Subject heading search terms: Body fluids, Body fluids AND SU: electrolytes, Electrolytes AND KW: medicine, Perfusion (Physiology), Postoperative care, Pulmonary gas exchange; Keyword search terms: kw:(gas exchange) AND kw:(nursing)
ENT in Primary Care: A Concise Guide by
This volume serves as a practical guide for the primary care provider to better understand the clinical history, clinical examination, and accurate management of ENT disease. Additionally, the text aims to help general physicians and nurse practitioners to reduce the number of specialist referrals for patients requiring ENT care. Topics cover the most common ENT symptoms that can expect to be managed in a primary care setting, ENT diagnostic instrumentation for surgery, and how to determine when a patient can be managed in a general practice or referred to secondary care. Other topics cover the history of ENT, common red flags, rhinology, and laryngology. ENT in Primary Care: A Concise Guide will be a useful resource for medical students, general physicians in training, board certified physicians, and nurse practitioners treating ENT patients.
Quantitative Perfusion MRI: Techniques, Applications and Practical Considerations by
Quantitative Perfusion MRI: Techniques, Applications, and Practical Considerations, Volume 11 clearly and carefully explains the basic theory and MRI techniques for quantifying perfusion non-invasively in deep tissue, covering all aspects of perfusion imaging, from acquisition requirements to selection of contrast agents and appropriate pharmacokinetic models and for reliable quantification in different diseases and tissue types. Specifically, this book enables the reader to understand what microvascular functional parameters can be measured with perfusion MRI, learn the basic techniques to measure perfusion in different organs, apply the appropriate perfusion MRI technique to the organ of interest, and much more. This complete reference on quantitative perfusion MRI is highly suitable for both early and experienced researchers, graduate students and clinicians wishing to understand how quantitative perfusion MRI can apply to their application area of interest. Provides a one-stop resource for students and early and experienced researchers on all aspects of quantitative perfusion MRI as written by experts in the field Explains basic theory and MRI techniques Presents a strong focus on the practical considerations that can make or break perfusion MRI Includes applications in oncology, cardiology, neurology and body imaging
Quick Guide to Body Fluid Testing by
Quick Guide to Body Fluid Testing, Second Edition comprehensively covers the latest updates in three parts devoted to preanalytic considerations such as collection, labeling, handling, transport, specimen pretreatment, test ordering practices, analytic validation and postanalytic considerations. This revised edition includes a new section on validation requirements when replacing instruments, expanded post-analytical considerations to include selection of quality control materials and concentrations, and expanded frequently asked questions to address questions that arise around body fluid testing. This second edition aims to help laboratories make decisions about their body fluid testing menu and risk-based decisions about the thoroughness of their validation study design, making it a valuable resource to lab professionals. This book will act as a readily available pocket reference for students, academics and health care professionals working in a wide variety of contexts in the body fluid testing process.
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th Edition by
The long-awaited new edition of the world's most widely used and highly regarded textbook and reference of emergency medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2022! Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine is THE essential resource for everyone working in, and teaching emergency medicine. The Ninth Edition provides the depth and breadth of coverage that reflects the complexity and expertise needed to practice emergency medicine in today's fast-paced environments. This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. It is a necessary resource for in-training and board examinations, and recertification. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates. Highlights of the Ninth Edition: Full-color design with more tables than ever to succinctly present key information Extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest clinical and evidence-based information Online access to over 100 videos, covering a wide range of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and POCUS for obstetric/gynecologic, pediatric, musculoskeletal, and vascular conditions World-class pediatric section on the care of neonates, infants, and children Expanded chapters on the management of gynecologic and obstetric conditions and emergencies Updated information on toxicologic and environmental emergencies Contemporary, concise discussion of ED identification and treatment of opioid use disorders Updated information on procedural sedation Expert advice on the management and care of transgender patients Latest information available on neurologic and cardiac emergencies From the reviews of the seventh edition: "Collectively, they have once again produced an excellent text that manages to cover the broad scope of emergency medicine while remaining an easily readable and practical resource....Last, for the inevitable comparison of this current edition of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine with other available emergency medicine textbooks available: in my opinion, Tintinalli's still comes out on top. It is more concise and easier to read than some, yet it covers the breadth of emergency medicine practice more comprehensively than others....Just as previous editions did, the seventh presents all of the most pertinent and up-to-date information in a well-organized format that is comprehensive yet easy to read. That and many of the attractive new features in this current edition will ensure its place on my bookshelf for years to come."―JAMA