Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Granta's first incarnation was as a student magazine at Cambridge University in 1889. It published the early work of writers as various as E.M. Forster and A.A. Milne, Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath. In 1979, Granta's second incarnation took it out of Cambridge and into the wider world.
Greece & Rome
Greece & Rome is a journal which delivers scholarly research to a wider audience. It showcases original and informative articles on ancient history, literature, art, archaeology, religion, philosophy, and reception of the ancient world. Also available online.
The Hudson Review
A quarterly journal of literature and the arts, the magazine has dealt with the area where literature bears on the intellectual life of the time and on diverse aspects of American culture. Also available online.
The Kenyon Review
Building on a tradition of excellence dating back to 1939, the Kenyon Review has evolved from a distinguished literary magazine to a pre-eminent arts organization. Today, KR is devoted to nurturing, publishing, and celebrating the best in contemporary writing. Limited availability online.
New Threatre Quarterly
New Theatre Quarterly publishes news, analysis and debate within the field of theatre studies. Also available online.
Southern Humanities Review
Southern Humanities Review is the literary quarterly housed in the Department of English at Auburn University. Founded in 1967, SHR publishes fiction, poetry, and essays.
The Southern Review
The Southern Review strives to discover and promote a diverse array of engaging, relevant, and challenging literature—including fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and translation from literary luminaries as well as the best established and emerging writers. Also available online.
World Literature Today
The mission of World Literature Today is to serve the international, state, and university communities by achieving excellence as a literary publication, a sponsor of literary prizes, and a cultural center for students. Also available online.
Created as a literary and cultural commentary magazine, it has a reputation in the 21st century for a politically moderate viewpoint in its reporting. The magazine has notably recognized and published new writers and poets, as well as encouraged major careers. Also available online.
Harper's Magazine (also called Harper's) is a monthly magazine of literature, politics, culture, finance, and the arts. Launched in June 1850, it is the second-oldest continuously published monthly magazine in the U.S. Also available online.
The New Yorker
The New Yorker is an American magazine of reportage, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry. Also available online.
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry This link opens in a new window
The Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry contains 300,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations, numbers that will continually expand with each update.
Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This rich full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It gives students, professors and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a valuable full-text database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Poetry & Short Story Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This full-text database provides a historically rich collection of hundreds of thousands of classic and contemporary poems, as well as short stories, biographies and authoritative essays on such topics as poetic forms, movements and techniques — including contemporary content from the finest publishers.
Project Muse Humanities This link opens in a new window
173 journal titles for Literature and Humanities.
PRISM is a journal of art and literature featuring work by students, staff and alumni of Lawrence Technological University. LB3621 .L39 2001-present.
Online version coming soon.