Advances in Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation: Volume 3 by
Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation is an effective tool for managing patients with severe acute cardiogenic shock and/or respiratory failure. With emphasis on teamwork and adherence to guidelines, protocols, and objective tools to assist in patient selection, management, and weaning, outcomes have improved. Nevertheless, every aspect of supporting patients who require extracorporeal support remains a challenge - with many unanswered questions. The goal of this text, as a supplement to the previous editions on this rapidly evolving topic, is to provide the reader with a more in-depth review of some of the ongoing issues in this field. Topics ranging from administrative aspects to developing a program, nursing issues, ethical concerns, and a variety of clinical topics are discussed at length.
Blood Updates on Hemodynamics and on Thalassemia by
This book examines both the fluid and cellular components of blood. After the introductory section, the second section presents updates on various topics in hemodynamics. Chapters in this section discuss anemia, 4D flow MRI in cardiology, cardiovascular complications of robot-assisted laparoscopic pelvic surgery, altered perfusion in multiple sclerosis, and hemodynamic laminar shear stress in oxidative homeostasis. The third section focuses on thalassemia with chapters on diagnosis and screening for thalassemia, high blood pressure in beta-thalassemia, and hepatitis C infection in thalassemia patients.
Cardiac Arrhythmias: Translational Approach from Pathophysiology to Advanced Care by
Cardiac arrhythmias are common triggers of emergency admission to cardiology or high-dependency departments. Most cases are easy to diagnose and treat, while others may present a challenge to healthcare professionals. A translational approach to arrhythmias links molecular and cellular scientific research with clinical diagnostics and therapeutic methods, which may include both pharmacological and non-pharmacologic treatments. This book presents a comprehensive overview of specific cardiac arrhythmias and discusses translational approaches to their diagnosis and treatment.
Cardiac Rhythm Management: Pacing, Ablation, Devices by
Many methods, techniques, and tools have been developed and successfully applied to stabilize and control heart rate. Modern implantable devices (pacemakers, defibrillators, tools for continuous monitoring and resynchronization therapy) and treatment methods, including minimally invasive surgery (ablation, implantation), have been developed for managing cardiac rhythm and avoiding heart failure. In addition to electrical pacing, ablation is an effective minimally invasive surgical method for reducing and blocking arrhythmic phenomena, both as an independent treatment method or in conjunction with pacing therapy. This book discusses modern cardiac rhythm management methods and devices as well as some important medical aspects of their use.
Diagnosis and Management of Fetal Arrhythmias by
Accurate diagnosis of fetal arrhythmias is a challenging and essential skill for obstetric practitioners. Diagnosis and Management of Fetal Arrhythmias is the first and only text devoted exclusively to these difficult-to-diagnose abnormalities, helping you distinguish similar rhythms and provide appropriate patient care. Abundant illustrations and dozens of videos online provide clear visual guidance for ultrasound diagnosis of fetal cardiac rhythms. Offers simple, straightforward methods to diagnose and triage fetal arrhythmias, written with the obstetric practitioner in mind. Highlights the well-organized text with more than 400 full-color images and line drawings. Features an extensive library of more than 50 video case examples included with eBook. Provides expert, focused coverage of a key area for obstetricians and residents, maternal-fetal medicine fellows and attendings, obstetric sonographers, and pediatric cardiologists. Includes access to an additional image-based chapter of arrhythmia case studies in the eBook. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Electrophysiology of Arrhythmias: Practical Images for Diagnosis and Ablation by
This practical guide to the diagnosis and ablation of cardiac arrhythmias in the electrophysiology laboratory is an indispensable resource for electrophysiologists and general cardiologists. It contains an extensive, unmatched collection of intracardiac recordings, fluoroscopic and ICE images, and 3D color-coded electroanatomic maps (EAMs), making it the premier electrophysiology reference for gaining a better understanding of cardiac arrhythmias. Each chapter focuses on a specific arrhythmia and presents a systematic discussion of diagnostic and ablation criteria, followed by an atlas of electrophysiologic recordings. These illustrations demonstrate all key aspects of the arrhythmia: electrophysiologic features, mode of induction and termination, response to diagnostic pacing maneuvers, classic presentations, unusual manifestations, mapping techniques, and target site criteria for ablation. Significantly updated throughout with revised text and references, a new full-color format, as well as an increased number of high-quality illustrations that give a more complete understanding of each arrhythmia. Four new chapters covering Intracardiac Echocardiography, Transeptal Catheterization, Long RP Tachycardias, and Unusual Electrophysiologic Phenomena keep you up to date with new and fascinating areas in the field. Extensive use of ICE provides a clear understanding of the location of specific cardiac structures responsible for arrhythmias. 12-lead EKGs are correlated with corresponding intra-cardiac recordings; intra-cardiac recordings are correlated with corresponding EAMS; and each EAM is coupled with corresponding fluoroscopy, intracardiac echocardiography, computed tomography, and magnetic resonance imaging. Each high-quality figure is systematically formatted and annotated to provide a rich collection of detailed tracings. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Highlights on Hemodynamics by
In the era of functional hemodynamic monitoring and computational modeling, the present book published by IntechOpen® highlights some interesting aspects in the field. Divided into two sections, it presents hemodynamic topics of special interest. Thus, the authors offer the readers not only a ""vigorous"" review of the current literature but also a research direction for further advancement.
Infections and Sepsis Development by
Infection is a common clinical condition that may cause local inflammation but, in some cases, can lead to systemic inflammation, with sepsis and organ dysfunction. Septic shock is a condition of inadequate tissue perfusion and cellular use of oxygen due to the cytotoxic action of bacterial toxins. There is no relationship between the pathological characteristics and the severity of the primary septic outbreak and the development of septic shock, and the time that elapses until the start of the shock is not predictable. Thus, knowledge of the pathophysiology of septic shock is fundamental for treatment. This book presents a comprehensive overview of infectious agents and their therapeutic control, pathological conditions with infective etiology such as diabetic foot osteomyelitis and infections in neurosurgery, and the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management of sepsis.
Josephson's Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology: Techniques and Interpretations by
Widely known as the premier electrophysiology text, Josephson's Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology provides a thorough understanding of the mechanisms of cardiac arrhythmias and the therapeutic interventions used to treat them. Dr. David J. Callans, personally chosen and trained by Dr. Mark Josephson, continues the tradition of excellence of previous editions while bringing the text fully up to date in every area of this complex field. The sixth edition provides highly visual guidance on the electrophysiologic methodology required to define the mechanism and site of origin of arrhythmia - enabling you to choose the safest and most effective therapy for each patient. Focuses on physiologic investigation in the EP lab, using superb illustrations and expert clinical insights, covering proven approaches and methods in this challenging area. Includes extensive updates to content on setting up an EP lab, techniques of intra-cardiac electrical recording, atrial flutter and fibrillation, and catheter and surgical ablation in the therapy of arrhythmia. Addresses new topics such as anatomy and imaging relevant to electrophysiology. Provides comprehensive coverage of mechanisms, clinical implications and limitations of current therapeutic EP interventions including drugs, catheter, and surgical ablations. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Sepsis Management in Resource-Limited Settings by
This book is open access under a CC BY 4.0 license. It constitutes a unique source of knowledge and guidance for all healthcare workers who care for patients with sepsis and septic shock in resource-limited settings. More than eighty percent of the worldwide deaths related to sepsis occur in resource-limited settings in low and middle-income countries. Current international sepsis guidelines cannot be implemented without adaptations towards these settings, mainly because of the difference in local resources and a different spectrum of infectious diseases causing sepsis. This prompted members of the Global Intensive Care working group of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (ESICM) and the Mahidol-Oxford Tropical Medicine Research Unit (MORU, Bangkok, Thailand) - among which the Editors - to develop with an international group of experts a comprehensive set of recommendations for the management of sepsis in resource-limited settings. Recommendations are based on both current scientific evidence and clinical experience of clinicians working in resource-limited settings. The book includes an overview chapter outlining the current challenges and future directions of sepsis management as well as general recommendations on the structure and organization of intensive care services in resource-limited settings. Specific recommendations on the recognition and management of patients with sepsis and septic shock in these settings are grouped into seven chapters. The book provides evidence-based practical guidance for doctors in low and middle income countries treating patients with sepsis, and highlights areas for further research and discussion.
Subject terms to search: Arrhythmia, Hemodynamics, Multiple organ failure, Perfusion (Physiology), Septicemia; Keyword search terms: Arrhythmia AND nursing, Hemodynamics AND nursing, multisystem organ failure, Perfusion AND nursing, Sepsis, Sepsis AND nursing, Shock AND Nursing.
