Michigan Data and Resources -- County Health Rankings and RoadmapsThe CHR&R program provides data, evidence, guidance, and examples to build awareness of the multiple factors that influence health and support leaders in growing community power to improve health equity. The Rankings are unique in their ability to measure the health of nearly every county in all 50 states, and are complemented by guidance, tools, and resources designed to accelerate community learning and action. CHR&R is known for effectively translating and communicating complex data and evidence-informed policy into accessible models, reports, and products that deepen the understanding of what makes communities healthy and inspires and supports improvement efforts. County Health Rankings & Roadmaps’ work is rooted in a sincere belief in health equity, the idea that everyone deserves a fair and just opportunity to be as healthy as possible.
Michigan Health Statistics"The Department of Health & Human Services is responsible for the collection of information on a range of health related issues. The information is collected to monitor the general health and well-being of Michigan's citizens. These data are useful for health program development, targeting and evaluation of program progress. The information is used to identify emerging health issues and trends and can be made available for epidemiological research. Statistics are developed from the data collected to provide basic information on these health events in Michigan. The data are provided at the state, county and community level. Listed below are the categories of available statistics."
Michigan Hospital Comparison Data -- VerifyMICareMaintained by the Michigan Health & Hospital Association, patients and providers can compare quality and cost information for hospitals across Michigan.
State of Michigan Open GIS Data Portal"Here you can browse, search, preview, and download a variety of Michigan geospatial datasets. Browse by category or enter key words in the search box to locate a dataset of interest. You can then read its description to learn more and explore attributes before downloading. A variety of formats exist when downloading such as ESRI shapefile, spreadsheet, KML, or API."
National Health Information and Statistics
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality- Data Sources"The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) offers practical, research-based tools and other resources to help a variety of health care organizations, providers and others make care safer in all health care settings."
American Community Survey"Through the ACS, we know more about jobs and occupations, educational attainment, veterans, whether people own or rent their homes, and other topics. Public officials, planners, and entrepreneurs use this information to assess the past and plan the future. When you respond to the ACS, you are doing your part to help your community plan for hospitals and schools, support school lunch programs, improve emergency services, build bridges, and inform businesses looking to add jobs and expand to new markets, and more."
Center for Disease Control Environmental Health Data"This Web site provides a reference list of nationally funded data systems that have a relationship to environmental public health. This list is not meant to be a comprehensive inventory. Rather, it highlights the major data systems with a national scope where public health and environmental data can be directly downloaded from the Internet."
Centers for Disease Control FastStats"Use this index for quick and easy access to:
Selected statistics on a variety of health topics. The latest data in reports, databases, and other resources. Additional data and tools."
ChildStats.gov"The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.
The mission of the Forum is to foster coordination and collaboration and to enhance and improve consistency in the collection and reporting of Federal data on children and families. The Forum also aims to improve the reporting and dissemination of information on the status of children and families."
Community Health Needs AssessmentData visualization toolkit that allows health practitioners to identify communities with high poverty rates and low educational attainment, among other indicators, to target interventions.
Dartmouth Atlas"For more than 20 years, The Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians."
data.census.govData.census.gov is an online source for current and historical population, housing, economic and geographic data available through the U.S. Census Bureau website.
Data USA"Data USA puts public US Government data in your hands. Instead of searching through multiple data sources that are often incomplete and difficult to access, you can simply point to Data USA to answer your questions. Data USA provides an open, easy-to-use platform that turns data into knowledge. It allows millions of people to conduct their own analyses and create their own stories about America – its people, places, industries, skill sets and educational institutions. Ultimately, accelerating society’s ability to learn and better understand itself."
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) Data"HCUP's Nationwide databases can be used to identify, track, and analyze national trends in healthcare utilization, access, charges, quality, and outcomes."
HealthData.gov"...HHS has begun "liberating" health data through HealthData.gov -- making more and more data from HHS' vaults (from CMS, CDC, FDA and NIH, to name a few sources) easily available and accessible to the public and to innovators across the country. This information includes clinical care provider quality information, nationwide health service provider directories, databases of the latest medical and scientific knowledge, consumer product data, community health performance information, government spending data and much more."
Health Resources & Services Administration Data Warehouse"The HRSA Data Warehouse website provides maps, data, reports, and dashboards to the public about HRSA’s health care programs. The data integrates with external sources, such as the U.S. Census Bureau, providing information about HRSA’s grants, loan and scholarship programs, health centers, and other public health programs and services."
Health Services Research Information Central (NIH)List of some of the major datasets, statistical resources, data repositories and surveys that contain state-level, national and international health stats and information.
Healthy People 2030"Healthy People identifies public health priorities to help individuals, organizations, and communities across the United States improve health and well-being. Healthy People 2030, the initiative’s fifth iteration, builds on knowledge gained over the first 4 decades."
March of Dimes PeriStats"PeriStats™ is the online source for perinatal statistics developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center. PeriStats provides free access to maternal and infant health-related data at the US, state, county, and city level. It was developed to ensure that health professionals, researchers, medical librarians, policy-makers, students, and the media have easy access to this information. Data are updated throughout the year, and useful for multiple tasks, including fact-finding, health assessments, grant writing, policy development, lectures and presentations."
National Cancer Institute SEER Data"The SEER research data include SEER incidence and population data associated by age, sex, race, year of diagnosis, and geographic areas (including SEER registry and county). SEER releases new research data every Spring based on the previous November’s submission of data.
Use SEER data to address multiple topics; for example, you can: Examine stage at diagnosis by race/ethnicity. Calculate survival by stage at diagnosis, age at diagnosis, and tumor grade or size. Determine trends and incidence rates for various cancer sites over time."
National Institutes of Mental Health (NIMH) Data Archive"The National Institute of Mental Health Data Archive (NDA) makes available human subjects data collected from hundreds of research projects across many scientific domains. NDA provides infrastructure for sharing research data, tools, methods, and analyses enabling collaborative science and discovery. De-identified human subjects data, harmonized to a common standard, are available to qualified researchers. Summary data are available to all."
Detroit-Area Health Information and Statistics
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System City and County Data"The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. Established in 1984 with 15 states, BRFSS now collects data in all 50 states as well as the District of Columbia and three U.S. territories. BRFSS completes more than 400,000 adult interviews each year, making it the largest continuously conducted health survey system in the world."
CDC Childhood Lead Poisoning Data, Statistics, and Surveillance"CDC uses available data and generates statistics to track progress towards the elimination of childhood lead poisoning in the United States. Further information on these data sources, access to national and state blood lead surveillance data, and additional resources are provided below."
City of Detroit Open Data"The City of Detroit has launched its Open Data Portal initiative in order to increase public access to valuable data and information concerning City government operations and service delivery. This tool exists to enable opportunity by reducing barriers to access the public data and information and promoting trust, transparency, and accountability between City agencies and the people we serve. This data is freely available in formats that are understandable to humans, can be processed by software and machines, and formatted according to national technical standards to facilitate visibility and reuse of published data.
The portal offers access to standardized data that can be easily retrieved, combined, downloaded, sorted, searched, analyzed, redistributed and re-used by individuals, business, researchers, journalists, developers, and government to process, trend, and innovate."
Data Driven Detroit (D3) Data Portal"This platform serves as a centralized repository for our public datasets, spanning a wide range of topics and geographies. You can search, view, or download them for use in your own work. You can start exploring below, by choosing a category or searching for data that is of interest to you."
Data.gov.uk"You can find: data published by central government, local authorities and public bodies links to download data files
help on creating an account to publish data."
Openly available datasets from European Union governmental bodies.
Global Health Data Exchange"The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington. The Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a data catalog created and supported by IHME. About IHME
IHME provides rigorous and comparable measurement of the world's most important health problems and evaluates the strategies used to address them. IHME makes this information freely available so that policymakers have the evidence they need to make informed decisions about how to allocate resources to best improve population health."
Global Open Data Index"The Global Open Data Index (GODI) is the annual global benchmark for publication of open government data, run by the Open Knowledge Network. Our crowdsourced survey measures the openness of government data according to the Open Definition."
WHO Global Health ObservatoryGlobal health statistics and data on a variety of diseases, including reports on many global health themes and problems.
Data Repositories
DATA.govPortal to data collected and made available by the U.S. government. Some state and municipal data, and data from NGOs, included as well.
DryadThe Dryad Data Platform is a curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types.
Dryad originated from an initiative among a group of leading journals and scientific societies to adopt a joint data archiving policy (JDAP) for their publications, and the recognition that open, easy-to-use, not-for-profit, community-governed data infrastructure was needed to support such a policy. These remain our guiding principles.
Dryad’s vision is to promote a world where research data is openly available, integrated with the scholarly literature, and routinely re-used to create knowledge.
Figshare"Figshare allows users to upload any file format to be previewed in the browser so that any research output, from posters and presentations to datasets and code, can be disseminated in a way that the current scholarly publishing model does not allow." Figshare hosts research data in many formats from around the world.
Harvard Dataverse"The Harvard Dataverse Repository is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data. Each individual Dataverse collection is a customizable collection of datasets (or a virtual repository) for organizing, managing, and showcasing datasets.
You can open your data to the general public, or restrict access and define customizable terms of use. When you publish your data, you automatically get a standard data citation with a Digital Object Identifier (DOI), and your metadata is open and findable via search engines, even when the data are restricted."
ICPSR"An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields."
Open Science FrameworkSearch for files and datasets, and contact authors for permission to use.
Registry of Research Data Repositories"Re3data is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It includes repositories that enable permanent storage of and access to data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers, and scholarly institutions. re3data promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data."
Zenodo"The OpenAIRE project, in the vanguard of the open access and open data movements in Europe was commissioned by the EC to support their nascent Open Data policy by providing a catch-all repository for EC funded research. CERN, an OpenAIRE partner and pioneer in open source, open access and open data, provided this capability and Zenodo was launched in May 2013.
In support of its research programme CERN has developed tools for Big Data management and extended Digital Library capabilities for Open Data. Through Zenodo these Big Science tools could be effectively shared with the long-tail of research."
More Health Data Sources
Abdul Jameel Latif Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL)"The Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL) is a global research center working to reduce poverty by ensuring that policy is informed by scientific evidence. Anchored by a network of 294 affiliated professors at universities around the world, J-PAL conducts randomized impact evaluations to answer critical questions in the fight against poverty."
Big Cities Health Coalition"The Big Cities Health Coalition (BCHC) is a forum for metropolitan health department leaders to exchange strategies and
jointly address issues to promote and protect the health and safety of their residents.
Collectively, BCHC’s 35 member jurisdictions
directly impact more than 61 million people, or one in five Americans."
Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent HealthThe DRC is a national center assisting in the design, development, documentation and public dissemination of user friendly information about, data findings on and datasets and codebooks for the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH). Since its initial design in 2001, the NSCH (first fielding in 2003) has been supported and led by the Health Resources and Services Administration’s Maternal and Child Health Bureau (HRSA/MCHB).
Health Services Research Information Central Data on Health Disparities"The Center works closely with the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), formerly the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR), to improve the dissemination of the results of health services research, with special emphasis on the growing body of evidence reports and technology assessments which provide organizations with comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies.
The overall goals of the NICHSR are: to make the results of health services research, including practice guidelines and technology assessments, readily available to health practitioners, health care administrators, health policy makers, payers, and the information professionals who serve these groups; to improve access to data and information needed by the creators of health services research; and to contribute to the information infrastructure needed to foster patient record systems that can produce useful health services research data as a by-product of providing health care."
Journal of Open Health DataOpen Health Data features peer-reviewed data papers describing moderated or open access health datasets with high reuse potential. We are working with a number of specialist and institutional data repositories to ensure that the associated data are professionally archived, preserved, and available either through moderated or open access. Equally importantly, the data and the papers are citable, and reuse is tracked.
Kaiser Family FoundationKFF (Kaiser Family Foundation) is a nonprofit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. KFF develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations.
KFF serves as a nonpartisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public. Our product is information, always provided free of charge — from the most sophisticated policy research, to basic facts and numbers, to in-depth health policy news coverage provided by our news service, KHN, to information young people can use to improve their health or the general public can use to understand health insurance.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health and Medical Care ArchiveThe Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA) is the data archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), the largest philanthropy devoted exclusively to health and health care in the United States. Operated by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) at the University of Michigan with funding from RWJF, HMCA preserves and disseminates data collected by selected research projects funded by RWJF and facilitates secondary analyses of the data. The data collections in HMCA primarily includes large-scale surveys of the American public about public health, attitudes towards health reform, and access to medical care; surveys of health care professionals and organizations, public health professionals, and nurses; evaluations of innovative programs for the delivery of health care, and many other topics and populations of interest. Our goal is to build a culture of health by increasing the understanding of health and health care and the factors that contribute to health in the United States through secondary analysis of RWJF-supported data collections.
