Printing--History
Printing—History--Origin and antecedents
Printing—History--Origin and antecedents--Early works to 1800
Graphic design (Typography)
Blind Impressions: Methods and Mythologies in Book History by
"As bibliographers or book historians, we perform our work by changing the function of the objects we study. We rarely pick up an Aldine edition to read one of the classical texts it contains. . . . Print culture, under this notion, is not a medium for writing or thought but a historical object of study; our bibliographical field, our own concoction, becomes the true referent of the objects we define as its foundation."--From the Introduction What is a book in the study of print culture? For the scholar of material texts, it is not only a singular copy carrying the unique traces of printing and preservation efforts, or an edition, repeated and repeatable, or a vehicle for ideas to be abstracted from the physical copy. But when the bibliographer situates a book copy within the methods of book history, Joseph A. Dane contends, it is the known set of assumptions which govern the discipline that bibliographic arguments privilege, repeat, or challenge. "Book history," he writes, "is us." In Blind Impressions, Dane reexamines the field of material book history by questioning its most basic assumptions and definitions. How is print defined? What are the limits of printing history? What constitutes evidence? His concluding section takes form as a series of short studies in theme and variation, considering such matters as two-color printing, the composing stick used by hand-press printers, the bibliographical status of book fragments, and the function of scholarly illustration in the Digital Age. Meticulously detailed, deeply learned, and often contrarian, Blind Impressions is a bracing critique of the way scholars define and solve problems.
The Culture of Print: Power and the Uses of Print in Early Modern Europe by
The leading historians who are the authors of this work offer a highly original account of one of the most important transformations in Western culture: the change brought about by the discovery and development of printing in Europe. Focusing primarily on printed matter other than books, The Culture of Print emphasizes the specific and local contexts in which printed materials, such as broadsheets, flysheets, and posters, were used in modern Europe. The authors show that festive, ritual, cultic, civic, and pedagogic uses of print were social activities that involved deciphering texts in a collective way, with those who knew how to read leading those who did not. Only gradually did these collective forms of appropriation give way to a practice of reading--privately, silently, using the eyes alone--that has become common today. This wide-ranging work opens up new historical and methodological perspectives and will become a focal point of debate for historians and sociologists interested in the cultural transformations that accompanied the rise of modern societies. Originally published in 1989. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Exploring Typography by
What do designers need to know about typography? The answer can be found in this richly illustrated book that examines the varied uses of type in contemporary visual communications. Exploring Typography takes a concise but thorough approach to introducing and examining the principles of typography. Coverage begins with a brief history of type and a survey of how type is classified. Readers then learn about the physical components of letters and the rules of legibility, readability, and style. Subsequent chapters survey the creative use of emphasis, designing effective layouts, using grids, and developing original type styles. Finally, the author examines contemporary challenges in type while introducing terminology and concepts relevant to designing with type in a digital environment.
A History of Graphic Design by 
A History of Graphic Design by
Critical acclaim for previous editions of A History of Graphic Design "I expect it to become a foundation and keystone of serious study . . . it is a fortress work." -Communication Arts "[It] traces the role of the designer as a messenger of culture." -STA Journal "Now . . . a hefty, yet concise, documentation of the entire field exists." -Print "It is a noble and formidable undertaking." -he Artist's Magazine "An excellent and invaluable work." -Library Journal "This is a reference work that reads like a novel. It's comprehensive, authoritative, graphic, and exciting." -U&lc: The Journal of Typographics "[This book] establishes graphic design as a profession. Bravo!" -Design Issues "A significant attempt at a comprehensive history of graphic design . . . it will be an eye-opener not only for general readers, but for designers who have been unaware of their legacy." -The New York Times "Mr. Meggs enthusiastically conveys these excitements to us, from the invention of photography and 'popular graphics of the Victorian era' through the Arts and Crafts movement, Art Nouveau, the Secession, the isms . . . to the Modern Movement. . . . More importantly, he shows us the joins as well as the parts."-rinting World After a decade of research by the author, the first edition of A History of Graphic Design was heralded as a publishing landmark by the Association of American Publishers, who awarded it a coveted award for publishing excellence. Now, after fifteen years of development in graphic design, this expanded and updated Third Edition includes hundreds of full-color images and new material in many areas, including alphabets, Japanese and Dutch graphics, and the computer revolution which has impacted all aspects of contemporary design and communications. With its approximately 1,200 illustrations, lucid text, and interpretive captions, the book reveals a saga of creative innovators, breakthrough technologies, and important design innovations. Graphic design is a vital component of each culture and period in human history, and in this account, an extraordinary panorama of people and events unfolds, including: * The Invention of Writing and Alphabets * Medieval Manuscript Books * The Origins of Printing and Typography * Renaissance Graphic Design * The Arts and Crafts Movement * Victorian and Art Nouveau Graphics * Modern Art and Its Impact on Design * Visual Identity and Conceptual Images * Postmodern Design * The Computer Graphics Revolution A History of Graphic Design is recognized as a seminal work; this Third Edition surpasses in detail and breadth the content, design, and color reproduction of previous editions. It is required reading for professionals, students, and everyone who works with or loves the world of graphic design. This comprehensive reference tool is an invaluable visual survey that you will turn to again and again.
Knowledge and Text Production in an Age of Print - China, 900-1400 by
The essays in this volume seek to flesh out the diversity of Chinese textual production during the period spanning the tenth and fourteenth centuries when printing became a widely used technology.
Meggs' History of Graphic Design by
The bestselling graphic design reference, updated for the digital age Meggs' History of Graphic Design is the industry's unparalleled, award-winning reference. With over 1,400 high-quality images throughout, this visually stunning text guides you through a saga of artistic innovators, breakthrough technologies, and groundbreaking developments that define the graphic design field. The initial publication of this book was heralded as a publishing landmark, and author Philip B. Meggs is credited with significantly shaping the academic field of graphic design. Meggs presents compelling, comprehensive information enclosed in an exquisite visual format. The text includes classic topics such as the invention of writing and alphabets, the origins of printing and typography, and the advent of postmodern design. This new sixth edition has also been updated to provide: The latest key developments in web, multimedia, and interactive design Expanded coverage of design in Asia and the Middle East Emerging design trends and technologies Timelines framed in a broader historical context to help you better understand the evolution of contemporary graphic design Extensive ancillary materials including an instructor's manual, expanded image identification banks, flashcards, and quizzes You can't master a field without knowing the history. Meggs' History of Graphic Design presents an all-inclusive, visually spectacular arrangement of graphic design knowledge for students and professionals. Learn the milestones, developments, and pioneers of the trade so that you can shape the future.
Modern Typography: An Essay in Critical History by
Modern Typography, 2nd Edition is a completely updated and revised edition of Robin Kinross's classic survey of European and North American typography since 1700, first published in 1992. In addition to numerous new illustrations and revised text,Modern Typography has been re-scaled to a new, convenient pocket format. Kinross's overview breaks ground by focusing on the history of typography as an intricate web of social, technical, and material processes, rather than a parade of typeface styles. Eye magazine callsModern Typography the book that tells "how modern typography got to be the way it is." Together, Kinross's clear, concise writing combined with his extensive knowledge of the history of typography create a gold standard for how design history ought to be written.
The Nature of the Book: Print and Knowledge in the Making by
In "The Nature of the Book," a tour de force of cultural history, Adrian Johns constructs an entirely original and vivid picture of print culture and its many arenasOCocommercial, intellectual, political, and individual. A compelling exposition of how authors, printers, booksellers and readers competed for power over the printed page. . . . The richness of Mr. Johns's book lies in the splendid detail he has collected to describe the world of books in the first two centuries after the printing press arrived in England.OCoAlberto Manguel, "Washington Times" A] mammoth and stimulating account of the place of print in the history of knowledge. . . . Johns has written a tremendously learned primer.OCoD. Graham Burnett, "New Republic" A detailed, engrossing, and genuinely eye-opening account of the formative stages of the print culture. . . . This is scholarship at its best.OCoMerle Rubin, "Christian Science Monitor" The most lucid and persuasive account of the new kind of knowledge produced by print. . . . A work to rank alongside McLuhan.OCoJohn Sutherland, "The Independent" Entertainingly written. . . . The most comprehensive account available . . . well documented and engaging.OCoIan Maclean, "Times Literary Supplement""
Print Culture and Peripheries in Early Modern Europe: A Contribution to the History of Printing and the Book Trade in Small European and Spanish Cities by
This volume seeks to enhance our understanding of printing and the book trade in small and peripheral European cities in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries through a number of specific case studies.
Printing the Middle Ages by
In Printing the Middle Ages Siân Echard looks to the postmedieval, postmanuscript lives of medieval texts, seeking to understand the lasting impact on both the popular and the scholarly imaginations of the physical objects that transmitted the Middle Ages to the English-speaking world. Beneath and behind the foundational works of recovery that established the canon of medieval literature, she argues, was a vast terrain of books, scholarly or popular, grubby or beautiful, widely disseminated or privately printed. By turning to these, we are able to chart the differing reception histories of the literary texts of the British Middle Ages. For Echard, any reading of a medieval text, whether past or present, amateur or academic, floats on the surface of a complex sea of expectations and desires made up of the books that mediate those readings. Each chapter of Printing the Middle Ages focuses on a central textual object and tells its story in order to reveal the history of its reception and transmission. Moving from the first age of print into the early twenty-first century, Echard examines the special fonts created in the Elizabethan period to reproduce Old English, the hand-drawn facsimiles of the nineteenth century, and today's experiments with the digital reproduction of medieval objects; she explores the illustrations in eighteenth-century versions of Guy of Warwick and Bevis of Hampton; she discusses nineteenth-century children's versions of the Canterbury Tales and the aristocratic transmission history of John Gower's Confessio Amantis; and she touches on fine press printings of Dante, Froissart, and Langland.
The Print in the Western World: An Introductory History by
The Print in the Western World is a comprehensive history of the print from its origins in the fifteenth through the late twentieth century. A source of inspiration to many great painters, such as Titian, Rembrandt, and Manet, printmaking has established its own criteria of aesthetic excellence as well as its own expressive language, both of which are explored here. Scholars and print collectors will find in this well-written and generously illustrated book a valuable reference, students a lucid survey, and art lovers an informative introduction to the history of the print in Europe and America. More than 700 illustrations, forty-nine of them in color, show the evolution of the relief, intaglio, planographic, and stencil processes through the centuries. Giving detailed treatment to the work of five master printmakers--Albrecht D#65533;rer, Rembrandt van Rijn, Francisco Goya, Pablo Picasso, and Jasper Johns--the book also discusses in depth numerous other artists, such as Martin Schongauer, Andrea Mantegna, Hendrik Goltzius, Jacques Callot, Giovanni Battista Piranesi, William Hogarth, Honor#65533; Daumier, Edouard Manet, Paul Gauguin, Edvard Munch, K#65533;the Kollwitz, Max Ernst, and Andy Warhol. Although its primary focus is the fine-art original print, The Print in the Western World also addresses in detail the reproductive tradition in printmaking that reached its peak in the eighteenth century and touches on book illustrations, posters, political satires, and vernacular prints such as chromolithographs. Author Linda C. Hults emphasizes the meaning and historical context of prints, the consequences of the print's accessibility to many strata of society, and the relationship among artist, context, subject matter, and technique. The volume includes a glossary of basic printmaking terms, as well as full bibliographies at the end of each chapter, giving readers access to a wide range of recent scholarship on prints.
Social History of Books and Libraries from Cuneiform to Bytes by
While the importance of writing has often been recognized, the role of books and especially that of libraries has just as often been slighted. Knowledge, once generated, has to be communicated, preserved, and accessible. Books in their varying formats--from clay tablets to scrolls and manuscripts to pixels--have been instrumental in spreading knowledge, although relatively little attention has been given to the story of books themselves. A Social History of Books and Libraries from Cuneiform to Bytes traces the roles of books and libraries throughout recorded history and explores their social and cultural importance within differing societies and changing times. It presents the history of books from clay tablets to e-books and the history of libraries, whether built of bricks or bytes. Following an introduction that sets the theoretical basis for the historical importance of books and libraries, chapters alternate between the history of the book and the history of libraries. Included within the chapters are short excursions on some particular development, such as book emblems or cataloging. Case studies are given as thematic illustrations of libraries everywhere. Patrick M. Valentine argues that social and cultural forces have been more influential in determining the nature and status of information, books, and libraries than has technology. But A Social History of Books and Libraries is far from a jeremiad against technology; rather it presents history within the subtle yet shifting context of time and place. Although written primarily for librarians and library students, it will also be of interest to a wider audience of scholars and those interested in books, libraries, and cultural history.
Typography by
Both as a teacher and a designer, Wolfgang Weingart's influence on the development of typography since the 1970s is unparalleled. As the successor to Emil Ruder at the world-famous Schule fur Gestaltung in Basel, he enhanced the rigor of Swiss Typography with experimental verve and creativity; he also put his innovative ideas to work for Typografische Monatsblatter. Countless designers in North America and Europe have been inspired by his teachings and lectures. In Typography, Weingart sums up an impressive lifework in 500 pages that describe his own development and the foundations of his teachings. This is a long-awaited book of epochal significance. 450 illustrations
Pioneers of Modern Typography by
Since its first publication in 1969, Pioneers of Modern Typography has been the standard guide to the avant-garde origins of modern graphic design and typography. In this essential reference, Herbert Spencer shows how new concepts in graphic design in the early decades of the twentieth century had their roots in the artistic movements of the time in painting, poetry, and architecture. Spencer examines the "heroic" period of modern design and typography, the beginning of which he traces to the publication in Le Figaro of the Italian artist Manetti's Futurist manifesto. He discusses the work of such "pioneers" as El Lissitzky, Alexander Rodchenko, and Laszlo Moholy-Nagy. He examines the artistic background of the new concepts in graphic design, and traces the influences of futurism, Dadaism, de Stijl, suprematism, constructivism, and the Bauhaus. His text is profusely illustrated with examples of the new typography, shown in genres that range from posters and magazine covers to Apollinaire's "figurative poetry." This revised edition, which follows the revised and redesigned edition of 1983, includes a foreword by design critic Rick Poyner that discusses the important contributions to the history of graphic design made by Herbert Spencer.
Thinking in Type by
With this visually stunning primer, designers will develop the skills and vision to produce truly innovative, eye-catching type design. All of the basics about type design are covered and in-depth information is provided on more advanced topics such as the differences between type applications, how typography creates identity, and what readers look for and respond to. Using more than 2,000 images from the 18th century up to the present day, this book can be used as a first exposure primer for students and as a reader for professionals. Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.
Typography, Referenced: A Comprehensive Visual Guide to the Language, History, and Practice of Typography by
Typography, Referenced is the single most comprehensive volume covering every aspect of typography that any design student, professional designer, or design aficionado needs to know today. In these pages, you'll find: --Thousands of illustrated examples of contemporary usage in design --Historical developments from Greek lapidary letters to the movie Helvetica --Landmark designs turning single letters into typefaces --Definitions of essential type-specific language, terms, ideas, principles, and processes --Ways technology has influenced and advanced type --The future of type on the web, mobile devices, tablets, and beyond In short, Typography, Referenced is the ultimate source of typographic information and inspiration, documenting and chronicling the full scope of essential typographic knowledge and design from the beginnings of moveable type to the present "golden age" of typography.
Typography Workbook: A Real-world Guide to Using Type in Graphic Design by
The Typography Workbook provides an at-a-glance reference book for designers on all aspects of type. The book is part of Rockport's popular Workbook series of practical and inspirational workbooks that cover all the fundamental areas of the graphic design business. This book presents an abundance of information on type - the cornerstone of graphic design - succinctly and to the point, so that designers can get the information they need quickly and easily. Whereas many other books on type are either very technical or showcase oriented, this book offers ideas and inspiration through hundreds of real-life projects showing successful, well-crafted usage of type. The book also offers a variety of other content, including choosing fonts, sizes, and colors; incorporating text and illustrations; avoiding common mistakes in text usage; and teaching rules by which to live (and work) by.
