A Brief History of Modern Psychology by
In A Brief History of Modern Psychology, Ludy Benjamin, leading historian in the field, discusses the history of both the science and the practice of psychology since the establishment of the first experimental psychology laboratory in 1879. Captures the excitement of this pervasive field that features prevalently in modern mass media Presents facts and interesting tidbits about individual psychologists' lives and ideas, as well as illuminating tie-in's to the social contexts in which they lived Features widely known figures such as William James, Carl Jung, Wilhelm Wundt, G. Stanley Hall, James Catell, John B. Watson, and B.F. Skinner as well as lesser known luminaries such as E.B. Titchener, Mary Calkins, Leta Hollingworth, Kenneth and Mamie Clark, and Helen Thompson Wolley Provides the historical and disciplinary context that will help readers to better understand the richness and complexity of contemporary psychology Includes discussions of important events, societies, and landmarks in the history of psychology such as the growth of psychological laboratories in the US, the Thayer Conference (the landmark summit which defined school psychology), Kurt Lewin's social action research, and Lewis M. Terman and the Stanford Revision of the Binet-Simon Scale (now the well known, "Stanford-Binet Intelligence Scale") Test Bank for instructors with identification, multiple-choice, matching, and essay questions written by Ludy Benjamin available at www.wiley.com/go/benjamin .
The British Empiricists by
The Empiricists represent the central tradition in British philosophy as well as some of the most important and influential thinkers in human history. Their ideas paved the way for modern thought from politics to science, ethics to religion. The British Empiricists is a wonderfully clear and concise introduction to the lives, careers and views of Hobbes, Locke, Berkeley, Hume, Mill, Russell, and Ayer. Stephen Priest examines each philosopher and their views on a wide range of topics including mind and matter, ethics and emotions, freedom and the physical world, language, truth and logic. The book is usefully arranged so that it can be read by thinker or by topic, or as a history of key philosophical problems and equips the reader to: recognize and practice philosophical thinking understand the methods of solving philosophical problems used by the British Empiricists appreciate the role of empiricism in the history of Western philosophy. For any student new to philosophy, Western philosophy or the British Empiricists, this masterly survey offers an accessible engaging introduction.
A Dictionary of Psychology by
Including more than 11,000 definitions, this authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills,language, mental disorder, and research methods. The range of entries extends to related disciplines including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, the neurosciences, and statistics. Entries are extensively cross-referenced for ease of use, and cover word origins and derivations as well as definitions. Morethan 100 illustrations complement the text.This fourth edition has incorporated a large number of significant revisions and additions, many in response to the 2013 publication of the American Psychiatric Association's latest edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, bringing the Dictionary fully up to date with themost recent literature of the subject.In addition to the alphabetical entries, the dictionary also includes appendices covering over 800 commonly used abbreviations and symbols, as well as a list of phobias and phobic stimuli, with definitions.Comprehensive and clearly written, this dictionary is an invaluable work of reference for students, lecturers, and the general reader with an interest in psychology.
The Empiricists by
This collection of essays on themes in the work of John Locke (1632-1704), George Berkeley (1685-1753), and David Hume (1711-1776), provides a deepened understanding of major issues raised in the Empiricist tradition. In exploring their shared belief in the experiential nature of mental constructs, The Empiricists illuminates the different methodologies of these great Enlightenment philosophers and introduces students to important metaphysical and epistemological issues including the theory of ideas, personal identity, and skepticism. It will be especially useful in courses devoted to the history of modern philosophy. Visit our website for sample chapters!
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior by
The Encyclopedia of Human Behavior, Second Edition is an award-winning three-volume reference on human action and reaction, and the thoughts, feelings, and physiological functions behind those actions. Presented alphabetically by title, 300 articles probe both enduring and exciting new topics in physiological psychology, perception, personality, abnormal and clinical psychology, cognition and learning, social psychology, developmental psychology, language, and applied contexts. Written by leading scientists in these disciplines, every article has been peer-reviewed to establish clarity, accuracy, and comprehensiveness. The most comprehensive reference source to provide both depth and breadth to the study of human behavior, the encyclopedia will again be a much-used reference source. This set appeals to public, corporate, university and college libraries, libraries in two-year colleges, and some secondary schools. Carefully crafted, well written, and thoroughly indexed, the encyclopedia helps users--whether they are students just beginning formal study of the broad field or specialists in a branch of psychology--understand the field and how and why humans behave as we do. Named a 2013 Outstanding Academic Title by the American Library Association's Choice publication Concise entries (ten pages on average) provide foundational knowledge of the field Each article features suggested further readings, a list of related websites, a 5-10 word glossary and a definition paragraph, and cross-references to related articles in the encyclopedi Newly expanded editorial board and a host of international contributors from the United States, Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Sweden, and the United Kingdom
Encyclopedia of Psychology by
After more than a century of extraordinary growth and development, the science of psychology at last has a reference source that defines the study of mind and behavior.Here in eight superbly organized volumes is the definitive guide to every area of psychological theory, research, and practice. International in scope, the Encyclopedia of Psychology is the first place to turn to for authoritative information on every area of the field. Organized alphabetically,the articles range from 500 to 7,000 words in length including 400 biographies. An extensive system of cross-references and blind entries facilitate research from article to article and clarify links within the field. And an exhaustive index locates topics quickly and easily--providing many pointsof access across areas of interest and fields of study.The Encyclopedia of Psychology serves a remarkable variety of readers: students and their teachers in every area of psychology as well as in such related fields as sociology, social work, nursing, and allied health; researchers in the cognitive sciences and neurosciences; and clinicians,counselors, and other mental health and human service professionals. It will be the definitive information, research, and reference source for many years to come.
Even the Rat Was White: A Historical View of Psychology by
Even The Rat Was White views history from all perspectives in the quest for historical accuracy. Histories and other background materials are presented in detail concerning early African-American psychologists and their scientific contributions, as well as their problems, views, and concerns of the field of social psychology. Archival documents that are not often found in mainstream resources are uncovered through the use of journals and magazines, such as the Journal of Black Psychology, the Journal of Negro Education, and Crisis.
Forty Studies That Changed Psychology: Explorations into the History of Psychological Research by
Forty studies that help shape Psychology; Roger Hock's Forty Studies provides a glimpse of the science of psychology, unraveling the complexities of human nature. This book provides a more in-depth look and analyses that cannot be found by reading a textbook or research alone. It has the original studies, research & analysis about the most famous studies in psychological history. Learning Goals Upon completing this book, readers will: Gain background knowledge of the complexities in the psychology field. Learn about detailed studies in an easy, understandable manner. Understand scientific research, through closer examination of major topics.
From Séance to Science: A History of the Profession of Psychology in America by
This book is intended to round out the picture of American psychology's past, adding the history of psychological practice to the story of psychological science. Written by two well-recognized authorities in the field, this book covers the profession and practice of psychology in America from the late 19th century to the present. From Séance to Science tells the story of psychologists who sought and seek to apply the knowledge of their science to the practical problems of the world, whether those problems lay in businesses, schools, families, or in the thoughts and emotions, and behaviors of individuals. Engagingly written and full of interesting examples, this book includes figures and photos from the Archives of the History of American Psychology. This is the story of individuals, trained in psychology, who function as school psychologists, counseling psychologists, clinical psychologists, and industrial psychologists. These are psychology's practitioners, meaning that they take the knowledge base of psychology and use it for practical purposes outside of the classroom and outside of the laboratory.
Handbook of Prejudice, Stereotyping, and Discrimination by 
History and Philosophy of Psychology by
History and Philosophy of Psychology is a lively introduction to the historical development of psychology. Its distinct inclusion of ideas from both Eastern and Western philosophies offers students a uniquely broad view of human psychology. Whilst covering all the major landmarks in the history of psychology, the text also provides students with little-known but fascinating insights into key questions â? such as whether Freud really cured his patients; what was nude psychotherapy; and were the early psychologists racist? Encourages students to explore the philosophical and theoretical implications of the historical development of psychology Explores key theoretical ideas and experiments in detail, with background to their development and valuable suggestions for further reading
A History of Modern Psychology by
With the Third Edition of Goodwin's A History of Modern Psychology, students will learn about the fascinating men and women who helped create and shape the field of psychology. They will also develop a deeper understanding of the many interconnections that exist among the different areas of psychology. Goodwin's book not only provides accounts of the lives and contributions of psychology's pioneers set into historical context; it also contains original writings by these psychologists, interwoven with informative comments from the author. The text is written in a conversational and engaging style with discrete attention to recent scholarship in the history of psychology, especially that of the past 150 years.
History of Psychology 101 by
Spanning the modern development of psychological science and practice-the era most relevant to today's psychologists-this concise overview of psychology's history focuses on how the field has striven to make a positive impact on society and the individuals within it. It not only examines, decade by decade, the key developments in psychology, but goes beyond the usual schools and systems approach to illuminate not just how psychological theories developed but how they have been applied and practiced. The text is unique in its focus on connecting the historical development of psychology to present concerns in the field, thus making the information more relevant to today's student. Woven throughout the book is thread of optimism regarding the value of psychological ideas for the betterment of humanity. The book considers how psychology has informed-and been influenced by-social and cultural concerns of the past century. Each chapter highlights a theme that typified the science and practice of psychology in a particular era, along with a historical centerpiece, an examination of an exemplary psychologist or psychological work that typified the field's development during that time period. Key Features: Presents a concise, accessible overview of the modern history of psychology; Goes beyond the usual schools and systems approach to focus on how psychological theories were developed, applied, and practiced; Demonstrates how the field of psychology has endeavored to make a positive impact on society and individuals; Focuses on making historical information relevant to psychological practice today; Embeds psychology in the social and cultural milieu of each era
A History of Psychology: Ideas and Context by
A History of Psychology: Ideas and Context, Third Edition, is a comprehensive history of psychology tracing psychological thought from ancient times through late twentieth-century developments. The reader is presented with a framework for interpreting the pedagogy of philosophy through the development of historiography and philosophical problems in the opening chapters. The book gives in-depth coverage to the intellectual trends that preceded the formal founding of psychology, coupled with an analysis of the major classical systems of thought and the key developments in the history of basic and applied psychology. The final epilogue focuses on the major trends in psychology in the latter half of the twentieth century. Designed for anyone interested in the history of psychology, systems of psychology or systematic psychology.
A History of Psychology: Main Currents in Psychological Thought by
Provides a narrative history of psychology. A History of Psychology: From Antiquity to Modernity begins tracking psychology from the development of folk psychology as the key adaptation of humans at the dawn of history. It then traces the Classical, medieval, and early modern periods to present day psychology. The text covers scientific, applied, and professional psychology. Although theoretical and empirical arguments inside psychology about the nature of mind and behavior are not neglected, A History of Psychology shows how psychology's development has been shaped by social, economic, and political forces external to it, and, in turn, how the mature psychology of the late 20th century has begun to shape the society in which it arose. The text carefully examines how issues in psychology reflect and affect concepts that lie outside the technical concerns of psychology as a science and profession. Upon completing this text, readers will be able to: Know the events in the history of scientific, applied, and professional psychology Understand how psychology,s development was shaped by external forces Describe how psychology has and continues to shape society
An Intellectual History of Psychology by
An Intellectual History of Psychology, already a classic in its field, is now available in a concise new third edition. It presents psychological ideas as part of a greater web of thinking throughout history about the essentials of human nature, interwoven with ideas from philosophy, science, religion, art, literature, and politics. Daniel N. Robinson demonstrates that from the dawn of rigorous and self-critical inquiry in ancient Greece, reflections about human nature have been inextricably linked to the cultures from which they arose, and each definable historical age has added its own character and tone to this long tradition. An Intellectual History of Psychology not only explores the most significant ideas about human nature from ancient to modern times, but also examines the broader social and scientific contexts in which these concepts were articulated and defended. Robinson treats each epoch, whether ancient Greece or Renaissance Florence or Enlightenment France, in its own terms, revealing the problems that dominated the age and engaged the energies of leading thinkers. Robinson also explores the abiding tension between humanistic and scientific perspectives, assessing the most convincing positions on each side of the debate. Invaluable as a text for students and as a stimulating and insightful overview for scholars and practicing psychologists, this volume can be read either as a history of psychology in both its philosophical and aspiring scientific periods or as a concise history of Western philosophy's concepts of human nature.
An Introduction to the History of Psychology by
Dreams puzzled early man, Greek philosophers spun elaborate theories to explain human memory and perception, Descartes postulated that the brain was filled with "animal spirits," and psychology was officially deemed a "science" in the 19th century. The Fourth Edition of Hergenhahn's best-selling text continues to provide students with a comprehensive view of the history of psychology by showing that most of the concerns of today's psychologists are manifestations of themes that have been a part of psychology for thousands of years.
Kant's Empirical Psychology by
Throughout his life, Kant was concerned with questions about empirical psychology. He aimed to develop an empirical account of human beings, and his lectures and writings on the topic are recognizable today as properly 'psychological' treatments of human thought and behavior. In this book Patrick R. Frierson uses close analysis of relevant texts, including unpublished lectures and notes, to study Kant's account. He shows in detail how Kant explains human action, choice, and thought in empirical terms, and how a better understanding of Kant's psychology can shed light on major concepts in his philosophy, including the moral law, moral responsibility, weakness of will, and cognitive error. Frierson also applies Kant's accounts of mental illness to contemporary philosophical issues. His book will interest students and scholars of Kant, the history of psychology, philosophy of psychology, and philosophy of action.
Key Ideas in Psychology by
`This would be an excellent companion to an A-level or first year degree course or indeed anyone with an interest in psychology. The book aims to `tell people what psychology is about'' and it does this in an extremely well structured and accessible fashion. It gives a good introduction to severaldifferent elements of the study of psychology and provides further reading for those wishing to gain a deeper understanding. As each chapter can be read alone it is also a useful reference tool to provide explanations of subjects and quick overviews of areas. Each chapter is written in a balanced way and allows the reader room for reflection.'' -Journal of Critical Psychology, Counselling & Psychotherapy `It is truly very difficult to describe books such as this, which through the use of clear and simple language achieve accessibility for those interested as long as they take account of the scientific style of the psychological terminology so well defined throughout its chapters... As if this were not enough, at the end of every chapter the author presents us with a selection of fundamental books so that if we wish we can further our knowledge of each subject.'' - European Journal of Psychiatry `This is an excellent book, and for anyone who is not a psychologist but would like to understand the basic concepts within its different fields, is difficult to better, given its size. The text is lucid, readable and provides both a good selection of references and some judiciously chosen further reading. The author consistently introduces the major concepts of each subject, and then goes onto discuss the recent developments in each field. The chapter on Biopsychology not only discusses the biological basis of nerve function but discusses sleep and the mind-body relationship in a cogent and helpful way to those needing a quick basis for further reading. The lack of illustrations anywhere in the text coming in the chapter on statistics. Having said that, the text itself reads in such a way - even the statistics chapter - that these are almost rendered unnecessary. A book like this is difficult to write, because no matter why is selected, someone will complain that there are gaps, but these are understandable. It would have been extremely helpful to have health psychology treated in the same way that the author treats other subjects, but given the plethora of texts on health psychology available these days, it''s hardly surprising the author didn''t cover this topic, and this is rather a grudging complaint. The publisher is providing a solid and growing range of titles, and the present author himself has authored a number of other texts which are of value to more specialised audiences. This book is ideal for professionals with little or no grounding in psychology, or those new to the subject, who need to know something about the field and its concepts. Excellent as an A Level background text or for other readers wanting to update their knowledge, this book should find a wide readership.'' - Journal of the Royal Society for the Promotion of Health This accessible book has a simple aim - to tell people what psychology is about. It presents a review of the key areas of the subject as it is traditionally taught, and provides the reader with an introduction to important concepts and findings within each of these. Armed with the information in this book, the reader should be able at least to make sense of most psychological topics. At the end of each chapter is a set of suggested further readings which will enable a more detailed exploration of the particular topic under discussion to be made. The book will be of interest to two groups of readers. The first comprises people who are new to the subject and simply want to know what psychology is. The second consists of those who want a general guide to an area but who wish to make up their minds on the details for themselves. Hence the basic information and arguments are explained, but details are not elaborated.
The Oxford Companion to the Mind by
The Oxford Companion to the Mind,edited by Richard L. Gregory, is a classic. Published in 1987, to huge acclaim, it immediately took its place as the indispensable guide to the mysteries - and idiosyncracies - of the human mind. In no other book can the reader find indiscussions of conceptssuch as language, memory, and intelligence, side by side with witty definitions of common human experiences such as the 'cocktail-party' and 'halo' effects, and the least effort principle.Richard Gregory again brings his wit, wisdom, and expertise to bear on this most elusive of subjects. Research into the mind and brain has moved on in bounds in recent years, and interest in the subject has never been so high. There has been a shift in focus away from Freud's concept of theunconscious onto consciousness itself. The new edition of the Companion includes three 'mini symposia' - on consciousness, brain scanning, and artificial intelligence - with contributions from a number of specialists, and encompassing a range of approaches.
The Philosophy of Psychology by
This major text provides the first comprehensive anthology of the key topics arising in the philosophy of psychology. Bringing together internationally renowned authors, including Herb Simon, Karl Pribram, Joseph Rychlak, Ullin T Place and Adolf Gr[um]unbaum, this volume offers a stimulating and informative addition to contemporary debate. With the cognitive revolution of the 1960s, there has been a resurgence of interest in the study of the philosophical assumptions and implications of psychology. Several significant themes, such as the foundations of knowledge, behaviourism, rationality, emotion and cognitive science span both philosophy and psychology, and are covered here along with a wide range of issues in the fields of folk psychology, clinical psychology, neurophysiology and professional ethics.
Race, Racism and Psychology: Towards a Reflexive History by
This book offers a comprehensive overview of the ways in which Psychology has engaged with 'race' and racism issues since the late 19th century. It emphasizes the complexities and convolutions of the story and attempts to elucidate the subtleties and occasional paradoxes that have arisen as a result. This new edition updates the research contained in the first edition and includes brand new chapters. These additional chapters draw attention to the importance of the South African Black Consciousness movement and 'Post-colonial' Psychology, 　explore recent additional historical research on the fears of 'hybridisation', contain new material on French colonial psychiatry, and discuss the awkward status of virtually all the language and terms currently used for discussion of the topic. This important and controversial book has proved to be a vital text, both as a point of departure for more in-depth inquiries, and also as an essential reference tool.The additional up-to-date material included in this new edition makes the book an even more valuable resource to those working in and studying psychology, and also for anyone concerned with the 'race' issue either professionally or personally.
The Realistic Empiricism of Mach, James, and Russell by
In the early twentieth century, Ernst Mach, William James, and Bertrand Russell founded a philosophical and scientific movement known as 'neutral monism', based on the view that minds and physical objects are constructed out of elements or events which are neither mental nor physical, but neutral between the two. This movement offers a unified scientific outlook which includes sensations in human experience and events in the world of physics under one roof. In this book Erik C. Banks discusses this important movement as a whole for the first time. He explores the ways in which the three philosophers can be connected, and applies their ideas to contemporary problems in the philosophy of mind and the philosophy of science - in particular the relation of sensations to brain processes, and the problem of constructing extended bodies in space and time from particular events and causal relations.
The Story of Psychology by
A hefty volume for the lay audience encapsulating major themes and threads in the history of the discipline, presenting them in an engaging and readable manner, without condescension and without jargon. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR