Subject heading search terms: Acute renal failure, Chronic renal failure, Hemodialysis, Kidneys—Transplantation; Keyword search terms: acute kidney injury, chronic kidney disease
A Changing Perspective for Treatment of Chronic Kidney Disease by
Chronic kidney disease (CKD) has become an enormous worldwide health problem, both in developed and less developed countries. The incidence and prevalence of CKD is high, and is associated with increased mortality and morbidity. Of note, CKD is the 12th most common primary cause of death, accounting for about 1 million deaths per year worldwide. CKD and end-stage renal disease are characterized by the progressive development of a series of complications, such as anemia, hyperkalemia, hypervolemia, mineral and bone disorders (CKD-MBD), metabolic acidosis, hyperuricemia and wasting; all of these complications have been shown to be associated with adverse outcomes, and can contribute either individually or in association to the cardiovascular morbidity and mortality observed in CKD. While at this time CKD progression is not treated with high efficacy, new biomarkers of kidney fibrosis have become available in recent years and new treatments for kidney fibrosis and cell loss could become soon available. In addition recent progress in our understanding of CKD pathophysiology together with the development of novel therapeutic agents has led to a renewed attention on the treatment of CKD–associated metabolic complications which are now are amenable to therapeutic interventions. All these important issues are addressed in this volume.
Chronic Kidney Disease: Underlying Molecular Mechanisms by
Chronic kidney disease (CKD) is a worldwide public health problem that must be addressed. The global increase in CKD prevalence is associated with an increase in conventional disease risk factors (e.g., diabetes and hypertension), which may be exacerbated by additional variables such as environmental and occupational exposure to toxic compounds. Authors contributed to this Special Issue by highlighting the finding of potential novel biomarkers of the disease and more effective therapy alternatives, as well as works that enhance the understanding of CKD pathogenesis and its related complications.
Chronic Renal Disease by
Chronic Renal Disease, Second Edition, comprehensively investigates the physiology, pathophysiology, treatment and management of chronic kidney disease (CKD). This translational reference takes an in-depth look at CKD with no coverage of dialysis or transplantation. Chapters are devoted to the scientific investigation of chronic kidney disease, the most common problems faced by nephrologists in the management of chronic kidney disease, specific illnesses in the CKD framework, and how the management of CKD in a polycystic kidney disease patient differs from other CKD patients. This award-winning reference features a series of case studies, covering both clinical aspects and pathophysiology. Questions are open ended, progressively more difficult, and repetitive across different patient clinical problems and different chapters. The cases and questions included will be useful for medical students, residency board reviews, and clinician teaching or conference preparation.
Diagnostics, Risk Factors, Treatment and Outcomes of Acute Kidney Injury in a New Paradigm by
Acute kidney injury (AKI) is a frequent clinical syndrome among hospitalized patients, independently associated with both short- and long-term mortality. Previous investigations attempted to identify effective interventions to prevent AKI or promote kidney function recovery in patients with AKI. Most were unsuccessful. Hence, additional studies are required in the field of AKI research. In this Special Issue, we are making a call to action to stimulate researchers and clinicians to submit their studies on AKI conducted in nephrology, internal medicine, critical care, and other disciplines that will provide additional knowledge and skills in the field of AKI research, ultimately to improve patient outcomes.
Handbook of Kidney Transplantation by
This popular handbook is a practical guide for physicians, surgeons, nurses, and other professionals who manage kidney transplant patients. It is concise, readable, and well-illustrated. Chapters outline the major concerns surrounding renal transplantation and the most successful approaches to problems arising in short-term and long-term patient care. Chapter topics include immunobiology and immunosuppression, as well as chapters on surgery, histocompatibility, and the first three months post-transplant surgery.
Kidney Disease in Diabetes by
This reference work provides comprehensive information about diabetic nephropathy. Chapters in the book introduce the reader to the link between diabetes, obesity and chronic kidney disease (CKD) and delve into many topics relevant to treating kidney disease in diabetic patients. These topics include CKD epidemiology, diagnosis, treatment considerations for the elderly patient, post-transplant diabetes, pathophysiology, biomarkers and much more. Special topics such as the incidence of cardiovascular disease in diabetic CKD, nutrition for obese CKD patients and the clinical use of biomarkers for evaluating cases are also included. The broad spectrum coverage of informative topics about diabetic kidney disease make this an essential reference for medical students and clinical residents/healthcare professionals in nephrology, endocrinology, geriatrics, internal medicine and general surgery. Researchers interested in the clinical biochemistry of diabetes and associated disorders will also benefit from the information presented.
Multidisciplinary Experiences in Renal Replacement Therapy by
Renal replacement therapy (RRT) is used to replace the capacity of blood filtration, which is completely lost in end-stage renal disease (ESRD). This book examines RRT from a multidisciplinary perspective. In nine comprehensive chapters over three sections, the book shows how clinical routines, especially RRT, are increasingly focused on the translational scenario of the health sciences. Chapters discuss health and wellness, hemodialysis, and clinical biomarkers of renal disease.
Nutritional Management of Renal Disease by
Nutritional Management of Renal Disease, Fourth Edition, offers in-depth reviews of the metabolic and nutritional disorders prevalent in patients with renal disease and serves as an in-depth reference source concerning nutrition and kidney disease. This classic translational reference provides correct diagnosis - and therefore correct treatment - of renal, metabolic, and nutritional disorders. Nephrologists, diebetologists, endocrinologists, dieticians, and nutritionists depend on a strong understanding of the molecular basis for the disease. This fourth edition includes thorough new case reports, offering expert advice on how to use the latest research and clinical findings in counseling patients about dietary and lifestyle options. Readers gain insight into which treatments, medications, and diets to use based on the history, progression, and genetic make-up of a patient.
Psychosocial Aspects of Chronic Kidney Disease by
Psychosocial Aspects of Chronic Kidney Disease: Exploring the Impact of CKD, Dialysis, and Transplantation on Patients provides an overview of the emotional and psychological challenges faced by people with renal disease. This book outlines the epidemiology and treatment of the psychosocial factors affecting them. The sections in the book cover psychiatric illness in the earlier and middle stages of chronic kidney disease, end-stage renal disease treated with dialysis, and renal transplantation. The book concludes with a section on special considerations, delving into topics such as treating children and adolescents, quality of life, caregiver burden, challenges in psychosocial research in kidney disease, and future directions for intervention.
Quick Guide to Kidney Transplantation by
Concise, easy to read, and designed for quick reference, Quick Guide to Kidney Transplantationis a compact resource for general nephrologists, residents, fellows, nurse practitioners, and others involved in the care of post-transplant patients. Focusing on must-know clinical information needed to provide optimal patient care, this expertly written guide helps you gain the knowledge and expertise you need in this complex area.