| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Practice by
The Evidence-Based Nursing Series is co-published with Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). The series focuses on implementing evidence-based practice in nursing and midwifery and mirrors the remit of Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing, encompassing clinical practice, administration, research and public policy. Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Practice provides insights into the key contextual issues to be considered in the implementation and assessment of evidence-based practice. Increasingly, implementation research is demonstrating that for evidence to be successfully implemented into practice, the context of practice needs to be considered. Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Practice addresses professional, educational, and organizational contextual issues that impact on the implementation of evidence into practice and the bringing about of practice change. Practical strategies that have been used effectively to overcome these contextual issues in a range of healthcare settings are identified. Specific contextual issues in different care settings are also addressed e.g. acute care, primary health care, peri-operative settings, paediatrics, aged care, mental health, midwifery. Each chapter is written by an internationally known and respected author, with experience of developing or reviewing contextual strategies that have an impact on the implementation and utilisation of research in practice. They explore how gaining a better understanding of context made a difference to the implementation process or outcome and address the potential to transfer different approaches to a range of healthcare settings. An informative, practical resource for nurses and other health care professionals Explores context-related models and approaches to implementation Informs implementation and enables effective decision making Critically appraises contextual factors across the spectrum of care Explores future directions and implications Includes case examples
Empirical Nursing: The Art of Evidence-Based Care by
This book seeks to provide students and practicing nurses with the tools to better understand and engage in scientific arguments to support quality nursing and evidence-based practice. The nature of nursing and its relationship with science remains an area of ongoing debate, controversy and considerable confusion to both students and practitioners. For a science-based health discipline, it is something of a paradox that most nursing students have limited exposure to scientific philosophy education, which is not covered in depth in many modern university nursing programmes. This work seeks to remedy this: in providing material on modern scientific research methods, with particular emphasis on the context of practice, it presents an alternative theoretical iteration of holistic nursing as scientific inquiry. The author is a passionate advocate for empirical and pragmatic approaches to nursing, and the book provides challenging ideas to support a new wave of critical-thinking in contemporary nursing, confronting postmodern dogma with contemporary scientific critique. In doing so, this text engages readers with the art of progressive empirical client-centred care, appropriate for the development of 21st century holistic nursing practice.
Evaluating Research for Evidence-Based Nursing Practice by
Where is the evidence in a nursing research study? What is the evidence? How good is the evidence? And, how is it relevant to providing evidence-based nursing care? Ensure that students can meet the AACN's (American Association of Colleges of Nursing) goal of identifying valid research findings and using them to determine if they are providing care that is supported by evidence.
Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice, Fifth Edition by
This new edition of one of the premier references for geriatric nurses in hospital, long-term, and community settings delivers current guidelines, real-life case studies, and evidence-based protocols developed by master educators and practitioners. With a focus on improving quality of care, cost-effectiveness, and outcome, the fifth edition is updated to provide the most current information about care of common clinical conditions and issues in older patients. Several new expert contributors present current guidelines about hip fractures, frailty, perioperative and postoperative care, palliative care, and senior-friendly emergency departments. Additionally, chapters have been reorganized to enhance logical flow of content and easy information retrieval. Protocols, systematically tested by more than 300 participating NICHE (Nurses Improving Care for Health system Elders) hospitals' are organized in a consistent format and include an overview, evidence-based assessment and intervention strategies, and an illustrative case study with discussion. Additionally, protocols are embedded within chapter text, providing the context and detailed evidence for each. Chapter objectives, annotated references, and evidence ratings for each protocol are provided along with resources for additional study. New to the Fifth Edition: Reorganized to enhance logical flow of information and ease of useUpdated and revisedIncludes new contributions from expert educators and practitionersProvides new chapters on perioperative and postoperative care, general surgical care, care of hip fracture, palliative care, and the senior-friendly emergency department Key Features: Includes PowerPoints and a test bank for instructorsDelivers evidence-based, current guidelines and protocols for care of common clinical conditions in the older personIllustrates the application of clinical protocols to real-life practice through case studies and discussionEdited by nationally known geriatric leaders who are endorsed by the Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing and NICHE Written for nursing students, nurse leaders, and practitioners at all levels, including those in specialty roles
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing: Implementing EBP in a Nutshell by
Designated a Doody's Core Title! This is a pithy, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the foundations of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information presented in concise sentences and bullet points. The book focuses on providing readers with the most practical information on EBP--including how to get the best evidence quickly using various databases and includes coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and simple examples demonstrate concepts. The second edition has been updated to reflect rapidly changing trends and stateof-the-art information in EBP, including such new research methods as narrative inquiry and storytelling. Using proven, class-tested content for both traditional and online courses, this updated edition includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet status, and presents examples of how health care providers are integrating EBP into their practice. The text differentiates between EBP and research, often a difficult distinction for students to grasp. Extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care includes many practical examples. Every chapter includes the popular "Fast Facts in a Nutshell" feature, highlighting must-know information. The book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question" which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the Second Edition: Reflects new trends, research methods, and state-of-the-art EBP information Includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet status Provides examples of how health care providers and hospitals are integrating EBP into their practice Differentiates between EBP and research Discusses how EBP can be used to improve patient care
Genetics and Genomics in Nursing: Guidelines for Conducting a Risk Assessment by
The genomic era encompasses the entire spectrum of DNA--all of the genes and the interaction and interrelationship of genes (genome) to the environment. Rapidly changing research has led to numerous advances in genetic testing, diagnosis, and treatments, and it is essential that APRNs are able to integrate genetic risk assessment into clinical care. This quick reference delivers complex information in an easy-to-read, step-by-step format with bitesize info boxes and bulleted lists to provide the tools necessary to understand genetics/genomics and identify "red flags" that can appear in patient assessments. In an age of personalized and precision medicine, genetic risk assessment has never been more important. Genetics and Genomics in Nursing begins with an overview of genetics and the science behind inheritance. Chapters then break down the processes that make up risk assessment and walk the reader through data collection and review, identification and calculation of risk, and patient communication. The last section of the text discusses special populations and key facts nurses need to know about their risk assessment. Key Features: Provides a clear introduction to a complex topicDescribes important elements of the genomic risk assessment process for use in clinical settings when evaluating patientsIllustrates how to develop a three-generation pedigreeApplies commonly used standardized pedigree symbols and familial patterns to aid in risk interpretationDiscusses the challenges and limitations of pedigree interpretationExplains common concepts and includes helpful genomic resourcesIncorporates genomic risk assessment into patient evaluation
How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence Based Medicine by
In this lucid, readable book Trisha Greenhalgh provides the basics of evidence based medicine: how to find a medical research paper, assess it for its scientific validity, and where relevant, put the findings into practice. Written for anyone, medically qualified or not, who wishes to understand and apply evidence based medicine, How to Read a Paper makes seemingly obscure concepts clear and relevant, using practical examples and considering all the main types of research paper. This book is a comprehensive introduction to the usefulness and potential applications of evidence based medicine in the clinical setting.
Implementing Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Real-Life Success Stories by
"In an effort to convince nurses and other clinicians how painless EBP can be, Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk and Ellen Fineout-Overholt asked nurses and others to tell their real-life EPB stories. This book contains 90 of those stories ..."--Back cover of book.
Improving Usability, Safety and Patient Outcomes with Health Information Technology: From Research to Practice by
Information technology is revolutionizing healthcare, and the uptake of health information technologies is rising, but scientific research and industrial and governmental support will be needed if these technologies are to be implemented effectively to build capacity at regional, national and global levels. This book, "Improving Usability, Safety and Patient Outcomes with Health Information Technology", presents papers from the Information Technology and Communications in Health conference, ITCH 2019, held in Victoria, Canada from 14 to 17 February 2019. The conference takes a multi-perspective view of what is needed to move technology forward to sustained and widespread use by transitioning research findings and approaches into practice. Topics range from improvements in usability and training and the need for new and improved designs for information systems, user interfaces and interoperable solutions, to governmental policy, mandates, initiatives and the need for regulation. The knowledge and insights gained from the ITCH 2019 conference will surely stimulate fruitful discussions and collaboration to bridge research and practice and improve usability, safety and patient outcomes, and the book will be of interest to all those associated with the development, implementation and delivery of health IT solutions.
The IntersectionWhere Evidence Based Nursing and Information Literacy Meet by
The Intersection: Where Evidence Based Nursing and Information Literacy Meet describes how the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Framework and Information literacy Competency Standards for Nursing mesh with nursing essentials, thus speaking to the information needs of nurses, nurse educators, and librarians who support worldwide nursing programs. In order to find the best evidence from studies, students and practicing nurses must be proficient in the entire range of information literacy skills. Though the references for this document are from U.S. organizations, they are applicable to nursing audiences across the globe.
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice by
In a follow-up to the 2007 best-selling book, Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice Model and Guidelines, the authors continue to expand upon the Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model. In this latest publication, the focus is on the complex challenges nurses and the organizations face with evidence-based practice implementation and translation. Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice Implementation and Translation, a collaboration between The Johns Hopkins Hospital and The Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, provides guidelines for managing the structure, process and outcomes of EBP projects and evidence translation in a variety of health care settings. Important steps in the EBP process are specifically discussed in this book, including: * Leadership and planning for EBP * Identification, measurement, monitoring and evaluation outcomes * Translation techniques * Dissemination techniques Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice Implementation and Translation is an excellent tool for those who want to learn, or already familiar with, the Johns Hopkins EBP model. It is also an invaluable reference for those who are charged with implementing EBP in their organization.
New Horizons in Patient Safety: Evidence-based core Competencies with Case Studies from Nursing Practice by
This case studies book is an indispensable resource for educators, students, and practitioners of nursing. It is innovative in its application of lessons from the communication sciences to common challenges in the delivery of safe patient care. The authors apply basic tenets of human communication to the context of nursing to provide a foundation for practices that can advance the safety and quality of care. The cases, which describe "close calls" and adverse events, are organized along the continuum of healthcare delivery, providing quick access to solutions in commonly encountered care situations. Each case is accompanied by a discussion of how skillful communication can be key to preventing and recovering from errors and adverse events. Thought-provoking discussion questions and references for further reading make this book a valuable reference for nursing educators, students, and practitioners across the world.
The PEACE Model Evidence-Based Practice Guide for Clinical Nurses by
"Nurses are in charge of the patients and their families throughout the hospital and health system experience. They assist patients through illness to achieve higher levels of health. They coordinate the care throughout the patients' experiences with the healthcare system. Nurses are the leaders of patient care at the bedside and beyond. It is important that as clinical leaders, nurses have the most accurate, most up-to-date, and evidence-based information available so that they can always do the right thing. The PEACE model develops clinical nurses as leaders in care of both patients and their families. Clinical nurses, those at the point of care, have embraced this model for guiding their practice. The PEACE model helps clinical nurses solve challenging problems through a rigorous evidence-based practice process-from problem identification to evaluation and dissemination. The crux of the PEACE model is the mnemonic that simplifies the evidence-based practice (EBP) process for clinical nurses. The PEACE model is used across New York-Presbyterian (NYP), one of the nation's most comprehensive academic healthcare delivery systems. NYP is composed of 10 hospitals in New York and employs more than 11,000 nurses across the enterprise. One striking advantage of the model is that it emerged from the work of clinical nurses who were struggling to find a way to remember and apply the components of other EBP models. The mnemonic PEACE promotes understanding and application by clinical nurses, providing a way to easily remember the EBP component stages. The uniqueness of the PEACE model is its simplicity. This relevance leads to continued application in day-to-day nursing practice. As we strive for peace at many levels of our lives and work, the mnemonic is easy to remember. The PEACE model may be adapted to any setting where nurses practice"-- Provided by publisher.
Population-Based Nursing: Concepts and Competencies for Advanced Practice by
"In less than 300 pages, this book nicely integrates epidemiological concepts, evidence-based practice in population health, and program development and evaluation....Authors describe epidemiological research designs, research synthesis, and evidence assessment--knowledge essential for advanced practice nurses working with populations or in the community. Another highlight in this book is the assessment of health program quality and population health outcomes."--Journal of Community Health Nursing Population-Based Nursing is the first text designed specifically for the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) core competencies in epidemiology and population health. This unique guide addresses essential areas of content recommended by the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) to ensure graduate students are adequately prepared to enter the nursing field. This groundbreaking textbook provides readers with the information they need to identify health care needs at the population level and to improve population outcomes, two important core competencies outlined by AACN for all DNP programs. Key Features: Content on acute, sub-acute, and long term care, and community population health Case studies with examples of successful strategies that nurses have used to improve population outcomesHigh-level application activities that aim to help readers achieve Healthy People 2020 health initiatives and improve population health Information on the identification of health care disparities and the strategies for eliminating or mitigating them
Self-Care Science, Nursing Theory and Evidence-Based Practice by
"This is an excellent review of the development of self-care deficit theory and the use of self-care in nursing practice. Explanations of the various theories and theory terms are well done and written at a level that novice theorists can relate to. The authors demonstrate how self-care science can be fiscally and effectively applied to the care of patients/clients."--Doody's Medical Reviews Dorothea Orem's Self-Care Theory has been used as a foundation for nursing practice in healthcare institutions and as the basis of curricula in nursing schools for decades. This book explores the high-level theory of the application of Orem's Self-Care Theory, and how it can improve patient outcomes as well as cost-effectiveness of nursing care delivery. Written for nursing theorists, researchers, administrators, and graduate students, the text addresses the relationship of self-care theory and evidence-based care in nursing, and provides a solution to improving contemporary healthcare outcomes. The book is divided into three sections. Section one discusses the reason for the existence of the nursing profession, and identifies the performance of self-care. Section two covers three nursing practice sciences-wholly compensatory nursing, partly compensatory nursing, and supportive educative nursing. Section three offer suggestions on how health care organizations can incorporate this broadened perspective of what constitutes evidence based practice and on-going research methodology into every-day delivery of nursing services. Key Features: Includes case examples to illustrate the application of theory to nursing practice Provides a current, cost-effective resource for implementing Orem's Self-Care Deficit Theory for effective evidence-based practice Builds the link between the application of Orem's Self Care Theory and improved patient and fiscal healthcare outcomes
Teaching Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by
Awarded second place in the 2013 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Nursing Education/Continuing Education category This AJN award-winning text is the only book to teach evidence-based practice (EBP) content grounded in a tested philosophy of teaching and learning. It provides the tools, perspective and context for health educators and practitioners to implement evidence-based care practices and evaluate their efficacy. Reflecting four years of successful experiences in helping academic agencies understand and implement EBP, this new edition has been reorganized to include updated information and five new chapters. It stresses the importance of mentorship in creating EBP and illustrates how mentorship can be designed and implemented to promote EBP. The text clarifies three principal values: How to integrate EBP into academic curricula How to implement an EBP model in clinical settings (for graduate, second career, and CE students) How to address teaching and learning strategies for specific user groups Teaching Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing will be of value to clinical and academic educators, educational and clinical administrators, unit managers, students attending CE programs, and students in nursing education graduate programs. Key Features: Revises and expands upon AJN Book of the Year Award first edition Reflects knowledge gained from four years of successful experiences in teaching and learning EBP since publication of first edition Provides comprehensive and innovative strategies for mentoring and teaching EBP in education and practice scenarios Describes how to implement EBP at undergraduate levels, for second career students, and in continuing education
Unifying the Applications and Foundations of Biomedical and Health Informatics by
Informatics and technology have become an intrinsic part of healthcare management in recent years; it is almost impossible to imagine a modern healthcare system without them.This book presents the proceedings of the 14th annual International Conference on Informatics, Management and Technology in Healthcare (ICIMTH), held in Athens, Greece, in July 2016.The conference treats the field of biomedical informatics in a very broad framework, and the 68 full papers included here examine the research and applications outcomes of informatics from cell to population, including a number of technologies such as imaging, sensors, mobile communications, biomedical equipment and management, as well as legal and societal issues related to the application of health informatics. The book is divided into sections: Biomedical Technology; Clinical Informatics; E-learning and Education; Formalisation of Knowledge, Ontologies, Clinical Guidelines and Standards of Healthcare; Health Informatics; Healthcare Management and Public Health; mHealth and Telemedicine; and Social Media and Health. Also included are two keynote speeches. Covering a wide spectrum of applications, the book will be of interest to all those working in the design, management and delivery of healthcare services whose work involves the development or use of biomedical informatics.