Accurate Results in the Clinical Laboratory: A Guide to Error Detection and Correction by
Accurate Results in the Clinical Laboratory: A Guide to Error Detection and Correction, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive review of the factors leading to errors in all areas of clinical laboratory testing. This trusted guide addresses interference issues in all laboratory tests, including patient epigenetics, processes of specimen collection, enzymes and biomarkers. Clinicians and laboratory scientists will both benefit from this reference that applies discussions to both accurate specimen analysis and optimal patient care. Hence, this is the perfect reference for clinical laboratorians, from trainees, to experienced pathologists and directors.
Alternatives to Blood Transfusion in Transfusion Medicine by
Meeting the needs of patients while minimizing blood transfusions requires special expertise, precise monitoring and innovative techniques. This cutting-edge resource covers all the important clinical aspects of transfusion medicine in diverse clinical settings, with a special emphasis on alternatives to transfusion. Edited by a multidisciplinary team consisting of a transfusion specialist, an anesthesiologist and an intensive care specialist this book is endorsed by the Network for Advancement of Transfusion Alternatives. The contributors review the appropriate use of fluids and of blood products, and describe the latest treatment options available to decrease the need for allogeneic blood products including: Argon beam Cell saver Harmonic scalpel Normovolemic haemodilution Synthetic erythropoietin Antifibrinolytics Recombinant factor VIIa Advanced monitoring of hemostasis Intravenous iron The new edition is a key reference source for all those involved in the practice of blood management and conservation.
Basic Skills in Interpreting Laboratory Data by
The most popular teaching text on laboratory data for pharmacy students and go-to reference for pharmacists in therapeutic practice. Now in its seventh edition, Basic Skills has been expanded and updated to cover new drugs, research, and therapeutic approaches. Written by 40 established clinicians and pharmacy faculty members and reviewed by additional experts, it is designed to make all information clear and quickly accessible. Minicases provide clinical scenarios for using tests and managing patients, and quickview charts throughout offer clear interpretations of lab results. The indispensable guide to interpreting clinical laboratory data. New to this edition: A new chapter on nutrition support Significant updates to all chapters Expanded chapters on Pharmacogenomics and Cardiology Additional section on Infectious Diseases covering Bacteria, and Fungi, Viruses and Mycobacteria Learning points conclude each chapter and highlight key concepts about the laboratory tests 25 chapters divided into three sections: Basic Concepts and Test Interpretations; System Disorders and Diagnostic Tests; and Tests for Special Populations Complex but critical skills are required for clinical pharmacists to effectively use lab data in screening for or diagnosing diseases and in monitoring the safety and effectiveness of treatment. As the only book of its kind specifically written for pharmacists by pharmacists, Basic Skills makes it easier to make accurate and critical decisions based on laboratory data.
Chemistry and Biochemistry of Oxygen Therapeutics: From Transfusion to Artificial Blood by
Human blood performs many important functions including defence against disease and transport of biomolecules, but perhaps the most important is to carry oxygen - the fundamental biochemical fuel - and other blood gases around the cardiovascular system. Traditional therapies for the impairment of this function, or the rapid replacement of lost blood, have centred around blood transfusions. However scientists are developing chemicals (oxygen therapeutics, or "blood substitutes") which have the same oxygen-carrying capability as blood and can be used as replacements for blood transfusion or to treat diseases where oxygen transport is impaired. Chemistry and Biochemistry of Oxygen Therapeutics: From Transfusion to Artificial Blood links the underlying biochemical principles of the field with chemical and biotechnological innovations and pre-clinical development. The first part of the book deals with the chemistry, biochemistry, physiology and toxicity of oxygen, including chapters on hemoglobin reactivity and regulation; the major cellular and physiological control mechanisms of blood flow and oxygen delivery; hemoglobin and myoglobin; nitric oxide and oxygen; and the role of reactive oxygen and nitrogen species in ischemia/reperfusion Injury. The book then discusses medical needs for oxygen supply, including acute traumatic hemorrhage and anemia; diagnosis and treatment of haemorrhages in "non-surgical" patients; management of perioperative bleeding; oxygenation in the preterm neonate; ischemia normobaric and hyperbaric oxygen therapy for ischemic stroke and other neurological conditions; and transfusion therapy in Β thalassemia and sickle cell disease Finally "old"and new strategies for oxygen supply are described. These include the political, administrative and logistic issues surrounding transfusion; conscientious objection in patient blood management; causes and consequences of red cell incompatibility; biochemistry of red blood cell stora≥ proteomic investigations on stored red blood cells; red blood cells from stem cells; the universal red blood cell; allosteric effectors of hemoglobin; hemoglobin-based oxygen carriers; oxygen delivery by natural and artificial oxygen carriers; cross-linked and polymerized hemoglobins as potential blood substitutes; design of novel pegylated hemoglobins as oxygen carrying plasma expanders; hb octamers by introduction of surface cysteines; hemoglobin-vesicles as a cellular type hemoglobin-based oxygen carrier; animal models and oxidative biomarkers to evaluate pre-clinical safety of extracellular hemoglobins; and academia - industry collaboration in blood substitute development. Chemistry and Biochemistry of Oxygen Therapeutics: From Transfusion to Artificial Blood is an essential reference for clinicians, haematologists, medicinal chemists, biochemists, molecular biologists, biotechnologists and blood substitute researchers.
Clinical Laboratory Methods: Atlas of Commonly Performed Tests by
Master 100 of the most commonly performed lab tests Clinical Laboratory Methods covers the 100 tests most often done in clinical labs. The description of each method covers the basic concept of the assay; clinically important information; the expense of the test (based cost of the reagents, supplies, and labor); the complexity of the test; and whether each method is manual, semi-automated, or highly automated, and each method includes a flowchart. The author avoids getting bogged down in unimportant details, focusing on only what you need to know to master these important processes. Features *Each testing-method description includes a flowchart *Practice tests enable you to quiz yourself on what you have learned *The expense of each method is described as low, moderate, or high
Infusion Therapy Made Incredibly Easy by
Get a thorough grounding in delivering safe, effective infusion therapy with the friendly support and technical guidance of the newly updated Infusion Therapy Made Incredibly Easy! ®, 5th edition. This complete how-to on administering and monitoring different IV medications delivers clear direction on vital concepts, terms, and techniques--backed by numerous illustrations, confidence-building humor, and expert insights. Offering clear, concise direction for nursing students, this popular Incredibly Easy!® text is also the ideal refresher for nurses and all practitioners learning best practices for a range of infusion therapies. Get the skills and know-how needed to administer infusion therapy successfully... NEW and completely revised/updated content with the latest infusion therapy techniques Easy-to-read, easy-to-remember guidance for students and practitioners lacking IV experience Start-to-finish directions and concise explanations on areas such as: Preparation Access sites Equipment use and management IV starting techniques, including line insertion Handling complications Infusion therapy using peripheral veins Infusion therapy requiring central venous access Parenteral nutrition Antineoplastic, biologic, and chemotherapy Discontinuing an IV Managing hypothermia, hypernatremia, calcemia, and kalemia Special considerations for pediatric, geriatric, and home care patients Legal issues and professional standards Dozens of colorful diagrams, photos and illustrations explain skills and core concepts, including: Delivery methods Flow rates Infusion fluids and medications Monitoring and documentation Transfusion therapy Special features include: Just the facts - a quick summary of each chapter's content "Nurse Joy" and "Jake" - offer clear explanations, vital care reminders, and expert insight on interventions and problem-solving Quick quiz - multiple-choice questions after each chapter to help you retain knowledge That's a wrap! - summary of key information for quick chapter reviewBest practice - evidence-based standards for administering and monitoring infusion therapyWarning - possible risks or complications Running smoothly - pointers on keeping both patient and equipment problem-free Memory jogger - anecdotes and memory tricks to help you retain vital content Practice Makes Perfect - end-of-book NCLEX practice questions for solid exam preparation
Intravenous Therapy Administration: a Practical Guide by
This handy book, written by the author of the very popular Venepuncture and Cannulation: A Practical Guide, offers step-by-step guidance in how to administer intravenous fluids and medicines. It will be equally helpful, whether you are already practising.
Laposata's Laboratory Medicine Diagnosis of Disease in Clinical Laboratory Third Edition by
A complete full-color guide to medical test selection and test result interpretation Laboratory Medicine is an essential text for medical students and residents studying clinical pathology, medical technology students, and for practitioners working in a clinical setting. By selecting the appropriate tests and interpreting the results correctly, physicians using this book should be able to optimize patient outcomes and reduce the cost of achieving a diagnosis. This full-color guide features an easy-to-follow, consistent presentation for each disease discussed. Chapters begin with a brief description of the disorder followed by a discussion that includes tables detailing the laboratory evaluation of specific disorders, and coverage of diagnosis, baseline tests to exclude diagnostic possibilities, and clinical indications that warrant further screening and special testing. *Updated to reflect the most current information *Board review questions appear at the end of each chapter *Approximately 50 laboratory methods presented in easy-to-understand illustrations which include information on the expense and complexity of the assays *More than 200 tables and full-color algorithms encapsulate important information and facilitate understanding *Full-color blood-smear micrographs demonstrate common abnormal morphologies of red blood cells *Valuable learning aids in each chapter, including learning objectives, chapter outlines, and a general introduction *Extensive table of Clinical Laboratory Reference Values showing the conversions between US and SI units for each value *Coverage of genetic test options that are now commonly used in clinical practice
Mass Spectrometry for the Clinical Laboratory by
Mass Spectrometry for the Clinical Laboratory is an accessible guide to mass spectrometry and the development, validation, and implementation of the most common assays seen in clinical labs. It provides readers with practical examples for assay development, and experimental design for validation to meet CLIA requirements, appropriate interference testing, measuring, validation of ion suppression/matrix effects, and quality control. These tools offer guidance on what type of instrumentation is optimal for each assay, what options are available, and the pros and cons of each. Readers will find a full set of tools that are either directly related to the assay they want to adopt or for an analogous assay they could use as an example. Written by expert users of the most common assays found in a clinical laboratory (clinical chemists, toxicologists, and clinical pathologists practicing mass spectrometry), the book lays out how experts in the field have chosen their mass spectrometers, purchased, installed, validated, and brought them on line for routine testing. The early chapters of the book covers what the practitioners have learned from years of experience, the challenges they have faced, and their recommendations on how to build and validate assays to avoid problems. These chapters also include recommendations for maintaining continuity of quality in testing. The later parts of the book focuses on specific types of assays (therapeutic drugs, Vitamin D, hormones, etc.). Each chapter in this section has been written by an expert practitioner of an assay that is currently running in his or her clinical lab.
Mollison's Blood Transfusion in Clinical Medicine by
Mollison's Blood Transfusion in Clinical Medicine is an icon in the field of transfusion and the first edition was published in 1951. The book arose from the concept of the transfusionist, as both scientist and expert consultant. For many years, this text has provided the primary, and often the sole, reference for detailed information and practical experience in blood transfusion. The book is completely revised and updated throughout to include the latest advances and developments in the field.
Nanotechnology for Hematology, Blood Transfusion, and Artificial Blood: Micro and Nano Technologies by
Nanotechnology for Hematology, Blood Transfusion, and Artificial Blood outlines the fundamental design concepts and emerging applications of nanotechnology in hematology, blood transfusion and artificial blood. This book is an important reference source for materials scientists, engineers and biomedical scientists who are looking to increase their understanding of how nanotechnology can lead to more efficient blood treatments. Sections focus on how nanotechnology could offer new routes to address challenging and pressing issues facing rare blood diseases and disorders and how nanomaterials can be used as artificial cell-like systems (compartmentalized biomimetic nanocontainers), which are especially useful in drug delivery. For artificial blood, the nanotechnological approach can fabricate artificial red blood cells, platelet substitutes, and white blood cell substitutes with their inherent enzyme and other supportive systems. In addition, nanomaterials can promote blood vessel growth and reserve red blood cells at a positive temperature.
Plumer's Principles and Practice of Infusion Therapy by
For nearly 44 years, Plumer's Principles & Practice of Infusion Therapy has retained its position as the most reliable, complete source of information addressing intravenous therapy for practicing clinicians, educators, and students. The Ninth Edition of Plumer's Principles and Practice of Infusion Therapy provides clear, concise coverage of basic and advanced infusion procedures, as well as current Infusion Nurses' Society standards of practice. You'll enhance your understanding and hone your skills with this new edition featuring the most current coverage of infusion therapy, procedures, standards, and equipment, along with practical new features and an emphasis on safety considerations, as well as evidence-based practice. Plumer's Principles and Practice of Infusion Therapy begins with an overview of IV therapy, including how to minimize risk and enhance performance, and then addresses assessment and monitoring; clinical decision making; patient specific therapies, and infusion therapy for children, the elderly, and across the continuum of care. Updated information on INS Standards of Practice insure that your skills keep pace with current requirements and revised clinical and patient education content will help you prepare for certification. Nurses will also find step-by-step application features that address interventions and procedures while offering guidelines, equipment checklists, actions, and rationales for each procedure. And, end-of-chapter review questions allow you to assess your knowledge and reinforce the vital concepts you'll apply in daily practice.
Pre-Examination Procedures in Laboratory Diagnostics: Preanalytical Aspects and Their Impact on the Quality of Medical Laboratory Results by
The preanalytical phase is an important component of Laboratory medicine and errors arising in this phase affect the validity of laboratory results. In this book physicians and clinical staff have access to valuable information about the current preanalytical variables and factors (patient preparation, sample collection, handling and processing before analysis).
Subject search terms: Blood--transfusion, Catheterization, Diagnosis, Intravenous therapy, Intravenous catheterization
Keyword search terms: blood transfusions, labs, central lines