MLA Handbook by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbookis published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbookoffers * New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language * Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project * Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before * A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTubevideos, interviews, and more * Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources * Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work * Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes * Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism * A sample essay in MLA format * Annotated bibliography examples * Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation * Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook, the official guide to MLA format. Works are published today in a dizzying variety of ways: a novel, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to as an audiobook. Writers of research papers routinely need to know how to cite works on Web sites, videos on platforms like YouTube, interviews and other works created by multiple authors, journal articles contained in databases, online images, posts on social media sites, song lyrics, and more. Instead of providing separate instructions for each format, the MLA's unique, innovative approach recommends one set of guidelines that writers can apply to any type of source. This groundbreaking edition of the MLA's best-selling handbook is short and designed for easy use. It guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research and thus focuses on the key skills of information and digital literacy. It then shows writers how to cite sources in their writing, offering detailed guidance on in-text citations, quoting and paraphrasing, avoiding plagiarism, and more. Intended for students, teachers, librarians, and advanced scholars, the handbook is an indispensable resource in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields.
Abe, Kōbō, 1924-1993. The Woman in the Dunes
Achebe, Chinua. Things Fall Apart
Asimov, Isaac, 1920-1992. I, Robot
Baldwin, James, 1924-1987. The Fire Next Time
Behn, Aphra, 1640-1689. Ooronoko
Brontë, Charlotte, 1816-1855. Jane Eyre
Bronte, Emily, 1818-1848. Wuthering Heights
Butler, Octavia. Parable of the Sower
Cervantes Saavedra, Miguel de, 1547-1616. Don Quixote
Chekhov, Anton Pavlovich, 1860-1904. “The Lady with the Dog” and plays [The Seagull; Uncle Vanya; Three Sisters; The Cherry Orchard]
Conrad, Joseph, 1857-1924. Heart of Darkness
Dickens, Charles, 1812-1870. “Night Walks”
Du Bois, W. E. B. (William Edward Burghardt), 1868-1963. The Souls of Black Folk
Equiano, Olaudah, 1745-1797. The Interesting Narrative of the Life of Olaudah Equiano, or Gustavus Vassa, the African
García Lorca, Federico, 1898-1936. Four Key Plays
Hamid, Mohsin, 1971-. Exit West
Hamid, Mohsin, 1971-. The Last White Man
Hamilton, Alexander, 1757-1804. The Federalist Papers
Hobbes, Thomas, 1588-1679. Leviathan
Hume, David, 1711-1776. Dialogues on Natural Religion and Of the Original Contract
Ibsen, Henrik, 1828-1906. Four Plays [Peer Gynt; A Doll's House; Hedda Gabler; The Master Builder]
Ishiguro, Kazuo, 1954-. Klara and the Sun
Ishiguro, Kazuo, 1954-. Never Let Me Go
Jefferson, Thomas. 1743-1826, Declaration of Independence, United States Constitution
Joyce, James, 1882-1941. The Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
Kafka, Franz, 1883-1924. The Metamorphosis and Other Stories
Kant, Immanuel, 1724-1804. “What is Enlightenment?”
Kant, Immanuel, 1724-1804. “Groundwork of the Metaphysics of Morals”
Lahontan, baron de, 1666-1716. New Voyages to North America
Lao, She, 1899-1966. Rickshaw Boy
Lessing, Doris, 1919-2013. The Summer Before the Dark
Locke, John, 1632-1704. Second Treatise
Marx, Karl, 1818-1883. The Communist Manifesto
Mill, John Stuart, 1806-1873. On Liberty
Mishima, Yukio, 1925-1970. The Sailor Who Fell from Grace with the Sea
Montaigne, Michel de, 1533-1592. Essays
Neruda, Pablo, 1904-1973. Poems
Rhys, Jean. Wide Sargasso Sea
Rousseau, Jean-Jacques, 1712-1778. On Social Contract
Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft, 1797-1851. Frankenstein
Swift, Jonathan, 1667-1745. Gulliver’s Travels
Thoreau, Henry David, 1817-1862. “Walking” (1862)
Wells, H. G. (Herbert George), 1866-1946. The Island of Dr. Moreau
Wells, H. G. (Herbert George), 1866-1946. The Time Machine
Wilder, Thornton, 1897-1975. The Bridge of San Luis Rey
Wollstonecraft, Mary, 1759-1797. Letters Written during a Short Residence in Sweden, Norway, and Denmark
