Anonymous, "Ionic Entrance Hall" British, 19th Century
HotPot
HotPotHotpot simplifies graphic design and image editing with AI tools and drag-n-drop software ... For professional designers, our goal is to automate rote tasks and augment the creative process. For non-designers, the goal is to make design and image generation as simple as PowerPoint.
Architectural Digital Image Resources
American Landscape & Architectural Design (Library of Congress)This collection of approximately 2,800 lantern slides represents an historical view of American buildings and landscapes built during the period 1850-1920. It represents the work of Harvard faculty, such as Frederick Law Olmsted Jr., Bremer W. Pond, and James Sturgis Pray, as well as that of prominent landscape architects throughout the country.
Cities and Buildings Database (University of Washington)The Cities and Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web.
Open Content Digital Image Resources
Although material may be copyrighted, more and more institutions are making their image collections freely available online.
The British LibraryImages scanned from the pages of 17th, 18th and 19th century books in the British Library. Includes maps, geological diagrams, beautiful illustrations, comical satire, illuminated and decorative letters, colourful illustrations, landscapes, wall-paintings and more. Image sets include: fashion & costume; portraits; illustrated letters & typography; maps; and highlights frrm the 'Mechanical Curator.'
Creative CommonsCreative Commons is the leading organization supporting the global movement for sharing and collaboration. We create, maintain, and promote the Creative Commons licenses — free, international, easy-to-use copyright licenses that are the standard for enabling sharing and remix.
Getty Images Open ContentThe Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required.
The Metropolitan Museum of ArtOn February 7, 2017, The Metropolitan Museum of Art implemented a new policy known as Open Access, which makes images of artworks it believes to be in the public domain widely and freely available for unrestricted use, and at no cost, in accordance with the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) designation and the Terms and Conditions of this website.
National Archives: Public Domain"The vast majority of digitized historical documents and photographs in ARC are in the public domain. Therefore, no written permission is required to use them. We would appreciate your crediting the National Archives and Records Administration as the original source.
National Gallery of ArtNGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. More than 51,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
New York Public LibraryTo date, there are 227,546 public domain items in Digital Collections, and that number grows every day. You do not need NYPL's permission to use these items and there are no known restrictions on their use. However, these items may be subject to rights of privacy, publicity, or other restrictions depending on the format of the materials and what the items depict. It is your responsibility to respect these rights.
Pond5Whether you’re a filmmaker, musician, designer, student, or just a history buff, the Pond5 Public Domain Project is making copyright-free media available for you.
Project REVEALProject REVEAL has been a year-long project designed with the three-fold purpose of increasing access to the Ransom Center's manuscript and archival resources, enhancing the online user experience for the Center's researchers, and creating workflows and institutional best practices for future large-scale digitization projects at the Center. Over the past year, 25 manuscript collections of some of the best-known names from American and English literature of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries have been digitized in their entirety and made available online via the Center's digital collections portal.
Wellcome CollectionMost of the works were acquired between 1890 and 1936 by Sir Henry Wellcome and his agents across the globe. The images reflect Wellcome’s collecting interests and were intended to form a documentary resource that reflects the cultural and historical contexts of health and medicine.
