| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
In this section you may want to try Keyword searches for many of the terms on your syllabus such as:Ventricular decompression, Cardiotomy suction, etc. You might not find a complete book about these subjects, but you will find chapters or sections related to them. Try combining the words in a concept such as ventricular decompression by surrounding them in quotes, eg. "ventricular decompression" and the hits that come back will have those two terms together.
Anticoagulation and Hemostasis in Neurosurgery by
This book is an up-to-date reference on all aspects of anticoagulation and hemostasis in neurosurgery. After an opening section on basic principles and drug classes in current use, detailed consideration is given to coagulation issues relevant to all patients, not just neurosurgical ones. The coverage includes, for example, deep vein thrombosis, pulmonary embolism, and disseminated intravascular coagulation. A variety of important issues specific to neurosurgical practice are then addressed, and a summary of current guidelines and best practices is provided. By bringing together the latest knowledge from across the discipline, this book will serve as a sound basis for informed decision making in surgical practice. It will be of daily value for neurosurgeons and trainees worldwide and will also be of interest to emergency room physicians, surgeons in general, critical care physicians, neurologists, and hospital medicine specialists.
Anticoagulation Drugs: The Current State of the Art by 
Anticoagulation Therapy: A Clinical Practice Guide by
Although highly effective in preventing thromboembolic events, the safe management of anticoagulant therapy continues to be a major challenge, requiring constant monitoring and coordinated models of patient-centered care. Anticoagulation Therapy: A Clinical Practice Guide, Second Edition, helps take the guesswork out of managing these therapies and provides essential recommendations. This revised and expanded edition includes: Extensive new information on the direct oral anticoagulants (DOACs) Expanded information on anticoagulant reversal and expanded use of prothrombin complex concentrates New chapters on the use of anticoagulants in special patient populations, the use of anticoagulants in patients with mechanical devices, anticoagulation care delivery standards, regulatory issues, and more Four new appendices on the effect of DOACs on chemotherapy, nutritional influences, types of central nervous system hemorrhage, and use of anticoagulation in patients with coagulopathies
Antiplatelet Therapy in Cardiovascular Disease by
Edited by a team of the world's leading interventional cardiologists and educators, this new book is created with an eye to giving the reader a solid, practical, and clinically focused understanding of this important class of drugs, from basic science to a clear-headed discussion of complex topics such as combination therapies, drug-to-drug interactions, and resistance to antiplatelet agents. This important new book: Begins with a concise but thorough discussion of platelet biology and pathophysiology so that readers understand how antiplatelet agents work and why they produce such a varied range of complications, from minor GI upset to potentially life-threatening conditions such as neutropenia, a critical shortage of white blood cells. Thoroughly covers platelet function testing, including novel techniques. Clarifies current best practice regarding the use of antiplatelet agents in both chronic and acute cardiovascular disease. Reviews all types of antiplatelet agents - from aspirin to recently approved drugs - including indications, clinical outcomes, and side effects. Written by an international "who's who" of experts in the field, Antiplatelet Therapy in Cardiovascular Disease also includes an entire section covering the use of antiplatelet drugs in PCIs, including percutaneous valve repair, which makes this text particularly essential to interventional cardiologists.
Cardiac Development by
This is the only in-depth, single author survey of heart development. It will provide a more systematic, up-to-date synthesis of the subject than any other volume, spanning the range from classical anatomical studies to recent findings in molecular biology. It also covers topics that are often omitted from discussions of heart development, such as myocardial function, cardiac innervation, and conduction development and clinical correlates will be discussed throughout. The book is beautifully illustrated by Karen Waldo, an artist who has collaborated with Dr. Kirby for many years.
Cardiac Mechano-Electric Coupling and Arrhythmias by
Cardiac Mechano-Electric Coupling and Arrhythmias offers a thoroughly reviewed compendium written by leading experts in the field on the mechanism and consequences of cardiac mechano-electrical coupling. Its coverage ranges from stretch-activated ion channels to mechanically induced arrhythmias and mechanical interventions for heart rhythm correction. Information is grouped into logical sections, from molecular mechanisms, to cell, tissue and whole organresponses, right through to patient-based observations and insight emerging from clinical trials. The information provided carefully highlights both consensus insight and current shortcomings in our understanding of cardiac mechano-electric coupling.The book has been thoroughly revised and expanded since publication of the first edition in 2005, extensively updated to reflect recent developments in the field, and now offers a more balanced view of mechano-electrical interactions in the heart and develops a more clinical focus. Written with the practising cardiologist and junior doctor in mind, it offers interesting new insight for the established physician with an interest in cardiac arrhythmogenesis and heart rhythmmanagement.
Cardiology Research and Clinical Developments by 
Cardiopulmonary Bypass and Mechanical Support by
Offering a unique, multidisciplinary approach to the complexities of CPB, the 4th Edition of Cardiopulmonary Bypass and Mechanical Support: Principles & Practice remains the gold standard in the field. This edition brings you fully up to date with every aspects of cardiopulmonary bypass, including new information on management of pediatric patients, CPB's role with minimally invasive and robotic cardiac surgery, mechanical circulatory support, miniaturized circuits and CPB, sickle cell disease and CPB management, and much more. A newly expanded title reflects the rapidly evolving nature of extracorporeal technology, encompassing both short-term and long-term forms of cardiac and pulmonary support. Key Features The most comprehensive and authoritative text in the field, widely used by anesthesiologists, perfusionists, and cardiothoracic surgeons, as well as intensive care specialists, neonatologists, and interventional cardiologists. Provides expert, full-color guidance on equipment, physiology and pathology, hematology, clinical applications, and neonates, infants, and children. Addresses univentricular and biventricular assist devices, as well as the various forms of extracorporeal pulmonary support that may or may not include circulatory assistance. Includes a brand-new look at the Development of Cardiopulmonary Bypass, offering an up-to-date analysis of the history of the field. Two new co-editors, Drs. John W. Hammon and Barry D. Kussman, provide a fresh perspective and additional expertise. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Cardiothoracic Critical Care by
An indispensible pocket reference for critical care trainees, consultants and intensive care nurses, this new Oxford Specialist Handbook provides an evidence-based approach to all aspects of patient care in cardiothoracic intensive care.Written in the Oxford Handbook format, each section is comprised of short topics ideal for quick reference. Portable, accessible, and reliable, the book equips the clinician with the basic scientific and clinical knowledge to safely assist in formulating management plans, based on current bestpractice.Cardiothoracic Critical Care addresses major recent developments in cardiothoracic critical care, such as cardiovascular support, mechanical support (IABP, VADS, and ECMO), and drug therapies such as nitric oxide and other new inotropic agents. The management of postoperative bleeding is covered indetail, as it increasingly involves updated fluid and blood-product therapies including blood preservation techniques such as cell salvage.
Emerging Technologies for Heart DiseasesVolume 1: Treatments for Heart Failure and Valvular Disorders by
The increasing pace of advances in cardiology throughout the last few decades has fundamentally altered the natural course of heart patients. In the last few years, available therapies have been revolutionized completely by new transcatheter therapeutic approaches, novel ventricular assist devices, and new drugs. Also, molecular biology and genetics have a rapidly growing impact on cardiovascular diseases, enabling the field of regenerative medicine to become increasingly closer to routine clinical implementation. Emerging Technologies for Heart Diseases was conceived to cover the recent extensive literature on current and novel therapeutic options for cardiac patients. The first volume is dedicated to heart failure and valvular disorders, and the second covers myocardial ischemia and arrhythmias. The clinical topic is addressed in several chapters divided according to the therapeutic approach (mechanical or electrical device-based, or cell and gene-based). Each of the 46 chapters focuses on clinically available solutions, new therapies currently under evaluation in clinical trials, promising preclinical technologies, and emerging concepts and innovations that have not yet been tested in a preclinical model. Also, the book discusses future challenges and opportunities for clinical implementation. Lessons learned from abandoned experimental practices are also covered, giving the readers the widest possible perspective of current therapeutic dilemmas. Overall, this textbook was designed for physicians who want to stay up-to-date with current therapies and those of the future, for biomedical companies, and for those who wish to broaden their knowledge of new cardiovascular therapeutic options.
The Encyclopedia of the Heart and Heart Disease by
Perfect for librarians, clinicians, patients, and students, The Encyclopedia of the Heart and Heart Disease brings together current information on all facets of the heart and heart-related topics. Organized in a concise, authoritative encyclopedic format, this volume offers a complete overview of the medical, scientific, social, and lifestyle implications of heart disease. More than 600 detailed entries cover such topics as etiology, symptoms, preventive strategies, treatments, medications, procedures, surgeries (and recovery from), research, medical terms, coping and caregiving, living with heart disease, hope for a cure, and more. Appendixes feature an extensive bibliography; a directory of leading heart hospitals, research centers, and organizations; and a quick-reference emergency guide, making this the most accessible and thorough encyclopedia of its kind. Whether looking to research new technologies, understand treatment protocols, explore preventive strategies, or learn how the heart works, readers will find this encyclopedia to be the best, at-your-fingertips resource for complete information on the heart.
Endocrinology of the Heart in Health and Disease by
Endocrinology of the Heart in Health and Disease: Integrated, Cellular, and Molecular Endocrinology of the Heart covers the traditional concepts of cardio-endocrinology, the role of the various hormone systems, both in health and disease, therapeutic implications, and other recent advances in the various fields represented. The book explores how cardiac hormones are changed in various cardiac pathologies and the recent success that has been uncovered in their therapeutic use. Additional focus is placed on how the heart responds both physiologically and pathophysiologically to a plethora of circulating hormones, reinforcing the importance of the heart as a target of numerous endocrine systems, such as the brain, renal, and adipose. Significant advances have come from basic, clinical, and translational research from a multiplicity of investigators with diverse backgrounds. The book features over 200 photomicrographs, diagrams of molecular relationships, and tables that complement and support the text. It is aimed at a wide audience, including graduate students and post-doctoral fellows in a wide array of biomedical departments and PhD programs (e.g. Pathology, Physiology, Genetics, Pharmacology, Molecular Biology, and Cell Biology) related to the endocrine and cardiovascular sciences curricula, as well as medical residents in pathology, laboratory medicine, internal medicine, and cardiology. Develops the concept of the heart as both an endocrine organ and an endocrine target, exploring the endocrine function of the heart in both health and disease Explains how the levels of several cardiac hormones are changed in various cardiac pathologies and how some hormones can be used therapeutically Offers a single resource on cardio-endocrine disease which collates and curates the wide range of advances being made in the areas of molecular biology, biochemistry, physiology, and pathology
Guidelines for Antithrombotic Therapy by 
Heart's Vortex: Intracardiac Blood Flow Phenomena by
This outstanding resource provides a comprehensive guide to intracardiac blood flow phenomena and cardiac hemodynamics, including the developmental history, theoretical frameworks, computational fluid dynamics, and practical applications for clinical cardiology, cardiac imaging and embryology. It is not a mere compilation of the most up-to-date scientific data and relevant concepts. Rather, it is an integrated educational means to developing pluridisciplinary background, knowledge, and understanding. Such understanding allows an appreciation of the crucial, albeit heretofore generally unappreciated, importance of intracardiac blood flow phenomena in a host of multifaceted functional and morphogenetic cardiac adaptations. The book includes over 400 figures, which were prepared by the author and form a vital part of the pedagogy. It is organized in three parts. Part I, Fundamentals of Intracardiac Flows and Their Measurement, provides comprehensive background from many disciplines that are necessary for a deep and broad understanding and appreciation of intracardiac blood flow phenomena. Such indispensable background spans several chapters and covers necessary mathematics, a brief history of the evolution of ideas and methodological approaches that are relevant to cardiac fluid dynamics and imaging, a qualitative introduction to fluid dynamic stability theory, chapters on physics and fluid dynamics of unsteady blood flows and an intuitive introduction to various kinds of relevant vortical fluid motions. Part II, Visualization of Intracardiac Blood Flows: Methodologies, Frameworks and Insights, is devoted to pluridisciplinary approaches to the visualization of intracardiac blood flows. It encompasses chapters on 3-D real-time and "live 3-D" echocardiography and Doppler echocardiography, CT tomographic scanning modalities, including multidetector spiral/helical dataset acquisitions, MRI and cardiac MRA, including phase contrast veloci
Heart Development by
The developing heart is the first functional organ, and its proper formation and function is essential for life. This volume compiles the exciting new advances that have been made in understanding the regulation of heart development, the genes and pathways involved, and the impact these have in heart disease. A stellar collection of scientists tackles an important facet of heart development, providing a comprehensive set of reviews.
Heart Physiology and Pathophysiology by
Heart Physiology and Pathophysiology, 4E, provides the foundation for the scientific understanding of heart function and dysfunction, and bridges the gap between basic cardiovascular science and clinical cardiology. This comprehensive text covers all the important aspects of the heart and vascular system. The most important and relevant disorders are presented, with emphasis on the mechanisms involved. The first three editions of this book developed a reputation as the leading reference in cardiovascular science for researchers and academic cardiologists. This recent edition has been updated, expanded, and includes a number of new contributors. It has also been remodeled to expand its usage as a text reference for cardiology residents, practicing cardiologists, and graduate students.
Heart Rate Variability (HRV) Signal Analysis by
Open a Window into the Autonomic Nervous SystemQuantifying the amount of autonomic nervous system activity in an individual patient can be extremely important, because it provides a gauge of disease severity in a large number of diseases. Heart rate variability (HRV) calculated from both short-term and longer-term electrocardiograms is an ideal win
Heart Regeneration: Stem Cells And Beyond by
Injured mammalian hearts do not regenerate but scar. This is a major medical problem, as ischemic heart disease is among the leading causes of morbidity and mortality worldwide. Essential clues for human heart repair are uncovered when zebrafish and newt are found to regenerate cardiac muscle after injury. This book presents the major advances of the last decade in the field of cardiac regeneration. These recent advances include: demonstration that zebrafish, a genetically tractable system, can regenerate heart; the identification of several new stem cell populations in the heart; demonstration that stem cells can be used to improve heart function; and demonstration that induction of cardiomyocyte proliferation is a realistic future option to repair injured hearts. This book also provides detailed reviews of the research on model organisms capable of heart regeneration as well as innovative translational research to achieve regeneration in mammals, that comprises work on blood born stem cells, endogenous cardiac stem cells, paracrine factors, reawakening of cardiomyocyte proliferation, and bioengineering. More importantly, the book, in the concluding chapter, dovetails the studies with a comprehensive overview of clinical trials.
Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Renamed for this new edition, Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia is ideal for fellows and residents as well as practicing anesthesiologists. The book is concisely written and readily accessible, with a scope that combines the depth of a reference book with the no-nonsense guidance of a clinically-oriented handbook. New editors, new content, and new access to procedural videos highlight this substantially revised edition. Nearly 70 contributors from over 35 institutions offer their experience and expertise. Two new co-editors bring their expertise and experience in critical care and pain management, in addition to cardiac anesthesia. Now with new chapters on ECMO support and robotic surgical techniques, clinical videos on the eBook, and Clinical Pearls for each chapter. Covers cardiac physiology and pharmacology, pre-procedural patient preparation, anesthetic management of specific disorders and procedures, post-procedural management, and more. Comprehensive and written in an outline format, with bulleted lists and concise writing style, making it easy to read and absorb key points. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Mechanical Blood Trauma in Circulatory-Assist Devices by
Mechanical cardiovascular assist devices must be properly designed to avoid damage to the blood they contact. The factors that affect the hemocompatibility of a cardiovascular assist device include three major non-physiological components the material, fluid flow paths, and flow related stresses, - as well as the device interaction with the native vasculature. Furthermore, the interaction of the device with the blood is not static. Foreign surfaces activate blood components including platelets, leukocytes and the coagulation cascade. Thrombus formation on the surface of the device can alter the fluid dynamics in a manner that causes erythrocyte damage ranging from significant hemolysis to sub-lethal trauma that can take many days to weeks to develop into a significant clinical problem. This sub-lethal blood trauma is not easily detectable without special equipment, which is typically unavailable in routine clinical practice. Surveillance for blood damage is often sub-optimal in the clinical setting, but once clinically relevant hemolysis occurs, crucial decisions - device removal, replacement, or additional medical therapies including surgery or plasmapheresis - that take into account the risk/benefit of intervention must be quickly evaluated. The various preclinical designs and testing, surgical considerations, available surveillance techniques, and clinical consequences will be discussed using recent and historical case reports to highlight key points."
Minimized Cardiopulmonary Bypass Techniques and Technologies by
Traditional cardiopulmonary bypass (CPB) techniques have suffered from a number of disadvantages including haemodilution, inflammation and post-operative bleeding. Minimised cardiopulmonary bypass techniques use developments in perfusion technology to significantly reduce foreign surface-blood interactions to make bypass simpler and safer. This important book reviews key developments and issues relating to this promising technology. Part one covers the broad range of CPB pathophysiology, including anticoagulant protocols, the impact of CPB circuit surfaces, optimal haemodilution levels, and the important issue of CPB-induced systemic inflammatory response syndrome. Part two focuses on the issues of the new equipment developed for mini-CPB, optimal myocardial protection protocols and CPB perfusate options. Part three discusses clinical issues, including patient selection, coronary and valve surgery protocols and, among others, paediatric patients. With its distinguished editors and international team of expert contributors, Minimized cardiopulmonary bypass techniques and technologies is a valuable reference for cardiac surgery teams and those researching this important technology.
Non-Vitamin K Antagonist Oral Anticoagulants: A Concise Guide by
This book is an essential guide to the medical treatment of thrombosis and presents core principles of anticoagulant therapeutics as well as drug recommendations. Written by recognized experts in the field, this concise, accessible handbook provides a unique and valuable resource in the cardiovascular field, both for those currently in training, and for those already in clinical or research practice.
Perfusion for Congenital Heart Surgery: Notes on Cardiopulmonary Bypass for a Complex Patient Population by
A complete guide to the tools and techniques for modeling, simulating, and optimizing SSFE processes and phenomena In Modeling, Simulation, and Optimization of Supercritical and Subcritical Fluid Extraction Processes, a team of expert chemical engineers delivers a comprehensive guide to the tools and techniques used to model supercritical and subcritical fluid extraction (SSFE) processes and phenomena. The book offers details on SSFE experiment management, as well as modeling and optimization of SSFE. The authors begin with a discussion of the fundamentals of SSFE and the necessary experimental techniques to validate the models. They also discuss process simulators, conventional optimization techniques, and state-of-the-art genetic algorithm methods. Several practical examples and case studies on SSFE modeling and optimization techniques are provided. Additionally, detailed thermodynamic modeling with and without co-solvent and non-equilibrium system modeling are covered. Readers will also find: A detailed overview of the field of supercritical and subcritical fluid extraction and their importance to the food, cosmetics, and pharmaceutical industries Explorations of the concepts and methodologies for modeling, simulation, and optimization of SSFE, including conservation laws related to SSFE traditional first principle modeling Practical discussions of the characteristics and physical properties of palm oil as a solute and descriptions of some existing palm oil industrial processes An examination of first principle methodology as applied to the modeling of the properties of palm oil components and mixtures Perfect for researchers, scientists, technologists, and engineers working in food science and the pharmaceutical, cosmetic, and agricultural industries, Modeling, Simulation, and Optimization of Supercritical and Subcritical Fluid Extraction Processes is also a must-read for those working with process design, development, quality control, and improvement in the chemical industries.
Physiology of the Heart by
Dr. Arnold Katz's internationally acclaimed classic, Physiology of the Heart , is now in its thoroughly revised Fifth Edition, incorporating the latest molecular biology research and extensively exploring the clinical applications of these findings. In the single authored, expert voice that is this book's unique strength, Dr. Katz provides a comprehensive overview of the physiological and biophysical basis of cardiac function, beginning with structure and proceeding to biochemistry, biophysics, and pathophysiology in arrhythmias, ischemia, and heart failure. Emphasis is on the interrelationships of basic processes among the cell, cardiac muscle function, and the biophysics of contractile and electrical behavior. This edition includes new material on cell signaling and molecular biology.
Practical Cardiovascular Hemodynamics: With Self-Assessment Problems by
Practical Cardiovascular Hemodynamics provides an in-depth understanding of waveforms and tracings seen in various disease states as well as pathophysiology behind those findings. Practical issues that are rarely discussed or focused upon in textbooks are highlighted in this book with detailed waveform analysis. Pitfalls in the hemodynamic assessment of valvular diseases, constriction, tamponade, pulmonary hypertension, shunt pathology, congenital heart disease, coronary disease, and right and left ventricular failure are provided. Practical Cardiovascular Hemodynamics also includes case-based and tracingbased self-assessment problems. e reader will learn to identify disease states and waveform subtleties from single tracings or from case studies and will increase skills in interpreting tracings, understanding notches and artifacts, and formulating a diagnosis. Practical Cardiovascular Hemodynamics Features: Complete presentation of basic and advanced hemodynamics Numerous case studies allow the reader to learn real-life application of hemodynamic data in clinical decision making Questions and explanations provides the reader with self-assessment and problem-solving skills 325 illustrations and 25 tables with detailed legends allowing for illustrated learning "
Practical Procedures in Anaesthesia and Critical Care by
The ability to perform a wide variety of practical procedures safely and competently is essential for any doctor involved in the practice of anaesthesia and intensive care. Junior doctors especially are now called upon to gain competence in many invasive practical procedures in an increasingly short space of time, whilst also understanding the theory behind them. This highly practical book is the only guide needed to the procedures and techniques commonly used in anaesthesia and critical care medicine. Step-by-step, it clearly explains each technique and procedure, enabling the reader to fully.
The Scientist's Guide to Cardiac Metabolism by
The Scientists Guide to Cardiac Metabolism combines the basic concepts of substrate metabolism, regulation, and interaction within the cell and the organism to provide a comprehensive introduction into the basics of cardiac metabolism. This important reference is the perfect tool for newcomers in cardiac metabolism, providing a basic understanding of the metabolic processes and enabling the newcomer to immediately communicate with the expert as substrate/energy metabolism becomes part of projects. The book is written by established experts in the field, bringing together all the concepts of cardiac metabolism, its regulation, and the impact of disease. Provides a quick and comprehensive introduction into cardiac metabolism Contains an integrated view on cardiac metabolism and its interrelation in metabolism with other organs Presents insights into substrate metabolism in relation to intracellular organization and structure as well as whole organ function Includes historical perspectives that reference important investigators that have contributed to the development of the field
Tissue Engineering for the Heart: A Case Study Based Approach by
This book covers the fundamentals of tissue engineering for the heart, starting with the basics of organ generation, sensors in tissue and organ fabrication, and the current state-of-the-art in stem cell engineering for the heart. With this foundation in place, the remaining chapters focus on specific aspects of the cardiovascular system, starting with heart muscle, then biological pumps, followed by bioartificial ventricles, and finally, bioartificial hearts. Throughout the course of this book, twenty-two in-depth case studies are presented. Each case study has been selected to illustrate specific design schemes for tissue and organ fabrication. This is an ideal book for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students studying tissue engineering and organ regeneration, especially those focused on cardiac regeneration. This book also: Includes twenty-two case studies that illustrate specific design schemes for engineering the heart Provides open-ended discussion questions at the end of each chapter as well as a detailed reference list to encourage further research and reading Covers the basics of organ fabrication as well as sensor technology and genetic engineering as they relate to tissue and organ fabrication
The Washington Manual of Bedside Procedures by
Concise, portable, and user-friendly, The Washington Manual of Bedside Procedures focuses on the essential information you need for the preparation, performance, and aftercare of invasive bedside procedures. This practical reference presents brief, logical approaches to invasive procedures commonly performed by most housestaff, with an emphasis on internal medicine and surgery. Using a colorful, step-by-step approach, it provides a clear view of the challenges faced by residents, interns, and medical students, plus offers practical solutions and expert guidance - all in one convenient and easily accessible source. Offers step-by-step guidance on the indications, contraindications, technique, and potential complications of a variety of invasive bedside procedures. Includes comprehensive coverage of central venous cannulation, radial arterial line placement, endotracheal intubation, lumbar puncture, abdominal paracentesis, thoracentesis, and knee arthrocentesis, as well as universal protocols and precautions. Provides commentary on the safety and contraindications of the procedures based on the latest evidence-based data. Discusses the use, potential benefits, and technique of ultrasound guidance for certain procedures, as well as fluid analysis, where appropriate.
