Hand Hygiene: A Handbook for Medical Professionals by
The first comprehensive, authoritative review of one of the most fundamental and important issues in infection control and patient safety, hand hygiene. Developed and presented by the world's leading scholar-clinicians, Hand Hygiene is an essential resource for all medical professionals. Developed and presented by the world leaders in this fundamental topic Fully integrates World Health Organization (WHO) guidelines and policies Offers a global perspective in tackling hand hygiene issues in developed and developing countries Coverage of basic and highly complex clinical applications of hand hygiene practices Includes novel and unusual aspects and issues in hand hygiene such as religious and cultural aspects and patient participation Offers guidance at the individual, institutional, and organizational levels for national and worldwide hygiene promotion campaigns
Hygiene and Epidemiology : Selected Chapters by 
Occupational Health Nurses and Respiratory Protection by
Occupational health nurses (OHNs) are front-line advocates for preventing illness and injury and protecting health in a variety of workplace settings, including the areas of agriculture, construction, health care, manufacturing, and public safety. OHNs need education and training in respiratory protection in order to ensure both their safety and the safety of America's workers. At the request of the National Personal Protective Technology Laboratory of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, the Institute of Medicine (IOM) examined existing respiratory protection curricula and made recommendations to improve education and training in respiratory protection for OHNs. The IOM finds that current respiratory protection education receives varying amounts of dedicated time and resources and is taught using a variety of approaches. Several recommendations are made to improve the respiratory protection education and training of OHNs.
Personal Hygiene Care by
Meeting the hygiene needs of patients is a fundamental aspect of nursing care. This practical and introductory guide outlines and emphasises the nursing skills required to meet the essential personal hygiene care needs of patients in various healthcare settings. It explores care of the eyes, ears, mouth, nails and hair, and provides evidence-based rationales for each procedure. Methods of washing the patient are discussed, and bed-making and patient positioning is explored. Each chapter provides the necessary anatomy and physiology, as well as common conditions, safety issues, privacy and dignity, cultural and religious considerations and infection control issues. SPECIAL FEATURES Identifies the theoretical base underpinning clinical procedures Provides a research and evidence base for nursing practice Equips registered and non-registered staff with the knowledge to carry out safe care delivery relating to meeting hygiene needs Incorporates recommendations from The Essence of Care
Pharmacy Calculations: An Introduction for Pharmacy Technicians by
Offering a complete review of the basic mathematics concepts and skills, Pharmacy Calculations: An Introduction for Pharmacy Technicians, Second Edition provides students with the pharmacy basics necessary for correctly interpreting prescriptions and drug orders, and for performing dosing calculations that technicians face every day. The second edition has been streamlined to focus on the most important pharmacy calculation concepts-covering the fundamentals related to accuracy and basic math operations, units of measurement and conversions, critical thinking in problem solving, dosing calculations, percentages, concentration calculations, compounding formulas, intravenous infusion calculations, and business math. What's new in this edition? The chapters are broken down into four units and organized to complement most pharmacy technician training curricula and to support the ASHP-ACPE model curriculum: Review of Mathematics Systems of Measurement Preparing for Problem Solving in Pharmacy Dosing Calculations and other Pharmacy Problems Key features throughout the book include: Chapter objectives Key terms and definitions Examples of problem scenarios or calculations questions and solutions "Tech Note!" - provides a highlight of key points within the chapters "Numbers at Work" - illustrates why key concepts are important to know and skills are critical to master Practice problems Appendices that include the parts of a prescription, a glossary of terms, conversions, and abbreviations tables
Preparing for an Influenza Pandemic: Personal Protective Equipment for Healthcare Workers by
During an influenza pandemic, healthcare workers will be on the front lines delivering care to patients and preventing further spread of the disease. As the nation prepares for pandemic influenza, multiple avenues for protecting the health of the public are being carefully considered, ranging from rapid development of appropriate vaccines to quarantine plans should the need arise for their implementation. One vital aspect of pandemic influenza planning is the use of personal protective equipment (PPE)-the respirators, gowns, gloves, face shields, eye protection, and other equipment that will be used by healthcare workers and others in their day-to-day patient care responsibilities. However, efforts to appropriately protect healthcare workers from illness or from infecting their families and their patients are greatly hindered by the paucity of data on the transmission of influenza and the challenges associated with training and equipping healthcare workers with effective personal protective equipment. Due to this lack of knowledge on influenza transmission, it is not possible at the present time to definitively inform healthcare workers about what PPE is critical and what level of protection this equipment will provide in a pandemic. The outbreaks of severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) in 2003 have underscored the importance of protecting healthcare workers from infectious agents. The surge capacity that will be required to reduce mortality from a pandemic cannot be met if healthcare workers are themselves ill or are absent due to concerns about PPE efficacy. The IOM committee determined that there is an urgent need to address the lack of preparedness regarding effective PPE for use in an influenza pandemic. Preparing for an Influenza Pandemic : Personal Protective Equipment for Healthcare Workers identifies that require expeditious research and policy action: (1) Influenza transmission research should become an immediate and short-term research priority so that effective prevention and control strategies can be developed and refined. The current paucity of knowledge significantly hinders prevention efforts. (2) Employer and employee commitment to worker safety and appropriate use of PPE should be strengthened. Healthcare facilities should establish and promote a culture of safety. (3) An integrated effort is needed to understand the PPE requirements of the worker and to develop and utilize innovative materials and technologies to create the next generation of PPE capable of meeting these needs.
Preventing Transmission of Pandemic Influenza and Other Viral Respiratory Diseases: Personal Protective Equipment for Healthcare Personnel: Update 2010 by
In 2009, the H1N1 influenza pandemic brought to the forefront the many unknowns about the virulence, spread, and nature of the virus, as well as questions regarding personal protective equipment (PPE) for healthcare personnel. In this book, the Institute of Medicine assesses the progress of PPE research and identifies future directions for PPE for healthcare personnel.