| The University will be closed in observance of Memorial Day on Monday, May 27th. |
| The University will be closed in observance of Memorial Day on Monday, May 27th. |
Ageing, Diversity and Equality: Social Justice Perspectives by
Current understandings of ageing and diversity are impoverished in three main ways. Firstly, with regards to thinking about what inequalities operate in later life there has been an excessive preoccupation with economic resources. On the other hand, less attention has been paid to cultural norms and values, other resources, wider social processes, political participation and community engagement. Secondly, in terms of thinking about the 'who' of inequality, this has so far been limited to a very narrow range of minority populations. Finally, when considering the 'how' of inequality, social gerontology's theoretical analyses remain under-developed. The overall effect of these issues is that social gerontology remains deeply embedded in normative assumptions which serve to exclude a wide range of older people. Ageing, Diversity and Equality aims to challenge and provoke the above described normativity and offer an alternative approach which highlights the heterogeneity and diversity of ageing, associated inequalities and their intersections. The Open Access version of this book, available at https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/9781351851329, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 licence.
A Commentary on the Council of Europe Convention on Action against Trafficking in Human Beings by
"This comprehensive Commentary provides the first fully up-to-date analysis and interpretation of the Council of Europe Convention on Action against Trafficking in Human Beings. It offers a concise yet thorough article-by-article guide to the Convention's anti-trafficking standards and corresponding human rights obligations."
Confronting Commercial Sexual Exploitation and Sex Trafficking of Minors in the United States: A Guide for the Health Care Sector by
Every day in the United States, children and adolescents are victims of commercial sexual exploitation and sex trafficking. These are not only illegal activities, but also forms of violence and abuse that result in immediate and long-term physical, mental, and emotional harm to victims and survivors. In 2013, the Institute of Medicine/National Research Council released the report "Confronting Commercial Sexual Exploitation and Sex Trafficking of Minors in the United States." The report found that the United States is in the very early stages of recognizing, understanding, and developing solutions for these crimes. Health care professionals need to be able to recognize past, ongoing, or potential victimization by commercial sexual exploitation and sex trafficking among the youth in their care. Failure to do so increases the possibility that those at risk may become victims, and victims may miss opportunities for assistance and remain vulnerable to further exploitation and abuse. This "Guide for the Health Care Sector" provides a summary of information from the original report that is most relevant to individuals who and settings that see children and adolescents for prevention and treatment of injury, illness, and disease. This includes physicians, nurses, advanced practice nurses, physician assistants, mental health professionals, and dentists who practice in settings such as emergency departments, urgent care, primary care clinics, adolescent medicine clinics, school clinics, shelters, community health centers, and dental clinics among others. This guide includes definitions of key terms and an overview of risk factors and consequences; barriers to identifying victims and survivors as well as opportunities for overcoming these barriers; examples of current practices in the health care sector; and recommendations aimed at identifying, preventing, and responding to these crimes.
Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care by
"I have found this book helpful. Many fundamentals books gloss over the concept of cultural competence and students feel they understand until they are confronted with a clinical situation. This book provides an opportunity for readers to gain a deeper and more practical understanding."--Doody's Medical Reviews Offering a how-to approach to the development and application of cultural competency skills in nursing, this text provides numerous techniques for cultural self-assessment and cultural patient assessment. Its unique framework for self-assessment--considered to be a highly important facet of developing culturally competent nursing care--is based on the Cultural Competency Staircase Model, a self-assessment model developed by the author who has over 30 years of clinical practice in culturally diverse settings. The text begins by defining cultural competency and describes how nurses can use the Staircase Model to determine their level of cultural competence. Emphasis is placed on developing cross-cultural communication skills and resolving cross-cultural conflicts. The book provides tools for the cultural assessment of patients and focuses on working with culturally diverse colleagues and patient populations. Using case vignettes, it presents problematic clinical scenarios related to cultural diversity and discusses how to resolve them. Each chapter opens with learning objectives and glossary terms and ends with key points, NCLEX-RN review questions and a list of additional resources.The AACN Cultural Competencies for Baccalaureate Graduates are addressed in each chapter. Key Features: Provides multiple strategies to assist nurses in facilitating cultural competency Introduces an easy-to-follow self-assessment model for nursing students and novice nurses Covers working with culturally diverse colleagues, care of bariatric patients, and care of new immigrants Includes challenging case scenarios drawn from real life situations Designed for use throughout undergraduate curriculum
Global Health Nursing: Narratives from the Field by
"The narratives in this book offer rare and much-needed insight into the lived experiences and contributions of the largest cadre of global health workers: The nurses who have dedicated their careers and their lives to serving the world's poor." --Paul Farmer, MD, PhD, Kolokotrones University Professor Harvard University; Co-Founder, Partners in Health Global health nursing--as a career or as a time-limited experience in personal and professional growth--is a rapidly growing specialty area. This unique book presents firsthand accounts from nurses at all professional levels, who share their life-changing experiences and insights with nurses interested in the global health arena. Written with compassion and humor, their stories emphasize the practical, challenging, and rewarding aspects of global health nursing. Contributors describe their motivation for working in global health, along with the rewards and challenges. The authors discuss the importance of approaching global nursing with humility, respect, and appreciation for what they will learn from their colleagues. They describe how global health work has enhanced their ability to provide quality care to diverse populations, which include recent immigrants living in the United States. In addition to these vivid accounts, the book discusses the parameters of global health nursing, how to prepare for this nursing experience, key resources, global nursing research, and nurses as global health consultants. Woven throughout the book are descriptions of how these nurses have encouraged--through teaching and mentoring--the next generation of global health nurses. The book also provides coverage of domestic global health initiatives. Key Features: Presents firsthand accounts of the practical, challenging, and rewarding aspects of global health nursingDescribes assumptions challenged and lessons learnedWritten for nurses at all stages of professional lifeDiscusses varied opportunities in global health nursing, which includes research and consultingCovers domestic global health initiativesAssists faculty to prepare themselves and their students for global health endeavors
Human Trafficking: A Treatment Guide for Mental Health Professionals by
Human Trafficking: A Treatment Guide for Mental Health Professionals is the first book on human trafficking and mental health. The editors have marshalled their considerable experience developing resources and interventional programs for this patient population, as well as expertise in research and scholarly writing, to create a unique--and uniquely useful--guide for clinicians likely to encounter trafficked patients. Foundational to the effort is recognizing that their numbers are legion, and growing, and that their safety and well-being depends on the ability of clinicians to screen, assess, and identify them in a system that often constructs barriers to care. Epidemiological data is provided to help clinicians understand the factors that contribute to being trafficked, the associated consequences, and the role of health professionals in combatting it. Screening processes are discussed, and potential barriers, both organizational and provider-based, to the identification of trafficked persons are explored. The next section addresses sensitive, trauma-informed, and integrated patient management in different settings, including emergency departments, primary care, and substance abuse facilities, since both medical and substance abuse comorbidities are common in trafficked patients. The trauma-informed concepts of asking, respecting, and responding are vital components to the survivor-centered care emphasized by the authors, and psychotherapeutic considerations and cultural aspects in the assessment and treatment of these patients--topics that have been neglected heretofore--are discussed in-depth. Finally, advocacy, confidentiality, and reporting requirements for adult and child patients are addressed, providing a much-needed legal and ethical framework. The chapters have clearly outlined objectives that are achieved through a number of useful features: * Each chapter includes clinical cases that encapsulate the trauma and horror of the real-life fallout from human trafficking. These vignettes deftly illustrate and contextualize the chapter's topic, such as managing co-occurring substance use disorders or identifying the trafficked person who presents in the emergency department.* Chapters are equipped with "pearls and pointers" that summarize key points and highlight the most important take-aways.* Contributors make ample use of visual aids, such as tables and figures, that enhance understanding and consolidate information into readily accessible formats.* Ten vivid, real-life case scenarios are offered in the final chapter, providing the clinicians with insights into trafficked persons' health care interactions, questions to increase sensitivity and help identify these patients, and counsel on managing their care with empathy and patience. Often shocking, frequently poignant, and always useful, Human Trafficking: A Treatment Guide for Mental Health Professionals teaches clinicians to look at their patients with fresh, informed, and compassionate eyes.
Mobile Africa: Human Trafficking and the Digital Divide by
What happens at the nexus of the digital divide and human trafficking? This book examines the impact of the introduction of new digital information and communication technology (ICT) - as well as lack of access to digital connectivity - on human trafficking. The different studies presented in the chapters show the realities for people moving along the Central Mediterranean route from the Horn of Africa through Libya to Europe. The authors warn against an over-optimistic view of innovation as a solution and highlight the relationship between technology and the crimes committed against vulnerable people in search of protection. In this volume, the third in a four-part series 'Connected and Mobile: Migration and Human Trafficking in Africa', relevant new theories are proposed as tools to understand the dynamics that appear in mobile Africa. Most importantly, the editors identify critical ethical issues in relation to both technology and human trafficking and the nexus between them, helping explore the dimensions of new responsibilities that need to be defined. The chapters in this book represent a collection of well-documented empirical investigations by a young and diverse group of researchers, addressing critical issues in relation to innovation and the perils of our time.
Modern Slavery and Human Trafficking by
This edited volume, Modern Slavery and Human Trafficking, is a collection of reviewed and relevant research chapters, offering a comprehensive overview of recent developments in the field of modern slavery and human trafficking. The book comprises single chapters authored by various researchers and edited by an expert active in the aforementioned research area. Each chapter is complete in itself but united under a common research study topic. This publication aims at providing a thorough overview of the latest research efforts by international authors on modern slavery and human trafficking, and opening new possible research paths for further novel developments.
Nursing Case Studies in Caring: Across the Practice Spectrum by
"This well-written book clearly reflects extensive study, thoughtful reflection, and clinical experience. The authors have successfully provided a unique and realistic framework to aid educators in engaging students with contextual learning opportunities designed to illuminate the value of theory in practice... Score: 91 - 4 Stars " --Susan G Wiera, MSN, Michigan State University College of Nursing, Doody's Reviews Uncovers the art and science of nursing grounded in caring for all nursing situations Grounded in the belief that caring is the central domain of nursing, this innovative book presents a new approach to "nursing situations." These are case studies depicting shared lived experiences between the nurse and patient that are studied from various theoretical perspectives. They are designed to foster a nursing student's ability to care effectively for a patient, family, or group. Each case study features a compelling scenario that engages the reader to feel and fully participate in the caring experience. The book presents a variety of situations that new and experienced nurses are likely to encounter, many of which present scenarios that require caring for a patient under difficult or complex circumstances. The book addresses the need, as defined by leading health care and nursing education organizations, for the study of nursing from a contextual, story-oriented perspective. It is based on the Barry, Gordon & King Teaching/Learning Nursing Framework, developed as a guide to uncover the art and science of nursing grounded in caring in all nursing situations. Following a description of the framework's foundational concepts, the text describes how to use nursing situations to facilitate learning. The scenarios offer detailed, practical strategies for analyzing nursing situations in ways that bring to life the simple and complex practice of nursing grounded in caring. These real-life stories also help students understand the impact of health conditions on individuals and families, thereby fostering empathy. Case studies address nursing situations across a variety of populations, health concerns, and practice settings. Using multiple ways of knowing and understanding, each scenario concludes with direct and reflective questions that help students develop nursing knowledge and skills. The book serves as a core resource for nurse educators and students at all levels seeking to study the art and science of nursing grounded in caring. Additionally, the book is a resource for in-service educators in health care systems that specifically address caring as an essential value for practice. KEY FEATURES: Delivers a new approach to nursing education focusing on the context of caring between nurse and patient Presents a collection of real-life nursing scenarios designed to foster caring knowledge and skills under all circumstances Offers detailed, practical strategies for analyzing nursing situations to aid in learning the practice of nursing grounded in caring Helps students to understand the impact of health conditions on individuals and families
Preventing Child Trafficking: A Public Health Approach by
How can a public health approach advance efforts to prevent, identify, and respond to child trafficking? Child trafficking is widely recognized as one of the critical issues of our day, prompting calls to action at the global, national, and local levels. Yet it is unclear whether the strategies and tools used to counter this exploitation--most of which involve law enforcement and social services--have actually reduced the prevalence of trafficking. In Preventing Child Trafficking, Jonathan Todres and Angela Diaz explore how the public health field can play a comprehensive, integrated role in preventing, identifying, and responding to child trafficking. Describing the depth and breadth of trafficking's impact on children while exploring the limitations in current responses, Todres and Diaz argue that public health frameworks offer important insights into the problem, with detailed chapters on how professionals and organizations can identify and respond effectively to at-risk and trafficked children. Drawing on the authors' years of experience working on this issue--Diaz is a doctor at a frontline medical center serving at-risk youth, victims, and survivors; Todres is a legal expert on legislative and policy initiatives to address child trafficking--the book maps out a public health approach to child trafficking, the role of the health care sector, and the prospects for building a comprehensive response. Providing readers with advice geared toward better understanding trafficking's root causes, this revelatory book concludes by mapping out a "public health toolkit" that can be used by anyone who is interested in preventing child trafficking, from policymakers to professionals who work with children.
Psychosocial Nursing Care along the Cancer Continuum by
Since the publication of the first edition of this book in 1998, awareness of the importance of attending to the psychosocial needs of patients with cancer has grown continually. Along with the physical hardships of the disease, its treatment and aftermath require ongoing psychosocial support. Oncology nurses are in the optimal position to address these needs, given the significant amount of time they spend with patients and their caregivers. This new edition of Psychosocial Nursing Care Along the Cancer Continuum has been expanded and updated to address the growing role of psycho-oncology in the care of individuals confronted with a cancer diagnosis and treatment. Focusing on patient-centered care, this text reflects the importance of family caregivers, interpersonal and social relationships, and survivorship issues in ensuring complete care of the patient with cancer. Psychosocial Nursing Care Along the Cancer continuum is essential reading for nurses providing direct patient care and also serves as a vital resource for advanced practice nurses in addressing the management of common psychosocial issues experienced by this vulnerable population with complex care needs. Book jacket.
Sex Trafficking: A Clinical Guide for Nurses by
"[A]n indispensable volume for nurse educators to use to help to inform new generations of nurses about the topic of sex trafficking...What is striking about this book is its readability. It draws the reader into the chapters with its engaging scenarios and pertinent information... A highly readable guide to sex trafficking for U.S. nurses and other health care professionals." -- Journal of Transcultural Nursing "This is a valuable resource for emergency departments everywhere! It is the gold standard for information about this topic."--Doody's Medical Reviews "This excellent text puts forensic nurses in an excellent position to make an impact one of the 27 million people who are victims, just in the United States, of sex trafficking crimes. It is incumbent on the forensic community to take a stand and lead a charge in first learning about and then putting into action a plan to give a voice to the victims, caring for them as our patients and developing a strategy to help end this crime. This book will help to create the awareness and passion that is needed to accomplish just that."--Forensic Nursing News The statistics are staggering: nearly 27 million people worldwide are currently victims of human trafficking, most frequently girls between the ages of 12 and 14. This is the first clinical guide to assessing and treating victims of sex trafficking, encompassing best practices and strategies for overcoming the severe barriers that this group presents. These barriers most notably include separating victims from their pimps/handlers who exert tight control over their lives, speech, and interactions with healthcare providers. At the heart of the book are consistently organized chapters addressing the major injuries, diseases and psychological traumas for which trafficked victims are likely to seek treatment. These chapters include a description of each condition, culturally based best practices for treatment, special considerations for male, female, and child victims, and expected outcomes. Citing the specialized circumstances of this population, the book discusses how to adapt current treatments to the special needs of these young victims. Additional features include case studies, short bullet points, and easy-to-follow recommendations. The book also discusses human trafficking as a global issue with particular attention to the United States. The guide describes the countrywide resources available for practitioners to learn about sex trafficking in the United States, focusing on Georgia as the only state to offer a comprehensive approach to sex trafficking and a model for the rest of the country. It also addresses health policy implications for practitioners and how to harness the support of law enforcement entities. Key Features: Provides best practices to date in a concise reference-style guide to medical and psychological assessment and treatment of sex trafficking victims Includes case studies and easy-to-follow practice recommendations Describes strategies on overcoming handlersí control over their victims Provides phone numbers and contact information by state or region regarding how to safely involve law enforcement
Social Justice: Theories, Issues, and Movements (Revised and Expanded Edition) by
An eye for an eye, the balance of the scales - for centuries, these and other traditional concepts exemplified the public's perception of justice. Today, popular culture, including television shows like Law and Order, informs the public's vision. But do age-old symbols, portrayals in the media, and existing systems truly represent justice in all of its nuanced forms, or do we need to think beyond these notions? The second edition of Social Justice: Theories, Issues, and Movements responds to the need for a comprehensive introduction to these issues. Theories of social justice are presented in an accessible fashion to encourage engagement of students, activists, and scholars with these important lines of inquiry. Issues are analyzed utilizing various theories for furthering engagement in possibilities. Struggles for justice -- from legal cases to on the ground movements -- are presented for historical context and to inform the way forward.
Teaching Cultural Competence in Nursing and Health Care, Third Edition: Inquiry, Action, and Innovation by
Based on proven research, this book is a unique book for those working in academic settings, health care institutions, employee education, and nursing and health care organizations and associations. Updated with new evidence-based strategies, interactive book features, and expanded ready-toapply strategies and exemplars, this new edition offers a systematic, comprehensive approach for planning, implementing, and evaluating cultural competence education strategies and programs. New and expanded chapters address curriculum, train-the-trainer programs, and continuing education; traditional classroom, hybrid, and online courses;clinical settings, immersion experiences, service learning, simulation, and nursing skills labs; professional networking; and multicultural workplace harmony and cultural safety. Included are educational activities for academic, health care agency, and professional association settings. Real-life scenarios, integrated reflection boxes, easy-to-apply action steps, educator- in-action vignettes, research exhibit boxes, toolkit resource boxes, an accompanying digital toolkit, references, and discussion questions help readers to fully integrate the book's content. An appendix lists over 50 studies from around the world utilizing the Cultural Competence and Confidence (CCC) model and its corresponding questionnaires (contained in the toolkit). The text provides valuable information and resources to assist academic programs and health care institutions meet accreditation requirements and for institutions trying to obtain Magnet status. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Updated and revised model to guide cultural competence education Reorganized to address cultural competence in a variety of environments Expanded ready-to-apply strategies and exemplars A wealth of updated and revised information and research New and expanded chapters on curriculum and varied learning modalities New information on clinical settings, immersion experiences, service learning, simulation, nursing skills labs, and hybrid and online education Real-life scenarios, reflection boxes, easy-to-apply action steps, toolkit resource boxes, and discussion questions ALSO AVAILABLE: Doctoral students, instructors, institutions, and others who want to take it a step further can purchase the Cultural Competence Education Resource Toolkit permission license. Purchase of a toolkit license allows the user to utilize any of the 23 toolkit items in a research study and/or an educational programfor the specified time period. The toolkit includes psychometrically validated questionnaires and other tools essential for the measurement and evaluationof cultural competence and the effectiveness of educational strategies.
Transcultural Nursing Theory and Models: Application in Nursing Education, Practice, and Administration by
"Transcultural Nursing Theory and Models: Application in Nursing Education, Practice, and Administration is a must read for the nurse currently practicing. National and global changes in demographics, a changing global economy, have further dramatized the need for culturally competent nurses. I found this book to be what I had hoped for and more related to my understanding of the concept of transcultural nursing (TCN)....I would highly recommend this book to any nurse who is looking to deepen her understanding of the many diverse cultures she encounters at the bedside, or out in the community using components of the theory, models and assessment guide presented in this book."--Advance for Nurses "This book makes a worthwhile contribution to the field of transcultural nursing by complementing texts that introduce theory and models or delve into them individually and more deeply. Sagar contributes her expertise as a Transcultural Nursing Scholar by focusing on how to use the models and guide. She explains and shows the readerhow transcultural nursing theory can be disseminated and implemented."--Online Journal of Cultural Competence in Nursing and Healthcare This volume is the first to examine and promote the application of current, major transcultural nursing (TCN) theory and models and assessment tools in nursing education, practice, and administration. As a comprehensive text for master's and bachelor's level nursing students, it features case studies, care plans, initial role playing exercises, and implications of TCN concepts when planning, implementing and evaluating client care. TCN Theory, Models, and Assessment Guide Discussed: Leininger's Theory of Culture Care Diversity and Universality Purnell's Model for Cultural Competence Campinha-Bacote's Biblically Based Model of Cultural Competence Giger and Davidhizar's Transcultural Assessment Model Spector's Health Traditions Model Andrews and Boyle's Transcultural Nursing Assessment Guide for Individuals and Families Key Features: Reviews one theory and four major TCN models plus one TCN assessment guide Provides assessment tools, case studies, and role playing exercises Discusses implications of TCN concepts for planning, implementing and evaluating client care Reviews TCN in an international context Offers NCLEX-type test questions and answers in each section Fulfills AACN content guidelines for cultural competency
Subject search terms: Social Justice, also Social Justice AND nursing, Nursing—social aspects, Transcultural nursing, Community health nursing, Human trafficking, also subject search human trafficking AND Keyword search: nursing.