Subject heading search: Cerebral ischemia, Cerebrovascular disease, Perceptual disorders, Perfusion (Physiology), Senses and sensation. Keyword search: Cerebral perfusion, sensory perception AND stroke.
Biophysics of the Senses by
Biophysics of the Senses (Second Edition) connects fundamental properties of physics to biological systems, relating them directly to the human body. This is an exciting view of how sensory aspects of biophysics are utilized in everyday life for students who are curious but struggle with the connection between biology and physics.
Cerebral Circulation - Updates on Models, Diagnostics and Treatments of Related Diseases by
Diagnostics and diseases related to the cerebrovascular system are constantly evolving and updating. 3D augmented reality or quantification of cerebral perfusion are becoming important diagnostic tools in daily practice and the role of the cerebral venous system is being constantly revised considering new theories such as that of "the glymphatic system." This book provides updates on models, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases of the cerebrovascular system.
Cerebral Ischemia by
Cerebral ischemia is one of the most common causes of dementia, which develops in more than half of patients after an ischemic episode. The main mechanism is thought to be pathological changes in the hippocampus, especially in the CA1 area, underlying episodic memory impairment, which is the earliest and most important clinical symptom of post-ischemic dementia. The 13 chapters of this book present a new picture of ischemic brain disease, synthesizing the latest data on disease mechanisms, care for patients with this disease, and potential therapeutic targets. The authors present the characteristics of cerebral ischemia from pregnancy and childhood through adolescence to adulthood. The first two chapters provide a snapshot of the anatomy of the cerebral cortex and the hippocampus, the most affected brain structures after cerebral ischemia. This is followed by nine chapters that present a comprehensive view of the pathological mechanisms of cerebral ischemia, and how a deep understanding of these pathomechanisms hold the key for the discovery and development of novel therapies to help patients affected by cerebral ischemia. Chapter 12 shares real-life experience and challenges of rehabilitating patients into the community after cerebral ischemia, and chapter 13 analyzes the social risk variations, including gender inequality, in the reintegration of post-ischemic stroke patients. Although primarily aimed at scientists and clinicians, the contents of the book will be of interest to all those who are interested in cerebral ischemia, including patients and their caregivers.
Cerebrovascular Diseases: Elucidating Key Principles by
This book elucidates the key principles of cerebrovascular diseases (CVDs) in three sections. The first section addresses relevant pathophysiological aspects, diagnosis, treatment, and complications of CVDs, the second section examines CVDs in resource-poor settings and the geriatric population, and the final section discusses atrial fibrillation and cryptogenic stroke.
Clinical Perfusion MRI: Techniques and Applications by
MR perfusion imaging is an area of major research interest and rapid clinical growth. Clinical Perfusion MRI: Techniques and Applications provides a concise and comprehensive review of the principles and applications of the field, covering dynamic susceptibility contrast, dynamic contrast enhancement, and arterial spin labeling imaging techniques. Principles of blood-volume and oxygenation imaging are included. The clinical applications of perfusion imaging in neurological disease and neuroscience are discussed - major topics including its use in imaging cerebrovascular disease and brain tumors and other neurological and neurodegenerative disorders. Non-neurologic applications are also covered with chapters on cardiac disease, breast cancer and other organ systems. Use of MR perfusion imaging in pediatrics is also discussed. Throughout the book case reports are included illustrating representative clinical examples. This book will be of interest to any clinician who uses MR perfusion imaging in their clinical practice, as well as researchers in the field of MRI.
New Insight into Cerebrovascular Diseases: An Updated Comprehensive Review by
"Brain circulation is a true road map that consists of large extended navigation territories and a number of unimagined and undiscovered routes." Dr. Patricia Bozzetto Ambrosi This book combines an update on the review of cerebrovascular diseases in the form of textbook chapters, which has been carefully reviewed by Dr. Patricia Bozzetto Ambrosi, Drs. Rufai Ahmad and Auwal Abdullahi and Dr. Amit Agrawal, high-performance academic editors with extensive experience in neurodisciplines, including neurology, neurosurgery, neuroscience, and neuroradiology, covering the best standards of neurological practice involving basic and clinical aspects of cerebrovascular diseases. Each topic was carefully revised and prepared using smooth, structured vocabulary, plus superb graphics and scientific illustrations. In emphasizing the most common aspects of cerebrovascular diseases: stroke burden, pathophysiology, hemodynamics, diagnosis, management, repair, and healing, the book is comprehensive but concise and should become the standard reference guide for this neurological approach.
The Senses: a Comprehensive Reference by
The Senses: A Comprehensive Reference, Second Edition, Seven Volume Set is a comprehensive reference work covering the range of topics that constitute current knowledge of the neural mechanisms underlying the different senses. This important work provides the most up-to-date, cutting-edge, comprehensive reference combining volumes on all major sensory modalities in one set. Offering 264 chapters from a distinguished team of international experts, The Senses lays out current knowledge on the anatomy, physiology, and molecular biology of sensory organs, in a collection of comprehensive chapters spanning 4 volumes. Topics covered include the perception, psychophysics, and higher order processing of sensory information, as well as disorders and new diagnostic and treatment methods. Written for a wide audience, this reference work provides students, scholars, medical doctors, as well as anyone interested in neuroscience, a comprehensive overview of the knowledge accumulated on the function of sense organs, sensory systems, and how the brain processes sensory input. As with the first edition, contributions from leading scholars from around the world will ensure The Senses offers a truly international portrait of sensory physiology. The set is the definitive reference on sensory neuroscience and provides the ultimate entry point into the review and original literature in Sensory Neuroscience enabling students and scientists to delve into the subject and deepen their knowledge. All-inclusive coverage of topics: updated edition offers readers the only current reference available covering neurobiology, physiology, anatomy, and molecular biology of sense organs and the processing of sensory information in the brain Authoritative content: world-leading contributors provide readers with a reputable, dynamic and authoritative account of the topics under discussion Comprehensive-style content: in-depth, complex coverage of topics offers students at upper undergraduate level and above full insight into topics under discussion
Sensory Experiences: Exploring Meaning and the Senses by
Sensory Experiences: Exploring meaning and the senses describes the collective elaboration of a situated cognitive approach with an emphasis on the relations between language and cognition within and across different sensory modalities and practices. This approach, grounded in 40 years of empirical research, is a departure from the analytic, reductive view of human experiences as information processing. The book is structured into two parts. Each author first introduces the situated cognitive approach from their respective sensory domains (vision, audition, olfaction, gustation). The second part is the collective effort to derive methodological guidelines respecting the ecological validity of experimental investigations while formulating operational answers to applied questions (such as the sensory quality of environments and product design). This book will be of interest to students, researchers and practitioners dealing with sensory experiences and anyone who wants to understand and celebrate the cultural diversity of human productions that make life enjoyable!
Trends in Cerebrovascular Surgery and Interventions by
This is an open access proceeding book of 9th European-Japanese Cerebrovascular Congress at Milan 2018. Since many experts from Europe and Japan had very important and fruitful discussion on the management of Cerebrovascular diseases, the proceeding book is very attractive for the physician and scientists of the area.
For information on Perfusion, please see NUR 4203 Nursing care of patients with complex needs, tab "Perfusion" https://libguides.ltu.edu/c.php?g=1336014&p=9842124