LibGuides: Humanities & Literature: Research

Finding Articles: Starting Points

Art Databases (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Searches both Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals and Art & Architecture Source.
FirstSearch This link opens in a new window General collection of articles on a variety of subjects; all appear in every TechCat+ search too. ArticleFirst is the default database in FirstSearch but you can choose to search through ERIC (Education Resources Information Center), GPO (Government Publishing Office), Medline, OAIster (Open Access Initiative), SCIPIO (Art and rare book sales/auction catalogs) and others.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Humanities Source is a valuable full-text database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.
Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This rich full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It gives students, professors and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window This full-text database contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines, including topical coverage of ethnic studies, women's studies and history. 1,600 full-text journals from all subject areas.
Poetry & Short Story Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This full-text database provides a historically rich collection of hundreds of thousands of classic and contemporary poems, as well as short stories, biographies and authoritative essays on such topics as poetic forms, movements and techniques — including contemporary content from the finest publishers.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window Includes some Humanities titles, mainly focused on theology & Biblical studies.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Despite the name, SD includes a variety of literature and humanities title. The green box indicates full-text is available.

News Sources

These sources are good for current affairs, debate topics, identifying "cutting edge" stories and research that interest the general public.

News Databases (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Searches MasterFILE Complete, Newspaper Source Plus, Newswires and Web News.
Opposing Viewpoints (in Context) This link opens in a new window Find information related to social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. Presents pros & cons on many issues across science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.

Other Possibilities

Project Muse Humanities This link opens in a new window 173 journal titles for Literature and Humanities.
University of Chicago Press Journals This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals presenting original research in social sciences, humanities, education, biological & medical sciences and physical sciences. Access from 2005 to current.

Citation Information

The MLA Style is commonly used in the Humanities to cite articles, create a list of resources and to format a research paper. To learn more about MLA, check out the links below.

You will find more information in the "Citing Your Resources" Library Guide.

Color coded EXAMPLES from the Post Campus Libraries, Long Island University Choose APA, MLA, Chicago, . to see examples of how different types of resources are cited.
Citation Machine Free (has ads); MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago & many other citation styles. Choose the style, choose the type of resource you are citing. Type/paste the item title for autofill or manually enter the required information and Citation Machine will create your citation. Copy and paste the citation to your word processing document.
OWL (Online Writing Center) at Purdue The OWL (Purdue University) site is an excellent source of information on the entire writing process. For information specific to APA or MLA, scroll to the Citation section towards the bottom of the page and follow the appropriate links.

RefWorks This link opens in a new window Bibliographic Management Tool. Allows you to store and manage your citations. Easily create reference lists from your citations.