Attitudes, Personality and Behaviour by
Why do people say one thing and do another? Why do people behave inconsistently from one situation to another? How do people translate their beliefs and feelings into actions? This thoroughly revised and updated edition describes why and how beliefs, attitudes and personality traits influence human behaviour. Building on the strengths of the previous edition, it covers recent developments in existing theories and details new theoretical approaches to the attitude-behaviour relationships. These novel developments provide insight into the predictability - and unpredictability - of human behaviour. The book examines: Recent innovations in the assessment of attitudes and personality The implications for prediction of behaviour of these innovations Differences between spontaneous and reasoned processes The most recent research on the relations between intentions and behaviour While the book is written primarily for students and researchers in social, personality, and organizational psychology, it also has wide-reaching appeal to students, researchers and professionals in the fields of health and social welfare, marketing and consumer behaviour.
Brain, Attachment, Personality by
This book is intended as an inspiration and as an introduction to what Susan Hart has called neuroaffective developmental psychology. As an underlying theme throughout the book, she seeks to emphasize the importance of attachment for the formation of personality in all its diversity. This book presents a merger of systems that are not normally brought together in a structured psychodynamic context. Thus it operates on three levels: a neurobiological level, an intrapsychological level, and an interpersonal level. It also focuses on the brain structures that are essential for the formation of relationships, personality development, and emotions. It attempts to provide an understanding of the way that the uniquely human nervous system develops capacities for empathy, mentalization, and reflection that enable us to address such aspects as: past and present, interpersonal relations, ethics, art, and aesthetics. Susan Hart has endeavoured to make the text meaningful and comprehensible in order to make the topic interesting and inspiring to the reader, and to spark an interest in further studies. It is written in a manner that both professional and lay readers will find accessible as well as informative. Psychotherapists, researchers, and interested others will find Brain, Attachment, Personality a compelling and worthwhile read.
The Cambridge Handbook of Personality Psychology by
Personality psychology is a rapidly maturing science making important advances on both conceptual and methodological fronts. The Cambridge Handbook of Personality Psychology offers a one-stop source for the most up-to-date scientific personality psychology. It provides a summary of cutting-edge personality research in all its forms, from DNA to political influences on its development, expression, pathology and applications. The chapters are informative, lively, stimulating and, sometimes, controversial and the team of international authors, led by two esteemed editors, ensures a truly wide range of theoretical perspectives. Each research area is discussed in terms of scientific foundations, main theories and findings, and future directions for research. With useful descriptions of technological approaches (for example, molecular genetics and functional neuroimaging) the Handbook is an invaluable aid to understanding the central role played by personality in psychology and will appeal to students of occupational, health, clinical, cognitive and forensic psychology.
Collected Works of C. G. Jung, Volume 17: Development of Personality by
Papers on child psychology, education, and individuation, underlining the overwhelming importance of parents and teachers in the genesis of the intellectual, feeling, and emotional disorders of childhood. The final paper deals with marriage as an aid or obstacle to self-realization.
The Constructions of Personality: An Introduction by
This second edition, substantially revised, provides an introduction to current theory and research in the psychology of personality and examines this work from the perspective of contructivism.
Current Directions in Personality Psychology by
This new and exciting American Psychological Reader, edited by Carolyn C. Morf, University of Bern, and Ozlem Ayduk, University of California, includes over 20 articles that have been carefully selected for an audience new to the field, and taken from the very accessible Current Directions in Psychological Science journal. These timely, cutting-edge articles offer real-world perspective-from a reliable source-about today's most current and pressing issues in personality psychology. For those interested in the psychology of personality.
Handbook of Psychology, Personality and Social Psychology by
Psychology is of interest to academics from many fields, as well as to the thousands of academic and clinical psychologists and general public who can't help but be interested in learning more about why humans think and behave as they do. This award-winning twelve-volume reference covers every aspect of the ever-fascinating discipline of psychology and represents the most current knowledge in the field. This ten-year revision now covers discoveries based in neuroscience, clinical psychology's new interest in evidence-based practice and mindfulness, and new findings in social, developmental, and forensic psychology.
Handbook of Research Methods in Personality Psychology by
Bringing together leading investigators, this comprehensive handbook is a one-stop reference for anyone planning or conducting research on personality. It provides up-to-date analyses of the rich array of methodological tools available today, giving particular attention to real-world theoretical and logistical challenges and how to overcome them. In chapters filled with detailed, practical examples, readers are shown step by step how to formulate a suitable research design, select and use high-quality measures, and manage the complexities of data analysis and interpretation. Coverage ranges from classic methods like self-report inventories and observational procedures to such recent innovations as neuroimaging and genetic analyses.
A History of Personality Psychology: Theory, Science, and Research From Hellenism to the Twenty-First Century by
In this book Frank Dumont presents personality psychology with a fresh description of its current status as well as its prospects. Play, sex, cuisine, creativity, altruism, pets, grieving rituals, and other oft-neglected topics broaden the scope of this fascinating study. This tract is imbued with historical perspectives that reveal the continuity in the evolving science and research of this discipline over the past century. The author places classic schemas and constructs, as well as current principles, in the context of their socio-political catalysts. He further relates this study of the person to life-span developmental issues and to cultural, gender-specific, trait-based, genetic/epigenetic, and evolutionary research findings. Personality psychology has recently reconciled itself to more modest paradigms for describing, explaining, and predicting human behaviour than it generated in the 19th and 20th centuries. This book documents that transformation, providing valuable information for health-service professionals as well as to teachers, researchers, and scientists.
Inside Lives by
Inside Lives belongs to the heart of the thinking and working of the Tavistock Clinic. Its aim is to bring psychoanalytic theory to life, to make it accessible to a much wider range of readers, both lay and professional, than would normally be familiar with this kind of approach. In the simplest of terms it tells the most complex of stories: the story of the internal development of a person from infancy to old age. In so doing, it reflects and encompasses the generational structure of the clinic as a whole, tracing the interacting influences - between infant, child, adolescent and adult - on the nature and quality of emotional growth and development.This book provides a perspective on the relationship between psychoanalytic theory and the nature of human development, which is not currently available in written form. Following the major developmental phases from infancy to old age, the author lucidly explores those vital aspects of experience, which promote mental and emotional growth and those which impede it. In bringing together a wide range of clinical, non-clinical and literary examples it offers a detailed and accessible introduction to contemporary psychoanalytic thought and provides a personal and vivid approach to the elusive question of how the personality develops.
On Personality by
Warm, sensitive, creative, outgoing, cheeky, creepy. Scan any personal ads page and it's clear that to get a life you need a personality first. It is also a notion with a long and often bizarre history: in early Greece and medieval Europe, it was thought to depend on the balance of bile in the body. On Personality is a thoughtful and stimulating look under the skin of this widely-used but little understood phenomenon. Peter Goldie points out that we rely on personality to do a lot of work: describe, judge, understand, explain and predict others as well as ourselves. Is it really up to this task? If personality is about 'character', is it a relic of a bygone Victorian age? If personality is so reliable, how can a virtue in one person be a vice in another? Drawing on a great range of philosophers, novelists and films, from Aristotle, Hume, Kant and Nietzsche to Joseph Conrad, Middlemarch, War and Peace and Bridget Jones' Diary, Peter Goldie also discusses some famous psychology experiments. If personality is a reliable guide to predicting what people will do, he reflects on why people often surprise us and asks whether personality is simply down to chance and circumstance. On Personality is essential reading for anyone interested in this fascinating but slippery concept. It will also make you think twice before writing your CV.
Personality 101 by
Personality psychology concerns what most people think psychology should be about. This book is the best introduction to personality psychology available anywhere. It combines clear, accessible, and engaging writing with a thorough grasp of the key research and methodological issues in the field. Readers at almost any level of sophistication will find the book enjoyable and informative.. Robert Hogan, Ph.D. President, Hogan Assessment Systems. Broad, authoritative, and above all, clear, this lively book is the ideal introduction to the vibrant field of personality. By blending solid coverage of established theories and findings with discussion of the latest developments and controversies, Personality 101 will be the go-to book for anyone wanting firm foundation in the field.. Sam Gosling, Ph.D. Professor of Psychology, University of Texas, Austin. Author of Snoop: What your stuff says about you. This is a seriously good book. It is written in a very approachable style by two world experts who really know the literature. I has an 'un-put-downable' quality, like a great novel, that students everywhere will really appreciate.. Adrian Furnham, D.Phil (Oxford) D.Sc (London). Professor of Psychology, University College London. What is personality? How do we measure personality? Does nature or nurture play a bigger role in our destiny? Is it possible to change our personality for the better? This unique text presents the most current scientific findings about personality in a friendly, jargon-free format. Distilling the vast research on this fascinating topic, the book addresses various historical views of personality and compares and contrasts the reigning Five Factor Model with the most current competing models of personality. The authors discuss techniques of assessing personality and provide essential information on its role in life outcomes ranging from career choice to happiness and interpersonal relationships. The text also addresses controversies and moral implications pertaining to the application of personality assessment in social, organizational, and business contexts. It offers a comprehensive account of the consequences of personality on people's lives, including such areas as religious and political attitudes and implications for health. With its concise format, clarification of complex research methodologies, and comprehensive coverage of widely established as well as controversial information about personality, this book will appeal to a wide range of audiences, including students in psychology and business disciplines. Key Features: .: Evaluates the Five Factor Model of personality-the most widely established personality classification system in psychology; Addresses controversies surrounding the application of personality assessment in social, organizational, and business contexts; Reviews evidence demonstrating the ability of personality traits to predict real life outcomes such as career success and romantic relationships; Covers a wide range of theories, methodologies, and findings in a jargon-free, concise format
Personality: What Makes You the Way You Are by
Why are some people worriers, and others wanderers? Why do some people seem good at empathising, and others at controlling? We have something deep and consistent within us that determines the choices we make and the situations we bring about. But why should members of the same species differ so markedly in their natures? What is the best personality to have; a bold one or a shy one, an aggressive one or a meek one? And are you stuck with your personality, or can youchange it?Daniel Nettle takes the reader on a tour through the science of human personality, introducing the five 'dimensions' on which every personality is based, and using an unusual combination of individual life stories and scientific research. Showing how our personalities stem from our biological makeup, Nettle looks at the latest findings from genetics and brain science, considers the evolutionary origins and consequences of personality variation, and even includes a questionnaire for you toassess your own personality against the five dimensions.There is no optimal personality to have. Rather, every disposition brings both advantages and disadvantages. Life is partly the business of finding a niche where your personal characteristics work for you. Full of human as well as scientific insight, this book will enable you to understand the perils and potentials of your personality to the full.
Personality and Individual Differences: Current Directions by
Interest and research in personality and individual differences, in why people behave the way they do and the implications for life and living, remain unabated around the world. Human beings are fascinating in how they are similar to one another and how they are different. The similarities and differences underpin many implicit and espoused theories of behaviour and of personal and professional practice, informing the decisions that we all make on what we will do and when. This book demonstrates an emphasis on theoretical models and on clinical, forensic, organisational, cross-ideological and cross-cultural research.
Personality and Intellectual Competence by
This book provides a comprehensive state-of-the-art review of personality and intelligence, as well as covering other variables underlying academic and occupational performance. Personality and Intellectual Competence is a unique attempt to develop a comprehensive model to understand individual difference by relating major personality dimensions to cognitive ability measures, academic and job performance, and self-assessed abilities, as well as other traditional constructs such as leadership and creativity. It will be essential reading for anyone interested in personality, intelligence, and the prediction of future achievement in general. Personality and Intellectual Competence is an outstanding account of the relationship between major individual differences constructs. With its informative summary of the last century of research in the field, this book provides a robust and systematic theoretical background for understanding the psychological determinants of future achievement. The authors have sought to combine technical expertise with applied interests, making this a groundbreaking theoretical tool for anyone concerned with the scientific prediction of human performance.
Personality and Organizations by
Personality has always been a predictor of performance. This book of original chapters is designed to fulfill a need for a contemporary treatment of human personality in work organizations. Bringing together top scholars in the field, this book provides a comprehensive study of the role of personality in organizational life. Utilizing a personality perspective, scholars review the role of personality in groups, job satisfaction, leadership, stress, motivation, organizational climate and culture, and vocational interests. In addition, the book looks at more classical topics in personality at work, including the measurement of personality, personality-performance linkages, faking, and person-organization fit. Complete in both conceptual material and reviews of the literature across the variety of domains in which personality plays a role at work, this handbook borrows the idea that personality plays out in many ways in organizations and not just a correlate of task performance. The editors believe that this book supports this belief--that personality in its many conceptualizations is a useful lens through which to shed understanding on the broadest array of contemporary topics in industrial/organizational psychology and organizational behavior. Graduate students and researchers interested in the contributions of personality to almost any topic in which they may have interest will find it valuable.
Personality Development by
This book draws out the essence of a range of personality theories in a clear and accessible way, moving from the seminal works of Freud and other prominent analytical theorists, to the stage theories of Erikson and Levinson and the development of personality as it is viewed in existential and person-centred theory.
Personality Traits by
Now in its third edition, this dynamic textbook analyses the traits fundamental to human personality: what they are, why they matter, their biological and social foundations, how they play out in human life and their consequences for cognition, stress and physical and mental health. The text also considers the applications of personality assessment in clinical, educational and occupational settings, providing the reader with a detailed understanding of the whole field of personality traits. This edition, now with improved student features, includes the latest research from behavioural genetics, neuroscience, social psychology and cognitive science, assesses the impact of new research techniques like brain imagery, and provides additional content on positive aspects of traits and practical uses of personality assessment. This is an essential textbook for students taking courses in personality and individual differences and also provides researchers and practitioners with a coherent, up-to-date survey of this significant area.
Personality Traits: Theory, Testing and Influences by
"The totality of an individual's behavioral and emotional characteristics are their personality traits. Personality embraces a person's moods, attitudes, opinions, motivations, and style of thinking, perceiving, speaking, and acting. It is part of what makes each individual distinct. Theories of personality have existed in most cultures and throughout most of recorded history. This book discusses current research in the study of personality traits, including addictive disorders and personality disorders; cognitive and biological markers of schizophrenia; the genetics of personality disorders; and optimistic or pessimistic personality traits."--Publisher.
Psychobiology of Personality by
Personality is now understood to be a function of both biological and environmental influences. This revised and updated edition of Psychobiology of Personality describes what is currently known about the biological basis of the primary personality traits, including genetic, neurological, biochemical, physiological, and behavioral influences. Emphasis is placed on understanding the connections between phenomena at these levels. The research discussed makes use of animal models, based on experimental brain research, as well as human clinical and normal personality research. Chapters are devoted to temperament and personality trait structure, psychobiological methods, and each of four major personality traits: extraversion, impulsive, sensation seeking, and aggression. Recent advances in psychobiological methods, such as molecular genetics and brain imaging have enabled us to begin to unravel the genetic and neurological sources of behavior and personality. These advances are discussed in this new edition, making it essential reading for advanced students of psychology and psychiatry.
Psychology of Personality by
Personality is composed of both temperament and character traits. Whereas temperament refers to an individual's innate emotional predisposition, character is what we intentionally make of ourselves. In this book, the authors present current research in the study of the psychology of personality with a focus on personality developments in neonates; positive psychology and the happy personality; the genetic influences of subjective well-being through mediation by personality traits and evaluative cognitions; job satisfaction and personality traits; the effect of personality on reasoning; temperament and character in first-episode schizophrenia; the relationship between personality and mood frequency; and electrophysiological dysfunction in psychopathic violent women.
Theory Construction in Social Personality Psychology by
This special issue features papers that offer deeply felt, valuable perspectives on diverse aspects of theory construction in social-personality psychology. The goal is to furnish a basis for starting a discussion about the considerable challenges of theorizing, the ways of meeting those challenges, and the great rewards that successful theorizing offers to the discipline as a whole.
