Advances in Motivation Science by
Advances in Motivation Science, Volume Six, the latest release in Elsevier's serial on the topic of motivation science, presents articles on a variety of topics, including Motivation, Emotion, Cognition, and Communication: Definitions and Notes toward a Grand Theory, Motivation in the Service of Allostasis: The Role of anterior Mid Cingulate, Climatic Ignition of Motivation, My Journey to the Attribution Fields, Inspiration as optimal motivation: From ancient theory to contemporary science, The development of self-determination theory: The emergence of SDT's six mini theories and their validation, and more. The advent of the cognitive revolution in the 1960 and 70s eclipsed the emphasis on motivation to a large extent, but in the past two decades motivation has returned en force. Today, motivational analyses of affect, cognition and behavior are ubiquitous across psychological literatures and disciplines. This series brings together internationally recognized experts who focus on cutting-edge theoretical and empirical contributions in this important area of psychology.
Causality and Motivation by
The psychological and the social worlds cannot be articulated in causal terms only. Hereby, "motivation" is used as the most general term referring to whatever keeps (synchronically) together and provides (diachronic) reasons explaining the behavior of psychological and social systems. In order to address these problems, a categorical framework is needed for understanding the various types of realities populating the world and their multifarious interrelations. The papers collected in this volume dig into some of the intricacies presented by these problems.
Cognition and Motivation: Forging an Interdisciplinary Perspective by
This collection examines the many internal and external factors affecting cognitive processes. Editor Shulamith Kreitler brings together a wide range of international contributors to produce an outstanding assessment of recent research in the field. These contributions go beyond the standard approach of examining the effects of motivation and emotion to consider the contextual factors that may influence cognition. These broad and varied factors include personality, genetics, mental health, biological evolution, culture and social context. By contextualizing cognition, this volume draws out the practical applications of theoretical cognitive research while bringing separate areas of scholarship into meaningful dialogue.
Evolutionary Psychology and Motivation by
Recent media coverage of the controversial theory of sexual violence as a product of biological evolution has once again brought the question of the origins of human motivation into the public eye. In this volume, leading scholars in behavioral studies examine the value of evolutionary perspectives in understanding psychological motivations. Beginning with the fundamental fact that humans are part of the biological world, evolutionary psychologists contend that human motivations and mental processes should be understood as by-products of natural selection. By viewing human psychology both normal and abnormal within this framework, evolutionary psychologists intend to bridge the disciplinary divide between traditional psychology and fields such as biology.
Handbook on Psychology of Motivation: New Research by
This book presents topical research in the study of the psychology of motivation. Topics discussed include motivation in the field of tourism; new perspectives in the psychology and economics of donating; commercial weight-loss programs and motivation; motivation for creativity in design and architecture; cognitive and motivational factors for reading; motivation to learn, self-regulation and academic achievement and the implicit theories of intelligence, effort beliefs, and achievement goals as antecedents of learning motivation and engagement.
Motivation, Consciousness and Self-Regulation by
The first part of this book is devoted to the old problem of fundamental motivations that can hardly be approached in another way, other than theoretically. The second part of the book is devoted to new or rather marginal concepts that seem capable to enrich general models of motivational processes. Part three of the book deals with the issues of self-regulation and self-determination; in the last two decades the problems of motivation can be hardly dealt with without touching these issues. The focus of the last part of the book is cultural context and cultural mediation of motivation. This book was planned not as a collection of discoveries to be considered, but rather as a collection of nontrivial views that may turn helpful for making a better sense of the discoveries actually made.
Motivation, Emotion, and Cognition by
The central argument of this book is that cognition is not the whole story in understanding intellectual functioning and development. To account for inter-individual, intra-individual, and developmental variability in actual intellectual performance, it is necessary to treat cognition, emotion, and motivation as inextricably related. Motivation, Emotion, and Cognition: Integrative Perspectives on Intellectual Functioning and Development: *represents a new direction in theory and research on intellectual functioning and development; *portrays human intelligence as fundamentally constrained by biology and adaptive needs but modulated by social and cultural forces; and *encompasses and integrates a broad range of scientific findings and advances, from cognitive and affective neurosciences to cultural psychology, addressing fundamental issues of individual differences, developmental variability, and cross-cultural differences with respect to intellectual functioning and development. By presenting current knowledge regarding integrated understanding of intellectual functioning and development, this volume promotes exchanges among researchers concerned with provoking new ideas for research and provides educators and other practitioners with a framework that will enrich understanding and guide practice.
Motivation 101 by
What drives people toward their goals? Does motivation come from outside the individual or from within? This is a concise, engaging overview of leading theories and the wide body of research about this core concept in psychology. It draws from a broad spectrum of psychological models and disciplines, and focuses on how various theories of motivation define and examine different motivational attributes, such as rewards and goals. An abundance of real life case examples from the author s research and life experiences vividly illuminate how various models explain behavior and connect the study of motivation to our daily lives. An entertaining alternative to lengthy and expensive texts on the subject, Motivation 101 is unique in helping readers understand how each theory of motivation behavioral, neurobiological, attribution, and other models --views and defines a particular concept within each theory. For example, each modality views the concept of reward from a different perspective. The book is also distinguished by its multidisciplinary focus, whereby research is drawn not only from different domains of psychology but also from such disciplines as education and business. Additionally, the text considers cultural differences in the study of motivation and collaborative environments, and addresses changing research methodologies. It will be an engaging introduction to the study of motivation for undergraduate courses in psychology and education. Key Features: Provides a concise, engaging overview of motivation that encompasses leading theories and a broad body of research Compares and contrasts different motivation theories including needs-based and cognitive models Draws from research across a wide range of domains within psychology, education, and business Connects the study of motivation to our daily lives through illustrative vignettes and metaphors
Motivation: A Biobehavioural Approach by
Motivation: A Biobehavioural Approach provides the reader with an understanding of why individuals exhibit certain behaviors, and what causes these actions. Roderick Wong presents an analysis of motivated behavior such as sexual activity, parental behavior, food selection, and fear or aggression, from a biological perspective. Each chapter focuses on the individual systems underlying specific motivational states that result in motivated acts. The author discusses similarities, differences, and integration between these motivational systems throughout the volume. Using a framework derived from research and theory from animal behavior and comparative psychology, he analyzes relevant issues in human motivation such as mate choice, nepotism, attachment and independence, sensation-seeking, obesity, and parent-offspring conflict. This book will be particularly useful for undergraduate students in psychology or behavioral science taking courses in motivation and emotion, comparative psychology, animal behavior, or biological psychology.
Motivation: Theories and Principles by
For undergraduate level courses in Motivation. This experimentally-oriented text provides a critical examination of research and theory with a topical approach. It covers a broad range of motivational concepts from both human and animal theory and research, with an emphasis on the biological bases of motivation. New - Extensive revisions within chapter on emotion (Ch. 2). Incorporates recent research on theories and analyses of cognition and emotion. - Helps students to understand the complex relationship between emotion and motivation. New - In-depth discussion of evolutionary concepts. Includes the role of genetics in relation to emotion/motivation. - Provides students with a better understanding of biological backgrounds. New - Systematic presentation of theories - Details the presentation of the two-process learning theory and Langs Affective Modulation Theory. - Helps students to relate theory and motivation. New - Coverage on preattentive processes (unconscious processes) in chapters on emotion (Ch. 2), fear learning (Ch. 8), and anxiety. - Introduces students to new concepts within the study of motivation. New- In-depth discussions of cognitive processes in relation to anxie
Motivation: Theory, Neurobiology and Applications by
Motivation: Theory, Neurobiology and Applications is inspired by a question central to health care professionals, teachers, parents, and coaches alike, "How can an individual be motivated to perform a given activity or training?" It presents novel measurements of motivation developed in psychology and economics, recent insights into the neurobiology of motivation, and current research on applications designed to boost motivation in neurorehabilitation, education, and sports. In addition, tactics on how to connect these different research and knowledge fields within a common (theoretical) framework of motivation is discussed. Thus, in short, the book provides an integrative, interdisciplinary, up-to-date accounting on the neurobiology of motivation and how it might be boosted.
Motivational Psychology of Human Development by
The idea for this book grew out of the conference "Motivational Psychology of Ontogenesis" held at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development in Berlin, Germany, in May 1998. This conference focused on the interface of development and motivation and therefore brought together scholars from three major areas in psychology - developmental, motivational and lifespan. This combination of fields represents the potential influence of development on motivation and the potential role motivation plays in development and its major contexts of family, work and school. Thus, contributors were chosen to apply motivational models to diverse settings of human everyday life and in various age groups across the life span, ranging from early childhood to old age.
Motivation and Action by
In this book Heckhausen and Heckhausen give an extensive and in-depth overview of the diverse lines of research in motivational psychology, in terms of its historical foundations, up-to-date conceptual developments and empirical research. The major classes of motivated behavior, such as achievement, affiliation and power, are addressed and the critical processes involved in motivation and volition are discussed in detail. Different conceptual and empirical lines of research, such as implicit/explicit motivation, intrinsic/extrinsic motivation/volition, causal attribution, childhood and lifespan development, education, personality and psychopathology are integrated and analyzed as to the common issues and phenomena they address, thus providing a most useful guideline for understanding debates in current motivational, educational and social psychology.
Motivation and Emotion by
Motivation and Emotion provides an explanation of emotional experience and aspects of human behaviour using psychological, physiological and alternative approaches. The brain mechanisms that govern motivations are discussed and questions such as 'Why don't we eat ourselves to death?' and 'How do we know we are thirsty?' are answered. Phil Gorman is an A-Level teacher at Stafford College, UK, and a chief examiner for the Edexcel A Level Examination Board. The Routledge Modular Psychology series is a completely new approach to introductory level psychology, tailor-made for the new modular style of teaching. Each book covers a topic in more detail than any large textbook can, allowing teacher and student to select material exactly to suit any particular course or project. Especially written for those students new to higher-level study, whether at school, college or university, the books include the following designed features to help with technique: practise essays with specialist commentary to show how to achieve a higher grade chapter summaries and summaries of key research glossary and further reading progress and review exercises. Series editors: Cara Flanagan is a Reviser for AS and A2 level Psychology and an experienced teacher and examiner. Philip Banyard is Associate Senior Lecturer in Psychology at Nottingham Trent University and a Chief Examiner for AS and A2 level Psychology.
Psychology of Learning and Motivation by 
Rewards and Intrinsic Motivation by
Over the past 30 years, many social psychologists have been critical of the practice of using incentive systems in business, education, and other applied settings. The concern is that money, high grades, prizes, and even praise may be effective in getting people to perform an activity but performance and interest are maintained only so long as the reward keeps coming. Once the reward is withdrawn, the concern is that individuals will enjoy the activity less, perform at a lower level, and spend less time on the task. The claim is that rewards destroy people's intrinsic motivation. Widely accepted, this view has been enormously influential and has led many employers, teachers, and other practitioners to question the use of rewards and incentive systems in applied settings. Contrary to this view, the research by Cameron and Pierce indicates that rewards can be used effectively to enhance interest and performance. The book centers around the debate on rewards and intrinsic motivation. Based on historical, narrative, and meta-analytic reviews, Cameron and Pierce show that, contrary to many claims, rewards do not have pervasive negative effects. Instead, the authors show that careful arrangement of rewards enhances motivation, performance, and interest. The overall goal of the book is to draw together over 30 years of research on rewards, motivation, and performance and to provide practitioners with techniques for designing effective incentive systems.
Social Motivation by
Motivational science is one of the fastest-growing areas of research in social psychology, incorporating multiple perspectives from social-personality research. This volume provides students and researchers with a comprehensive overview of major topics in social motivation. All contributors are renowned specialists in their field who provide in-depth and integrated coverage of the major empirical and theoretical contributions in their area. Social Motivation is essential reading for all social psychologists with an interest in social-motivational processes, and will also be of interest to people working in political science and cultural studies looking for a psychological perspective to work in their field.