| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
Antioxidants and Stem Cells for Coronary Heart Disease by
This book covers two known controversial topics - antioxidants and stem cells as therapies to treat coronary heart disease. Aiming to provide college-educated but not scientifically trained readership with a wealth of information about these two cutting-edge technologies, Antioxidants and Stem Cells for Coronary Heart Disease is written with minimum scientific terminology. Basic science studies and clinical trials regarding stem cells and antioxidants are discussed and peppered with anecdotes to make them understandable and entertaining to the laymen.
Antiplatelet Therapy in Cardiovascular Disease by
Edited by a team of the world's leading interventional cardiologists and educators, this new book is created with an eye to giving the reader a solid, practical, and clinically focused understanding of this important class of drugs, from basic science to a clear-headed discussion of complex topics such as combination therapies, drug-to-drug interactions, and resistance to antiplatelet agents. This important new book: Begins with a concise but thorough discussion of platelet biology and pathophysiology so that readers understand how antiplatelet agents work and why they produce such a varied range of complications, from minor GI upset to potentially life-threatening conditions such as neutropenia, a critical shortage of white blood cells. Thoroughly covers platelet function testing, including novel techniques. Clarifies current best practice regarding the use of antiplatelet agents in both chronic and acute cardiovascular disease. Reviews all types of antiplatelet agents - from aspirin to recently approved drugs - including indications, clinical outcomes, and side effects. Written by an international "who's who" of experts in the field, Antiplatelet Therapy in Cardiovascular Disease also includes an entire section covering the use of antiplatelet drugs in PCIs, including percutaneous valve repair, which makes this text particularly essential to interventional cardiologists.
The Arrhythmic Patient in the Emergency Department by
This book is a practical guide to the differential diagnosis and treatment of patients presenting in the Emergency Department with syncope or arrhythmias, including bradyarrhythmias, atrial fibrillation, narrow and wide QRS tachycardias. In addition, clear advice is provided on the management of patients with cardiac devices and possible dysfunction, electrical storm, or a requirement for urgent surgery. For each topic, a literature review of epidemiology, physiopathology, differential diagnosis, and treatment is conducted. Furthermore, practical suggestions are offered for short-term management, e.g., regarding the decision on when and where to hospitalize the patient; these proposals do not replace but rather summarize or integrate the current guidelines. The book is designed both for emergency physicians and cardiologists, who will be the first to evaluate and treat patients with arrhythmias or potentially arrhythmic problems in the emergency setting. It will also be a useful textbook for students and residents in Cardiology and Emergency Medicine.
Cardiac Arrhythmias: Translational Approach from Pathophysiology to Advanced Care by 
Cardiac Rhythm Management: Pacing, Ablation, Devices by
Many methods, techniques, and tools have been developed and successfully applied to stabilize and control heart rate. Modern implantable devices (pacemakers, defibrillators, tools for continuous monitoring and resynchronization therapy) and treatment methods, including minimally invasive surgery (ablation, implantation), have been developed for managing cardiac rhythm and avoiding heart failure. In addition to electrical pacing, ablation is an effective minimally invasive surgical method for reducing and blocking arrhythmic phenomena, both as an independent treatment method or in conjunction with pacing therapy. This book discusses modern cardiac rhythm management methods and devices as well as some important medical aspects of their use.
Cardiovascular Pharmacotherapy: A Point-of-Care Guide by
Every year, more Americans fall victim to cardiovascular disease, and more drug therapies become available. Which drugs are right for your patients? Where will you turn for guidance when creating a therapeutic plan? Optimize care and find life-saving solutions quickly with Cardiovascular Pharmacotherapy: A Point-of-Care Guide, by Michael Crouch. This concise reference is designed with the busy practitioner, resident, and student in mind. It provides a quick way to access necessary clinical and therapeutic information that has the potential to improve the lives of patients suffering from cardiovascular disease. Inside you'll find: Quick reference elements such as tables and flow figures Assessments of pharmacological and non-pharmacological considerations Selected guideline statements from leading organizations Evidence-based treatment algorithms Recent clinical controversies In addition, the book features a point of care drug table with essential details for clinic or bedside reference, such as monitoring parameters, known interactions, and common advrese drug events. As a free bonus, you'll receive access to a website updated by the book's editor, which features a quarterly newsletter, printable drug monographs, and even Shockwave presentations to help you stay up-to-date on all the guidelines, news, and drug classifications.
Clinical Arrhythmology by
The second edition of Clinical Arrhythmology provides a fresh, clear, and authoritative overview that will guide readers from a solid understanding of the mechanisms behind cardiac arrhythmias -- which is fundamental to their identification -- to diagnosis via electrocardiograms and other tools, to specific management options for each of the arrhythmias that cardiologists and other clinicians will encounter in clinical practice. Organized in a clear, intuitive manner; introducing the reader to an understanding of the anatomical and electrophysiological bases of arrhythmias, then to a comprehensive review of how to diagnose the full range of rhythmic abnormalities, and then to a discussion of specific clinical syndromes in which arrhythmias play a part Highly illustrated chapters ensure key concepts are simpler to understand Detailed appendices provide quick reference values for diagnostic and therapeutic techniques, and pharmacotherapeutic agents, and Recommendations
Compact Clinical Guide to Arrhythmia and 12-Lead EKG Interpretation by
Translates difficult concepts into easy-to-master competencies This is a user-friendly, step-by-step approach to the challenging clinical topic of Arrhythmia and 12-lead EKG interpretation in the Critical Care andAcute Care settings. Thoroughly researched and authored by nurses for nurses, the guide provides detailed and comprehensive concepts of Arrhythmia and12-lead EKG interpretation with an emphasis on the nurse's role. Written by nurses with extensive experience in mentoring novice and experienced nurses asthey transition into the Critical Care arena, the book delivers the depth and breadth of knowledge required for mastery of this aspect of care forcritically ill patients throughout the lifespan. Distinguished by its translation of difficult concepts into easy-to-master competencies, the guide' clear, logical format is peppered with evidence-based information and helpful practical tips throughout. Such features as bulleted points aid in understanding complex concepts, and learning objectives, keypoints summarized for quick reference to reinforce knowledge. Additionally, the book includes learning activities to evaluate understanding of content, plentiful illustrative case studies, clinical pearls, references, and end-of-chapter review questions. Unique electronic aids that include Cue Cards and Systematic Approach summaries to further add to the guide's value. The guide will be a valuable learning tool for RNs preparing for certification incritical care, experienced critical care nurses and a timesaving teaching aid for critical care clinical educators. Key Features: Delivers the necessary depth and breadth to truly understand and master Arrhythmia and 12-Lead EKG InterpretationTranslates complex information into easy-to-master competencies ' Written by nurses for nurses with an emphasis on the nurse's rolePresents a unique electronic component, bulleted points, key summaries, clinical pearls, case studies, and review questionsRepresents a timesaving teaching aid and learning tool
Coronary Artery Disease: Characteristics, Management and Long-term Outcomes by 
Coronary Artery Disease: From Biology to Clinical Practice by
Coronary Artery Disease: From Biology to Clinical Practice links the most important basic concepts of atherosclerosis pathophysiology to treatment management of coronary artery disease. Comprehensive coverage starts with the basic pathophysiologic mechanisms of the disease, including molecular and genetic mechanisms, cells interaction and inflammation. In addition, sections on novel anti-atherosclerotic therapies and a thorough understanding of the recent trends in clinical management round out this comprehensive tome that is ideal for practitioners and researchers. By summarizing this novel knowledge and changes in diagnostic algorithm and treatment options, this is the perfect reference for cardiology researchers who want a volume with the most up-to-date experimental trends in the field of atherosclerosis, for cardiologists and physicians who manage patients with atherosclerotic risk factors and established coronary artery disease, and medical students who want to learn the basic concepts of atherosclerosis.
Coronary Artery Disease Assessment, Surgery, Prevention by
Coronary artery atherosclerosis is the most common cardiac pathology, which is the primary cause of cardiac mortality. Coronary artery stenosis usually involves the proximal portion of the larger epicardial coronary arteries, but diffuse coronary artery disease is also not rare. Most of the patients with/without several comorbidities have asymptomatic atherosclerotic lesions in the coronary territory, and hence early assessment of coronary artery pathology is of utmost importance. Since early surgical intervention is superior to percutaneous interventions, coronary artery bypass grafting is the first choice for the treatment of coronary artery disease. Coronary revascularization can be performed with different approaches according to the patients risk factors. Preventive treatment of coronary artery disease should be the basic strategy for a healthy system.
Coronary Heart Disease: From Diagnosis to Treatment by
Coronary heart disease affects 12 million Americans. Though it is one of the most serious diseases in the nation, there are many ways to understand and treat it. Author Barry Cohen, M.D., a cardiologist who has treated thousands of patients, addresses all of the most pressing questions, including: What causes coronary heart disease? How does cholesterol affect your heart? What medical tests will you need? What are the newest diagnostic tests available? What medications are prescribed? What is involved with an angioplasty and bypass surgery? What lifestyles changes will improve your health? What are the warning signs of a heart attack? Stay healthier by becoming an informed patient.
Diagnosis and Management of Fetal Arrhythmias by
Accurate diagnosis of fetal arrhythmias is a challenging and essential skill for obstetric practitioners. Diagnosis and Management of Fetal Arrhythmias is the first and only text devoted exclusively to these difficult-to-diagnose abnormalities, helping you distinguish similar rhythms and provide appropriate patient care. Abundant illustrations and dozens of videos online provide clear visual guidance for ultrasound diagnosis of fetal cardiac rhythms. Offers simple, straightforward methods to diagnose and triage fetal arrhythmias, written with the obstetric practitioner in mind. Highlights the well-organized text with more than 400 full-color images and line drawings. Features an extensive library of more than 50 video case examples included with eBook. Provides expert, focused coverage of a key area for obstetricians and residents, maternal-fetal medicine fellows and attendings, obstetric sonographers, and pediatric cardiologists. Includes access to an additional image-based chapter of arrhythmia case studies in the eBook. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Dyslipidemia: a Clinical Approach by
An ideal reference for practitioners and health care professionals who care for patients with abnormal lipids, Dyslipidemia: A Clinical Approach provides clinically relevant, user-friendly information on all aspects of this rapidly evolving field. In addition to concise yet in-depth coverage of key topics, chapters include background information, evidence from the literature, and author commentary on conflicting or debated recommendations. Written by respected leaders in cardiology, nutrition, pharmacology, endocrinology and diabetes, pediatrics, nursing, obstetrics and gynecology, and lipidology, this one-stop reference is an excellent resource for helping patients lower the burden of atherosclerotic lipid particles and reduce the risk for cardiovascular disease. Discusses new drugs, new guidelines, new markers, targets, and goals, and new risk stratification schemes. Features step-by-step chapters on diagnosis and management, as well as lifestyle modification, lipid medications, familial hypercholesterolemia, management plans for children and adolescents, special populations, and much more. Uses an easy-to-read outline format and contains key points. Includes a handy list of acronyms, as well as tables and algorithms that summarize information for quick reference.   Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s ), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook , powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs , supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
ECG Workout: Exercises in Arrhythmia Interpretation by
Grasp the electrocardiography basics and identify arrhythmias accurately, with the freshly updated ECG Workout, 7th Edition . Fully addressing the most common arrhythmias, this clearly worded text will take you step-by-step through expert ECG tracing interpretation methods, including differentiating among rhythm groups, equipment use, and management protocols. This is the go-to ECG guide for both student training and professional review--perfect for physicians, nurses, medical and nursing students, paramedics, emergency medical technicians, telemetry technicians, and related practitioners. Get a strong grounding in accurate ECG readings with . . . NEW pull-out arrhythmia summary cards help you interpret end-of-chapter practice strips NEW and updated advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) guidelines incorporated in each arrhythmia chapter NEW and updated figures, boxes, tables, and additional practice strips Updated coverage of all ECG concepts and skills, including: Illustrated anatomy and physiology of the heart Electrical basis of electrocardiology Arrhythmia chapters: sinus, atrial, junctional and AV blocks, ventricular and bundle-branch block rhythms--examples, causes, clinical treatments, and practice strips Step-by-step direction on interpreting rhythm strips Components of the ECG tracing: waveforms, intervals, segments, complexes, and waveform identification Discussion of cardiac monitors, lead systems, lead placement, ECG artifacts, and troubleshooting monitor problems Methods for precise rate calculation Discussion of cardiac pacemakers: types, indications, function, pacemaker terminology, malfunctions, and pacemaker analysis, with practice tracings ECG conversion table ensures precise heart rate calculation with plastic pocket version inside back cover Skillbuilder practice strips --more than 600 life-size ECG tracings: End-of-chapter strips from actual patients, with 3-second indicators for rapid-rate calculation, and answers at back of book A mix of arrhythmias to help you distinguish among types Posttest with mix of more than 100 waveform rhythm strips, for student testing or self-evaluation
Emerging Technologies for Heart Diseases: Volume 1: Treatments for Heart Failure and Valvular Disorders by
The increasing pace of advances in cardiology throughout the last few decades has fundamentally altered the natural course of heart patients. In the last few years, available therapies have been revolutionized completely by new transcatheter therapeutic approaches, novel ventricular assist devices, and new drugs. Also, molecular biology and genetics have a rapidly growing impact on cardiovascular diseases, enabling the field of regenerative medicine to become increasingly closer to routine clinical implementation. Emerging Technologies for Heart Diseases was conceived to cover the recent extensive literature on current and novel therapeutic options for cardiac patients. The first volume is dedicated to heart failure and valvular disorders, and the second covers myocardial ischemia and arrhythmias. The clinical topic is addressed in several chapters divided according to the therapeutic approach (mechanical or electrical device-based, or cell and gene-based). Each of the 46 chapters focuses on clinically available solutions, new therapies currently under evaluation in clinical trials, promising preclinical technologies, and emerging concepts and innovations that have not yet been tested in a preclinical model. Also, the book discusses future challenges and opportunities for clinical implementation. Lessons learned from abandoned experimental practices are also covered, giving the readers the widest possible perspective of current therapeutic dilemmas. Overall, this textbook was designed for physicians who want to stay up-to-date with current therapies and those of the future, for biomedical companies, and for those who wish to broaden their knowledge of new cardiovascular therapeutic options.
Endocrine Hypertension from Basic Science to Clinical Practice by
Endocrine Hypertension: From Basic Science to Clinical Practice bridges the gap between scientists and practicing clinicians by providing a comprehensive overview on all forms of endocrine hypertension, covering epidemiological aspects, pathophysiology, clinical presentation, laboratory evaluation and practical management aspects of endocrine hypertension. This book is a great resource for endocrinologists, physicians, general practitioners and researchers who are eager to understand the complex facets of endocrine hypertension. Endocrine hypertension is a term used to describe a group of endocrine pathologies that cause an elevation of blood pressure, estimated to account for up to 10% of all hypertension cases. Although common, this clinical condition is often overlooked. Patients with this condition are at risk of late diagnosis, delayed treatment and detrimental health consequences.
Frontiers in Cardiovascular Drug Discovery: Volume 4 by
Frontiers in Cardiovascular Drug Discovery is an eBook series devoted to publishing the latest advances in cardiovascular drug design and discovery. Each volume brings reviews on the biochemistry, in-silico drug design, combinatorial chemistry, high-throughput screening, drug targets, recent important patents, and structure-activity relationships of molecules used in cardiovascular therapy. The eBook series should prove to be of great interest to all medicinal chemists and pharmaceutical scientists involved in preclinical and clinical research in cardiology. The fourth volume of the series covers the following topics: -Aspirin administration -Adenosine receptor targeting for cardiovascular therapy -Drug treatment of patients with coronary stenting -Immunosuppressive drugs in heart transplantation -PCSK9 inhibition for lowering LDL-C levels.
Frontiers in Cardiovascular Drug Discovery: Volume 5 by
Frontiers in Cardiovascular Drug Discovery is a book series devoted to publishing the latest advances in cardiovascular drug design and discovery. Each volume brings reviews on the biochemistry, in-silico drug design, combinatorial chemistry, high-throughput screening, drug targets, recent important patents, and structure-activity relationships of molecules used in cardiovascular therapy. The book series should prove to be of great interest to all medicinal chemists and pharmaceutical scientists involved in preclinical and clinical research in cardiology. The fifth volume of the series covers the following topics: -The Lipid Hypothesis: From Resins to Proprotein Convertase Subtilisin/Kexin Type-9 Inhibitors-The Role of SGLT2i in the Prevention and Treatment of Heart Failure-Natural Products and Semi-Synthetic Compounds as Antithrombotics: A Review of the Last Ten Years (2009-2019)-Transient Receptor Potential Channels: Therapeutic Targets for Cardiometabolic Diseases?-Treatment of Raynaud's Phenomenon-Traditional Medicine Based Cardiovascular Therapeutics-Cardiovascular Disease: A Systems Biology Approach
Genomic and Precision Medicine: Cardiovascular Disease by
Genomic and Precision Medicine: Cardiovascular Disease, Third Edition, focuses on the applications of genome discovery on the broad spectrum of cardiovascular disorders. Each chapter is organized for the application of genomics and personalized medicine tools and technologies to a) Risk Assessment and Susceptibility, b) Diagnosis and Prognosis, c) Pharmacogenomics and Precision Therapeutics, and d) Emerging and Future Opportunities in the field.
Hypertension by
The management of hypertension varies considerably from clinician to clinician. This pocketbook is a concise and evidence-based summary of current understanding and practice, including the most up-to-date guidance from national bodies and their recommendations for hypertension care.An essential tool for everyday use in managing hypertension, this book covers the different phases of investigation and definitive management, and aids clinical decision-making by collating all the relevant information and guidance in one easily accessible place.
Hypertension: An Update by
This book, "Hypertension - An Update", covers diverse topics, such as an overview of mechanisms, MRI as a diagnostic tool, the role of stem cells in elucidating molecular mechanisms and tools for hypertension research and therapeutics. It also covers epidemiology and the role of Vitamin D in hypertension. These varied subjects will be of keen interest to clinicians and research scientists.
Hypertension and Comorbidities by
This guide is structured to assist physicians in the management of those hypertensive patients who present with specific comorbidities, such as diabetes, systolic dysfunction, obesity, renal disease, or previous cardiac events, often associated with hypertension. The clinical cases contained in this book have been selected to provide a paradigmatic set of scenarios frequently encountered in daily clinical practice, and will serve as an easy-to-access tool in applying general guidelines to individual patients, particularly in the choice of the most appropriate antihypertensive therapy. Treatment of hypertension with associated clinical conditions require specific therapies and combinations of drugs, which are necessarily different from one comorbidity to another. By discussing exemplary cases that may better represent clinical practice in a "real world" setting, and analyzing step by step the diagnostic and therapeutic process, this book will assist cardiologists and physicians in selecting the diagnostic tools and forms of treatment best suited to the individual patient and the particular cardiovascular risk profile.
The Impact of Nutrition and Statins on Cardiovascular Diseases by
The Impact of Nutrition and Statins on Cardiovascular Diseases presents a summary of the background information and published research on the role of food in inhibiting the development of cardiovascular diseases. Written from a food science, food chemistry, and food biochemistry perspective, the book provides insights on the origin of cardiovascular diseases, an analysis of statin therapy, their side effects, and the role of dietary intervention as an alternative solution to preventing cardiovascular diseases. It focuses on the efficacy of nutrition and statins to address inflammation and inhibit the onset of disease, while also providing nutrition information and suggested dietary interventions.
Kaplan's Clinical Hypertension by
Selected as a 2023 Doody's Core Title! Accessible, evidence-based guidance on managing patients with hypertension. Kaplan's Clinical Hypertension provides you with current, practical, evidence-based recommendations for preventing and treating all forms of hypertension. Integrating the latest basic science findings and clinical trial data, this 11th Edition enables you to put the latest approaches to work in managing your patients. Comprehensive updates throughout place the most recent management recommendations at your fingertips. Updated coverage brings you up to speed on the pathogenesis of hypertension and many other evolving areas. Abundant algorithms and flow charts facilitate clinical decision-making. An accessible, straightforward writing style and a user-friendly two-color design makes it easy to find and apply the information you need. Full- text online access includes links to Pub Med for many key bibliographical references. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search feature that pulls results from your notes, everything in the book, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Ability to highlight text for easier reference of key content Ability to share notes with friends and colleagues Ability to save your favorite content for future, quick reference
New Targets for the Treatment of Hypertension and Associated Diseases by
New Targets for the Treatment of Hypertension and Associated Diseases, Volume 94 in the Advances in Pharmacology serial, highlights new advances in the field, with this new volume presenting interesting chapters on Cytochrome P450, 20-hydroxyeicosatetraenoic acid and GPR75 pathway in hypertension, Treatment of hypertension with soluble epoxide hydrolase inhibitors, Effects of allosteric modifiers of adenosine receptors in the heart, Orally active epoxyeicosatrienoic acid analogs in hypertension and renal injury, Drugs affecting the nitric oxide- cyclic GMP pathway in hypertension, Relaxin-2 and Serelaxin in renal and cardiac dysfunction in hypertension, and more.
Novel Strategies and Approaches in Hypertension Therapy by
Hypertension has become a major public health problem in the last few decades. High blood pressure is a serious risk factor for premature cardiovascular disease and end organ damage including left-ventricular hypertrophy and congestive heart failure, which in-turn increases the risk of cardiovascular morbidity and mortality. While studies of hypertension have been performed worldwide in a variety of epidemiological settings such as diabetes, renal function, obesity and thyroid disorders, there is a need to identify appropriate treatment strategies Novel Strategies and Approaches in Hypertension introduces the reader to different aspects of hypertension treatment (environmental and occupational factors and different clinical settings that can trigger the disease). The book also covers special topics related to the use of new diagnostic biomarkers for hypertension patients, as well as endocrine and nutrition focused approaches to treat the condition. This reference book will be useful for medical professionals involved in the management and care of patients affected with hypertension.
Resistant Hypertension by
This book is designed to assist physicians in the everyday management of hypertensive patients, with a particular focus on difficult-to-treat and resistant hypertension. The selected clinical cases are representative of the patients who are seen in the "real world", rather than rare clinical cases, and provide examples of management according to current international guidelines. The scenarios considered include not only cases in which arterial hypertension is truly resistant but also instances of pseudo-resistant hypertension, including cases in which resistance is related to comorbidities, concomitant treatments, or the use of drugs. The ultimate objective is to provide paradigmatic examples of evidence-based approaches to difficult-to-treat patients that will help physicians to select the most appropriate diagnostic tools and evidence-based treatment strategy for each individual patient.
Translational Research in Coronary Artery Disease: Pathophysiology to Treatment by
Translational Research in Coronary Artery Disease: Pathophysiology to Treatment covers the entire spectrum of basic science, genetics, drug treatment, and interventions for coronary artery disease. With an emphasis on vascular biology, this reference fully explains the fundamental aspects of coronary artery disease pathophysiology. Included are important topics, including endothelial function, endothelial injury, and endothelial repair in various disease states, vascular smooth muscle function and its interaction with the endothelium, and the interrelationship between inflammatory biology and vascular function. By providing this synthesis of current research literature, this reference allows the cardiovascular scientist and practitioner to access everything they need from one source.
Subject Headings: Arrhythmia, Cardiovascular agents, Cardiovascular system, Heart—Diseases—Treatment, Heart—Pathophysiology, Perfusion (Physiology), Pharmacokinetics
Keyword Searches: Dyslipidemia
Please see the Cardiovascular Perfusion class guide here:
https://libguides.ltu.edu/c.php?g=1258636