Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Plagiarism?
Briefly, plagiarism happens when you incorporate direct statements or paraphrase the ideas of someone into a paper you are writing and do not acknowledge where you found the information. This is why citing your sources properly and creating a reference list, works cited page or bibliography are such an important part of any research assignment.
It is very easy to plagiarize if you are copying and pasting material from a source into your own paper. But even if it is unintentional, plagiarism is a serious academic offense and you will be severely penalized for it.
To develop a good understanding of plagiarism and how to avoid it before you begin writing your paper, reference the materials in the "Plagiarism Resources" box on this page.
LTU subscribes to the plagiarism checking software, Vericite. It is available through the Assignments tab in Canvas. The instructor must make it available for each assignment. If you cannot find it, be sure to ask your instructor for assistance.
Types of Plagiarism
Source: Turnitin (Great examples of plagiarism on this site!)
Examples of Plagiarism
(Northern Illinois University)
Click on each for its definition, source text, plagiarized draft, corrected draft and explanation.
You Quote It, You Note It
(Arizona State University)
An online tutorial which discusses several strategies for avoiding plagiarism.
Checks for plagiarism against ProQuest databases and over 16 billion web pages.
(Sponsered by Turnitin.com)
A comprehensive set of resources to help students write with integrity.
Gaming Against Plagiarism
(University of Florida Marston)
Log on as a guest and play some fun interactive games about plagiarism.
Warning: all links (above) are non-LTU sites. Proceed with caution.
What is Plagiarism? A Handy Infographic (via EasyBib)
The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism by Why is accurate referencing important? How do I reference sources correctly? What must I do to avoid plagiarism in my written work? How can I use referencing to assert my own ideas? This excellent new edition of The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism continues to demystify the referencing process and provide essential guidance to make sure you are not committing plagiarism. It provides clear guidelines on why and when to reference as well as how to correctly cite from a huge range of sources. Tackling all the main forms of referencing - Harvard, APA, MLA and Numerical referencing styles - in an accessible and comprehensive manner, you'll want to dip into this book time and again. A unique feature of the book is the comparisons it makes between different referencing styles, which are shown side-by-side. This provides a useful guide, particularly for students on combined studies courses who may be expected to use two, and sometimes three, different referencing styles. This new edition offers: A detailed guide to referencing electronic sources and choosing reliable internet sites Additional 'frequently asked questions' and answers Research findings of student perceptions of referencing Cases of referencing in practice by real students Examples of referencing in action Exercises and quizzes to test your knowledge Advice on the use of referencing management software The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism is essential reading for all students and professionals who need to use referencing in academic writing to reflect their own ideas, constructively apply the work of others, and to avoid plagiarism.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioural sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language. Well-known for its authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant scientific communication. The Sixth Edition offers new and expanded instruction on publication ethics, statistics, journal article reporting standards, electronic reference formats, and the construction of tables and figures. The Sixth Edition has been revised and updated to include new ethics guidance on such topics as determining authorship and terms of collaboration, duplicate publication, plagiarism and self-plagiarism, disguising of participants, validity of instrumentation, and making data available to others for verification; new journal article reporting standards to help readers report empirical research with clarity and precision; simplified APA heading style to make it more conducive to electronic publication; updated guidelines for reducing bias in language to reflect current practices and preferences, including a new section on presenting historical language that is inappropriate by present standards; new guidelines for reporting inferential statistics and a significantly revised table of statistical abbreviations new instruction on using supplemental files containing lengthy data sets and other media; significantly expanded content on the electronic presentation of data to help readers understand the purpose of each kind of display and choose the best match for communicating the results of the investigation, with new examples for a variety of data displays, including electrophysiological and biological data; consolidated information on all aspects of reference citations, with an expanded discussion of electronic sources emphasising the role of the digital object identifier (DOI) as a reliable way to locate information; and expanded discussion of the publication process, including the function and process of peer review; a discussion of ethical, legal, and policy requirements in publication; and guidelines on working with the publisher while the article is in press. Key to this edition of the Publication Manual is an updated and expanded Web presence. Visit the APA Style web site to Look up additional supplemental material keyed to the book Test your knowledge of APA Style with a free tutorial on style basics Learn about the changes in the sixth edition with a free tutorial reviewing key revisions Sign up for an on-line course to enrich and enhance your understanding of APA Style Read the APA Style blog and share your comments on writing and referencing Consult frequently asked questions to sharpen your understanding of APA Style Examine additional resources on such topics as ethics, statistics, and writing Familiarise yourself with submission standards for APA books and journals What''s New in the Sixth Edition? Book has been updated to acknowledge and incorporate advances in computer technology. New discussions of the creation, submission, and storage of supplemental data. New guidelines for referencing electronic sources. New and expanded reference examples for a variety of on-line sources. Redesigned APA Style website, expanded to provide tutorials, on-line courses, and other resources for learning APA style. Book has been reorganised and streamlined for ease of use Organised to describe the writing process from idea to publication, it begins with background information on ethical issues in publishing, then moves on to manuscript structure and content, then writing style and rules, then graphics and references, then guidance on working with the publisher. Sample paper section has been moved up and featured to better exemplify manuscript structure and content Like discussions have been moved to one place in the book, with discussions of function followed by instruction on form. Focus has been broadened to include readers in the behavioural and social sciences. Information specific to APA has been moved to the web, where it is more broadly accessible and can be updated frequently. New examples throughout the book have been drawn from publications in education, business, and nursing as well as psychology.
Call Number: eBook 6th ed.
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th Ed.) by Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and secondary schools, the MLA Handbook is the guide millions of writers have relied on for over half a century. The seventh edition, taken out of print by the MLA in spring 2016 upon publication of the eighth edition, provides the MLA's previous recommendations on documentation style for use in student writing. Please note that copies of the seventh edition of the MLA Handbook include a code for accessing an accompanying Web site. The Web site is no longer available.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009-01-01