| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
Clinical Teaching Strategies in Nursing by
"This book encompasses current trends in health care and nursing education with expanded content on ways to maximize the clinical learning experiences of nursing students, use new technologies in clinical teaching, teach and evaluate student performance, and address ethical and legal issues in clinical teaching. New content covers topics such as establishing and using dedicated education units, integrating simulation with clinical education, using new technologies for clinical learning, teaching and evaluating performance in distance education, promoting interprofessional education in clinical setting."--Publisher
Communication Skills for Your Nursing Degree by
Communication Skills for your Nursing Degree will help you to: improve your oral and written communication skills in a range of academic and healthcare settings improve your public speaking, including academic presentations improve your practical writing and speaking skills If you are embarking on a university nursing or midwifery degree, the books in this series will help you acquire and develop the knowledge, skills and strategies you need to achieve your goals. Tasks and activities are designed to foster aspects of learning which are valued in higher education, including learner autonomy and critical thinking, and to guide you towards reflective practice in your study and work life.
Complementary and Alternative Therapies in Nursing by
"[C]onsistently offers easily accessible and timely information on how complementary therapies influence the health, comfort, and well-being of patients in a variety of clinical settings. It is an influential resource for nurses in practice, education, and research." --Janice Post-White, PhD, RN, FAAN Praise for the Sixth Edition "Complementary and alternative therapies are increasingly popular and this book provides an informative and up-to-date introduction to the more commonly used treatments."--IAHPC Newsletter (International Association for Hospice and Palliative Care) The seventh edition of this highly acclaimed book continues to deliver evidence-based practice guidelines for the use of complementary and alternative therapies in nursing. It is the only book about complementary/alternative therapies that is focused on nursing, has chapters that examine specific therapies along with guidance for their implementation, and addresses therapies through a cultural/international lens. It reflects the rapid expansion of research on many complementary therapies and the exponential increase in the use of these therapies in the United States and globally. This new edition satisfies the recent requirement by the AACN for knowledge of complementary therapies as essential content for BA and Post-BA programs and will assist students in their study for NCLEX-RN test items regarding complementary therapies. New to this edition are the contributions of a new editor, Dr. Mary Frances Tracy, who is a recognized expert in the use of complementary therapies in both research and practice settings. In addition to the updating of all research-related content, the book now includes a focus on the use of alternative therapies outside of the U.S. and content on cultural therapies that nurses may encounter in clinical agencies. The book incorporates the most up-to-date information from the National Center for Complementary/Alternative Medicine (NCCAM), the relationship of technology to complementary therapies, updated information about precautions to be taken or interactions to note when using these therapies, instructions for the use of various therapies, and available resources and legal aspects related to the use of complementary therapies. The book includes an interactive PDF. New to the Seventh Edition: Completely updated research-related contents A focus on the international use of alternative/complementary therapies Incorporates new information from the National Center for Complementary/Alternative Medicine including their most recent classifications for complementary therapies New content on cultural therapies that nurses may encounter Technology and complementary therapies New information on precautions and potential interactions Instruction techniques for each therapy in exhibit form Legal concerns regarding the use of complementary therapies New references providing cutting edge content
Core Curriculum for Vascular Nursing by
The official publication of the Society for Vascular Nursing, the newly updatedCore Curriculum for Vascular Nursingprovides core vascular nursing information essential to new and experienced practitioners alike. Presented in a quick-reference outline, the evidence-based content addresses a wide range of vascular conditions, as well as diagnostics, vascular anatomy, surgical interventions, medications, and patient education. Whether you are prepping for the certification exam, involved in continuing education, or treating a challenging patient condition, this is an unbeatable resource. New content on new technology and recent advances in vascular nursing. New content on ischemic nephropathy. Read-at-a-glance outline format, illustrated with numerous tables and charts. Coverage of topics including: the evolution of vascular nursing; vascular assessment and diagnosis; vascular nursing research; recommendations for treatment of carotid artery stenosis, aortic aneurysm, renal artery stenosis, vascular access, venous disease, vascular trauma, amputations, and lymphedema. Can serve as a manual for nursing instructors, and as a foundation for vascular nursing training and courses.
Critical Thinking Skills for Your Nursing Degree by
Critical Thinking Skills for your Nursing Degree provides you with a sound knowledge and understanding of: the nature of critical thinking, and of its relevance and importance in HE how to adopt a critical approach to all aspects of your nursing study the importance of active, critical reading, and how it allows you an efficient, principled, effective assessment of the literature in your field the need to adopt a critical approach to writing, characterised by analytical and evaluative use of sources and the development of your own 'voice' If you are embarking on a university nursing or midwifery degree, the books in this series will help you acquire and develop the knowledge, skills and strategies you need to achieve your goals. They provide support in all areas important for university study, including institutional and disciplinary policy and practice, self-management, and research and communication. Tasks and activities are designed to foster aspects of learning which are valued in higher education, including learner autonomy and critical thinking, and to guide you towards reflective practice in your study and work life.
Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2023 by
The most popular annual guide of its kind--fully updated to reflect all new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine For 60+ years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables you to find the answers you need quickly and easily. Packed with trusted content that keeps you up to date current on the changing guidelines and treatments on an annual basis, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2023 is completely focused on bedside clinical issues. It covers all primary care topics, including gynecology, obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, neurology, toxicology, and urology. Features *200 photos and illustrations and hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables, with indexed tradenames and updated drug prices *Year in Review table highlights key clinical updates over the last year *Comprehensive coverage of patient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to day-to-day practice *Annual updates to topics in all chapters in a consistent format, drugs, tables, and images and annual review of advances in HIV treatment *Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders *Diagnostic and treatment algorithms present important information in an at-a-glance style *Carefully curated references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information *Electronic-only chapters available to all book customers *Expanded chapter content available online and in eBook for all chapter content
Document Smart The a-To-Z Guide to Better Nursing Documentation by 
Empirical Nursing: The Art of Evidence-based Care by
This book seeks to provide students and practicing nurses with the tools to better understand and engage in scientific arguments to support quality nursing and evidence-based practice. The nature of nursing and its relationship with science remains an area of ongoing debate, controversy and considerable confusion to both students and practitioners. For a science-based health discipline, it is something of a paradox that most nursing students have limited exposure to scientific philosophy education, which is not covered in depth in many modern university nursing programmes. This work seeks to remedy this: in providing material on modern scientific research methods, with particular emphasis on the context of practice, it presents an alternative theoretical iteration of holistic nursing as scientific inquiry. The author is a passionate advocate for empirical and pragmatic approaches to nursing, and the book provides challenging ideas to support a new wave of critical-thinking in contemporary nursing, confronting postmodern dogma with contemporary scientific critique. In doing so, this text engages readers with the art of progressive empirical client-centred care, appropriate for the development of 21st century holistic nursing practice.
The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health by
The Future of Nursing explores how nurses' roles, responsibilities, and education should change significantly to meet the increased demand for care that will be created by health care reform and to advance improvements in America's increasingly complex health system. At more than 3 million in number, nurses make up the single largest segment of the health care work force. They also spend the greatest amount of time in delivering patient care as a profession. Nurses therefore have valuable insights and unique abilities to contribute as partners with other health care professionals in improving the quality and safety of care as envisioned in the Affordable Care Act (ACA) enacted this year. Nurses should be fully engaged with other health professionals and assume leadership roles in redesigning care in the United States. To ensure its members are well-prepared, the profession should institute residency training for nurses, increase the percentage of nurses who attain a bachelor's degree to 80 percent by 2020, and double the number who pursue doctorates. Furthermore, regulatory and institutional obstacles-including limits on nurses' scope of practice-should be removed so that the health system can reap the full benefit of nurses' training, skills, and knowledge in patient care. In this book, the Institute of Medicine makes recommendations for an action-oriented blueprint for the future of nursing.
The Influence of Psychological Trauma in Nursing by
"As nurses know firsthand, the impact of psychological trauma is not limited to those who experience it. Others--including nurses and caregivers--are indirectly affected. In healthcare, patients' psychological trauma may manifest in odd, uncomfortable, or confusing behaviors. Nurses and healthcare workers must recognize that patients may be feeling unsafe or struggling with low self-esteem, anxiety, grief, loneliness, or depression born from trauma. As nurses listen to, empathize with, and sometimes grieve with the people they care for, they need to comprehend the "why" behind these feelings and actions. The Influence of Psychological Trauma in Nursing helps nurses gain awareness and knowledge about trauma and recovery so they can heal and bring holistic healing to others. Authors Karen J. Foli and John R. Thompson provide a primer on psychological trauma, helping readers identify and understand the common forms of trauma in society. Filled with examples, tools, assessments, and learning objectives, this book helps nurses move forward as trauma-informed caregivers."--Publisher website
The Intersection: Where Evidence Based Nursing and Information Literacy Meet by
The Intersection: Where Evidence Based Nursing and Information Literacy Meet describes how the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Framework and Information literacy Competency Standards for Nursing mesh with nursing essentials, thus speaking to the information needs of nurses, nurse educators, and librarians who support worldwide nursing programs. In order to find the best evidence from studies, students and practicing nurses must be proficient in the entire range of information literacy skills. Though the references for this document are from U.S. organizations, they are applicable to nursing audiences across the globe. Describes how the ACRL Framework and Information Literacy Competency Standards for Nursing mesh with the essentials of nursing education and practice in evidence based nursing Speaks to the information needs of nurses, nurse educators and librarians who support nursing programs in the language of nursing Written by the authors for the ACRL Framework and Information Literacy Competency Standards for Nursing
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice by
"A classic text since it was first published in 1974, the Lippincott Manual for Nursing Practice has provided essential nursing knowledge and up-to-date information on patient care for nearly 40 years. Organized into five major parts, covering the Nursing Process and Practice; Medical-Surgical Nursing; Maternity & Neonatal Nursing; Pediatric Nursing; and Psychiatric Nursing. Written in an easy-to-read outline format, content is evidence-based and filled with procedure guidelines, Nursing Care Plans, Patient Education boxes, Standards of Care, and Assessments"--Provided by publisher
Lippincott Visual Nursing : A Guide to Clinical Diseases, Skills, and Treatments by 
Middle Range Theory for Nursing by
Awarded first place in the 2013 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Nursing Research category "This is an outstanding edition of this book. It has great relevance for learning about, developing, and using middle range theories. It is very user friendly, yet scholarly." Score: 90, 4 Stars.--Doody's Medical Reviews Middle range theory has become a vital staple of nursing education and application to research. These theories, which lie between the working hypotheses derived from day-to-day research and the larger, systemic efforts to develop unified theories, cover the scientific underpinnings that guide nursing practice and research. This third edition of a two-time AJN Book of the Year Award winner contains two new theories, including self-reliance theory and transitions theory. It revises and updates all other content, and provides ladders of abstraction for each theory to guide students in their appropriate use. This highly accessible book integrates nursing theory with well-defined practice areas, identifies purpose and basic concepts, foundational literature, relationships among concepts, and use in practice. Chapters are organized by central theories, each of which is covered in depth. Comprehensive bibliographies at the end of each chapter facilitate more in-depth research. The book remains an essential text for theory and research courses in master's and doctoral nursing programs. New to the Third Edition: Presents two new theories: self-reliance theory and transitions theory Deletes two theories no longer in use: community empowerment and family stress/adaptation Updates and revises all other content from the second edition Guides students in appropriate use of theory per level of complexity
Nursing: Decision-Making Skills for Practice by
Nursing: Decision-Making Skills for Practice is an evidence-based guide for student nurses that prepares them to make effective decisions on the ward and in the community.
Nursing Care Planning Made Incredibly Easy! by 
Nursing Documentation Made Incredibly Easy by 
Nursing Knowledge and Theory Innovation, Second Edition : Advancing the Science of Practice by 
Nursing Procedures Made Incredibly Easy! by
Perform nursing procedures safely and accurately, with the freshly updated Nursing Procedures Made Incredibly Easy, Second Edition. Written in the popular, lighthearted Incredibly Easy style, this comprehensive guide offers expert, step-by-step direction on a broad range of fundamental and system-based nursing procedures. This enjoyable way to learn nursing's best practices will help you stay up-to-date with the latest in technology, nursing standards, NCLEX preparation, and safe, quality care. · NEW and updated content offers:o crucial patient care methodso current nursing practice guidelineso directions for using the latest medical technologyo directions for ensuring patient safety and providing quality care· Coverage of topics including:o Fundamental nursing procedures - Easy-to-follow algorithms for a patient's entire hospital stay, from intake to discharge, including surgical careo Specimen collection - Clear directions on collecting blood, urine, and other specimenso Physical treatments - Techniques for heat and cold application, baths, support devices, wound care, drug administration, I.V. therapy, and moreo System-based procedures - Directions on procedures for all body systems· Clear direction to meet the needs of your maternal, neonatal, and pediatric patients· Easy-to-follow format for each procedure - Quick-skim paragraphs and bulleted lists specify equipment, step-by-step instructions, and practice pointers· Nursing procedures guides such as comparing biological dressings and assessing pressure ulcers· Special features:o Just the facts - Outline of chapter content at start of every chaptero Write it down - Essential documentation points for each procedureo Ages and stages - Issues where patient's age impacts a procedureo Handle with care - Patient care tips for elderly, pediatric, and bariatric patientso Memory joggers - Simple tricks for remembering complex conceptso Warning - Possible dangers, risks, complications, or contraindications associated with a particular procedureo Quick Quiz - Questions & Answers at the end of every chapter
Scope and Standards of Practice for Professional Ambulatory Care Nursing by
This publication is an updated scope of practice statement and 16 revised standards for the clinical and administrative professional practice of ambulatory care registered nurses. The standards promote effective clinical and administrative management of increasingly complex ambulatory care RN roles and responsibilities in a changing healthcare environment. The scope of practice statement addresses the definition and unique characteristics of ambulatory care nursing, the conceptual framework, its history over the past 30 years, the diverse types of ambulatory care settings, the roles of ambulatory care RNs, the trends and issues in ambulatory care, and future directions.
Scope and Standards of Practice for Professional Telehealth Nursing by
This 6th edition of the scope and standards of telehealth nursing reflects current professional norms, practices, and expectations, and recognizes the constantly evolving landscape of professional health systems. This edition contains significant revisions from previous versions. The Scope contains statements of the specific definition and defining characteristics of telehealth nursing in different practice settings across the continuum of care. Sixteen Standards are included: six address the six phases of the nursing process; ten address professional performance in telehealth practice.
Scope and Standards of Practice for Professional Telehealth Nursing: Making it Real by
Inspired by the vision, values, and traditions of the past, this edition of the scope and standards of telehealth nursing reflects current professional norms, practices, and expectations, and recognizes the constantly evolving landscape of professional health systemsThis 6th edition contains significant revisions from previous versions. The Scope contains statements of the specific definition and defining characteristics of telehealth nursing in different practice settings across the continuum of care. It also integrates telehealth elements into the concept of environment in the AAACN conceptual framework. Additionally, it incorporates a historical overview of the evolution of telehealth nursing as the use of innovative technologies spurred unique practices.Sixteen standards are included in the publication. The first six standards address the six phases of the nursing process. The remaining ten standards address professional performance in telehealth practice.
Toxic Nursing: Managing Bullying, Bad Attitudes, and Total Turmoil by
Nursing has a not-so-secret problem. The profession is prone to--some would say thrives on--workplace conflict, incivility, bullying, and meanness. And while nurses observe and experience this conflict daily, too few have been trained in its resolution. Toxic Nursing aims to change that with strategies, tools, and techniques to help nurse leaders, managers, and administrators defuse conflict, turn around toxic situations, and create positive, healthy work environments. Written by Cheryl Dellasega--author of the groundbreaking books Surviving Ophelia and Mean Girls Grown Up--Toxic Nursing explores the reasons behind toxic behavior and its impact on not just the workplace but patient safety.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by
This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today.
A Dictionary of Nursing by
The new edition of this bestselling and trusted dictionary has been fully revised to take account of recent developments in nursing practice and related fields. Updates to this edition cover many areas, with a particular focus on radiography, public health and the NHS, theoretical concepts familiar in nursing education, and key vocabulary used in the 2018 Nursing & Midwifery Council (NMC) Standards of Proficiency for Registered Nurses. Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,500 clear and concise entries on nursing theory and practice, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also many entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, dentistry, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 16 appendices covering the calculation of drug dosages, religion and nursing practice, recommended alcohol intake, and much more, help to make this an essential reference tool for all nursing students and professionals.
Future Directions of Credentialing Research in Nursing: Workshop Summary by
The nurse workforce constitutes the largest sector of health professionals in the United States and includes individuals with varying educational backgrounds and expertise. Like other health professions, nursing includes a large number of specialties and subspecialties. Nurses may seek certification, based on various standards and criteria, from a wide range of organizations. Similarly, organizations may participate in nursing credentialing programs, which typically reflect the attainment of various nursing care standards and outcome measures. It is, however, unclear how this additional training and education affects health care quality and patient health. "Future Directions of Credentialing Research in Nursing" examines short- and long-term strategies to advance research on nurse certification and organizational credentialing. This report summarizes a workshop convened by the Institute of Medicine in September 2014 to examine a new framework and research priorities to guide future research on the impact of nurse credentialing and certification on outcomes for nurses, organizations, and patients. Over 100 people attended the workshop, which focused on topics such as emergent priorities for research in nursing credentialing; critical knowledge gaps and methodological limitations in the field; promising developments in research methodologies, health metrics, and data infrastructures to better evaluate the impact of nursing credentialing; and short- and long-term strategies to encourage continued activity in nursing credentialing research. "Future Directions of Credentialing Research in Nursing" is a record of the presentations, discussion, and break-out sessions of this event.
Pediatric Nursing Made Incredibly Easy by 
Cardiac Nursing: The Red Reference Book for Cardiac Nurses by
"Need to develop strong cardiac nursing skills or advance your practice to a higher level? The newly updated Cardiac Nursing, 7th Edition is the gold standard reference and on-the-unit resource, offering crucial guidance and direction for nurses looking to provide up-to-date, evidence-based cardiac care. Designed for both new and experienced nurses, this is top-level, expert direction on developing care plans, performing assessments, interpreting labs, diagnosis, and more, making this the vital road map to safe, positive cardiac patient outcomes."--The publisher
Core Curriculum of Addictions Nursing: An Official Publication of the IntNSA by
"Prepping for certification? Core Curriculum of Addictions Nursing is your ticket to becoming a Certified Addictions Registered Nurse (CARN) or Certified Addictions Registered Nurse--Advanced Practice (CARN-AP). Indispensable for all practice areas, this factual, practical aid will guide you to develop and expand the knowledge and clinical skills required for caring for patients with addictions. This is a must-read not only for acing the exam, but for practicing insightful, evidence-based addictions nursing. This book is a revision of two previous addictions. The need is that this book can be utilized by RNs and APNs preparing to take the nursing certification board examinations in addictions nursing. This book can also be utilized by faculty developing a nursing curriculum in addictions nursing and substance use disorders. It aims to help nurses achieve success on the basic and advanced addictions nursing certification examination by providing invaluable clinical guidance, current data, and evidence-based practices for all settings and practice areas, aiding with the development or expansion of knowledge of skills in caring for clients potentially or actually affected by addictive processes."-- Description from Amazon.com.
Perinatal Nursing by
Leave the self-doubt behind -- get fully grounded in effective perinatal care, with Perinatal Nursing, 5th Edition, an official publication of the Association of Women''s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN). This freshly updated, comprehensive resource offers expert guidelines and best practices for the full range of patient care issues, from cultural practices and pregnancy complications to newborn assessments and nutrition. Stay current with this must-have, evidence-based support for both perinatal and labor and delivery nursing. Strengthen and upgrade your perinatal nursing strengths and expertise: NEW and expanded content on pregnancy complications - Bleeding in pregnancy, preterm labor and birth, diabetes, cardiac disease, pulmonary complications, multiple gestation, obesity and more NEW content on newborn nutrition - The infant feeding decision, breastfeeding benefits, nutritional components, and preterm milk and lactation NEW and updated content on patient safety and maternal morbidity and mortality in the United States - Instructions on how to make maternity units safer based on the most current evidence, and through application of various care bundles Evidence-based information on clinical conditions - Includes chapter on obesity that covers risks to the mother and fetus, care from preconception to postpartum, and bariatric surgery Text boxes emphasize crucial care standards and guidelines Practical guidance and current best practices for areas including: Perinatal patient safety and quality care Integrating patient cultural beliefs and practices into perinatal care Physiologic changes of pregnancy Antenatal care Hypertensive disorders of pregnancy Pregnancy complications Multiple gestation Maternal-fetal transport Labor and birth Fetal assessment Managing pain during labor Postpartum care Newborn care - Adaptation to extrauterine life, physical assessment and nutrition Common neonatal complications All chapters written by expert nurse clinicians and researchers to support positive perinatal outcomes Nursing staffing standards are included as they apply to each patient population Ideal for those seeking certification in obstetrics nursing (RNC-OB) and maternal newborn nursing (RN-MNN, RNC-LRN) Perfect on-the-job resource and review text for all perinatal nurses, maternal units, and students Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource® eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity, as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editors Kathleen Rice Simpson, PhD, RNC, FAAN is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist and Editor-in-Chief MCN, The American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing in Saint Louis, Missouri. Patricia A. Creehan, MSN, RNC is Manager of Clinical Operations, Labor and Delivery at Advocate Christ Medical Center in Oak Lawn, Illinois. Nancy O''Brien-Abel, MSN, RNC is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist at Perinatal Consulting, LLC and Affiliate Instructor at the School of Nursing, University of Washington in Seattle, Washington. Cheryl K. Roth, PhD, WHNP-BC, RNC-OB, RNFA is a Nurse Practitioner, Labor and Delivery at HonorHealth Scottsdale Shea/Osborn Medical Centers in Scottsdale, Arizona. Annie J. Rohan, PhD, RN, NNP-BC, CPNP-PC,FAANP is Director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program and Director of Pediatric Research at the School of Nursing, Office of Nursing Research and Innovation at Stony Brook University (SUNY at Stony Brook) in Stony Brook, New York.
Big Data Analytics and Intelligence: A Perspective for Health Care by
Big data is a field of research that is growing rapidly, and as the Covid-19 crisis has shown, health care is an area that could benefit greatly from its increased use and application. Big data, as derived partly from the internet of things and analysed according to specific algorithms, has a large and beneficial role to play in preventative medicine, in monitoring the health of specific groups, and in improving diagnostics. Big Data Analytics and Intelligence: A Perspective for Health Carefocuses on various areas of health care, ranging from nutrition to cancer, and providing diverse perspectives on all of them. This book explores the entire life-cycle of big data, from information retrieval to analysis, and it shows how big data's applications can enhance, streamline and improve services for patients and health-care professionals. Each chapter focuses on a specific area of health care and how big data is applicable to it, with background and current examples provided.
Measuring Capacity to Care Using Nursing Data by
Measuring Capacity to Care Using Nursing Data presents evidence-based solutions regarding the adoption of safe staffing principles and the optimum use of operational data to enable health service delivery strategies that result in improved patient and organizational outcomes. Readers will learn how to make better use of informatics to collect, share, link and process data collected operationally for the purpose of providing real-time information to decision- makers. The book discusses topics such as dynamic health care environments, health care operational inefficiencies and costly events, how to measure nursing care demand, nursing models of care, data quality and governance, and big data. The content of the book is a valuable source for graduate students in informatics, nurses, nursing managers and several members involved in health care who are interested in learning more about the beneficial use of informatics for improving their services. Presents and discusses evidences from real-world case studies from multiple countries Provides detailed insights of health system complexity in order to improve decision- making Demonstrates the link between nursing data and its use for efficient and effective healthcare service management Discusses several limitations currently experienced and their impact on health service delivery
Nursing Informatics 2018 : ICT to Improve Quality and Safety at the Point of Care by
"It is indisputable that information technology plays an ever-increasing role in the delivery of healthcare, and quality improvement is a crucial element in this constantly changing environment of providing nursing care with the help of advanced technology. This book presents papers from the 14th International Congress on Nursing and Allied Health Informatics (NI 2018), held in Guadalajara, Mexico, in June 2018. The theme of the conference - Information and Communication Technology to Improve Quality & Safety at the Point of Care - stresses the increasing importance of the role played by technology in modern healthcare, and the topics featured here cover the use of information and communication technologies for nursing and all allied healthcare professionals in the form of papers, posters, panels and workshops"--Publisher's description
History of Professional Nursing in the United States: Toward a Culture of Health by
Grounded in the premise that health care can and should be promoted in partnership with communities to provide quality care for all, this history analyzes the resilience and innovation of nurses who provided care for the most underprivileged populations, such as slaves on Southern plantations, immigrants in tenements in Manhattan's Lower East Side, and isolated populations in rural Kentucky.
Nursing the Nation: Building the Nurse Labor Force by
Modern health care cannot exist without professional nurses. Throughout the twentieth century, there was seldom a sustained period when the supply of nurses was equal to demand. Nursing the Nation offers a historical analysis of the relationship between the development of nurse employment arrangements with patients and institutions and the appearance of nurse shortages from 1890 to 1950. The response to nursing supply and demand problems by health care institutions and policy-making organizations failed to address nurse workforce issues adequately, and this failure resulted in, at times, profound and lengthy nurse shortages. Nurses also lost the ability to control their own destiny within health care institutions while nevertheless establishing themselves as the most critical part of health care provision today.
