape the modern landscape of design. Included are interviews with April Greiman, Deborah Sussman, Louise Fili, Ann Willoughby, Ellen Lupton, Jennifer Sterling, Debbie Millman, Paula Scher, Jessica Helfand, Margo Chase, Luba Lukova, Petrula Vrontikis, Sharon Werner, Paola Antonelli and Marian Bantjes. Explore the work, ideals and ventures - all at the helm of these women - that have helped define the last 50 years of the graphic design profession, as represented by the women who helped establish design's relevance, importance and impact and the ones that carry their tradition into new territory. By asking the handful of female design stars to identify other talented women, then asking those women to suggest more still, Women of Design creates a web of influence and excellence that proves these women are worthy of attention.
