| The University will be closed in observance of Memorial Day on Monday, May 27th. |
| The University will be closed in observance of Memorial Day on Monday, May 27th. |
Bioethics and the Holocaust A Comprehensive Study in How the Holocaust Continues to Shape the Ethics of Health, Medicine and Human Rights by
This open access book offers a framework for understanding how the Holocaust has shaped and continues to shape medical ethics, health policy, and questions related to human rights around the world. The field of bioethics continues to face questions of social and medical controversy that have their roots in the lessons of the Holocaust, such as debates over beginning-of-life and medical genetics, end-of-life matters such as medical aid in dying, the development of ethical codes and regulations to guide human subject research, and human rights abuses in vulnerable populations. As the only example of medically sanctioned genocide in history, and one that used medicine and science to fundamentally undermine human dignity and the moral foundation of society, the Holocaust provides an invaluable framework for exploring current issues in bioethics and society today. This book, therefore, is of great value to all current and future ethicists, medical practitioners and policymakers - as well as laypeople.
Communication Skills for Your Nursing Degree by
Communication Skills for your Nursing Degree will help you to: improve your oral and written communication skills in a range of academic and healthcare settings improve your public speaking, including academic presentations improve your practical writing and speaking skills If you are embarking on a university nursing or midwifery degree, the books in this series will help you acquire and develop the knowledge, skills and strategies you need to achieve your goals. Tasks and activities are designed to foster aspects of learning which are valued in higher education, including learner autonomy and critical thinking, and to guide you towards reflective practice in your study and work life.
Critical Conversations in Healthcare, Second Edition by
Critical Conversations in Healthcare, Second Edition, provides scripts and scenarios to facilitate better, more effective communication in healthcare settings. Chapters feature do's and don'ts, reflective questions, and practical tools to help you improve your on-the-job interactions. Whether you are a new nurse at the bedside or the CEO of a major healthcare facility, this fully revised second edition will show you how to:* Work with frustrated families, angry physicians, and uncooperative colleagues* Deal with gossip, harassment, and other tough topics* Successfully address workloads, management styles, and other tricky subjects* Improve the patient experience* Overcome conversation traps
The Ethic of Care: a Moral Compass for Canadian Nursing Practice - Revised Edition by
There is an increased use of technology and informatics, heavier workloads and constant changes in the way in which disease processes are managed. Yet, when compared with other health professionals, nurses still spend a great deal of time in direct contact with patients and clients. They stay at the bedside, listen to their stories, give comfort and advocate. The Ethic of Care: A Moral Compass for Canadian Nursing Practice is unique from other nursing ethics textbooks in several key ways. The book adds a heightened dimension to the already rich knowledge in the field of applied nursing ethics and the ethic of care. The author argues that the ethic of care, or the moral imperative to act justly, be the guiding compass for everything that nurses do. It is with passion and conviction that nurses are encouraged to embody the ethic of care as a "lived virtue." Nurses are also inspired to be the leaders of tomorrow by working toward achieving accountability and sustainability in the Canadian publicly funded health care system and by effectively addressing social inequities. At the end of each chapter the author conveys real life case studies, as derived from her experiences as a critical care nurse, psychiatric nurse clinician and former Coroner. These vignettes bring the subject to life and serve as a means for applying newly acquired ethical knowledge. The aim of this book is to inspire nurses to be as skillful, and compassionate as they can be so that they will leave every encounter with their clients, better than when they first arrived. The book attempts to inspire nurses to be ethical leaders for social change at the patient/client, community and global level. This revised edition of the book includes additional information about trauma-informed care to combat systemic racism and improve the health outcomes for Indigenous peoples; ethics, gender and sexual orientation is dealt with in an inclusive and sensitive way, and a new Code of Conduct has been included.
Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice, Fifth Edition by
This new edition of one of the premier references for geriatric nurses in hospital, long-term, and community settings delivers current guidelines, real-life case studies, and evidence-based protocols developed by master educators and practitioners. With a focus on improving quality of care, cost-effectiveness, and outcome, the fifth edition is updated to provide the most current information about care of common clinical conditions and issues in older patients. Several new expert contributors present current guidelines about hip fractures, frailty, perioperative and postoperative care, palliative care, and senior-friendly emergency departments. Additionally, chapters have been reorganized to enhance logical flow of content and easy information retrieval. Protocols, systematically tested by more than 300 participating NICHE (Nurses Improving Care for Health system Elders) hospitals' are organized in a consistent format and include an overview, evidence-based assessment and intervention strategies, and an illustrative case study with discussion. Additionally, protocols are embedded within chapter text, providing the context and detailed evidence for each. Chapter objectives, annotated references, and evidence ratings for each protocol are provided along with resources for additional study. New to the Fifth Edition: Reorganized to enhance logical flow of information and ease of useUpdated and revisedIncludes new contributions from expert educators and practitionersProvides new chapters on perioperative and postoperative care, general surgical care, care of hip fracture, palliative care, and the senior-friendly emergency department Key Features: Includes PowerPoints and a test bank for instructorsDelivers evidence-based, current guidelines and protocols for care of common clinical conditions in the older personIllustrates the application of clinical protocols to real-life practice through case studies and discussionEdited by nationally known geriatric leaders who are endorsed by the Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing and NICHE Written for nursing students, nurse leaders, and practitioners at all levels, including those in specialty roles
Foundations of Professional Nursing: Care of Self and Others by
Integrates the science of self-care with other nursing and multidisciplinary perspectives This is the first text for the Professional Nursing Practice course in RN to BSN curriculum to present a conceptual framework for contemporary nursingpractice based on the science of self-care that also incorporates other nursing and multidisciplinary perspectives. Built upon the premise that nursing isboth a caring and a knowledge-based profession, this cutting-edge text illustrates how to attain and integrate knowledge from nursing theory and theoriesof related disciplines to achieve optimal evidence-based nursing practice. Using case studies to demonstrate the relationship between nursing theory andpractice, the text underscores the importance of having a deep understanding and conceptual model of the unique role of nursing in society and its practicedomain. The text instills a foundational understanding of the science of self-care and its contribution to contemporary nursing. It describes how this paradigm isgaining recognition as an effective anti-burnout strategy and demonstrates how it can be applied. Case examples from a variety of clinical situationsintegrated with nursing theory demonstrate the variables needed to achieve optimal nursing practice. The book illustrates what data to collect, how toanalyze that data, how to design and implement intervention strategies, and how to determine their effectiveness. Key concept boxes, measurable objectiveswith critical thinking questions, and learning activities reinforce content. Additionally, more complex cases included at the end of the text and frequentlinks to nursing literature provide fodder for more in-depth analysis. Key Features: Provides an integrative model for nursing practice based on self-care that is useful in all clinical settings Illustrates how to attain and integrate knowledge from the science of self-care with other nursing theories Demonstrates the relationship between theory and practice through case studies Introduces students to the importance of recording and analyzing data to achieve evidence-based practice Includes measurable objectives with review questions at the end of chapters and many other pedagogical features
The Influence of Psychological Trauma in Nursing by
As nurses know firsthand, the impact of psychological trauma is not limited to those who experience it. Others--including nurses and caregivers--are indirectly affected. In healthcare, patients' psychological trauma may manifest in odd, uncomfortable, or confusing behaviors. Nurses and healthcare workers must recognize that patients may be feeling unsafe or struggling with low self-esteem, anxiety, grief, loneliness, or depression born from trauma. As nurses listen to, empathize with, and sometimes grieve with the people they care for, they need to comprehend the "why" behind these feelings and actions. The Influence of Psychological Trauma in Nursing helps nurses gain awareness and knowledge about trauma and recovery so they can heal and bring holistic healing to others. Authors Karen J. Foli and John R. Thompson provide a primer on psychological trauma, helping readers identify and understand the common forms of trauma in society. Filled with examples, tools, assessments, and learning objectives, this book helps nurses move forward as trauma-informed caregivers.
The Moulster and Griffiths Learning Disability Nursing Model: A Framework for Practice by
This book describes the Moulster and Griffiths nursing model and demonstrates how learning disability nurses can use it in practice. It provides an effective framework to assess, plan, reflect on and evaluate person-centred care, considering the complex needs of people who have learning disabilities, their families and their carers.
Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice by
The premier resource for professional nursing practice, Nursing: Scope & Standards of Practice, 3rd Edition, is informed by the advances in health care and professional nursing today. This keystone standard contains 17 national standards of practice and performance that define the who, what, where, when, why and how of nursing practice.
Reflecting on Presence in Nursing : A Guide for Practice and Research by
Presence is essential in nursing. It means to connect with, and attune to, another person for the purpose of healing and enrichment. This book explores the importance of presence in nursing, gathering together various personal accounts of its use in both research and practice. It will allow the reader to reflect on presence, connecting, attuning, finding meaning and joy, and delivering care in a relational way. This book will also be of particular interest to nurse educators and trainers interested in guiding others to acquire presence, in addition to healthcare managers, who will benefit from.
Shaping Nursing Healthcare Policy: A View from the Inside by
The next generation of nursing leadership needs in-depth exposure to the real world of health policy, its culture and history, including understanding what historical barriers and professional opposition exists to nursing functioning of its training and expertise. Shaping Nursing Healthcare Policy: A View from the Inside directly addresses the recommendations of the Institute of Medicine landmark reports on the Future of Nursing. This important work brings to life the practical realties of advanced practice nursing's maturation and related social change, rather than relying on excessively abstract and theoretical opinions.
Solution Focused Interactions in Nursing : Growth and Change by
Nursing is about growth, yet it spends so much time focusing on disease and entropy. While the nursing role is expanding into advanced practice roles, and twenty-first century nursing is almost unrecognisable compared to its nineteenth century roots, at the heart of nursing is growth. Sometimes called "caring", growth requires nurturing, and, while it is difficult to define, without it nurses are merely medical technicians. In the context of nursing, health is about change, change from a less healthy state to a more healthy state and the nurse's role is to promote that change whenever possible. However, change is difficult; we are creatures of habit, afraid of change, and preferring the illusion of safety with the "devil we know rather than the devil we don't know". However, when someone is ready to change, they have already grown.This book combines the author's twenty-five years of experience in Solution Focused Interactions and empirical evidence derived from his PhD research to argue that Solution Focused Interactions provide a means for nurses, in all domains of nursing and midwifery, to provide care that promotes growth and change in the people they work with, while restoring and maintaining their enthusiasm for practice. This book serves as an eminently practical introduction to how Solution Focused Interactions can be used across nursing practice, making use of transcripts and case studies to illustrate the ways in which nurses can help their patients to grow and change, while also growing and changing themselves.
Subject search terms: Nurse and patient, Nursing, Nursing ethics, Nursing—Philosophy, Nursing—Practice, Nursing—Standards. Keyword search terms: “relationship-based care” (in parentheses), “professional nursing practice” (in parentheses).
