The Encyclopedia of Arts and Crafts by 
The Encyclopedia of Decorative Styles, 1850-1935 by 
American Arts and Crafts by
Influenced by developments in Europe, American proponents in the late 19th and early 20th centuries promoted the minor arts as fine art hand-wrought by individual craftsmen, extolling the virtue of everyday objects and a return to simple materials and workmanship. This book looks at their work.
Arthur Wesley Dow and the American Arts and Crafts by
Dow was a prolific artist and a leader of the American Arts and Crafts movement. This work explores the full range of Dow's artistry, including painting, photography and printmaking and seeks to illustrate Doe's continuing relevance to craft in America.
Arts and Crafts Design in America by
Arts and Crafts Design in America includes 2 50 monuments, musuems and major collections in the United St ates. It lists sites open to the public and enclaves of arts and crafts buildings that can be viewed from the street. '
The Arts and Crafts Movement by
This volume surveys the highly influential Arts and Crafts design movement - which embraced architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, metalwork, textiles and books - in Britain, America and Europe. Although the styles adopted by the movement were diverse, its leading architects, artists and craft-designers, including William Morris, Frank Lloyd Wright, Josef Hoffman and Eliel Saarinen, were united in promoting the moral superiority of "honest" design and natural materials in an industrial age.
Arts and Crafts Movement by
Inspired by a combination of aesthetic and social ideals, the designers of the Arts and Crafts movement focused on rediscovering the beauty of natural materials, naturally occuring patterns, the environment, and honest hand craftmanship. From William Morris, Gustav Stickley, to Frank Lloyd Wright. Full color. Exceptionally well written text.
Arts and Crafts Style by
The Arts and Crafts movement flourished in the 1870s and 80s. At its heart was a quest for a return to simplicity, quiet beauty and honesty of construction - artists and craft workshops produced textiles, furniture, ceramics and metalwork that elevated everyday objects to the level of the decorative arts. This richly illustrated survey examines the movement in Europe and North America with erudition and enthusiasm.
In the Arts and Crafts Style by
Arts and Crafts design, characterized by clean, graceful lines and solid workmanship with quality materials, has experienced an explosion of popularity over the past decade with museums, collectors, and the general public. William Morris, Gustav Stickley, and Frank Lloyd Wright are among some of the most well-known designers who produced furniture and architecture in the Arts and Crafts style, while many others produced ceramics, glass, textiles, wallpaper, and silverware in the same vein. A comprehensive survey of one of America's most enduring and popular interior design styles, reflecting both traditional and contemporary interpretations, this lavishly illustrated and informative volume begins with a discussion of the origins of the Arts and Crafts movement at the turn of the century and traces its evolution to the present day. Over 140 glorious, full-color photographs showcase the special beauty of this simple, graceful style and depict the hallmarks of its designimpeccable construction and proportions, the use of enduring woods, exquisite finishes, handwrought hardware, and other unique touchesin every object pictured, all in the context of contemporary homes. From a New York estate filled with rare Roycraft pieces to a Beverly Hills mansion furnished in Mission oak, the book not only provides a rare glimpse into the collector's world but offers a visual blueprint for incorporating this engaging style into any household, a source index explains how to identify original pieces and directs the consumer to places where both authentic and reproduction Arts and Crafts furniture and objects can be obtained. An invaluable and inspirational reference for decorators and collectors at all levels,In the Arts and Crafts Style combines splendid photography and an enlightening text into a treasured, one-of-a-kind volume as classic and timeless as the style to which it pays tribute.
Professional Pursuits by
"The Victorian era provided few opportunities for women in the professional world. The American Arts and Crafts movement, which began in the late nineteenth century to promote handcraftsmanship over mass production, was a major factor in changing the status of women as professional workers. In Professional Pursuits, Catherine Zipf examines the participation of women in this significant design movement and the role they played in revolutionizing the position of women in the professional world. It also shows how, in turn, the Arts and Crafts movement set the stage for social and political change in future years." "Zipf focuses on five gifted women in various parts of the country. In San Diego, Hazel Wood Waterman parlayed her Arts and Crafts training into a career in architecture. Cincinnati's Mary Louise McLaughlin expanded on her interest in Arts and Crafts pottery by inventing new ceramic technology. New York's Candace Wheeler established four businesses that used Arts and Crafts production to help other women earn a living. In Syracuse, both Adelaide Alsop Robineau and Irene Sargent were responsible for disseminating Arts and Crafts-related information through the movement's publications. Each woman's story is different, but each played an important part in the creation of professional opportunities for women in a male-dominated society." "Professional Pursuits will be of interest to scholars and students of material culture and of the Arts and Crafts movement. More importantly it chronicles a very significant, little-understood aspect of the development of Victorian capitalism: the integration of women into the professional workforce."--BOOK JACKET.
William Morris by
A stunning gallery of beautifully illustrated volumes on the lives and works of those few unique individuals whose extraordinary artistic genius has left an indelible mark upon the world and whose work has influenced others to seek similar creative vistas.
Design in Michigan, Nineteen Sixty-Seven to Nineteen Seventy-Seven by 
Graphic Design by
Graphic design has broadened its reach dramatically over the past decade, expanding from a specialized profession to a widely deployed skill. The rise of user-generated content, new methods of publishing and systems of distribution, and the wide dissemination of creative software have opened up new opportunities for design. More designers are becoming producers--authors, publishers, instigators and entrepreneurs--actively employing their creative skills as makers of content and shapers of experiences. Featuring work produced since 2000, Graphic Design: Now in Production explores the worlds of design-driven magazines, newspapers, books and posters; the entrepreneurial spirit of designer-produced goods; the renaissance in digital typeface design; the storytelling potential of film and television titling sequences; and the transformation of raw data into compelling information narratives. The catalogue features important original essays by leading designers that tackle themes such as the changing roles of reading and writing within the context of new technologies and self-publishing; the nature of design labor and production, from blue-collar handcraft and making to white-collar design thinking and strategy; and the impact and influence design programs and schools have had on shaping the direction of contemporary graphic design. Co-organized by Walker Art Center and Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum, Graphic Design: Now in Production is conceived as a visual compendium in the spirit of the Whole Earth Catalogue. It features posters, info graphics, fonts, books, magazines, film titles, logos and more, interspersed with a variety of small texts delving into specific project details, excerpted artists' statements, interviews and published manifestos, technical details, and new and old technologies and tools.
Graphic Design Theory by
Graphic Design Theorynbsp;is organized in three sections: "Creating the Field" traces the evolution of graphic design over the course of the early 1900s, including influential avant-garde ideas of futurism, constructivism, and the Bauhaus; "Building on Success" covers the mid- to late twentieth century and considers the International Style, modernism, and postmodernism; and "Mapping the Future" opens at the end of the last century and includes current discussions on legibility, social responsibility, and new media. Striking color images illustrate each of the movements discussed and demonstrate the ongoing relationship between theory and practice. A brief commentary prefaces each text, providing a cultural and historical framework through which the work can be evaluated. Authors include such influential designers as Herbert Bayer, L'szlo Moholy-Nagy, Karl Gerstner, Katherine McCoy, Michael Rock, Lev Manovich, Ellen Lupton, and Lorraine Wild. Additional features include a timeline, glossary, and bibliography for further reading. A must-have survey for graduate and undergraduate courses in design history, theory, and contemporary issues, Graphic Design Theorynbsp;invites designers and interested readers of all levels to plunge into the world of design discourse.
Inside Design Now by
Inside Design Now takes the pulse of American design in the new millennium, providing a fascinating tour of cutting-edge trends in architecture, interiors, landscape, fashion, graphics, and new media. Featuring eighty emerging and established designers including 2 x 4, Mike Mills, Peter Eisenman, Fuse Project, Tod Machover, Paula Scher, Jennifer Siegal, and Isaac Mizrahi Inside Design Now illustrates the most innovative and provocative thinking in design today. Each designers work is presented with a double-page spread and a series of full-color images. Essays explore the role of the designer in todays culture, contemporary ideas of beauty and functionality, and what the future holds inthe realm of design. Sensuous materials, lush patterns, and exquisite details come together with new technologies, pop imagery, and fresh approaches to scale, color, and construction in the works reproduced in this volume. Inside Design Now accompanies the exhibition of the same name at the Cooper Hewitt Museum of National Design beginning in April 2003.
