| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
Use the following terms when performing a “Subject” search:
Integrative medicine
Alternative medicine
Holistic medicine
African American Alternative Medicine: Using Alternative Medicine to Prevent and Control Chronic Diseases by
An introduction to the field of African American alternative medicine, highlighting African American traditional healthcare practices, new qualitative fieldwork data from African American alternative health practitioners, and specific cultural ethnomedical strategies for the African American population. In order to examine the importance of alternative medicine to the African American population, this book focuses on the African American health belief system and the treatment strategies often used and documented. This book includes a cultural-historical view of alternative medicine's use within the African American community and shows how it was an integral part of African American culture. The author highlights a number of studies that examine alternative and complementary therapies associated with specific diseases among African Americans. Case studies are presented to show the types of alternative and complementary medicines used for specific diseases and to determine whether the alternative and complementary therapy was effective or not.; Moreover, the cultural perceptions of the specific disease are presented to provide reasons why African Americans tend to use the particular alternative and complementary medical therapy for the disease. The book serves as a resource guide for students, healthcare professionals, researchers, policymakers, and the general public.
Alternative Medicine: Perceptions, Uses and Benefits and Clinical Implications by
Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) today attracts significant attention through online health and consumer forums, professional CAM-practitioner associations and conferences, the recent growth in integrative biomedicine, and through the influence of advertisements and documentary presentations in mass media. A majority or large minority of consumers in developed countries regularly resort to professional CAM for supportive treatment for sickness in the form of chiropractic, osteopathic, prescribed dietary changes, acupuncture, massage, homeopathy, naturopathy and herbal medicine, and also use numerous associated lifestyle practices such as vegetarianism, nutritional supplementation, yoga and tai chi for self-treatment and to maintain general wellbeing. Many leading health insurance funds now provide generous rebates against out-of-pocket fees paid by consumers for private-sector CAM consultations. Furthermore, populations of developing countries continue to depend heavily on traditional herbal medicine and psycho-spiritual practices for their healing, on account of pharmaceutical treatments being often unaffordable or unavailable to them. Chapters of this book include literature reviews (such as study findings about the benefits of CAM for elderly persons and of laughter therapy, from the USA, and herbal treatments for pain, in Mauritius), and original studies (poor CAM consumers in Australia, the location of naturopaths' practice in Canada, and the use of mindfulness meditation among nursing students in Scotland). Study findings presented here are enjoyable in their diversity, and add to contemporary literature both by presenting common perceptions about CAM, by engaging in discussion of its prevalence and popularity in diverse contexts, and the contentious topic of placebo effect and the questions that arise as to how to prove effectiveness for alternative healing methods, while reviewing some potential clinical benefits.
Alternative Medicine Research Yearbook 2015 by
In this yearbook we have many interesting chapters and topics. We start out with chapters on psychocutaneous disorders from different points of view. Then we move to the newborn period with chapters on evaluation and screening of the newborn, prematurity, circumcision and environment. Then we move into specific health issues in the new born period and end up with several chapters on cost-benefit, sleep disorders, immunizations and more. It is our hope that you will find the content of interest.
The Cleveland Clinic Way: Lessons in Excellence from One of the World's Leading Health Care Organizations by
This is the future. Join the revolution. Transform your organization the Cleveland Clinic way. "One of the best healthcare systems in the world." President Barack Obama American healthcare is in crisis. It doesn't have to be.The Cleveland Clinic Way is a blueprint for fixing what's wrong with healthcare--and is a must-read for every leader seeking to transform his or her organization. There's a revolution going on right now. On the frontiers of medicine, some doctors have developed an approach for treating people that is more effective, more humane, and more affordable. It's an approach to healthcare that has captured the attention of the media and business elite--and the President of the United States. It's all happening at Cleveland Clinic, one of the most innovative, forward-looking medical institutions in the nation. In this groundbreaking book, the man who leads this global organization, Toby Cosgrove, MD, reveals how the Clinic works so well and argues persuasively for why it should be the model for the nation. He details how Cleveland Clinic focuses on the eight key trends that are shaping the future of medicine. Readers will learn: Why group practices provide not only better--but cheaper--care Why collaborative medicine is more effective How big data can be harnessed to improve the quality of care and lower costs How cooperative practices can be the wellspring of innovation Why empathy is crucial to better patient outcomes Why wellness of both mind and body depends on healthcare, not sickcare How care is best provided in different settings for greater comfort and value How tailor-made care treats a person instead of a disease At its core is Cleveland Clinic's emphasis on patient care and patient experience. A refreshingly positive and practical vision of healthcare, The Cleveland Clinic Way is essential reading for healthcare and business executives, medical professionals, industry analysts, and policymakers. It gives leaders lessons they can apply to their own organizations to achieve results and empowers average Americans to make more informed healthcare decisions. PRAISE FOR THE CLEVELAND CLINIC WAY "A brilliant doctor and leader lays out practical and thought-provoking prescriptions for America's healthcare future. A must-read." -- Jack Welch, former Chairman and CEO of General Electric Company "The Cleveland Clinic Way is what the healthcare system in this country needs: honesty about the challenges, optimism about our ability to address them, and a focus on solutions. A must-read for healthcare leaders, it's written in clear, inclusive language that makes it just as valuable for the rest of us." -- John Chambers, Chairman and CEO of Cisco "A pioneer in American healthcare, Toby Cosgrove shows just how the diligence and innovative thinking behind Cleveland Clinic has helped solve fundamental problems most other places barely touch. There are lessons here for everyone--patient, physician, and policymaker alike." -- Atul Gawande, MD, professor at Harvard Medical School and bestselling author of The Checklist Manifesto "Toby Cosgrove frames the eight important trends that will transform the U.S. healthcare system. The Cleveland Clinic Way is a good road map for those who want to make the U.S. healthcare system better." -- Jeffrey Immelt, Chairman and CEO of General Electric Company
Collecting Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Data in Electronic Health Records: Workshop Summary by
Collecting Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Data in Electronic Health Records: Workshop Summary reviews the statement of task set to the committee which required them to collect sexual orientation and gender identity data in electronic health records. This report summarizes the invited presentations and facilitated discussions about current practices around sexual orientation and gender identity data collection, the challenges in collecting these data, and ways in which these challenges can be overcome. Areas of focus for the workshop include the clinical rationale behind collecting these data, standardized questions that can be used to collect these data, mechanisms for supporting providers and patients in the collection of these data, technical specifications involved in creating standards for sexual orientation and gender identity data collection and exchange, and policy considerations related to the health information technology (HIT) Meaningful Use process being overseen by the Department of Health and Human Services. This report summarizes the workshop agenda, select invited speakers and discussants, and moderate the discussions. Invited participants will include lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) health care consumer advocates, providers with experience working with LGBT populations, HIT vendors and other HIT specialists, health care administrators, and policy makers.
Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative Health: A Multicultural Perspective by
Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative Health: A Multicultural Perspective provides a critical analysis of non-allopathic healing practices, including their uses, limitations, and scientific basis. The evidence-based discussion explores complementary, alternative, and integrative health (CAIH) across various cultural and ethnic groups both in the U.S. and internationally, to give you a greater understanding of the different modalities--including a literature-backed examination of proven methods and questionable practices within a cross-cultural framework. Each chapter highlights the scientific analysis of the practices relevant to each group, and guides you toward independent analysis of the risks and benefits of the practices discussed. Emphasizing the student as a future health professional, this book includes case studies, examples, questions, and discussion problems that underscore the role of health educators in educating consumers about CAIH practices.
Complementary and Alternative Medicine for Older Adults: A Guide to Holistic Approaches to Healthy Aging by
The field of Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) is expected to grow tremendously in the next few years. In addition to an increase in the general population, the baby-boomer generation is quickly entering retirement and will likely take advantage of CAM increasingly as it ages. Although CAM research as applied to aging is just beginning and health professionals receive no special training in CAM and aging, the United States population still continues to employ it. For diagnoses that accompany aging such as cancer, neurological diseases, psychiatric disorders, and physical disabilities, CAM has often been used in addition to or in place of unsuccessful conventional methods of treatment. This new and up-to-the-minute compendium of reliable and authoritative information on complementary and alternative therapies seeks to provide information that older adults may use as they seek to improve their health and quality of life. Covering dietary means; physical, mental, and spiritual methods of treatment; and various types of therapies, this handbook is the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource on complementary and alternative medicine available today. Each chapter or article includes: Brief definition of modality Anecdotal reports of usefulness Discussion of scientific evidence for and against modality List of resources that reader can use to find further information Examples of therapies covered include: Art & Music Massage Acupuncture Meditation Homeopathy Ayurveda Aromatherapy
Complementary and Alternative Medicine in Nursing and Midwifery by
This book explores the historical, social, political and cultural facets of integration between complementary and alternative medicine and nursing/midwifery. It examines the ever-expanding integration in relation to: the role and conceptualization of the patient the role and responsibilities of different professional healthcare providers (nurses, midwives, alternative therapists, etc) the future provision and approach of nursing and midwifery practice the challenges and opportunities currently facing healthcare systems as a result of integration. This innovative book provides the first critical overview of this important field of health research. It is important reading for medical sociologists, nurses and other health professionals - as well as students in these areas - with an interest in complementary and alternative medicine.
Complementary and Integrative Medicine in Pain Management by
Pain is the most common complaint amongst all patients seeking care from all types of health practitioners. It is estimated that 40% of patient visits to health care practitioners are for the management of pain. The problem of pain and other functional complaints is an ever larger proportion of the practice of integrative medicine. Complementary and alternative medical modalities have much to offer in managing pain and functional complaints, as well as presenting new and unique perspectives on the phenomenon of pain. This book is also unique in taking into account cultural, historical and social factors in pain and pain management. While not a topic in itself (with the exception of the introductory chapter) it is a perspective that infuses all the topics of the book.
Exploring Complementary and Alternative Medicine by
The Rosenthal lecture included in this volume explores the world of complementary medicine and its implications for medical research, clinical practice, and policy in the United States.
Handbook of Integrative Clinical Psychology, Psychiatry, and Behavioral Medicine: Perspectives, Practices, and Research by
"This is the long-awaited text on interdisciplinary treatment and assessment of, among other clinical topics, brain-derived behavioral, cognitive, and neurological disorders...." --Niels Birbaumer, PhD University of T¸bingen, Germany Member of the German Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina "Gone is the unidimensional approach of the expert summarizing a topic from a single vantage point. Instead, the content shifts laterally, embracing not only interdisciplinary expertise, but an integrative way of thinking that transcends each discipline....What makes the Handbook so refreshing is that this cross pollination of ideas and approaches is more than novel theorizing. It offers clinicians a new way forward." --Anthony Feinstein, MD, MPhil, PhD, FRCP University of Toronto To maintain the highest standards, allied health care practitioners must keep pace with evolving trends in diagnostics, interventions, and methodologies. This book supports clinicians by disseminating important perspectives, research, and procedures. It provides an integrative roadmap that fosters interdisciplinary cooperation. Key Features: Presents reviews of research on a broad selection of clinical disorders Includes a wide range of established and emerging diagnostic and intervention approaches Discusses viable evidence-based alternative treatment methods Critiques certain approaches, paradigms, and practices that may need to be revised Includes contributions from renowned psychologists, psychiatrists, and researchers Clinicians, researchers, and students will find this book a valuable source for interdisciplinary practice and research. It facilitates a sorely needed move toward integrative practice in an era in which specialization pervades.
Healing Across Boundaries: Bio-Medicine and Alternative Therapeutics by
This unique volume initiates a dialogue between bio-medicine and alternative therapeutics. Undertaking a multidisciplinary exploration of the science and spirituality of healing and wellness, it offers varied perspectives from doctors, medical researchers, Ayurvedic practitioners, philosophers, psychologists, sociologists, and cultural critics. It expands the horizons of health sciences in engaging with diverse traditions -- bio-medicine, Ayurveda, Siddha, and Jaina bio-ethics. The book will interest scholars and researchers in social and community medicine, biological sciences, sociology and social anthropology, as well as cultural studies.
Hospital-Based Integrative Medicine: A Case Study of the Barriers and Factors Facilitating the Creation of a Center by
Current integrative medicine practices in hospital settings involve some form of partnership between complementary and alternative medicine and biomedicine. This five-year study adopted a longitudinal methodology to track the establishment of a single hospital-based Integrative Medicine Center. Using extensive qualitative interview data, the project staff conducted a stakeholder analysis of all participants involved in the establishment and continuation of the Integrative Medicine Center and collected data from hospital documents, patient files, patient questionnaires and provider questionnaires. Although some factors clearly worked in favor of the center, the hospital had few models to guide it and no experience in creating such a clinic. Thus, it made many decisions in the areas of administration, finance, and legal issues that created barriers to the center's success, and the center was ultimately closed.
Integrative Medicine and the Health of the Public: a Summary of the February 2009 Summit: A Summary of the February 2009 Summit by
The last century witnessed dramatic changes in the practice of health care, and coming decades promise advances that were not imaginable even in the relatively recent past. Science and technology continue to offer new insights into disease pathways and treatments, as well as mechanisms of protecting health and preventing disease. Genomics and proteomics are bringing personalized risk assessment, prevention, and treatment options within reach; health information technology is expediting the collection and analysis of large amounts of data that can lead to improved care; and many disciplines are contributing to a broadening understanding of the complex interplay among biology, environment, behavior, and socioeconomic factors that shape health and wellness. On February 25 - 27, 2009, the Institute of Medicine (IOM) convened the Summit on Integrative Medicine and the Health of the Public in Washington, DC. The summit brought together more than 600 scientists, academic leaders, policy experts, health practitioners, advocates, and other participants from many disciplines to examine the practice of integrative medicine, its scientific basis, and its potential for improving health. This publication summarizes the background, presentations, and discussions that occurred during the summit.
Integrative Medicine for Breast Cancer: Practice And Research by
This book is designed to capture and clinically review the comprehensive database of clinical research articles that support and do not support the utilization of a variety of dietary supplements and other complementary medicines that physicians are exposed to in their daily practice. The growing list of CAM products that could interfere with surgery (anesthesia, bleeding, outcomes...) and/or conventional medicines is very large and is provided in each section of the book. Additionally, the list of dietary supplements that could be utilized to improve quality of life for breast cancer patients is also emphasized. The various sub-specialty groups in breast are adequately represented, which allows for a physician to rapidly and thoroughly investigate their topic of interest regardless of whether the topic is prevention, treatment, or a specific side effect of treatment. The practical nature of Integrative Medicine for Breast Cancer: An Evidence-Based Assessment cannot be overstated. Chapters include a general overview of the CAM agent, whether or not it has data in medicine and oncology, and a list of potential drug interactions and specific clinical scenarios where it can be utilized or discouraged in the specialty. Thus, this book will become the gold standard evidence based text for use in teaching, not only for the students interested in oncology and breast cancer, but for all current oncology health providers.
Integrative Men's Health by
As a field, men's health is far behind women's health in terms of the availability of reliable, scientifically based information that men, their partners, and health care providers can rely on when seeking information and treatment. Moreover, integrative approaches are becoming more popular with men whose healthcare providers understand that most of the leading causes of morbidity and mortality in men, including cardiovascular disease, cancer, urologic disease, and sexual dysfunction, can be ameliorated using an integrative approach, with more emphasis on the patient-provider relationship, lifestyle change, and the use of proven complementary modalities. Integrative Men's Health provides an evidence-based perspective on the health problems that affect men and the ways in which such problems may be prevented or treated utilizing a broad armamentarium of approaches - from conventional tools to complementary modalities. All chapters take into consideration of all the factors that influence men's health including body, mind, and spirit in a way that neither rejects alternative approaches nor accepts any of them uncritically.
Integrative Nursing by
Integrative medicine is defined as healing-oriented medicine that takes account of the whole person (body, mind, and spirit) as well as all aspects of lifestyle. It emphasizes the therapeutic relationship and makes use of appropriate therapies, both conventional and alternative.This volume is the first complete roadmap to integrative nursing, providing a step-by-step guide to assess and clinically treat conditions through a variety of combined methodologies including wellness, lifestyle enhancement, and nutrition. This text puts forth both the skills and theoretical frameworks for multidisciplinary leaders to consider and implement integrative healthcare strategies within institutions, including several case studies involving practical nursing-led initiatives.Sections one and two cover the foundations, including principles and best practices, healing environments, whole systems healing, and measurement of outcomes. The third section outlines major areas of symptom management such as pain, nausea, insomnia, anxiety, depression, stress, and behavioral dysfunction. The fourth and fifth sections address applications to patient populations, models of care, and models of education. The final section collects global perspectives.The academic rigor of the text is balanced by practical and relevant content that can be readily implemented into practice for both established professionals as well as students enrolled in undergraduate or graduate nursing programs.
Integrative Oncology by
More and more people living with and beyond cancer seek integrative interventions to complement their conventional cancer care. This second edition of the highly successful Integrative Oncology provides the reader with the most updated information available with new chapters on Music andExpressive Arts Therapies, Naturopathic Oncology, and an integrative approach to Lung Cancer. Integrative medicine is defined as healing-oriented medicine that takes account of the whole person (body, mind, and spirit) as well as all aspects of lifestyle; it emphasizes the therapeutic relationshipand makes use of appropriate therapies, both conventional and alternative.This series grows out of a need to organize and make accessible to clinicians the basic principles of integrative medicine in practical application to common health conditions. Each volume focuses on a particular specialty and features well-recognized and authoritative editors and chapter authors.The text is presented in an easy-to-read format featuring case histories, clinical pearls, and useful tables, with all key information highlighted. Series editor Andrew Weil, MD, is Professor and Director of the Arizona Center for Integrative Medicine at the University of Arizona. Dr. Weil's programwas the first such academic program in the U.S., and its stated goal is "to combine the best ideas and practices of conventional and alternative medicine into cost effective treatments without embracing alternative practices uncritically."
Integrative Strategies for Cancer Patients: A Practical Resource For Managing The Side Effects Of Cancer Therapy by
Integrative Strategies for Cancer Patients is the definitive resource on the benefits of integrative therapies during cancer treatment. The book does not need to be read cover to cover to learn about integrative medicine. Instead it is meant to be a reference handbook for managing the most common side effects afflicting patients with cancer. Integrative Strategies for Cancer Patients provides hands-on guidance with illustrations demonstrating how to use complementary/alternative therapies during cancer treatment. Some of the techniques you will learn about in this book are:100% of the royalties from this book will benefit the Integrative Therapies Program at Columbia University Medical Center. The proceeds will provide additional support for research in the field of complementary/alternative medicine.
Integrative Treatment of Hypertension: A Clinical and Mechanistic Approach by
Given current trends toward obesity, sedentary lifestyles, and poor diets, hypertension is increasingly becoming a disease of the young as well as the elderly, affecting about 1 billion people worldwide. Many patients, especially the younger ones, would prefer alternative treatments. While natural remedies have been used for much longer than pharma
Integrative Women's Health by
Integrative Women's Health remains the only in-depth, broad-based reference on integrative women's health written for health professionals. It helps providers address not only women's reproductive health, but also conditions that manifest differently in women than in men, includingcardiovascular disease, arthritis, HIV, depression, and cancer. The text presents the best evidence, in a clinically relevant manner, for the safe and effective use of herbs, vitamins, diet, and mind-body strategies alongside conventional medical treatments. As leading educators in integrativemedicine, editors Dr. Maizes and Dr. Low Dog demonstrate how clinicians can implement their recommendations in practice, going beyond practical care to examine how to motivate patients, enhance a health history, and understand the spiritual dimensions of healing. In managing the patient, alternativetherapies are never seen as substitutes for mainstream medical care, but always "integrated" into the overall regimen, and always subjected to the best available evidence.New to this second edition are chapters on environmental medicine and women's reproduction, thyroid health, and lesbian health.
Integrative Women's Health by
Integrative Women's Health remains the only in-depth, broad-based reference on integrative women's health written for health professionals. It helps providers address not only women's reproductive health, but also conditions that manifest differently in women than in men, includingcardiovascular disease, arthritis, HIV, depression, and cancer. The text presents the best evidence, in a clinically relevant manner, for the safe and effective use of herbs, vitamins, diet, and mind-body strategies alongside conventional medical treatments. As leading educators in integrativemedicine, editors Dr. Maizes and Dr. Low Dog demonstrate how clinicians can implement their recommendations in practice, going beyond practical care to examine how to motivate patients, enhance a health history, and understand the spiritual dimensions of healing. In managing the patient, alternativetherapies are never seen as substitutes for mainstream medical care, but always "integrated" into the overall regimen, and always subjected to the best available evidence.New to this second edition are chapters on environmental medicine and women's reproduction, thyroid health, and lesbian health.
Lifestyle and Health by
Today, it is common knowledge that the lifestyle has an extremely high influence on health. This book discusses the concept of lifestyle and the condition for a good lifestyle Western Medicine can, by its structure, only offer general or definitive advice and general restrictions without regard to the specific patient. In contrast to Western Medicine Chinese Medicine is personalized. In the center of this personalized medicine is the concept of “harmony” as the way to a good life in many relations. These relations of harmony are discussed in this book.
Perspectives on Complementary and Alternative Medicines by
Would you use complementary and alternative medicines (CAMS)? Well, research has shown that up to three quarters of patients with cancer may at least supplement their treatment with such therapies, spending as much on CAMS as conventional drugs. How do you decide? This book provides a full range of perspectives on CAMS from patients and CAMS practitioners to conventional doctors who oppose the use of these alternative treatments because of the lack of evidence of efficacy and safety. Then there are the CAMS researchers, educators and regulators who view CAMS from different perspectives. The broad array of opinions build a complete picture of the issues for discerning readers to be adequately informed to make up their minds and draw their own conclusions.
Systems Thinking in Medicine and New Drug Discovery: Volume One by
Total Quality Management (TQM) and systems thinking are being used to improve all aspects of human health. This first book in a two-volume set details how the healthcare community is working with patients and their caregivers to improve healthcare and reduce its costs. Systems-based thinking encourages us to work together to look at the effects of new drugs on entire systems and not just single molecular targets. It also leads us to a better understanding of genetics and epigenetics, as well as the deep ecology of the human body.