Subject search terms: Enterostomy, skin, wounds and injuries, wound healing
Keyword search terms: ostomy
Burns Regenerative Medicine and Therapy by
'Regenerative Medicine' is an innovative concept representing a unique approach to the regeneration of functional tissues and organs. This book reveals the scientific principles behind this newly discovered practice while instructing the reader in the procedure of Moist- Exposed Burns Treatment (MEBT) and offering compelling examples of tissue and organ regeneration from ordinary cells incubated in potent nutrient baths. Prof. Xu - the inventor of MEBT and MEBO (Moist-Exposed Burns Ointment) - gives an in-depth description of how healthy and pathological tissues behave in varied treatment environments. Further, he demonstrates that ordinary cells can differentiate into varied organ tissues and, for the first time, introduces MEBT including the use of MEBO to the western scientific community. This publication will add a new dimension to the discussions on burns treatment, stem cells, immunology and cell biology. Burns specialists will learn of the new gold standard in burns treatment, and cell biologists of the potential of ordinary cells.
Clinical Guide to Skin and Wound Care by
Accelerate your skin and wound care with the Clinical Guide to Skin and Wound Care, Seventh Edition . This compact and sensibly organized guide is vital to providing optimal care. Look forward to: * Updated advice on skin care products helps you make the right choices. * Current documentation regulations, so that you can properly illustrate wound healing. * New chapters on lymphedema and best practices. * Profiles of more than 300 products, in A to Z organization for easy identification. * Benchmark outcomes help you take your care to the next level... and more. You'll accurately assess, plan, and monitor wound care using the most current, best nursing practices. This useful resource will help both clinicians and institutions deliver wound care that's both appropriate for patient needs and cost-effective for the institution. Featuring important new information on documentation regulations, including helpful checklists, and offering take-away highlights in every chapter, this useful resource also provides new content on lymphedema management guidelines, negative pressure wound therapy, and capturing data using today's media capabilities. Part 1 covers the fundamentals of skin and wound care , including assessment, treatment, prevention, nutrition, and documentation. From identifying patients at risk for wounds to achieving compliance for self-care, this is the companion you'll rely on day after day. You'll gain a deeper understanding of chronic wounds, accurately interpret lab values and adapt your care, develop a proper skin and wound care formulary, expertly manage tissue load, and understand and apply the wound care regulatory process. Part 2 offers profiles and photos of hundreds of skin and wound care products , all categorized and alphabetized for easy reference. You'll find a wealth of NEW advice on the skin care products you use most, including cleansers, moisture barriers, antifungal and antimicrobial treatments, therapeutic moisturizers, liquid skin protectants, and others. The Seventh edition of Clinical Guide to Skin and Wound Care also includes a full-color wound photo section, wound checklists, and much more.
Healing Wounds, Healthy Skin: A Practical Guide for Patients with Chronic Wounds by
The first comprehensive, accessible, authoritative guide on chronic wounds and how best to treat them Seven million Americans suffer from chronic or slow-healing wounds--this number includes people with diabetes, dementia, paralysis, spinal cord injury, multiple sclerosis, and poor circulation, as well as the elderly and those with reduced mobility. Healing Wounds, Healthy Skin provides patients and caregivers with everything they need to know on the subject, including: Why chronic wounds develop and who is at risk of developing them What "normal healing" is What the different types of wounds are, including those associated with chronic disease How to find appropriate care and get a correct diagnosis What role exercise and nutrition play in treatment and prevention What treatment options are available, from surgery to alternative therapies Also covered are the patients' psychological and emotional experiences, myths about wounds and wound healing, steps to take in an emergency, and a wound patient's bill of rights. With up-to-date information, insightful patient case histories, and a wealth of essential resources, this is the book that chronic wound patients and their caregivers can turn to with confidence.
Minor Injury and Minor Illness at a Glance by
This brand new title provides a highly illustrated and unambiguous introduction to most common presentations encountered in GP surgeries, in minor injury units and emergency departments. It provides the basic information required to identify and manage these conditions, as well as highlighting the pitfalls and the key diagnoses not to be missed. Minor Injury and Minor Illness at a Glance: Presents the perfect combination of text and ℑ double page spreads enable quick access to information for readers in a pressurised environment Covers a wide range of minor injuries and illnesses in one illustrated, full colour volume Identifies key diagnoses not to be missed with red flags Contains Short Answer Questions (SAQs) to help test learning and recognition Includes a companion website featuring Short Answer Questions (SAQs) and flashcards, available at www.ataglanceseries.com/minorinjury Minor Injury and Minor Illness at a Glance is the perfect preparation guide or aide memoire for placements in acute or primary care, ideal for medical students, junior doctors, GP trainees and nurse practitioners.
Skin and Soft Tissue Injuries and Infections : A Practical Evidence Based Guide by
These types of infections and lacerations are among the most common injuries seen in emergency rooms. This book provides all the must know information for the treatment and management of these daily seen infections.
Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society® Core Curriculum: Continence Management by
This volume in the new Core Curriculum series from WOCN® covers Continence Management , and is the crucial text for nurses practicing or studying fecal and urinary continence care. It offers pathology and physiology basics in easy-to-grasp terms, while providing expert guidance on patient management. The perfect study guide for the wound, ostomy and continence (WOC) certification exams, it also provides step-by-step direction on essential nursing procedures. The evidence-based, easy-to-follow format of Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society(tm) Core Curriculum: Continence Management facilitates your comprehension of: o Urinary incontinence and voiding dysfunction o Physiology of normal defecation and voiding o Motility disorders, fecal incontinence, and bowel dysfunction in pediatric patients. Step-by-step instruction leads you through care planning and delivery, including management of voiding dysfunction and urinary incontinence in both men and women. o End-of-chapter Q&As help you remember all vital points o Clinical pearls highlight important takeaways o Numerous full-color photos, diagrams, and tables aid understanding of vital topics. Practical directions cover: o Assessment of UI and lower urinary tract symptoms o Appropriate use of containment devices, absorbent products, and indwelling catheters o Basic and advanced assessments of patients with urinary incontinence and voiding dysfunction o Overactive bladder/urgency UI and fecal incontinence - pathology, presentation, diagnosis, and management o Assessment and management of the neurogenic bladder o Caring for older patients. Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society(tm) Core Curriculum: Continence Management is essential for nursing students in continence care programs; nurses caring involved in continence care; nurses in gastroenterology, urology, and surgical nursing; graduate nursing students; those seeking WOC certification or recertification; and nursing faculty. Also available as an e-book at other major retailers.
Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society® Core Curriculum: Ostomy Management by
This volume in the new Core Curriculum series from the WOCN® Society covers Ostomy Management , and is the crucial text for nurses practicing or studying ostomy patient care. It offers pathology and physiology basics in easy-to-grasp terms, while providing expert guidance on patient management. The perfect study guide for the wound, ostomy and continence (WOC) certification exams, it also provides step-by-step direction on essential nursing procedures. The evidence-based, easy-to-follow format of Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society(tm) Core Curriculum: Wound Management facilitates your comprehension of: o Anatomy and physiology of the GI and urinary tracts o The disease states that lead to a fecal/urinary stoma o Fecal or urinary stoma construction o Fecal or urinary diversion. Step-by-step instruction leads you through care planning and delivery, including management of stoma and peristomal complications. And, end-of-chapter Q&A helps you remember all vital points. Practical directions cover: o Preoperative care for patients undergoing fecal or urinary diversion o Postoperative nursing assessment and management o New surgical procedures and pouching techniques o Patient education o Rehabilitation issues o Ostomy patient needs, including assessment and management of pediatric patients. Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society(tm) Core Curriculum: Ostomy Management is essential for nursing students in ostomy care programs; nurses caring for patients with an ostomy; nurses in gastroenterology, urology, and surgical nursing; graduate nursing students; those seeking WOC certification or recertification; and nursing faculty. Also available as an e-book at other major retailers
Wound Care Made Incredibly Easy by
The action-packed reference that takes the stress out of learning about wound care--and makes it incredibly easy! Confused by the complexities of wound care? Worried about doing assessments and procedures correctly? Let Wound Care Made Incredibly Easy! be your guide! Tackle the fundamentals of wound care the fun way! Get all the basics on wound care--the fundamental skills and science you need, in easy-to-remember ways, including: · Skin anatomy and physiology in easy-to-follow terms · Basic wound care assessment, procedures, monitoring, and long-term care · The stages of wound healing · Wound and skin assessment tool Expert insight and step-by-step direction! Get the complete how-to on essential nursing procedures, including: · Quick guide to wound care dressings, with dressing type, indications, and products · Prevention, staging, and management of pressure ulcers · Interventions for diabetic, arterial, vascular, and venous ulcers · Infection control, patient-teaching tips, pain management, and more Wound care made easy! This is the wound care book you've been looking for--the basics in simple terms, packed with humor and real-life examples. Practical illustrations throughout focus on helping you learn with ease: o Just the facts - An outline of chapter content at the start of every chapter o Memory joggers - Simple tricks for remembering crucial info o Stay on the ball - Possible dangers, risks, complications and safety measures o Take note! - Tips on documenting patient info o Dress for success - Tips for choosing and using wound dressings o Get wise to wounds - Pointers on doing wound assessments, wound care procedures, and patient teaching o Handle with care - Unique wound care needs of pediatric, geriatric, and bariatric patients o Quick Quiz - Multiple-choice questions (and answers) at end of every chapter
Wound Healing and Skin Integrity: Principles and Practice by
This comprehensive text integrates related aspects of wound management, skin integrity and dermatology into a convenient, one-stop resource. It explores the theories underpinning wound management and skin integrity by reviewing the supporting evidence and making practical recommendations for busy clinicians. Wound Healing and Skin Integrity discusses current and future trends in the management of wounds and maintenance of skin integrity in respect to international healthcare initiatives and summarises the principles of maintaining healthy skin to provide a practical guide that is accessible to clinicians regardless of professional background. The title fulfils the inter-professional learning agenda and will be of interest to a wide range of clinicians, including doctors; wound management, dermatology and palliative care nurse specialists; community nurses; podiatrists; pharmacists; and anyone responsible for managing patients with impaired skin integrity. Key features: A practical, accessible, evidence-based manual on wound care and skin integrity Integrates related aspects of skin integrity, wound management and dermatology previously found in separate texts into one comprehensive resource Written from a broad international perspective with contributions from key international opinion leaders from Australia, UK, Canada and Europe Promotes international practice development in relation to management of skin integrity and chronic wounds Full colour illustrations throughout Defines key terms, relates anatomy and physiology to clinical practice and provides a summary of easily accessible online learning resources Includes practical tips from expert practitioners, commonly presented clinical queries and discussion of professional issues related to skin integrity