Essentials of Human Memory by
This Classic Edition of the best-selling textbook offers an in-depth overview of approaches to the study of memory. With empirical research from both the real world and the neuropsychological clinic, the book explains the fundamental workings of human memory in a clear and accessible style.nbsp;This edition contains a new introduction and concluding chapter in which the author reflects on how the book is organized, and also on how the field of memory has developed since it was first published. Essentials of Human Memory evolved from a belief that, although the amount we know about memory has increased enormously in recent years, it is still possible to explain it in a way that would be fully understood by the general reader. After a broad overview of approaches to the study of memory, short-term and working memory are discussed, followed by learning, the role of organizing in remembering and factors influencing forgetting, including emotional variables and claims for the role of repression in what has become known as the false memory syndrome. The way in which knowledge of the world is stored is discussed next, followed by an account of the processes underlying retrieval, and their application to the practical issues of eyewitness testimony. The breakdown of memory in the amnesic syndrome is discussed next, followed by discussion of the way in which memory develops in children, and declines in the elderly. After a section concerned with mnemonic techniques and memory improvement, the book ends with an overview of recent developments in the field of human memory. Written by the leading expert in human memory, recently awarded the British Psychological Society Research Board Lifetime Achievement Award, Essentials of Human Memory will be of interest to students of Cognitive Psychology, Neuropsychology, and anyone with an interest in the workings of memory.
How We Remember by
A novel perspective on the biological mechanisms of episodic memory, focusing on the encoding and retrieval of spatiotemporal trajectories. Episodic memory proves essential for daily function, allowing us to remember where we parked the car, what time we walked the dog, or what a friend said earlier. In How We Remember, Michael Hasselmo draws on recent developments in neuroscience to present a new model describing the brain mechanisms for encoding and remembering such events as spatiotemporal trajectories. He reviews physiological breakthroughs on the regions implicated in episodic memory, including the discovery of grid cells, the cellular mechanisms of persistent spiking and resonant frequency, and the topographic coding of space and time. These discoveries inspire a theory for understanding the encoding and retrieval of episodic memory not just as discrete snapshots but as a dynamic replay of spatiotemporal trajectories, allowing us to "retrace our steps" to recover a memory. In the main text of the book, he presents the model in narrative form, accessible to scholars and advanced undergraduates in many fields. In the appendix, he presents the material in a more quantitative style, providing mathematical descriptions appropriate for advanced undergraduates and graduate students in neuroscience or engineering.
Learning and Memory by
This innovative textbook is the first to integrate learning and memory, behaviour, and cognition. It focuses on fascinating human research in both memory and learning (while also bringing in important animal studies) and brings the reader up to date with the latest developments in the subject. Students are encouraged to think critically: key theories and issues are looked at in detail; descriptions of experiments include why they were done and how examining the method can help evaluate competing viewpoints. By looking at underlying cognitive processes, students come away with a sense of learning and memory being interrelated actions taken by the same human being, rather than two separate activities. Lively and engaging writing is supported by lots of examples of practical applications that show the relevance of lab-based research to everyday life. Examples include treatments for phobias and autism, ways to improve eyewitness testimony, and methods of enhancing study techniques.
Learning and Memory: A Comprehensive Reference by
Learning and Memory: A Comprehensive Reference, Second Edition is the authoritative resource for scientists and students interested in all facets of learning and memory. This updated edition includes chapters that reflect the state-of-the-art of research in this area. Coverage of sleep and memory has been significantly expanded, while neuromodulators in memory processing, neurogenesis and epigenetics are also covered in greater detail. New chapters have been included to reflect the massive increase in research into working memory and the educational relevance of memory research. No other reference work covers so wide a territory and in so much depth.
Lifespan Development of Human Memory by
An original approach to memory development that views memory as a continuous process of growth and loss over the human lifespan rather than as a series of separate periods. Until recently, the vast majority of memory research used only university students and other young adults as subjects. Although such research successfully introduced new methodologies and theoretical concepts, it created a bias in our understanding of the lifespan development of memory. This book signals a departure from young-adult-centered research. It views the lifespan development of memory as a continuous process of growth and loss, where each phase of development raises unique questions favoring distinct research methods and theoretical approaches. Drawing on a broad range of investigative strategies, the book lays the foundation for a comprehensive understanding of the lifespan development of human memory. Topics include the childhood and adulthood development of working memory, episodic and autobiographical memory, and prospective memory, as well as the breakdown of memory functions in Alzheimer's disease. Of particular interest is the rich diversity of approaches, methods, and theories. The book takes an interdisciplinary perspective, drawing on work from psychology, psychiatry, gerontology, and biochemistry.
Mechanisms of Memory by
This book stands as the first unified overview of the cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying higher-order learning and memory. It integrates modern discoveries concerning learning and memory disorders such as mental retardation syndromes and Alzheimer's Disease, while also emphasizing the results gained from the cutting-edge research methodologies of genetic engineering, complex behavioral characterization, proteomics, and molecular biology. This book provides a foundation of experimental design that will be useful to all students pursuing an interest in laboratory research. This book is an enlightening and invaluable resource for anyone concerned with memory mechanisms. * Presents a unified view of memory mechanisms from behavior to genes and drawing examples from many different brain regions, types of learning, and various animal model systems * Includes numerous practical examples for the new investigator on how to implement research program in the area of learning and memory * Provides a balanced treatment of the strengths and weaknesses in modern experimental design
Memory by
Memory is perhaps the most extraordinary phenomenon in the natural world. Every person's brain holds millions of bits of information in long-term storage. This vast memory store includes our extensive vocabulary and knowledge of language; the tremendous and unique variety of facts we've amassed; all the skills we've learned, from walking and talking to musical and athletic performance; many of the emotions we feel; and the continuous sensations, feelings, and understandings of the world we term consciousness. Without memory there can be no mind as we understand it. Focusing on cutting-edge research in behavioral science and neuroscience, Memory is a primer of our current scientific understanding of the mechanics of memory and learning. Over the past two decades, memory research has accelerated and we have seen an explosion of new knowledge about the brain. For example, there now exists a wide-ranging and successful applied science devoted exclusively to the study of memory that has yielded better procedures for eliciting valid recollections in legal settings and improved the diagnosis and treatment of memory disorders. Everyone fascinated by the scope and power of the human brain will find this book unforgettable.
Memory by
Memory conveys the state of knowledge regarding human memory. This book is composed of seven parts beginning with a discussion on different memory structures and the processes that regulate the flow of information between those structures. A chapter follows on the distinction between explicit and implicit memory. Other chapters address the different aspects of storing information in long-term memory; how information in long-term memories is accessed; and the controlling and monitoring of such storage and retrieval processes. How memory capacities and characteristics vary as a function of individual differences and aging, as well as the implications of memory research for two real-world domains of strong interest: witness interrogation and testimony and the long-term retention of skills and knowledge, are also addressed. This handbook will be an important resource for students of human memory.
Memory 101 by
Contemporary research has found that memory is much more than the process for recalling information that has been learned and retainedoit is a rich, nuanced process that is an important part of every human activity. This highly readable foundational text provides an overview of the theories and research on human memory from a psychological perspective. Grounded in the premise that all psychological processes depend on memory, and that memory is shaped by the functions it serves, the authors look at a wide range of memory processes and discuss the major theories that have been developed to explain how it functions. This book describes the major structural and functional theories that guide our understanding of memory. The authors then focus on everyday functions of memory, including memorizing things, remembering to do things (prospective memory), and recalling how to do things, such as skills, procedures, and navigation. Disorders of memory including Alzheimer's and amnesia are examined along with exceptional memory skills, such as the phenomenon of individuals with highly superior autobiographical memory. The book also addresses the intriguing and controversial topics of repressed and recovered memories, the validity of memory in courtroom testimony, and the effects of remembering traumatic events. Illustrative examples, metaphors, and humor make for a text that is engaging and entertaining, resulting in a valuable, concise introduction for students. Key Features: Provides a concise, easy-to-read, yet scientifically based survey of theory and current research on memoryGrounded in the concept that memory is foundational to all psychological processes and human experienceCovers controversial and intriguing topics including repressed and recovered memories, memory in legal testimony, amnesia, and the phenomenon of super memoryExplores the myths and realities surrounding memory loss The Psych 101 Series Short, reader-friendly introductions to cutting-edge topics in psychology. With key concepts, controversial topics, and fascinating accounts of up-to-the-minute research, The Psych 101 Series is a valuable resource for all students of psychology and anyone interested in the field.
Memory: a Very Short Introduction by
Why do we remember events from our childhood as if they happened yesterday, but not what we did last week? Why does our memory seem to work well sometimes and not others? What happens when it goes wrong? Can memory be improved or manipulated, by psychological techniques or even 'brainimplants'? How does memory grow and change as we age? And what of so-called 'recovered' memories?This book brings together the latest research in neuroscience and psychology, and weaves in case-studies, anecdotes, and even literature and philosophy, to address these and many other important questions about the science of memory - how it works, and why we can't live without it.
Memory and Emotion by
Understanding the interplay between memory and emotion is crucial for the work of researchers in many arenas--clinicians, psychologists interested in eyewitness testimony, psychobiologists, to name just a few. Memory and Emotion spans all these areas and brings them together into one volume. Daniel Reisberg and Paula Hertel have assembled contributions from the most visible and productive researchers working at the intersection of emotion and memory. The result is a sophisticated profile of our current understanding of how memory is shaped both by emotion and emotional disorder. The diverse list of topics includes the biology of traumatic memory, the memory disorders produced by depression, anxiety, and schizophrenia, the nature of emotional memory both in children and the elderly, and the collective memory processes at work in remembering the Holocaust. This unified collection of cutting-edge research will be an invaluable guide to scholars and students in many different research areas.
Memory Consolidation by
Learning and memory are necessary, fundamental functions that animals need in order to survive and adapt to any environment. The ability to learn and form memory depends on changes occurring in neuronal circuits. These changes occur at both the synaptic level and at the level of changes in intrinsic membrane properties of neurons. Such changes involve physical, structural changes (including growth of new processes as well as retractions of other processes.) Some of these changes may persist throughout the life of the organism while others last for relatively short times. While learning and memory are related, they are separate processes with their own 'rules and regulations'. Longer lasting memories involve changes in protein synthesis as well as gene activity. The molecular changes that occur in neurons and glia that underlie learning and memory result in structural and biophysical changes in single neurons and neuronal circuits. Some of the chapters in this book present the authors' findings from specific model systems while other chapters present research concerned with memory consolidation in humans, which can be referred to the process by which the changes in neuronal functioning that occur as a result of learning (i.e. new behavior).
The Memory Process: Neuroscientific and Humanistic Perspectives by
The convergence of neuroscience, philosophy, art, music, and literature offers valuable new insights into the study of memory. The Memory Process offers a groundbreaking, interdisciplinary approach to the understanding of human memory, with contributions from both neuroscientists and humanists. The first book to link the neuroscientific study of memory to the investigation of memory in the humanities, it connects the latest findings in memory research with insights from philosophy, literature, theater, art, music, and film. Chapters from the scientific perspective discuss both fundamental concepts and ongoing debates from genetic and epigenetic approaches, functional neuroimaging, connectionist modeling, dream analysis, and neurocognitive studies. The humanist analyses offer insights about memory from outside the laboratory: a taxonomy of memory gleaned from modernist authors including Virginia Woolf, James Joyce, and William Faulkner; the organization of memory, seen in drama ranging from Hamlet to The Glass Menagerie; procedural memory and emotional memory in responses to visual art; music's dependence on the listener's recall; and the vivid renderings of memory and forgetting in such films as Memento and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. The chapters from the philosophical perspective serve as the bridge between science and the arts. The volume's sweeping introduction offers an integrative merging of neuroscientific and humanistic findings. Contributors John Bickle, Jean-Pierre Changeux, Valérie Doyère, Yadin Dudai, Atillio Favorini, John Burt Foster, David Freedberg, Walter Glannon, Robert Stickgold, David Hertz, William Hirstein, Joseph LeDoux, Paul Matthews, James L. McClelland, Suzanne Nalbantian, Isabelle Peretz, Alan Richardson, Edmund Rolls, Séverine Samson, Alcino Silva, Barbara Tillmann, Fernando Vidal
Memory Reconsolidation by
As little as 10 years ago, it was believed that memory went from short to long term via one consolidation practice that made that memory intractable. Since then, research has shown that long-term memories can be activated, modified, and reconsolidated in their new form. This research indicates that memories are more dynamic than once believed. And understanding how this process works and helping people to redefine established memories can be clinically useful if those memories lead to problems, as is the case in post-traumatic stress disorder. This book provides a comprehensive overview of research on memory reconsolidation; what this has to say about the formation, storage, and changeability of memory; and the potential applications of this research to treating clinical disorders. Presents both neuroscience and psychological research on memory reconsolidation Discusses what findings mean for understanding memory formation, storage, and retrieval Includes treatment applications of these findings
Neurobiology of Learning and Memory by
The first edition of Neurobiology of Learning and Memory was published in 1998 to rave reviews. As before, this second edition will discuss anatomy, development, systems, and models though the organization and content is substantially changed reflecting advances in the field. Including information from both animal and human studies, this book represents an up-to-date review of the most important concepts associated with the basic mechanism that support learning and memory, theoretical developments, use of computational models, and application to real world problems. The emphasis of each chapter will be the presentation of cutting-edge research on the topic, the development of a theoretical perspective, and providing an outline that will aid a student in understanding the most important concepts presented in the chapter. *New material covers basal ganglia, cerebellum, prefrontal cortex, and fear conditioning *Additional information available on applied issues (i.e., degenerative disease, aging, and enhancement of memory) *Each chapter includes an outline to assist student understanding of challenging concepts *Four-color illustrations throughout
The Self and Memory by
Noted scholars from a broad range of sub-disciplines in psychology discuss the ways in which the memories of our lives come to influence who we are, our personalities, and our emotional functioning. Other topics covered include how our personalities and self-concepts influence what we remember from our lives, and the notion of memory and the self as interdependent psychological phenomena.