Allergic Rhinosinusitis and Airway Diseases by
This Book, entiled "Allergic Rhinosinusitis and Airway Diseases", presents the concept of united airway disease interaction, which comprises chronic rhinosinusitis and other lower airway disorders such as asthma. This concept furthers a deeper comprehension on the pathophysiology and management of upper and lower airway diseases. In this Book, the published papers cover different interesting topics such as healthcare equality, advanced biomarkers, accurate diagnosis and treatment, occupational exposure-induced upper airway allergy and neoplastic disease mimicking chronic rhinosinusitis.
Artificial Ventilation: A Basic Clinical Guide by
This book provides a concise, clinical guide to the basics of airway and ventilation management for non-specialists working in pre-hospital and emergency medicine. It fulfills the need for a resource that simply and clearly explains the fundamentals of respiratory physiology, the pathophysiology behind respiratory failure and the practical aspects of artificial ventilation. Artificial Ventilation: A Basic Clinical Guide, 2nd edition has been expanded to include guidance on mass ventilation during a viral pandemic with lessons learnt from the COVID-19 outbreak. It has been fully revised to support non-specialist medical and nursing personnel to understand the basics of artificial ventilation and to be able to improvise mass ventilation outside the ICU. Professionals seeking clear guidance on currently available devices and new approaches to mechanical ventilation will find this book to be an essential resource for all types of emergency situations where artificial ventilation is required.
Critical Care Medicine : The Essentials and More by
"With a full-color design and concise, easy-to-read chapters, Critical Care Medicine: The Essentials and a Bit More covers the core elements of critical care, with a unique focus on the pathophysiology underlying clinical disorders and how pathophysiologic concerns affect treatment options. There is much here that's new: brand-new content, expanded discussions, and more graphical elements than ever before. Chapters follow a consistent structural template, with discussions of diagnosis, instrumentation, treatment and management techniques, and more. Expertly and succinctly captures all the fundamentals of the field! - Designed primarily for use by students and residents, but also helpful for anyone already in practice.-Emphasizes the pathophysiologic elements and treatments of illness and injury.-Now with updated drug info and more substantial coverage of interventional radiology, pregnancy care, and organization of critical care.-Adds new, brief summaries that present opposing arguments of controversial points.-Topics range from intubation, ventilation, and pharmacotherapy, as well as drug overdoses, sepsis, gastrointestinal bleeding, and other crisis care scenarios.
Critical Care Nursing Made Incredibly Easy by
Feeling unsure about your critical care nursing skills? Time to gain some confident know-how, with the freshly updated Critical Care Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!®, 5th Edition. This friendly, fully illustrated guide offers clear, concise direction on treating numerous acute and life-threatening issues. Absorb current best practices on critical care basics and specialized areas such as advanced life support measures, multisystem trauma, and treating specialized needs. This is ideal guidance for students, nurses new to clinical care, and those preparing for the Critical Care (CCRN) certification exam. Let this expert review text guide you to exam and on-the-unit success: NEW end-of-book practice exam Expansive, systems-based review of acute care conditions for all body systems Guidance on treating multisystem disorders - burns, hyperthermia, hypothermia, hypovolemic shock, multiple organ dysfunction syndrome (MODS), septic shock, trauma and more Expert guidance on nursing skills - blood and fluid replacement, rapid assessment and interventions, emergency measures, fluid replacement/resuscitation, drug therapy, pressure ulcer management, moderate sedation, CPR and emergency cardiac care, and more Numerous images and charts demonstrate clinical use of IV fluids, interpreting serum electrolyte test results, drug therapy for multisystem disorders, and more Step-by-step direction on performing blood transfusions with a guide to transfusion reactions Top-level instruction in areas including oncology, acute care surgery, drug overdose and poisoning, palliative care and pain management, nutrition, prevention and screening, professional roles and ethics, test-taking strategies Ideal review text for grasping the components required to master the CCRN certification exam Chapter features include: Just the facts - a quick summary of content at the start of each chapter Advice from experts - tips and tricks and key troubleshooting techniques Take charge! - potentially lethal situations and steps to take when they occur Handle with care - identifies concerns and actions related to elderly, pediatric, and bariatric patients Weighing the evidence - highlights research that guides practice Memory joggers - memory aids to help you grasp and remember difficult concepts Certification tips - draws out the most important concepts from each chapter in relation to the CCRN exam Quick quiz - end-of-chapter multiple choice questions, with answers and rationales Practice makes perfect - extensive end-of-book practice exam to test knowledge in preparation for NCLEX and certification About the Clinical Editor David W. Woodruff, PhD, APRN, CNE, CCRN-K, FNAP, is Faculty Development Specialist at the Center for Faculty Excellence at the Chamberlain College of Nursing in Cleveland, Ohio.
Diagnostics, Risk Factors, Treatment and Outcomes of Acute Kidney Injury in a New Paradigm by 
Handbook of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine by
This handbook is an abridged version of the multi-authored Textbook of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Two Volume Set (ISBN 9789350250730). It is a concise, practical guide to the diagnosis and management of pulmonary disorders, and includes the basic principles as well as the recent advances in allied clinical sciences relevant to pulmonology and critical care. The handbook contains over 200 images and illustrations, and covers a range of pulmonary conditions. It also discusses topics related to pulmonary disease, such as pregnancy, smoking, aviation and space travel, climate change and high altitude. The Chief Editor of this book, SK Jindal, was awarded the Outstanding Educator Award by the American Thoracic Society, in 2011.
Innovative Nursing Care: Education and Research by 
Kidney Failure Explained: Everything You Always Wanted to Know about Dialysis and Kidney Transplants but were Afraid to Ask by 
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by
This start-to-finish guide includes over 400 nursing procedures--from basic to advanced. Every entry lists equipment, details each step to perform right at the bedside, and provides rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes. Organized alphabetically for fast, easy access, the 8 th Edition of Lippincott Nursing Procedures addresses what the nurse needs to know and do to perform best-practice procedures concerning infection control, specimen collection, physical assessment, drug administration, IV therapy, and hemodynamic monitoring, as well as procedures related to body systems, such as chest tube insertion, peripheral nerve stimulation, and intra-abdominal pressure monitoring. Thoroughly updated, this edition also includes new evidence-based entries on synchronized cardioversion, gait belt use, intermittent infusion device flushing and locking, isolation garb use, nasal bridal insertion and removal, pneumatic antishock garment application and removal, self-medication administration practice, and weaning a patient from a ventilator. With clear, step-by-step guidelines and hundreds of sidebars, photos, illustrations, and eye-catching alerts (Nursing Alerts, Pediatric, Elder, Hospital-Acquired Condition Alerts), you'll find the level of detail required to provide optimal hands-on patient care. Packed with pre- and postprocedure nursing considerations, warnings about potential complications, troubleshooting tips, and other helpful advice, this go-to reference provides everything you need to do your job confidently and well, whether you are beginning your nursing career, learning a new skill, or brushing up on a familiar technique.
Multidisciplinary Experiences in Renal Replacement Therapy by
Renal replacement therapy (RRT) is used to replace the capacity of blood filtration, which is completely lost in end-stage renal disease (ESRD). This book examines RRT from a multidisciplinary perspective. In nine comprehensive chapters over three sections, the book shows how clinical routines, especially RRT, are increasingly focused on the translational scenario of the health sciences. Chapters discuss health and wellness, hemodialysis, and clinical biomarkers of renal disease.
Nanotechnology-Based Targeted Drug Delivery Systems for Lung Cancer by
Nanotechnology-based Targeted Drug Delivery Systems for Lung Cancer is an indispensable resource that will help pharmaceutical scientists and clinical researchers design and develop novel drug delivery systems and devices for the treatment of lung cancer. As recent breakthroughs in nanomedicine are now making it possible to deliver drugs, genes and therapeutic agents to localized areas of disease to maximize clinical benefit, while also limiting unwanted side effects, this book explores promising approaches for the diagnosis and treatment of lung cancer using cutting-edge nanomedical technologies. Topics discussed include polymeric nanoparticles, solid lipid nanoparticles, liposomes, dendrimers, micelles and nanoemulsions. Provides an overview of an array of nanotechnology-based drug delivery systems Examines the design, synthesis and application of different nanocarriers in drug and gene delivery Provides an in-depth understanding of the design of targeted nanotherapeutics and technologies and its implication in various site-specific cancers
Pain Management for People with Serious Illness in the Context of the Opioid Use Disorder Epidemic by
The United States is facing an opioid use disorder epidemic with opioid overdoses killing 47,000 people in the U.S. in 2017. The past three decades have witnessed a significant increase in the prescribing of opioids for pain, based on the belief that patients were being undertreated for their pain, coupled with a widespread misunderstanding of the addictive properties of opioids. This increase in prescribing of opioids also saw a parallel increase in addiction and overdose. In an effort to address this ongoing epidemic of opioid misuse, policy and regulatory changes have been enacted that have served to limit the availability of prescription opioids for pain management. Overlooked amid the intense focus on efforts to end the opioid use disorder epidemic is the perspective of clinicians who are experiencing a significant amount of daily tension as opioid regulations and restrictions have limited their ability to treat the pain of their patients facing serious illness. Increased public and clinician scrutiny of opioid use has resulted in patients with serious illness facing stigma and other challenges when filling prescriptions for their pain medications or obtaining the prescription in the first place. Thus clinicians, patients, and their families are caught between the responses to the opioid use disorder epidemic and the need to manage pain related to serious illness. The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine sponsored a workshop on November 29, 2018, to examine these unintended consequences of the responses to the opioid use disorder epidemic for patients, families, communities, and clinicians, and to consider potential policy opportunities to address them. This publication summarizes the presentations and discussions from the workshop.
Pediatric and Neonatal Mechanical Ventilation by
1. Basics of Mechanical Ventilation 2. Applied Respiratory Physiology of Mechanical Ventilation 3. Pediatric Intensive Care Unit Algorithms 4. Disease Specific Mechanical Ventilation 5. Neonatal Continuous Positive Airway Pressure and Nasal Intermittent Positive Pressure Ventilation 6. High Flow Nasal Cannula Oxygen Therapy 7. Mechanical Ventilation in a Neonate 8. High-Frequency Ventilation in Neonates 9. Newer Modes of Ventilation 10. Noninvasive Ventilation 11. Respiratory Monitoring on Ventilator 12. Capnography and Capnometry 13. Ventilator Graphics 14. Care of the Patient on Ventilator 15. Weaning from Ventilator 16. Extra Corporeal Membrane Oxygenation (ECMO) 17. How to Choose a Ventilator
Quick Reference to Critical Care by
Need help to recall information about any ICU procedures, disease processes, formulas, lab values? Need to brush up on your ICU skills? New to ICU, or a veteran? Get immediate on-the-job answers, with the popular and fully updated Quick Reference to Critical Care, 6th Edition. This indispensable pocket guide addresses a broad range of critical care patient topics, divided by body system and organized alphabetically within each chapter for quick access. Disease processes, disorders, medications, and titration, tests, lab results, formulas, ICU equipment and treatment strategies and goals are discussed. Each well-illustrated entry explains the latest evidence-based procedures and stabilization practices in a convenient, quick-read outline, making it the ideal quick reference for following proven protocols. Up-level your critical care expertise and confidence, with: NEW and completely updated content that offers current information on cutting edge critical care topics NEW full-color images throughout NEW extensive abbreviations list that explains unfamiliar abbreviations found in progress notes, surgical reports and other medical documents Ideal on-the-spot quick reference - Read-at-a-glance bulleted outline format that helps you grasp ideas quickly and take immediate action More than 350 illustrations - figures, algorithms, photos, drawings and tables that outline core terms and concepts, with easy-to-retain definitions of key terms Chapters for each body system - expert nursing guidance on evaluating and treating the neurologic, cardiovascular, pulmonary, gastrointestinal and urinary, renal, endocrine, hematologic and immune systems Each chapter offers an alpha-organized list of disorders and injuries pertaining to that topic or body system Vital direction for on-the-unit action - includes sections on labs, imaging and miscellaneous items not covered in other sections Expert direction on areas such as body system structures and functions, anatomy, diagnostic tools, surgical methods, signs and symptoms, treatments, monitoring, drug administration, catheters and electrode procedures, waveforms and more The quick-reference format offers: Extensive cross-referencing - leads to related information Tables and charts - vital info on medication, dosing, conversions, compatibilities, and more "Troubleshooting" feature - practical guidance for solving technical problems or complications "Key Point" feature - offers important points on signs and symptoms of a disorder or condition and what to review before or after testing About the Clinical Editor Nancy H. Diepenbrock, RN, CCRN, has worked in healthcare for more than 30 years. Her book Quick Reference to Critical Care was voted as Lippincott's Book of the year in 2008 by the American Journal of Nursing. Zale Lipshy University Hospital nominated for her "Nursing Excellence" and as one of the "Great 100" nurses in Dallas, Texas.
Save My Kid: How Families of Critically Ill Children Cope, Hope, and Negotiate an Unequal Healthcare System by
A frank analysis of the medical and emotional inequalities that pervade the healthcare process for critically ill children Families who have a child with a life-threatening illness face a daunting road ahead of them, one that not only upends their everyday lives, but also strikes at the very heart of parenthood. In "Save My Kid," Amanda M. Gengler traces the emotional difficulties these families navigate as they confront a fundamentally unequal healthcare system in the United States. Gengler reveals the unrecognized, everyday inequalities tangled up in the process of seeking medical care, showing how different families manage their children's critical illnesses. She also uncovers the role that emotional goals--deeply rooted in the culture of illness and medicine--play in medical decision-making, healthcare interactions, and the end of children's lives. A deeply compassionate read, "Save My Kid" is an inside look at inequality in healthcare among those with the most at stake.
Special Considerations in Human Airway Management by
In the past three decades, the field of airway management has made significant progress. Airway management is the backbone of anesthesiology, and we have a responsibility to disseminate the most up-to-date information to our colleagues on the front lines and in all disciplines that deal with airway management. It is essential that clinicians become familiar with the most recent developments in equipment and scientific knowledge to allow the safe practice of airway management. As such, this book provides the latest updates on airway management in particular circumstances and highlights recent advances in evidence-based airway management.
Textbook of Hemodynamic Monitoring and Therapy in the Critically Ill by
SECTION 1: PHYSICS AND PHYSIOLOGY SECTION 2: CARDIAC OUTPUT MEASUREMENT SECTION 3: DOWNSTREAM PARAMETERS AND OTHERS SECTION 4: TYPES OF SHOCK SECTION 5: ASSESSING CARDIAC FUNCTION SECTION 6: SUPPORTING THE CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEM SECTION 7: ULTRASONOGRAPHY AND ECHOCARDIOGRAPHY IN THE CRITICALLY ILL Index
An Update on Airway Management by
In recent years, there have been many advances in the safe management of the patient's airway, a cornerstone of anesthetic practice. An Update on Airway Management brings forth information about new approaches in airway management in many clinical settings. This volume analyzes and explains new preoperative diagnostic methods, algorithms, intubation devices, extubation procedures, novelties in postoperative management in resuscitation and intensive care units, while providing a simple, accessible and applicable reading experience that helps medical practitioners in daily practice. The comprehensive updates presented in this volume make this a useful reference for anesthesiologists, surgeons and EMTs at all levels. Key topics reviewed in this reference include:· New airway devices, clinical management techniques, pharmacology updates (ASA guidelines, DAS algorithms, Vortex approach, etc.), · Induced and awake approaches in different settings· Updates on diagnostic accuracy of perioperative radiology and ultrasonography· Airway management in different settings (nonoperating room locations and emergency rooms)· Airway management in specific patient groups (for example, patients suffering from morbid obesity, obstetric patients and critical patients)· Algorithms and traditional surgical techniques that include emergency cricothyrotomy and tracheostomy in 'Cannot Intubate, Cannot Ventilate' scenarios.· Learning techniques to manage airways correctly, focusing on the combination of knowledge, technical abilities, decision making, communication skills and leadership· Special topics such as, difficult airway management registry, organization, documentation, dissemination of critical information, big data and databases
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management by Subject search terms: Acute renal failure, Airway extubation, Airway (Medicine), Artificial respiration, Critical care medicine, Critically ill. Keyword search terms: Acute kidney injury, Gas-exchange AND medicine, life threatening conditions, medication administration.
