Advanced Social Psychology by
Social psychology is a flourishing discipline. It explores the most essential questions of the human psyche (e.g., Why do people help or harm others? How do influence professionals get us to do what they want, and how can we inoculate ourselves against their sometimes-insidious persuasion tactics? Why do social relationships exert such powerful effects on people's physical health?), and it does so with clever, ingenuitive research methods.This edited volume is a textbook for advanced social psychology courses. Its primary target audience is first-year graduate students (MA or PhD) in social psychlogy, although it is also appropriate for upper-level undergraduate courses in social psychology and for doctoral students in disciplines connecting to social psychology (e.g., marketing, organizational behavior). The authors of the chapters are world-renowned leaders on their topic, and they have written these chapters to be engaging and accessible to students who are just learning the discipline.After reading this book, you will be able to understand almost any journal article or conference presentation in any field of social psychology. You will be able to converse competently with most social psychologists in their primary research domain, a use skill that is relevant not only in daily life but also when interviewing for a faculty position. And, most importantly, you will be equipped with the background knowledge to forge ahead more confidently with your own research.
Advances in Experimental Social Psychology, v. 54 by
Advances in Experimental Social Psychology continues to be one of the most sought after and cited series in this field. Containing contributions of major empirical and theoretical interest, this series represents the best and brightest in new research, theory, and practice in social psychology. This serial is part of the Social Sciences package on ScienceDirect, and is available online beginning with volume 32 onward. Provides one of the most sought after and cited series in the field of experimental social psychology Contains contributions of major empirical and theoretical interest Represents the best and the brightest in new research, theory, and practice in social psychology
Advances in Experimental Social Psychology, v. 58 by
Advances in Experimental Social Psychology, Volume 58, the latest release in this highly cited series in the field, contains contributions of major empirical and theoretical interest that represent the best and brightest in new research, theory and practice in social psychology. This serial is part of the Social Sciences package on ScienceDirect, and is available online beginning with Volume 32. Updated sections in this release include chapters that cover Intergroup Emotions: Twenty Years of Theory and Research, The Dynamics of Belonging Regulation, an Evolutionary Theory of Loneliness, Attentional Processes in Social Perception, and the Assessment and Locomotion Conjunction. Provides one of the most cited series in the field of experimental social psychology Contains contributions of major empirical and theoretical interest Represents the best and brightest in new research, theory and practice in social psychology
Advances in Experimental Social Psychology, v. 59 by
Advances in Experimental Social Psychology, Volume 59, the latest release in this highly cited series in the field, contains contributions of major empirical and theoretical interest that represent the best and brightest in new research, theory and practice in social psychology. This serial is part of the Social Sciences package on Science Direct, and is available online beginning with Volume 31. Topics in this updated release include Women and Men, Moms and Dads: Leveraging Social Role Change to Promote Gender Equality, The Dynamics of Belonging Regulation, and Inter-object and Inter-individual Differences in Attitude Content, amongst other interesting topics. Provides one of the most cited series in the field of experimental social psychology Contains contributions of major empirical and theoretical interest Represents the best and brightest in new research, theory and practice in social psychology
Applied Social Psychology by
The concept of applied social psychology aims at using social psychology theories and principles to improve the functioning of institutions and individuals. The five chapters of this book contain carefully selected essays that approach both academic issues and empiric research results covering a wide range of interests. The ways in which vulnerable groups rely on psychological mechanisms in their adjustment to concrete situations, and new research in the sphere of mental health are two such s...
Applied Social Psychology by
This comprehensive and accessible textbook overviews the applications of social psychology to a wide range of problems and issues in contemporary society. With internationally respected contributors who survey the major developments in their fields, this practical guide incorporates advice, examples and reading lists. The first part of the book outlines a number of general frameworks that inform the applications of social psychology, namely language, attitudes, decision-making and survey research; Part Two focuses on major behavioural domains, including health and economic behaviour; Part Three explains the relationship between social psychology and social institutions, highlighting, for instance, the media, law and politics; and the final part addresses the broader social and cultural implications of contemporary social psychology, covering such key concerns as violence, ageing and cross-cultural questions.
Beyond Prejudice: Extending the Social Psychology of Conflict, Inequality and Social Change by
This edited collection of essays re-evaluates the concept of prejudice and attempts to move beyond conventional approaches to the subject.
Blackwell Handbook of Social Psychology by
This authoritative handbook provides a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research as well as an assessment of future trends in the field of interpersonal processes.Ensures thorough and up-to-date coverage of all aspects of interpersonal processes Includes contributions by academics and other experts from around the world to ensure a truly international perspective Provides a comprehensive overview of classic and current research and likely future trends Fully referenced chapters and annotated bibliographies allow easy access to further study Now available in full text online via xreferplus, the award-winning reference library on the web from xrefer. For more information, visit www.xreferplus.com
Categorization in Social Psychology by
Categorization in Social Psychology offers a major introduction to the study of categorization, looking especially at links between categorization in cognitive and social psychology. In a highly readable and accessible style, the author covers all the main approaches to categorization in social psychology that a student might come across, including: biased stimulus processing, construct actviation, self-categorization, explanation-based, social judgeability and assimilation/contrast approaches. It is a wide-ranging and up-to-date treatment of concepts from cognitive as well as social psychology.
Cultural Psychology, Cross-Cultural Psychology, and Indigenous Psychology by
Cultural psychology, cross-cultural psychology, and indigenous psychology are the major psychological approaches to studying the relationship between culture and psychology. The three approaches have developed in relative isolation from each other, and each has accumulated a substantial corpus of theoretical and empirical work. This new book compares the similarities and differences of the three approaches, and it assesses their strengths and weaknesses.
The Disappearance of the Social in American Social Psychology by
The Disappearance of the Social in American Social Psychology is a critical conceptual history of American social psychology. In this challenging work, John Greenwood demarcates the original conception of the social dimensions of cognition, emotion and behaviour and of the discipline of social psychology itself, that was embraced by early twentieth-century American social psychologists. He documents how this fertile conception of social psychological phenomena came to be progressively neglected as the century developed, to the point that scarcely any trace of the original conception of the social remains in contemporary American social psychology. In a penetrating analysis. Greenwood suggests a number of subtle historical reasons why the original conception of the social came to be abandoned, stressing that none of these were particularly good reasons for the neglect of the original conception of the social. By demonstrating the historical contingency of this neglect, Greenwood indicates that what has been lost may once again be regained.
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology by
Not long ago, social psychology was a small field consisting of creative, energetic researchers bent on trying to study a few vexing problems in normal adult human behaviour with rigorous scientific methods. In a few short decades, the field has blossomed into a major intellectual force, with thousands of researchers worldwide exploring a stunningly diverse set of fascinating phenomena with an impressive arsenal of research methods and ever-more carefully honed theories. The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is the first resource to present state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from this fascinating field. These two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. The Encyclopedia is written for students who may be encountering concepts such as social loafing, deindividuation, base rate fallacy, ego depletion and self-handicapping for the first time and want a simple, clear, jargon-free explanation of what they mean. Key Themes " Action Control " Antisocial Behaviors " Attitude " Culture " Emotions " Evolution " Groups " Health " History " Influence " Interpersonal Relationships " Judgment and Decision Making " Methods " Personality " Prejudice " Problem Behaviors " Prosocial Behaviors " Self " Social Cognition " Subdisciplines
Experiments with People: Revelations from Social Psychology by
Experiments With Peopleshowcases 28 intriguing studies that have significantly advanced our understanding of human thought and social behavior. These studies, mostly laboratory experiments, shed light on the irrationality of everyday thinking, the cruelty and indifference of 'ordinary' people, the operation of the unconscious mind, and the intimate bond between the self and others. This book tells the inside story of how social psychological research gets done and why it matters. Each chapter focuses on the details and implications of a single study, but cites related research and real-life examples. All chapters are self-contained, allowing them to be read in any order. Each chapter is divided into: *Background--provides the rationale for the study; *What They Did--outlines the design and procedure used; *What They Found--summarizes the results obtained; *So What?--articulates the significance of those results; *Afterthoughts--explores the broader issues raised by the study; and *Revelation--encapsulates the 'take-home message' of each chapter. This paperback is ideal as a main or supplementary text for courses in social psychology, introductory psychology, or research design.
Gender and Social Psychology by
Explaining theory and research in an accessible but thorough manner, Gender and Social Psychology critically evaluates the contribution that psychology has made to the study of gender, examining key issues such a family roles and parenting, inequalities in education, jobs and pay, and the effects of media representation of the sexes.
Handbook of the History of Social Psychology by
For the first time in the history of social psychology, we have a handbook on the history of social psychology. In it, leading luminaries in the field present their take on how research in their own domains has unfolded, on the scientists whose impact shaped the research agendas in the different areas of social psychology, and on events, institutions and publications that were pivotal in determining the field's history. Social psychology's numerous subfields now boast a rich historical heritage of their own, which demands special attention. The Handbook recounts the intriguing and often surprising lessons that the tale of social psychology's remarkable ascendance has to offer. The historical diversity is the hallmark of the present handbook reflecting each of this field's domains unique evolution. Collectively, the contributions put a conceptual mirror to our field and weave the intricate tapestry of people, dynamics and events whose workings combined to produce what the vibrant discipline of social psychology is today. They allow the contemporary student, scholarnbsp;and instructor to explore the historical development of this important field, provide insight into its enduring aims and allow them to transcend the vicissitudes of the zeitgeist and fads of the moment. The Handbook of the History of Social Psychology provides an essential resource for any social psychologist's collection.
Handbook of Theories of Social Psychology, v. 1 & v. 2 by
Providing a comprehensive exploration of the major developments of social psychological theories that have taken place over the past half century, this innovative two-volume handbook is a state of the art overview of the primary theories and models that have been developed in this vast and fascinating field. Authored by leading international experts, each chapter represents a personal and historical narrative of the theory′s development including the inspirations, critical junctures, and problem-solving efforts that effected theoretical choices and determined the theory′s impact and its evolution. Unique to this handbook, these narratives provide a rich background for understanding how theories are created, nurtured, and shaped over time, and examining their unique contribution to the field as a whole. To examine its societal impact, each theory is evaluated in terms of its applicability to better understanding and solving critical social issues and problems.
An Introduction to Critical Social Psychology by
This book provides an excellent introduction to contemporary Critical Social Psychology, which anyone exploring the field would do well to read.Psychology in Society ;a very accessible introduction... lively and engaging.... Discussion questions are uncharacteristicaly thought-provoking, while practical exercises also seem better considered than one comes to expect from similar primers, suggesting a successful future as a core text in social psychology courses; - The Psychologist; Erudition, sagacity, patience and scholarship radiate from this book. This is an excellent introduction to the various strands of critical thinking to emanate primarily from England, and, to some extent, from continental Europe. Anyone interested in learning more about the discursive side of critical psychology will find in this book an excellent guide. I recommend this book to all psychologists interested in critical perspectives; - Journal of Community and Applied Psychology A critical approach depends on a range of often-implicit theories of society, knowledge, as well as the subject. This book shows the crucial role of these theories for directing critique at different parts of society, suggesting alternative ways of doing research, and effecting social change. It includes chapters from the perspectives of social cognition, Marxism, psychoanalysis, discourse and rhetoric, feminism, subjectivity and postmodernism. In each case, the strengths and weaknesses of each perspective are highlighted, the ideas are linked to real world issues by a range of practical exercises, and guidance is given to further reading.These chapters will cover the work of diverse thinkers from within social psychology, such as Billig, Gergen, Kitzinger, Parker, Potter, Shotter, Walkerdine and Wetherell, and from outside, such as Butler, Derrida, Foucault, Haraway, Lyotard, Marx and Rose. An Introduction to Critical Social Psychology provides a systematic, integrated and accessible introduction to social psychology as a critical discipline. Consequently, it will be key reading for undergraduates and postgraduates studying Critical Social Psychology, and useful additional reading for postgraduates studying theoretical psychology and qualitative methods.
The Person in Social Psychology by
Traditional social psychology assumes that the person has an already-existing nature that then becomes subject to the influence of the social environment. The Person in Social Psychology challenges this model, drawing on theories from micro-sociology and contemporary European social psychology to suggest a more 'social' re-framing of the person. In this book Vivien Burr has provided a radical new agenda for students of social psychology and sociology. Using concepts familiar to the social psychologist, such as norms, roles, demand characteristics and labelling, she argues for an understanding of the person where the social world is not a set of variables that affect a pre-existing individual, but is instead the arena where the person becomes formed.
Social Psychology by
"This is an excellent textbook that should be compulsory reading for any undergraduate student of Social Psychology. Wendy Stainton Rogers has done a remarkable job of synthesising theories within these broad approaches. She has used her vast experience in distance learning to write a book that draws students in and has them reading, simply because the material is so very interesting. Although Stainton Rogers outlines the British Psychological Society's requirements for an undergraduate course in Social Psychology at the beginning of the book, this textbook is relevant far beyond the context of the United Kingdom." Catriona Macleod, Professor of Psychology, Rhodes University, South Africa In the brave new world of Facebook and Twitter, our social, political and personal worlds are all profoundly changing. To be relevant to our lives today, Social Psychology needs to be transformed. This popular book has been radically revised to do just that. Extensively updated and expanded, this new edition contains a broad grounding in traditional experimental work and a thorough treatment of the different 'logics of inquiry' adopted for empirical research. The book also: Introduces two completely new chapters, one on relationships and another on prejudice Updates and reformulates all the other material, introducing chapters on quantitative and qualitative methods, critical psychology and values Includes a wide array of critical approaches - community, feminist, postcolonial, psychoanalytic social psychologies Addresses social psychology from an international perspective, drawing on work from Africa, Australia, Europe, North and South America, New Zealand, Asia Includes section summaries, further reading, online resources and questions Showcases the work of a new and vibrant generation of social psychologists Covers the BPS recommendations for the social psychology syllabus The book breaks new ground in the topics it covers and in the innovative approach it takes to assessing them. For students and their teachers alike, the book brings a 'breath of fresh air', making it not just a valuable resource, but an intriguing and enjoyable read.
Social Psychology by
Updated with the latest research findings and revised chapter-opening vignettes, this renowned book maintains its infamous story-telling approach to convey the science of social psychology in a fascinating, memorable, and entertaining manner.Complete with a video CD-ROM, the authors bring the material life through real-world examples that capture readers' attention and motivate further exploration. New research findings, integrated coverage of culture and gender, and a chapter on methodology are included.For professionals with a career or interest in social psychology and/or social work.
Social Psychology by
This second edition presents the core fundamentals of the subject in 11 manageable chapters while maintaining the book's scientific integrity. The research methods students need to understand, interpret, and analyze social psychological research are emphasized throughout. The streamlined approach provides an economical textbook for students and a flexible format that allows instructors to cover the entire book in a single semester. A book specific Web site contains a free online study guide and a variety of teaching tools. An Instructor's Manual/Test Bank and a Computerized Test Bank are also available.
Social Psychology by
Written by well-known sociologists John D. DeLamater, Daniel J. Myers, and Jessica L. Collett, this fully revised and updated edition of Social Psychology is a highly accessible and engaging exploration of the question "what is it that makes us who we are?" Grounded in the latest contemporary research, the book also explains the methods in which social psychologists investigate human behavior in a social context and the theoretical perspectives that ground the discipline. With hundreds of real-world examples, figures, tables, and photographs, the text explores such topics as self, attitudes, social influence, emotions, interpersonal attraction and relationships, collective behavior, and personality. Each chapter is designed to be a self-contained unit for ease of use in any classroom, beginning with focal questions that establish the issues being discussed and ending with a summary of key points, a list of key terms and concepts, and critical thinking questions.
Social Psychology by
SAGE Course Companions are an exciting new series offering students an insider's guide into how to make the most of their undergraduate courses and extend their understanding of key concepts covered in their course. Social Psychology provides student readers with essential help with all aspects of their first course in social psychology, including advice on revising for exams, preparing and writing course assessment materials, and enhancing and progressing their knowledge and skills in line with course requirements on a social psychology course. Designed to augment, rather than replace, existing textbooks for the course, it provides: - Helpful summaries of the course curriculum to aid lecture notes, seminars and written assignments - Key summaries of the approach taken by the main social psychology textbooks - Guidance on the essential study skills required - Help with developing critical thinking - Route-maps to aid the development of wider learning above and beyond textbooks - Pointers to success in course exams - A tutor's-eye view of what course examiners are looking for - An insider's view of what key course concepts are really all about SAGE Course Companions are much more than revision guides for undergraduates; they are an essential tool to taking your course learning and understanding to new levels and in new directions that are the key to success in undergraduate courses.
Social Psychology (with InfoTrac) by
This social psychology text, written by a trio of well-known sociologists, covers such topics as socialization, self, attitudes, communication, social influence, interpersonal attraction and relationships, behavior in small groups, life course, and personality and social structure. As students move through the text, they will explore answers to a wide variety of questions, such as: What decides who someone will fall in love with? Where do aggressive, violent, and criminal behaviors come from? Why are some people more charitable than others? Why do some people obey authority and conform while others always have to buck the trend? Why are some people lazier when they work in groups? What is the source of people's stereotypes and prejudices? How can we overcome them? What causes conflict between groups? And finally, what makes us become who we are?
Social Psychology: Handbook of Basic Principles by
Now in a completely revised and expanded second edition, this authoritative handbook reviews the breadth of current knowledge on the psychological processes that underlie social behavior. Leading investigators identify core principles that have emerged from the study of biological systems, social cognition, goals and strivings, interpersonal interactions, and group and cultural dynamics. State-of-the-science theories, methods, and findings are explained, and important directions for future research are highlighted.
Social Psychology and Health by
Which behaviour patterns are detrimental to health? Why do people engage in such behaviour, even if they know about its negative effects? How can people be influenced to change their behaviour? This popular textbook addresses these key questions from a social psychological perspective. Recent research has been added to the new edition including the author's own research into obesity, sexual risk behaviour, and the stressful consequences of losing a marriage partner through death. The epidemiological information and references have been extensively updated. By integrating theories and research on automatic behaviour with the more traditional reasoned action approach, the book provides a new answer to the age-old puzzle of health research; why people engage in behaviour which they know will damage their health. The book also: Discusses determinants of health behaviour, based on the most recent research on social cognition Includes a review of research on the health impact of health behaviour and stress Considers how behaviour is influenced by environmental factors outside individual awareness Argues for an integrative approach that combines psychological, economic and environmental interventions in order to reduce the potential risk to health arising from behaviour or stressful events. Social Psychology and Health 3rd edition is essential reading for students taking social and health psychology courses. It is also useful for students of health and social welfare and provides a reference for health researchers and health professionals.
Social Psychology and Theories of Consumer Culture by
Social Psychology and Theories of Consumer Culture: A Political Economy Perspective presents a critical analysis of the leading positions in social psychology from the perspective of classical and contemporary theories of consumer culture. The analysis seeks to expand social psychological theory by focusing on the interface between modern western culture (consumer culture) and social behaviour. 　 McDonald and Wearing argue that if social psychology is to play a meaningful role in solving some of society's most pressing problems (e.g. global warming, obesity, addiction, alienation, and exclusion) then it needs to incorporate a more comprehensive understanding and analysis of consumer culture. 　 Wide-ranging and challenging, the book offers a fresh insight into critical social psychology appropriate for upper undergraduate and postgraduate courses in personality, social psychology, critical and applied psychology. It will also appeal to those working in clinical, counselling, abnormal, and environmental psychology and anyone with an interest in the integration of social psychology and theories of consumer culture.
The Social Psychology of Aggression by
The second edition of this textbook provides a thoroughly revised, updated and expanded overview of social psychological research on aggression. The first part of the book covers the definition and measurement of aggression, presents major theories and examines the development of aggression. It also covers the role of situational factors in eliciting aggression, and the impact of using violent media. The second part of the book focuses on specific forms and manifestations of aggression. It includes chapters on aggression in everyday life, sexual aggression and domestic violence against children, intimate partners and elders. There are two new chapters in this part addressing intergroup aggression and terrorism. The concluding chapter explores strategies for reducing and preventing aggression. The book will be essential reading for students and researchers in psychology and related disciplines. It will also be of interest to practitioners working with aggressive individuals and groups, and to policy makers dealing with aggression as a social problem.
Social Psychology of Gender by
Advances in Group Processes publishes theoretical analyses, reviews, and theory-based empirical chapters on group phenomena. Volume 24 includes papers that address fundamental issues relating to the Social Psychology of Gender. The social psychology of gender analyzes the ways gender shapes and is shaped by social interaction. This includes the cognitive processes through which gender influences the way we perceive, interpret, and respond to our social world; it also includes the mechanisms through which interaction defines and transmits meaning about gender. The volume emphasizes the importance of understanding gender as a multilevel structure that includes cultural beliefs and distributions of resources at the macro level, patterns of behavior at the interactional level, as well as roles and identities at the micro level.The volume begins with an introduction that discusses the overall theoretical and methodological orientation of the social psychology of gender. The first chapter after the introduction reviews the history of gender research in psychology, and in particular provides excellent accounts of research on benevolent sexism and backlash effects. The second chapter provides an overview of research on two types of stereotyping descriptive and prescriptive as well as offering suggestions for organizations interested in pre-empting these types of bias. The third chapter reviews recent research on the role that beliefs about gender play in organizational decision-making, with an emphasis on hiring and firing decisions.The fourth chapter synthesizes a range of literatures in order to explain how interactional mechanisms restrict womens ability to be both liked and respected, such that their choices are often made by navigating pragmatic alternatives rather than any explicit consent to hierarchical gender relations. The fifth chapter develops a theory of the authors that addresses the interaction of gender and social networks in the workplace; the central argument is that, because men occupy most of the high status positions in organizations, women and men must follow different strategies when developing their professional networks.Taken as a whole, the first five chapters provide a thorough exploration of a number of pressing problems in the area of gender in the labor market and the workplace. The sixth chapter reviews the theoretical and empirical literature on gender and emotions, and then presents results from a new study showing that contextual factors matter more than gender in determining responses to personal experiences of injustice. The seventh chapter empirically and formally evaluates the hypothesis that women are more religious than men because they are more risk-averse and therefore are more motivated by the threat of punishment in the afterlife, and concludes that risk aversion does not explain differences in mens and womens religiosity.The eighth chapter engages a new and more sophisticated perspective on the interactive process of socialization to set a research agenda for obtaining better knowledge about childhood sexual socialization. The ninth chapter presents the results of two new experiments, which suggest that mens tendency to self-handicap (impair their own performance) to a greater degree than women is related to concerns about protecting their status or self-image.The tenth chapter proposes a novel social psychological explanation for the predominance of women on college campuses and develops an experimental paradigm to evaluate this explanation. This group of chapters develops explanations for a variety of similarities and differences in the experiences of men and women throughout the life course. The volume closes with a chapter that draws on a group process approach to explain why gender inequality persists in the face of economic and institutional changes that increasingly de-emphasize difference based on gender.Overall, the volume includes papers that reflect a wide range of theoretical approaches to the social psychology of the workplace, and contributions by major scholars from multiple disciplines that work in the general area of group processes. It includes papers that address fundamental issues relating to the Social Psychology of Gender. It explains the cognitive processes through which gender influences the way we perceive, interpret, and respond to our social world. It emphasizes the importance of understanding gender as a multilevel structure.
Social Psychology of Inclusion and Exclusion by
This book is about the social psychological dynamics and phenomenology of social inclusion and exclusion. The editors take as their starting point the assumption that social life is conducted in a framework of relationships in which individuals seek inclusion and belongingness. Relationships necessarily include others, but equally they have boundaries that exclude. Frequently these boundaries are challenged or crossed. The book will draw together research on individual motivation, small group processes, stigmatization and intergroup relations, to provide a comprehensive social psychological account of social inclusion and exclusion.
Theory and Explanation in Social Psychology by
This volume provides the first authoritative explication of metatheoretical principles in the construction and evaluation of social-psychological theories. Leading international authorities review the conceptual foundations of the field's most influential approaches, scrutinizing the range and limits of theories in various areas of inquiry. The chapters describe basic principles of logical inference, illustrate common fallacies in theoretical interpretations of empirical findings, and outline the unique contributions of different levels of analysis. An in-depth look at the philosophical foundations of theorizing in social psychology, the book will be of interest to any scholar or student interested in scientific explanations of social behavior.
Understanding Critical Social Psychology by
`This is a thoughtful, honest and accessible text which I would certainly recommend to students. The chapter ordering is excellent and should take the student through a logical progression from the more established to the more contemporary approaches in social psychology' - Ian Hodges, Westminster University `It is written in a beautifully clear, engaging and conversational style which will make the book accessible and appealing to those encountering critical ideas for the first time.... Students will find the book both interesting and easy to read, and their lecturers will find it a valuable teaching resource. I will certainly be recommending it to my second and third year undergraduates' - Viv Burr, University of Huddersfield Understanding Critical Social Psychology is an exciting new textbook providing a comprehensive and reader-friendly approach to the theories and methods surrounding Critical Social Psychology. For students taking a course in Critical Social Psychology, this book combines a critical examination of the traditional philosophies, practices and topics with an emphasis on introducing innovative and contemporary developments in social psychological research. In this way, Tuffin integrates newer insights with established modes of thinking. Key Features of this book include: " Student-friendly structure - contains numerous features suitable for undergraduate course use such as section summaries, further reading and a tutorial which answers students' questions about critical social psychology. " Broad framework - Positions newer insights in relation to the historical, theoretical and ideological roots of social psychology. Ideal for students taking a Critical Social Psychology module having already studied a mainstream course. " Applied focus - Understanding Critical Social Psychology tackles key themes in the discipline i.e. prejudice, politics, identity and emotions from critical perspectives. Written in a clear and accessible style, with illustrative data, detailed chapter summaries and key readings at the end of each section, it will be welcomed by undergraduates seeking to develop their understanding of critical social psychology.
