Biochemistry in Nutrition by
Biochemistry in Nutrition examines various aspects of biochemistry including an extensive overview of Components of Nutritional Biochemistry and related terms. It includes definitions of nutritional deficiencies, nutritional knowledge, practice, and dietary habits among school children and adolescents. Provides the reader with insights into the Aging, Nutritional Status and Health, so as to understand the Nutritional Knowledge, Practice, and Dietary Habits among school Children and Adolescents. The book also discusses research and clinical implications of religion, spirituality, and health.
Clinical Nutrition: Recent Advances and Remaining Challenges by
Nutrition, often along with physical activity, is by now acknowledged as a cornerstone in the prevention and even more so the treatment of many diseases. Indeed, food and nutritional intake nowadays are often thought to be the main source of wellbeing sometimes over- but also underestimating the impact of nutritional intake, dietary pattern and food-derived natural compounds in their impact on human health. In this Special Issue entitled `Clinical Nutrition: Recent Advances and Remaining Challenges´ a broad overview and summary on recent findings in various fields of clinical nutrition with special focus on chronic and degenerative diseases like metabolic diseases, cancers, neurodegenerative diseases, inflammatory bowel diseases, sarcopenia but also malnutrition in elderly, infants and children is provided. Nutrition, often along with physical activity, is by now acknowledged as a cornerstone in the prevention and even more so the treatment of many diseases. Indeed, food and nutritional intake nowadays are often thought to be the main source of wellbeing sometimes over- but also underestimating the impact of nutritional intake, dietary pattern and food-derived natural compounds in their impact on human health. In this Special Issue entitled `Clinical Nutrition: Recent Advances and Remaining Challenges´ a broad overview and summary on recent findings in various fields of clinical nutrition with special focus on chronic and degenerative diseases like metabolic diseases, cancers, neurodegenerative diseases, inflammatory bowel diseases, sarcopenia but also malnutrition in elderly, infants and children is provided.
Food Lipids: Chemistry, Nutrition and Biotechnology by
This book will discuss the major lipid types in food, including a chemical, nutritional and biotechnological perspective. Recommendations by many academic and governmental bodies are proposed that daily intakes on long chain omega-3 fatty acids be increased as a step in reducing certain chronic diseases. The book also discusses the importance and chemistry of lipids in the human diet and includes a comparison of dietary recommendations for lipid intake. This is a valuable reference for researchers and graduate students in food chemistry and nutrition.
Nutrition and Disease: Prevention and Therapy by
Nutrition is an essential part of life. It affects our health and can be applied in the prevention and treatment of disease. Substantial interventions in dietary intake and lifestyle changes have been demonstrated to cause significant decrease in disease risk in in the general population and also in patients suffering from various diseases. Traditional plant-based diets and medicines have received much attention as an alternative to modern science-based drugs, while recent technology development in bioinformatics, genomics, and proteomics has provided a better understanding of plant-based drug
Nutrition in Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD) by
The purpose of this Special Issue "Nutrition in Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD)" is to increase knowledge regarding the role of dietary composition and effects in IBD, describing the prevalence of malnutrition in IBD and the effect on clinical outcomes, discussing methods of nutrition risk screening and assessment in IBD, and reviewing mechanisms through which diet and dietary components may affect disease severity. The articles focus on the following areas: Dietary Composition/Therapy Interventions in Ulcerative Colitis and effects on outcomes; Dietary Composition/Therapy Interventions in Crohn's Disease and effects on outcomes; Nutrition Risk Screening and Assessment in IBD; Mechanisms of Diet in the pathogenesis of IBD.
Pediatric Nutrition by
This evidence-based manual reflects the current policies and practices recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Nutrition. New in the eighth edition: New chapter on Pediatric Global Nutrition Other chapters have been completely reorganized, based on new information from publications in nutritional science and new evidence based guidelines recommending changes in practice. New policy statement on sugary drinks, and new clinical reports on food insecurity, fruit juice consumption, non-nutritive sweeteners, fish and shellfish consumption, and use of donor human milk for the preterm infant Updated growth charts for preterm infants after birth including BMI.
Present Knowledge in NutritionVolume 1: Basic Nutrition and Metabolism by
Present Knowledge in Nutrition: Basic Nutrition and Metabolism, Eleventh Edition, provides an accessible, referenced source on the most current information in the broad field of nutrition. Now broken into two volumes and updated to reflect scientific advancements since the publication of the last edition, the book includes expanded coverage on basic nutrition, metabolism and clinical and applied topics. This volume provides coverage of macronutrients, vitamins, minerals and other dietary components and concludes with new approaches in nutrition science that apply to many, if not all, of the nutrients and dietary components presented throughout the reference. Advanced undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate students in nutrition, public health, medicine and related fields will find this resource useful. In addition, professionals in academia and medicine, including clinicians, dietitians, physicians, health professionals, academics and industrial and government researchers will find the content extremely useful. The book was produced in cooperation with the International Life Sciences Institute (https://ilsi.org/).
Present Knowledge in NutritionVolume 2: Clinical and Applied Topics in Nutrition by
Present Knowledge in Nutrition, Eleventh Edition, provides an accessible, highly readable, referenced, source of the most current, reliable, and comprehensive information in the broad field of nutrition. Now broken into two, separate volumes, and updated to reflect scientific advancements since the publication of its tenth edition, Present Knowledge in Nutrition, Eleventh Edition includes expanded coverage on the topics of basic nutrition and metabolism and clinical and applied topics in nutrition. This volume, Present Knowledge in Nutrition: Clinical and Applied Topics in Nutrition, addresses life stage nutrition and maintaining health, nutrition monitoring, measurement, and regulation, and important topics in clinical nutrition. Authored by an international group of subject-matter experts, with the guidance of four editors with complementary areas of expertise, Present Knowledge in Nutrition, Eleventh Edition will continue to be a go-to resource for advanced undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate students in nutrition, public health, medicine, and related fields; professionals in academia and medicine, including clinicians, dietitians, physicians, and other health professionals; and academic, industrial and government researchers, including those in nutrition and public health. The book was produced in cooperation with the International Life Sciences Institute (https://ilsi.org/). Provides an accessible source of the most current, reliable and comprehensive information in the broad field of nutrition Features new chapters on topics of emerging importance, including the microbiome, eating disorders, nutrition in extreme environments, and the role of nutrition and cognition in mental status Covers topics of clinical relevance, including the role of nutrition in cancer support, ICU nutrition, supporting patients with burns, and wasting, deconditioning and hypermetabolic conditions
Subjects to search: Enteral feeding, Nutrition, Parenteral feeding; Keyword searching: nutrition AND formulas.
