| The University will be closed in observance of Memorial Day on Monday, May 27th. |
| The University will be closed in observance of Memorial Day on Monday, May 27th. |
Applying Conceptual Models of Nursing: Quality Improvement, Research, and Practice by
This practical resource for nursing students, educators, researchers, and practitioners provides content about the conceptual models of nursing that are used as organizing frameworks for nursing practice, quality improvement projects, and research. Chapters break these abstract models down into their core concepts and definitions. Discussions of each model provide examples of practical application so readers can employ these organizing frameworks. This is the only book to apply these models to quality improvement projects, particularly those in DNP programs and clinical agencies. For every conceptual model, diagrams, information boxes, and other visual elements clarify and reinforce information. Each chapter features applications of the conceptual models to a wide variety of examples, including nursing practice assessment and an intervention, a literature review and descriptive qualitative, instrument development, correlational, experimental, and mixed-method studies. Other valuable features include faculty templates for practice, quality improvement, and research methodologies for each conceptual model, along with extensive references. Key Features: Focuses on applying conceptual models in practiceDemonstrates how a wide range of nursing conceptual models are applied to nursing practice, quality improvement, and researchPowerPoint templates for each conceptual model avaliable to facultyProvides abundant diagrams, boxes, and other visual elements to clarify and reinforce informationIncludes an extensive list of references for each conceptual model
Healthcare and Human Dignity: Law Matters by
The individual and structural biases that affect the American healthcare system have serious emotional and physical consequences that all too often go unseen. These biases are often rooted in power, class, racial, gender or sexual orientation prejudices, and as a result, the injured parties usually lack the resources needed to protect themselves. In Healthcare and Human Dignity, individual worth, equality, and autonomy emerge as the dominant values at stake in encounters with doctors, nurses, hospitals, and drug companies. Although the public is aware of legal battles over autonomy and dignity in the context of death, the everyday patient's need for dignity has received scant attention. Thus, in Healthcare, law professor Frank McClellan's collection of cases and individual experiences bring these stories to life and establish beyond doubt that human dignity is of utmost priority in the everyday process of healthcare decision making.
Improving Usability, Safety and Patient Outcomes with Health Information Technology: From Research to Practice by
Information technology is revolutionizing healthcare, and the uptake of health information technologies is rising, but scientific research and industrial and governmental support will be needed if these technologies are to be implemented effectively to build capacity at regional, national and global levels. This book, "Improving Usability, Safety and Patient Outcomes with Health Information Technology", presents papers from the Information Technology and Communications in Health conference, ITCH 2019, held in Victoria, Canada from 14 to 17 February 2019. The conference takes a multi-perspective view of what is needed to move technology forward to sustained and widespread use by transitioning research findings and approaches into practice. Topics range from improvements in usability and training and the need for new and improved designs for information systems, user interfaces and interoperable solutions, to governmental policy, mandates, initiatives and the need for regulation. The knowledge and insights gained from the ITCH 2019 conference will surely stimulate fruitful discussions and collaboration to bridge research and practice and improve usability, safety and patient outcomes, and the book will be of interest to all those associated with the development, implementation and delivery of health IT solutions.
Intercultural Communication by
This handbook takes a multi-disciplinary approach to offer a current state-of-art survey of intercultural communication (IC) studies. The chapters aim for conceptual comprehension, theoretical clarity and empirical understanding with good practical implications. Attention is mostly on face to face communication and networked communication facilitated by digital technologies, much less on technically reproduced mass communication. Contributions cover both cross cultural communication (implicit or explicit comparative works on communication practices across cultures) and intercultural communication (works on communication involving parties of diverse cultural backgrounds). Topics include generally histories of IC research, theoretical perspectives, non-western theories, and cultural communication; specifically communication styles, emotions, interpersonal relationships, ethnocentrism, stereotypes, cultural learning, cross cultural adaptation, and cross border messages;and particular context of conflicts, social change, aging, business, health, and new media. Although the book is prepared for graduate students and academicians, intercultural communication practitioners will also find something useful here.
Introduction to Quality and Safety Education for Nurses: Core Competencies by
This is the first undergraduate textbook to provide a comprehensive overview of essential knowledge, skill, and attitudes about safety in nursing practice. It reflects the six areas of nursing competencies as developed by the Quality and Safety Education Program for Nurses (QSEN) initiative, which are currently required content in undergraduate nursing programs. Using an inter-professional focus, the book addresses the fundamental knowledge required of entry-level nurses in each of the six QSEN areas: quality improvement, patient safety, teamwork and collaboration, evidence-based practice, informatics, and patient-centered care. The book includes all of the content required for nursing programs to be accredited by AACN or NLN. Contributors include nurse educators, faculty, researchers, administrators, case managers, quality improvement practitioners, and entrepreneurs of nursing as well as physicians and librarians from throughout the U.S. Readers will be privy to the unique perspectives of different health care partners who provide real life examples from an inter-professional team perspective. These include pharmacists, lawyers, physicians, librarians, quality improvement nurses, radiology technologists, nurse practitioners, hospital board members, patients, and others. Each chapter includes objectives, opening scenarios, case studies, critical thinking exercises, key terms, NCLEX-style questions, photos, tables, figures, web resources, recommendations for additional reading, and PowerPoint slides. An important feature of the book is the listing of QSEN competencies and the associated knowledge, skills, and attitudes (KSA) in the Appendix. Key Features: Comprises the only undergraduate text to address the six areas of requisite nursing competencies as developed by the QSEN initiative Provides a strong foundation for safe, evidence-based care Presents an inter-professional approach that reflects health care today Supports teaching with PowerPoint slides, critical thinking exercises, case studies, and rationales for review questions Includes objectives, critical thinking exercises, case studies, real world interviews, tables, figures, visuals, and suggested readings in each chapter
Manual for Developing Intercultural Competencies: Story Circles by
This book presents a structured yet flexible methodology for developing intercultural competence in a variety of contexts, both formal and informal. Piloted around the world by UNESCO, this methodology has proven to be effective in a range of different contexts and focused on a variety of different issues. It, therefore can be considered an important resource for anyone concerned with effectively managing the growing cultural diversity within our societies to ensure inclusive and sustainable development. Intercultural competence refers to the skills, attitudes, and behaviours needed to improve interactions across difference, whether within a society (differences due to age, gender, religion, socio-economic status, political affiliation, ethnicity, and so on) or across borders. The book serves as a tool to develop those competences, presenting an innovative adaptation of what could be considered an ancient tradition of storytelling found in many cultures. Through engaging in the methodology, participants develop key elements of intercultural competence, including greater self-awareness, openness, respect, reflexivity, empathy, increased awareness of others, and in the end, greater cultural humility. This book will be of great interest to intercultural trainers, policy makers, development practitioners, educators, community organizers, civil society leaders, university lecturers and students - all who are interested in developing intercultural competence as a means to understand and appreciate difference, develop relationships with those across difference, engage in intercultural dialogue, and bridge societal divides. The Open Access version of this book, available at https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/9780429244612, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
New Ways of Thinking about Nursing : Collected Conference Papers, 2010-2019 by
This book collects together 12 previously unpublished conference and seminar presentations which cover a broad range of topics, including evidence-based practice, reflective practice, practice development, nurse education, nursing scholarship and a variety of philosophical issues applied to nursing. The common theme uniting all of these contributions is the assertion that the research-based technical-rational approach to nursing and other health care disciplines is failing our patients, our students and our profession. In a series of closely argued papers, the book challenges some of the taken-for-granted assumptions that underpin modern evidence-based nursing practice, research and education. It proposes a philosophy of nursing that unites practitioners, academics, teachers and researchers in a person-centred human science of nursing that directly addresses the needs of each individual patient. This book will be of interest to final year undergraduates, Masters and doctoral students, practising nurses undertaking further study, nurse academics and researchers, as well as anyone who is searching for a better way of 'doing' nursing.
The Paradoxes of Interculturality: A Toolbox of Out-of-the-box Ideas for Intercultural Communication Education by
Offering a unique reading experience, this book examines the epistemologies of interculturality and explores potential routes to review and revisit the notion anew. Grounded in different sociocultural, economic and political perspectives around the world, interculturality in education and research bears a paradoxical attribute of 'contradictions' and 'inconsistencies', making it a polysemous and flexible notion that has no definitive diagnosis and requires constant unthinking and rethinking. The author provides a toolbox of 'out-of-box ideas' in the form of fragmental yet standalone writings and follow-up questions concerning stereotypes about the very notion of interculturality and conceptual and methodological flaws in the way it is used. Readers are encouraged to critically reflect about interculturality as it stands today in global research and education. In identifying the paradoxes of interculturality and proposing alternative directions, the book stimulates a diversity of thoughts about the notion that goes beyond the 'West'. The book will be an essential reading for scholars, students and educators interested in education philosophy, applied linguistics and the broad field of intercultural communication education.
Quality and Safety in Nursing: A Competency Approach to Improving Outcomes by
Drawing on the universal values in health care, the second edition of Quality and Safety in Nursing continues to devote itself to the nursing community and explores their role in improving quality of care and patient safety. Edited by key members of the Quality and Safety Education for Nursing (QSEN) steering team, Quality and Safety in Nursing is divided into three sections. Itfirst looks at the national initiative for quality and safety and links it to its origins in the IOM report. The second section defines each of the six QSEN competencies as well as providing teaching and clinical application strategies, resources and current references. The final section now features redesigned chapters on implementing quality and safety across settings. New to this edition includes: Instructional and practice approaches including narrative pedagogy and integrating the competencies in simulation A new chapter exploring the application of clinical learning and the critical nature of inter-professional teamwork A revised chapter on the mirror of education and practice to better understand teaching approaches This ground-breaking unique text addresses the challenges of preparing future nurses with the knowledge, skills, and attitudes (KSAs) necessary to continuously improve the health care system in which they practice.
Queering Public Health and Public Policy in the Deep South by
In this volume, authors explore the interconnected issues of public health and public policy as they relate to queer issues in the Deep South. The book begins with a sustained examination of public health, health disparities, and mental health for LGBTQ people in the South. Next, the issues of public policy and public advocacy, including law enforcement, community advocacy and activism, and public life in the Deep South are taken up. Through the chapters in this text, the peculiarities of public health and public policy for LGBTQ people in the Deep South are explored. However, this volume also points to trends, themes, and dynamics at work in the Deep South that are also implicated in the queer experience in other parts of the U.S. The authors of this text push readers to think deeply about these issues. They clearly highlight the systemic nature of oppression of queer people in the South through institutions of medicine, mental health discourses, the criminal justice system, and public life including Pride and Mardi Gras. Taken together, the authors in this volume call for reform, liberation, and conscientization and queerly envision the future of health and policy in the Deep South.
Reflecting on Presence in Nursing : A Guide for Practice and Research by
Presence is essential in nursing. It means to connect with, and attune to, another person for the purpose of healing and enrichment. This book explores the importance of presence in nursing, gathering together various personal accounts of its use in both research and practice. It will allow the reader to reflect on presence, connecting, attuning, finding meaning and joy, and delivering care in a relational way. This book will also be of particular interest to nurse educators and trainers interested in guiding others to acquire presence, in addition to healthcare managers, who will benefit from.
Reflective Organizations: on the Front Lines of Qsen and Reflective Practice Implementation by
Today s healthcare environment is ever-evolving. This constant progression requires educators and practitioners to be nimble, flexible, and responsive to change. While individuals can be nimble and flexible, organizational culture is often stubbornly resistant. Changing the culture requires more than introducing new activities or tasks. In this follow-up to their highly regarded book Reflective Practice: Transforming Education and Improving Outcomes Gwen Sherwood and Sara Horton-Deutsch focus on reflective learning as a catalyst for transforming traditional organizations and environments. The authors make a strong case that the way organizations incorporate change into their culture or processes ultimately affects sustainability. Reflective Organizations: On the Front Lines of QSEN & Reflective Practice Implementation promotes a systematic change that supports nurses and educators in learning from experiences in order to craft future change. If you want to know how to begin, what to expect, and how others have addressed the familiar challenges of the change process, this book will serve as your guide."
Reproductive Injustice: Racism, Pregnancy, and Premature Birth by
A troubling study of the role that medical racism plays in the lives of black women who have given birth to premature and low birth weight infants Black women have higher rates of premature birth than other women in America. This cannot be simply explained by economic factors, with poorer women lacking resources or access to care. Even professional, middle-class black women are at a much higher risk of premature birth than low-income white women in the United States. Dána-Ain Davis looks into this phenomenon, placing racial differences in birth outcomes into a historical context, revealing that ideas about reproduction and race today have been influenced by the legacy of ideas which developed during the era of slavery. While poor and low-income black women are often the "mascots" of premature birth outcomes, this book focuses on professional black women, who are just as likely to give birth prematurely. Drawing on an impressive array of interviews with nearly fifty mothers, fathers, neonatologists, nurses, midwives, and reproductive justice advocates, Dána-Ain Davis argues that events leading up to an infant's arrival in a neonatal intensive care unit (NICU), and the parents' experiences while they are in the NICU, reveal subtle but pernicious forms of racism that confound the perceived class dynamics that are frequently understood to be a central factor of premature birth. The book argues not only that medical racism persists and must be considered when examining adverse outcomes--as well as upsetting experiences for parents--but also that NICUs and life-saving technologies should not be the only strategies for improving the outcomes for black pregnant women and their babies. Davis makes the case for other avenues, such as community-based birthing projects, doulas, and midwives, that support women during pregnancy and labor are just as important and effective in avoiding premature births and mortality.
Seeing Patients: A Surgeon’s Story of Race and Medical Bias, With a New Preface by
"A powerful and extraordinarily important book." --James P. Comer, MD "A marvelous personal journey that illuminates what it means to care for people of all races, religions, and cultures. The story of this man becomes the aspiration of all those who seek to minister not only to the body but also to the soul." --Jerome Groopman, MD, author of How Doctors Think Growing up in Jim Crow-era Tennessee and training and teaching in overwhelmingly white medical institutions, Gus White witnessed firsthand how prejudice works in the world of medicine. While race relations have changed dramatically since then, old ways of thinking die hard. In this blend of memoir and manifesto, Dr. White draws on his experience as a resident at Stanford Medical School, a combat surgeon in Vietnam, and head orthopedic surgeon at one of Harvard's top teaching hospitals to make sense of the unconscious bias that riddles medical care, and to explore how we can do better in a diverse twenty-first-century America. "Gus White is many things--trailblazing physician, gifted surgeon, and freedom fighter. Seeing Patients demonstrates to the world what many of us already knew--that he is also a compelling storyteller. This powerful memoir weaves personal experience and scientific research to reveal how the enduring legacy of social inequality shapes America's medical field. For medical practitioners and patients alike, Dr. White offers both diagnosis and prescription." --Jonathan L. Walton, Plummer Professor of Christian Morals, Harvard University "A tour de force--a compelling story about race, health, and conquering inequality in medical care...Dr. White has a uniquely perceptive lens with which to see and understand unconscious bias in health care...His journey is so absorbing that you will not be able to put this book down." --Charles J. Ogletree, Jr., author of All Deliberate Speed
Study Skills: For Nursing, Health and Social Care by 
To Err Is Human: Building a Safer Health System by
Experts estimate that as many as 98,000 people die in any given year from medical errors that occur in hospitals. That's more than die from motor vehicle accidents, breast cancer, or AIDS--three causes that receive far more public attention. Indeed, more people die annually from medication errors than from workplace injuries. Add the financial cost to the human tragedy, and medical error easily rises to the top ranks of urgent, widespread public problems. To Err Is Human breaks the silence that has surrounded medical errors and their consequence--but not by pointing fingers at caring health care professionals who make honest mistakes. After all, to err is human. Instead, this book sets forth a national agenda--with state and local implications--for reducing medical errors and improving patient safety through the design of a safer health system. This volume reveals the often startling statistics of medical error and the disparity between the incidence of error and public perception of it, given many patients' expectations that the medical profession always performs perfectly. A careful examination is made of how the surrounding forces of legislation, regulation, and market activity influence the quality of care provided by health care organizations and then looks at their handling of medical mistakes. Using a detailed case study, the book reviews the current understanding of why these mistakes happen. A key theme is that legitimate liability concerns discourage reporting of errors--which begs the question, "How can we learn from our mistakes?" Balancing regulatory versus market-based initiatives and public versus private efforts, the Institute of Medicine presents wide-ranging recommendations for improving patient safety, in the areas of leadership, improved data collection and analysis, and development of effective systems at the level of direct patient care. To Err Is Human asserts that the problem is not bad people in health care--it is that good people are working in bad systems that need to be made safer. Comprehensive and straightforward, this book offers a clear prescription for raising the level of patient safety in American health care. It also explains how patients themselves can influence the quality of care that they receive once they check into the hospital. This book will be vitally important to federal, state, and local health policy makers and regulators, health professional licensing officials, hospital administrators, medical educators and students, health caregivers, health journalists, patient advocates--as well as patients themselves. First in a series of publications from the Quality of Health Care in America, a project initiated by the Institute of Medicine
Understanding Intercultural Interaction: An Analysis of Key Concepts by
Living, working and studying in intercultural and international contexts is ever more relevant to a broad range of individuals including educators, social scientists and professionals. As education and work become increasingly international, every student and professional at some point is likely to feel the need to explore and discuss concepts of culture and identity in order to be prepared for intercultural encounters in the globalised workplace. Understanding Intercultural Interactionencourages readers to abandon the notion that culture is something static that we possess or have inherited and to see it as fluid and dynamic, created, interpreted and negotiated through social interaction. It recommends an examination of the contextual framework of intercultural behaviour and the power relations and inequalities that pervade it to enable readers to understand themselves and the role that they play on the international stage. In its exploration of key concepts in culture and interaction, the book equips students and professionals from varied backgrounds with the tools to understand, discuss and apply them to their own lives. Designed principally as an accessible introduction for non-specialists to explore a wide range of theories and ideas that seek to explain intercultural encounters, the critical analysis provided in this book also offers ample scope for more in-depth exploration by those who wish to deepen their knowledge of the field, making it ideal for facilitating reflection and discussion in study or training contexts.
Unequal Cities: Structural Racism and the Death Gap in America's Largest Cities by
Across the United States, Black people have shorter life expectancies than white people--reflecting structural racism and deep-rooted drivers of population health. But are some cities more equal than others? The elimination of racial and ethnic inequities--differences that are avoidable, unnecessary, and unfair--has been one of the overarching health-related goals of the United States for decades. Yet dramatic differences in health outcomes between Black people and white people persist, rooted in structural and social determinants of health. Nationally, a Black baby can expect to live four years less than a white baby. But mortality outcomes and inequities vary widely across cities. In Washington, DC, for example, the average life expectancy for Blacks is twelve years less than that of whites. But in other cities, mortality differences between races are less striking or nonexistent. If health equity can be achieved in some cities, why not all? This is arguably the most important health equity issue of our time. In Unequal Cities, Maureen R. Benjamins and Fernando G. De Maio gather a team of experts to explore these racial inequities, as well as the ten-year gap in life expectancy between our healthiest and unhealthiest big cities. Rigorous analyses give readers access to previously unavailable data on life expectancy, mortality from leading causes of death, and related Black-white inequities for the country's 30 biggest cities. The theoretically grounded essays also explore how characteristics of cities, including their levels of income inequality and racial segregation, impact overall health and Black-white inequities. The first book to specifically examine racial health inequities within and across US cities, Unequal Citiesoffers a social justice framework for addressing the newly identified inequities, as well as specific case studies to help public health advocates, civic leaders, and other stakeholders envision the steps needed to improve their cities' current health outcomes and achieve racial equity. A powerful call to action for health equity advocates and city leaders alike, this book is essential reading. Contributors: David Ansell, Darlene Oliver Hightower, Jana Hirschtick, Sharon Homan, Ayesha Jaco, Emily LaFlamme, Brittney S. Lange-Maia, Kristin Monnard, Nikhil G. Prachand, Pamela T. Roesch, Michael Rozier, Nazia Saiyed, Eve Shapiro, Abigail Silva, Veenu Verma, the West Side United Metrics Working Group, Ruqaiijah Yearby
Subject search terms: Nursing—Safety Education, Nursing—Study and teaching, Nursing—Quality control, Nursing—Discrimination, Intercultural communication, Discrimination in medical care. Keyword search terms: Quality and safety education for nurses, Implicit bias nursing.